0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Metal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    I was very surprised when I heard this. It really does sound good. If you live in an apartment, have a wife and kids, or neighbors that complain when you crank your amps up, get this Vox amPlug. No cops, no noise violations, just metal!

  • from Fresno, CA August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Truly a Killer Little Metal Amp

    I am usually a bit skeptical when I read others' reviews thinking that maybe wen they're giving out 5-star ratings they might not have enough experience to know what sounds good and what doesn't.

    I've been playing guitar since '94 having a wide assortment of amps. It happened that I needed a small and very quiet amp for jamming while on the road, and the only thing small about this amp is its size. Through headphones...it is crushing!!!!! I am totally impressed, and am excited to try using it as a pre-amp on some tunes I'm about to start recording.

    5 stars!!

  • from nashville, tn usa August 29, 2012Music Background:
    ex pro musician

    vox am plug metal

    this little thing sounds great! very surprised, love it!!!

  • from Chicago, IL June 20, 2008Music Background:
    Gigging musician with a day job

    Surprisingly good sound

    I am surprised by the quality of tone from this little guy. It's as heavy as you'd ever really need to be and isn't brittle or harsh. I haven't used the AUX plug yet, but into headphones and even my car stereo it sounds terrific (I can practice at work now).

    For the price, its sound kills the other options out there. It can't do everything, but the hard rock & metal tones are better than what I was hoping for.

  • from Pocatello, ID March 8, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Way more amp than expected!

    When starting out playing (even as a hobby) you will spend a bulk of money on gear to find your individual sound, guitars, amps, pickups, pedals, etc. Practice amps can range from cheap to $400+ and are stationary. The Amplug is $40 in 3 different styles, the sound is as good as my fullsize amp and you don't even notice it's there. I was used to a confined corner in the house with a stationary amp with 6ft headphone cord and was not the best way to progress. I chose the Amplug Metal for the extra overdrive, but it is suprisingly versitile for many different rock sounds. You can play in bed, watching TV, in the hallway, even at the dinner table if it suites. Gain mode goes from high to insane, and the tone dial can dig out harmonics you didn't know you had. All in all a perfect investment for any range of player, just put in your headphones and you're rockin in your own world (wherever).

  • from Armada, Mi December 20, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Gear Head

    THE travel and practice hadphone amp.

    This is the item I have been searching for!! Finally someone has made it possible to simply plug in your guitar, ear-bubs and an MP3 player and JAM!!

    I travel a LOT and have been struggling with having to carry many items with me to play in hotel rooms. I now have what I need. This thing sounds great. I am SO impressed with what you get for the price. It is a great little practice and travel tool, hell, you could plug the headphone out to a recorder and record if you wanted. I HIGHLY recommend this.

  • from Folsom, CA April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works as promised

    I needed a headphone amp to use for practice, and this thing delivered. I'm no tone connoisseur, but I think the distortion sounds pretty good for a small solid-state amp. The adjustable mids really allow you to fine-tune your tone as well. It seems well-constructed and has a good battery life.

  • from Indiana, USA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Vox amPlug

    I bought this with every intention using for travel considering that lugging an amp around on planes would not be easy, and I can say that I am completely satisfied with this little piece. Of course it doesn't produce the sound of an amp, but with a decent pair of headphones this is more than enough.

  • from houston, tx March 13, 2009Music Background:
    bored hobbyist

    nice

    Bought this when it first came out, great for playing while walking around, sounds nice. too bad the volume dial became extremely finicky and noisy to the point i can't play around with the dials, and the headphone jack would lose contact often. still, i want another. hopefully it was a bad batch or something

Questions about the Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Metal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway