0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Bass Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • Aaron Groth
    from Auburn AL USA September 25, 2013Music Background:
    60s thru 80s garage band

    Great Personal Amp

    Put off buying this item for some time, thinking no need to waste my money....but. I can't believe the sound I'm getting from this tiny amp. Use a headphone that you know is true sound and it's perfect for sitting around anywhere you want just playing for you. Great Product!

  • Danny
    from San Francisco May 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Bassist 30 years experience

    Best portable practice amp

    Great tone. Easy plug in and play set up.
    If you are a bassist that needs a quick easy way to wood shed, and learn material, this is your ticket. I plug the aux directly to my mp3 player, or computer and the sound is clear, with great fidelity.
    VOX does a great job giving your bass a tone equivalent to plugging into your amplifier. I've used all the portable practice devices for Bass, and this is definitely by far the best I've ever heard.

  • Peter
    from California January 6, 2009Music Background:
    Producer/session player

    Review Vox Amplug Bass

    I pre-ordered the Vox amplug bass from Sweetwater and received one of the first units imported into the USA. The wait was worth it. This gadget albeit somewhat delicate in appearance is well worth the price, just treat it gently.
    As for operation, the device is quite simple, along the bottom edge are the gain and volume wheels separated by a tone wheel in the centre. These three dials along with a compressor/boost switch control the vital sound signature. In keeping with the classic motif of the original Ac 100 the switch lights red when switched on and stays on when the switch is moved to the compressor/boost position, off is marked as standby and the light extinguishes.
    After loading the two AAA batteries that came within the amplug packaging I plugged in (mini jacks)a pair of studio headphones and inserted the device into the jack of my Rickenbacker C-64. I was blown away, my ears delighted to the sound of real valves! When tested against a Vox Ac 100 cch hooked up to a NCM Vox T-100 speaker cab and a Tone-Bone preamp; my Rics all three of them sounded fuller in the head set than the live studio setting. Naturally headphones are superior to speaker cabinets for sound capture but it is remarkable how good the tones were reproduced by something the size of my thumb. My Hofner when played through the Vox amplug bass didn't benefit nor need the compressor/boost to produce the the tones of the famous Beatle.

    The Vox Amplug for bass demonstrates that Vox/Korg has the ability to recreate the tones of the Vox AC 100 valve amp in a minature package and that begs the question, when can we expect to see the recreation of the life-size Vox Ac 100 with the T-100 2x15 speaker cabinet? I hope it's soon. Until that day the rig made so famous by Paul McCartney can be heard in your earphones with this tiny gadget.

    Peter...

  • Stan Halbkat
    from Tryon, NC USA April 30, 2014Music Background:
    untrained musician

    Vox Bass Plug

    Just got this amp plug for bass....needed it to learn about 50 songs...quickly...wish it worked for my upright, but learning on electric will be fine....love the ability to turn the bass being played up higher than the recording....only one problem...the labeling for all the dials is black...would be nice if you could see them without glasses or a magnifying glass...other than that, it's a keeper!

  • tracy
    from United States July 30, 2014Music Background:
    beginner

    vox

    does what it says.

  • Customer
    from California July 10, 2014

    Does what it promises

    Got this to take with me while traveling. Plug the little Vox into your bass, plug your headphones into the Vox and you're good to go. The tone shaping options are limited but for what you use it for it does the job as advertised.

  • adam
    from ok May 28, 2012Music Background:
    non professional

    okay

    Good for quiet practice after getting the levels set to minimize distortion even with 250ohm beyerdynamics. I find if I just crank the amp up full across the board it produces full tone & then I have my bass volume barely turned up. dialing the levels of the amp back tends to make the tone suffer. Im getting some crackle and I dont know if its the batteries going or Ive blown my headphones or whatever. I should test my headphones on another source.

  • Customer
    from May 7, 2012

    Excellent

    This is perfect if you need to practice and can't let your neighbors hear you. Only part I'd change is the letters describing each of the small dials are hard to see (black on black). But this is definitely worth it. I'm rockin' out and nobody else hears a thing.

  • Dave
    from Romulus,NY USA August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Student, sound engineer, audio electronic tech,musician

    Vox amPlug (Bass)

    Price is right. Works as expected. Not robust. Aux could use some boost.

  • painter33
    from Wilmington DE December 13, 2010Music Background:
    Stiff-fingered hobbyist

    Vox AC 30 amplug

    I've had two AC 30s (smashed the first one) and have enjoyed the convenience and sound quality. It's not a full-sized amp so don't expect it to compete with your favorite blaster, but it offers enough features, when added to the guitar's own tone/volume controls to give you some flexibility of sound and tone. Playing around with the gain and volume wheels can produce a range of dirty to clean tones that can satisfy most players (who accept its limitations, of course). It's definitely worth the price, especially if you don't live alone; just ask my wife and wives of friends who also have the little guys. It makes practice fun without offending the oh-so-sensitive ears of our loved ones. The plug is a tiny bit undersized, however, and it sometimes slips out of the jack.

  • Customer
    from February 9, 2013

    Noise

    the miniplug conexion mekes too much noise.

  • Leslie
    from NY February 17, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good for practice

    This little device is better than expected, but don't be fooled into thinking that a monster sound will erupt from this. It's basically a good tool for silent practicing. By adjusting the gain, tone, and output controls to sensible levels, no annoying hiss will be present. I feel that the "compressor" effect really doesn't do too much, with the exception of boosting the output volume of the tone. Pretty good value for the price. Recommended.

  • Vick Kemp
    from San Diego, Ca September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Need better quality control.

    I've bought two of these, First one was dead on arrival. Second one died only after three weeks. Would not recommend.

  • Jim Sites
    from Columbus, OH May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Not Durable

    I've owned two of these units. After a fairly short period of time, the Aux input on both developed a short. One of the channels would drop out frequently impacting both the mix and the volume. Units were treated carefully - have to believe it's a defect in design or quality of materials. Great when it works. I wouldn't recommend.

Questions about the Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amp - Bass?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway