0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Vox amPlug 2 Bass Headphone Guitar Amp Reviews

4.0 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 Bass Headphone Guitar Amp?

Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 Bass Headphone Guitar Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Tom
    from Mandan, ND March 24, 2017

    Perfect!!

    This little thing rocks, it's the perfect practice tool! Sounds great, easy to dial in, connect to an aux device to jam along to tunes, and a drum machine built in to boot!! I've been looking for awhile for the right practice/headphone amp, and I've found it.

  • Joe
    from July 16, 2016

    Classic Vox sound!

    I love the classic Vox sound that this little headphone amp generates! Somehow it captures the essence of those old amps, and it makes it really fun to play to lots of great music. I might buy another one ... or two.

  • Steven
    from Boston April 22, 2016

    Vox bass amplug

    Just got it. For 40 bucks, how can you complain. Creates a nice bass tone. Loud enough with my Bose phones. Plug my iPhone in and play to tunes. Has 9 rythmn sections, basically three sets of three. You can change their tempos. Have to play with that a bit. An amazing little gizmo.
    Sweet water guys are great.

  • Philip
    from March 7, 2016Music Background:
    Wv

    Vox bass amplug

    Awesome!!!
    Enough said!!!!!

  • Ken
    from Arizona February 22, 2016Music Background:
    Mgr and bass player for the Rowdy Johnson Band

    Vox amp

    I am in rehab, recovering from back surgery. This wonderful device has allowed me to get started back to playing about two weeks faster than normal. So easy to use, and sound quality is awesome.

  • Dayton
    from Colorado Springs, CO February 16, 2016Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Worth it.

    Previous reviews helped me decide (thanks all). I just want to add that the Vox AP2BS amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp for Bass performs beyond my expectations. Great product, well executed. Thanks also to my Sales Engineer, Ken Davis!

  • Dan S
    from Arkansas December 31, 2015

    Gift for Grandson

    An excellent product...works perfectly.

  • Customer
    from December 30, 2015

    Excellent

    Excellent quality and awesome drums beats for practice

  • Customer
    from October 28, 2015

    Great little box - love it!

    For ten years or so I have been using the old 'pocket rocket' for bass, which is a great unit but was always prone to hiss that you had no choice but get used to. Recently the battery door broke, the 9V connector also broke and the input jack is intermittent now, so I needed a replacement. Wow for $40 I got what I needed and more with no hiss! In fact I bought two. The quality of the bass sound using good quality headphones is excellent. A real step up!

  • Jim
    from Missouri May 15, 2015Music Background:
    retired pro

    Great Practice Tool!

    I got a lot more than expected with this handy little practice tool. I love the 9 selectable rhythm patterns, with control over tempo. Works great with active and non-active basses thanks to the 3 gain modes. Now I can practice anytime/anywhere I choose. Highly recommended.

  • Ray Burch
    from United States February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Amazing little gadget!

    I had to admit I was skeptical, but for the price I had to try it. The AP2BS has exceeded all my expectations. Not only replacing several cables and a small mixer I was using before, but providing excellent volume and tone. This is a MUST have for any serious musician who practices their lines at home or on the road!

  • Ross
    from February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Student

    Great practice tool

    I have the original Vox bass headphone amp and it works and sounds great, mind-blowing that they could improve on the design and pack in a few more features. I love to play late at night, the other people living at my place are thankful for this great practice tool, as everyone can sleep well while I rock out.

  • Oslo
    from Arlington VA November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    Love it

    I had heard about these from a bass player friend who loved them. I had held off getting the original bass amplug as it seemed like a $50 crap shoot. But I kept and eye on them, and the new one came out $10 cheaper here on Sweetwater so I jumped on it before they found their typo.

    I got it just to practice silently at home, and its perfect. Sounds great. And my favorite part is the mobility, I am no longer tied to my amp. The only downside is no metronome, but it does have a nice selection of drum beats an you can adj the speed.

  • Mark C
    from Illinois April 10, 2017Music Background:
    bass

    perfect practice tool

    Pros:
    portable, headphone input, aux input works great with mp3/online/videos/computer, 3 different amp tones, tone control, input plug swivel fits every bass jack... the perfect practice tool, and essential to me since I bought it. Price point is reasonable. Drum patterns might be useful to work on timing/locking in/groove.

    Cons:
    lightweight plastic shell needs to be sturdier, swivel could break easily (take it out before you set the bass down!), would love a bit more volume for the bass compared to the aux input.

    Conclusion:
    make it sturdier and louder and it's perfect

  • Bringindafunk
    from Sacramento March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Advanced

    Nice Little Personal Amp

    I use this little guy all the time when I want to get some late-night practice in without waking up the family. It sounds pretty good and is very convenient. I like the built in drums/metronome and if I was going to nit-pick anything, it's that I wish I could adjust the tempo. I just downloaded a metronome app on my phone and use the input jack instead. Other than that, this is well worth the money and an excellent value.

  • Mike
    from Huntington NY September 23, 2016Music Background:
    Bass, viola

    Great little thinking

    i can spend time with the wife and play me bass. A whole lot of fun and works great. I wish I could plug a metronome into it. It has a "time-keeping" thing but its more annoying than anything else. Great product for quietly practicing.

  • MIke Edwards
    from Medina, OH September 1, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player for 30 years, all styles

    perfect

    Great practice tool when the family is in bed
    Big punchy tone, has 4 preset rhythm patterns to choose from for a fun warm up, can plug in a mp3 player and mix the all signals for your specific levels.
    Well worth the $40.

    Staff was great as usually (thats why this is my my 5th purchase from Sweetwater)

  • SS
    from AL February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Excellent product. Easy to use, perfect for learning songs

    Works great

  • Yves Decargouet
    from Sebastopol, CA January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Private Studio Cat

    A SWEET LITTLE DEVICE

    This is quite an amazing little pocket amp!

    Plug it into your bass, add a good set of headphones, an MP3 player if you wish, and you can rock out anywhere -- from wandering through your house to wandering in the woods.

    The quality of your sound will depend on the capabilities of your headphones, of course. I'm using a set of Audio-Technica ATH-D40fs which have a bass-enhanced frequency response.

    The only thing lacking is a tempo control for the rhythm patterns, but that's no deal breaker.

    Well worth the money!

  • Customer
    from March 17, 2017

    Awesome, but...

    Be careful. I broke 2 of these already. They are bad*** but take care of them when handling the bass. If you bump it into a table or something they're not all that strong.

  • Randy Vogeli
    from Charlotte, NC September 17, 2016

    Vox AP2BS Headphone Amp

    Amp works great. I go camping a lot and this allows me to practice in my camper, without disturbing anyone. Love it.

  • Jimmy Quast
    from Easton, Maryland January 26, 2016

    Let's Me PLAY MY BASS!!

    Twenty years ago, music was an important part of my life. I played in a really interesting band for years, and have missed it ever since. So I recently decided to get out the old 4-string again just to see what might be possible. But I needed a way to practice along with my old recordings (and new ones) without disturbing the whole neighborhood, especially late at night when I actually have time to play. The Vox AP2BS doesn't just make it possible -- it makes playing my bass truly gratifying and fun again. I love it.

  • Rick
    from Mount Sterling January 11, 2016Music Background:
    Bass, guitar and drums

    Great practice helper

    My daughter got one of these through Sweetwater as my Christmas present this year. I play bass for our church worship team. Our worship leader sends chord charts and audio files out weekly through Planning Center. As a result, I'm able to practice at home by playing the mp3s from my iPad and do so without disturbing anyone else in the house. I also like the drum tracks. I'd like to see a better variety. But, the drum tracks are nice for working on timing.

  • Dennis
    from Conover NC January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player

    Great addition for practice

    Order the Vox amPlug for bass. Got it this week, great out of the box. Easy to use, didn't know it had 3 drum pattern built in. Great for silent practice. The other plus is I use it with Shure 215 earbuds. The Vox and earbuds will all fit in the Shure earbud carrying pouch, just where I need it . A win , win

  • Steve M
    from Shelby, Mi. December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Converted drummer!

    Nice Practice Tool!

    Bought this to use for practice while on vacation. Works very well, volume is adequate and easy to operate. Amp modeling is a bit limited, but adequate for practice. "Drum Machine" on-board is ok, easy enough to use but a little limited. Basses with active electronics will be a little "noisy", but usable. Passive electronics are much better with this. Nice tool for this purpose.

  • Customer
    from Austin, TX January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist, Drummer, Recording Artist.

    Works great

    It does the job I wanted it to well, just a bit touchy to get the balance between a nice full sound and overdriven distortion.

  • Customer
    from December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Non professional

    Very Practical

    About as simple as it gets! Very nice tone and good interphase with iPod/MP3.

  • Chris R.
    from Hartford City, IN November 5, 2014Music Background:
    Mid-life crisis bassist for a local jam band!

    From Amplug to Amplug 2- even better!

    The Amplug 2 is much better than the original Amplug, IMO. It's got a really cool "Rhythm" feature which will play preset rhythms (drum beats) that you can play along to. Plus, I can change the tempo of those beats. That was cool!! I like the tone, too- bassy, full, functional. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles when practicing and it had just the right amount of thump. It also seems a little sturdier and made of stronger plastic. Oh, and the input jack is no longer fixed in position now- I can spin it 360- degrees (for better fit to the bass or for storage). I'm glad I bought the Amplug 2 for Bass, even though I already had the original Amplug. I sent my old Amplug to a friend who just moved across the country and has to be separated (temporarily) from his family. Now he can fill his down time with bass practice. It's a win-win!!

  • James Fields
    from Ann Arbor, MI May 31, 2015

    distracting hiss, but fine for its purpose

    It has a pretty loud hiss. Based on online reviews I think that's expected and not just a flaw in my unit. The workaround I've found is just to turn the tone knob all the way down. So I don't get to hear any high frequencies, but it's generally still enough for practice.

    Otherwise: it works, and it's small, and convenient. Battery life with rechargeables seems OK but I haven't really measured it.

  • David
    from May 21, 2016

    Adequate

    I have had this about a month now. I bought this so I could practice when other people were sleeping, or if the sun was ought and I felt like practicing at the park. (and not have to lug my amp from room to room. It does what want it to do. And the rhythm patterns are a nice add on. Overall it's a good but not great product. I'm still having a little problem getting all 3 gain modes to work. I only need one so that is okay. The other thing I didn't realize is, it flops around when you plug it in. A lillte annoyinging, but I can live with it, until I can afford something else.

  • Michael Gardner
    from Illinois November 2, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player, Guitar Player, Composer, Producer

    A Little Disappointed,but It Works Okay

    The ampPlug is a cool device, but this one doesn't deliver what it advertises. It's supposed to have nine rhythms but it only has three, and they're kinda lame because there is no tempo control for them. I don't use them at all. Otherwise the amp sounds really good, and it is quite loud for such a small device powered by only two AAA batteries that I can get very inexpensively. Not bad really for the money. Good for quiet practice with a very small footprint - like no footprint.

  • Customer
    from September 30, 2015

    Amp

    Not exactly what I was looking for. Doesn't fit tightly into jack and isn't very effective

  • Customer
    from Woodinville, WA USA January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Pro Musician

    Not as good as the original Vox AmPlug for Bass

    I have the original Vox AmPlug for Bass and decided to get this one after reading reviews about how good it sounded. It's true that the sound is more clear, but there are too many controls and I cannot get the drive or volume that I get out of the original AmPlug for Bass. This makes it harder to hear myself when I'm trying to play along with MP3s from my phone, which is my primary use for this device.

    The drum patterns are essentially useless. They're nice if you're trying to get your timing down, but it's just as easy to play along with prerecorded music from an MP3 player of some kind.

    The simple 3 levels of gain control don't work well with my high output pickups. My bass either clips because the compressor is not quick enough, or the volume is too low to be useful if it set it to one of the lower input levels. I much prefer the potentiometer gain setting on the original unit.

    The controls are much more complicated on this updated unit because they've added so many new features. These are unnecessary features, in my opinion, and just make the unit harder to use. You need to read the manual to understand everything it does because the user interface is definitely not intuitive.

    Still, it sounds nice when you're not playing along with anything else. The sound quality is definitely cleaner than the original with better highs. I just wish I could get more level and some nice distortion out of it. If they made this unit with the original controls, I'd be much happier.

Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 Bass Headphone Guitar Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway