0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Classic Rock Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Texas November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner Guitar

    Awesome for practicing

    First off, I am a total beginner. The Vox Amplug Classic Rock works great with my Les Paul and allows me to practice using headphone and no one else can hear me. I even took my guitar outdoors and jammed on the patio.

    The tone is what I expected, nice and crunchy. I like 80's arena rock bands, and this works great for that type of sound. For just under $40, you can't go wrong.

  • from NEWPORT BEACH, CA October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiast

    Well executed piece of hardware

    I love this little device. Works amazing well for a low cost piece of hardware. Funny to use, killer tones. I use it when I don't feel like setting up all of the 'real' gear and when I want to use JamIt.

  • from WNY September 25, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    VOX amPlug Rocks

    I was skeptical at first but when I plugged it into my G400 it all became suddenly clear. I wish they had these way back in the day. I am not sure what the difference is with the different models but the Classic Rock works just fine for me.

  • from Texas panhandle April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist. Play in Church.

    amPlug Twin

    These things are incredible for practicing while preserving the peace! It sounds almost like the real amp it's simulating: The Fender 65 Twin Reverb. I also have the AC30 amPlug, and the Classic Rock amPlug. I'll eventually purchase the Metal, Satriani, Acoustic, Night Train, and I am debating on whether to get the "Lead" amPlug, or amPhone. I highly recommend these little amps. Use a good set of headphones for best results.

  • from New Jersey January 25, 2013

    Cool Acccesory!

    This cool device gives my guitars the classic rock I want while practicing all the while not bothering my neighbors or family.

    Using my PRS and Gretsch electric guitars I get sounds reminiscent of southern rock such as ZZ Top, which is a blast!

  • from Twin Cities, MN January 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Marshall-like punch from a Vox headphone amp!

    I bought the Vox Amplug AC30 and loved it so much, it probably doubled (or tripled) the amount of time I play guitar. I loved it so much I went out and got the more expensive (by $10) Joe Satriani Signature Amplug. I liked the Satriani model also because it covered a different tonal range than the AC30, and delay feature is a lot of fun. But I had serious questions about the Classic Rock Amplug. Why did have only a 4-star review on Amazon - among the lowest for any of the fabulous Amplug products. Would it be only a "one trick pony"?

    Well, I have to tell you, I was completely blown away by how great the Classic Rock Amplug is, and I'm now even more blown away by some of these negative reviews. I've tried out a number of effects pedals for plugging into an actual guitar amplifier, and many pedal users are seeking what they call a "Marshall-in-a-box". In other words, they want a effects pedal that will single-handedly transform whatever amp they have into the sound of a miniaturized stack of Marshalls. Believe it or not, the Vox Classic Rock on higher gain settings is about as close to a "Marshall" sound as I can imagine. And it comes in a small, plastic headphone amplifier that runs on 2 AAA batteries and costs all of $39.99.

    Functionally, the Classic Rock Amplug is the same as the AC30 - three dials for gain, tone, and volume, an aux in jack (for MP3 players), a headphone jack, and an on/off switch. But that's where the similarities end. While the excellent AC30 model simulates the boxy, sparkly sound of a tube amplifier, the Classic Rock packs some PUNCH. The low end presence on this thing (even through a $20 set of entry-level Sony headphones from Target) is significantly greater than on the AC30. More importantly, the sound doesn't deteriorate with higher volumes. There are plenty of ways you can try to play guitar through headphones, but most of them become a static-filled mess as soon as you turn up the volume. Amazingly, the tiny Amplug has plenty of power on tap, and the "overdrive" is controlled through analog circuitry, with amazing clarity.

    But the real surprise in the Classic Rock Amplug (and the point upon which I disagree with several other reviewers here) are the clean and slightly overdrive tones as you roll back on the gain knob. Several reviewers referred to the clean tones as weak, or claimed that there were no clean tones. Yet, with both my Les Paul and a Strat, I was able to set the Volume at around 6-8 and the gain at about level 2 and get a very nice clean tone without loss of volume. If any dirt was remaining, a slight rollback on the guitar volume further cured the problem. Even better, playing a Strat into the Classic Rock with the gain set somewhere between 2 to 4 actually created a Tubescreamer-like blues tone! This tone was one of the audio demos offered on Vox's website, but I didn't believe it for myself until I plugged the Classic Rock in and dialed in that tone.

    Long story short, the Classic Rock is extremely powerful, but more verstaile than I thought. It can do the high-gain Marshall tones I expected, but also offers a wide array of clean or slightly-overdriven tones. It might even be more versatile than the AC30 Amplug, though I remain pretty loyal to the AC30. The good news is that the two models are different enough and cheap enough that you can own both. Highly recommend the Classic Rock - 5 stars.

  • from Orlando, FL August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Bassist, Guitarist, Home Recording, Vocalist

    All that in a small package - nice!

    When I first plugged in and jammed using the Vox amPlug, I was using earbuds and I was blown away by the clarity and crunch-tone I could get from the Classic Rock model. Later at home, I tried it with my Sony studio headphones and holy amps, batman! This thing sounds amazing - warm, robust tones just like a standard Vox amp! If you turn down the gain to 1 and crank the volume, a clean tone comes alive, so, to me, this thing has everything I need, clean and crunch. The only thing missing is reverb and delay effects!

  • from the 718 April 15, 2008Music Background:
    earcandyist

    pocket plexi

    if you want the sound of a plexi, and you want to play late late at night into the wee hours of the morning and didn't want to wake anyone up, or if you were lying in bed and suddenly a lick popped into your head and you had to get it down, and again, you didn't want to wake anyone up, then this is the thing for you. it's probably pretty good on long road trips too.
    it seems pretty solid for a small palm sized piece of plastic, and it's really good at what it does. the 3 tone master volume and gain dials are pretty interactive, and you can actually get a good range of overdrive tones.
    it should be noted that good headphones should be used with this. preferrably something with a driver. the cheapie white earbuds that came with that mp3 player aren't good, and fart out at higher gain.
    it fits perfectly in the cup for the jack of a strat, as the body of the strat gives it support (unless your strat is from early 80's).

  • from Denver, CO September 19, 2013Music Background:
    retired professional musician

    Excellent as a pre-amp

    I liked the sound of the Classic Rock amplug, but I wanted to run that into my amp and combine that with the effects I have built into my amp - reverb, etc. It works great as a pre-amp. Plug it in your guitar as usual. In the 'phones' jack you will plug in an adapter, male mini jack to female 1/4" standard guitar jack. Run a guitar cable from that to the clean input of your amp and you're all set. You can control the overdrive right there at your guitar, and the signal is plenty strong enough. An easy fix for any amp that doesn't provide a preamp for overdrive. An improvement over many that do, the sound is classic tubes. I still use headphones via the jack in my amp to keep it quiet. Have fun with this, it's cool and cheap but sounds great, and very clean.

  • from Huntsville, AL February 5, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player wanna-be!

    Just what I expected... I liiiiike it!

    Allows me to practice without disturbing she-who-must-be-obeyed!

Questions about the Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Classic Rock?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway