0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Vox amPlug 2 AC30 Headphone Guitar Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 39 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 AC30 Headphone Guitar Amp?

Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 AC30 Headphone Guitar Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from AL February 10, 2017

    Great Practice Ame

    Great sound and effects from a small package. I'm still having fun with the different effects. I have this one and the Classic Rock amPlug.

  • from Ohio February 6, 2017

    Vox amPlug AC30

    One word...amazing. The bad thing is now Im left chasing the tone on my big amps (AC30C2X). Also keep in mind that the headphones you pick will have major role on tone. I like the earbuds better than over the ear. But experiment and ENJOY.

  • from January 26, 2017

    Awesome !

    This little thing rocks, well worth the money.
    Very very pleased

  • from September 9, 2016

    Perfect Practice Amp

    This is the perfect practice amp. It's got a great range of effects, it's efficient, it's affordable and it produces that great Vox sound. I love you it. I now want to try the other headphone amps by Vox.

  • from September 1, 2016

    Big surprise in a small package

    Got it today and plugged it into my PRS Santana SE and was very pleased with what this little gem can do. The price is right and my bud Ian got it to me right away. Highly recommended.

  • from Baltimore July 31, 2016Music Background:
    reggae

    mini amp

    Very Very cool..if you wonna jam along late at night before going to bed with no noise..get one..simply awesome!!

  • from Your basement May 21, 2016Music Background:
    A revolving member

    Great!

    This little guy sounds ALOT better then you think it does! I've had mine for a few years now..was just walking and the cord got caught in the chair and it's now gone.. thats why I'm here now to buy another.

  • from NJ January 18, 2016

    Nifty little device

    Well, 5 stars since it does what it's advertised to do, but it does it very, very well. Dead simple - plug it into the guitar, plug in headphones and (optional) backing track, drum machine, mp3, into the aux and play away. It's actually got tremolo (off, min, max) to mix with the chorus, delay or reverb fx settings. The aux is bypassed so is not affected by the fx. Two little AAA batteries deliver a load of volume in the headphones.

    To take in your pocket when on the road or for your living room use so you don't disturb others, it's a nifty little device.

    Oh yeah - and it sounds great!

  • from Lake Odessa MI December 7, 2015Music Background:
    Worship music lead guitarist

    Vox.....well done!

    I'll just say that I was pretty nervous about this little guy when it came in the mail, didn't really know if it was for real or if it was one of those things where it's just junk! Plugged it into my PRS, messed around with the gain and delay and I am pretty impressed! I've never seen something like this and it's really cool to just sit around and play when no one else wants hear it but you can still get that awesome vox sound! And I love playing along with my favorite songs and I can do that also without disturbing anyone! It is very fragile though! One bump against the wall and that may be the end of it! But if you keep it safe when you're not using it and be careful, I do not see any downside! It's great! I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in it or anyone who lives with others that don't want to hear it! And as always I enjoyed doing business with sweetwater very much!

  • from Tulsa November 24, 2015

    Works as advertised

    Great product. Now I can play my guitar and not bother everyone in the house that wants to watch T.V. or listen to my missed notes.

  • from August 3, 2015

    Another great toy!

    Great for silent practicing on the bed late at night. The reverb is second to none.

  • from Bad Axe, MI May 5, 2015

    VOX AmPlug AC30

    I love this product! It gives me the ability to play, practice, and song write without bothering others with loudness. Definitely a must for songwriters or musicians on the go. Just plug it in, hook up your headphones, and play!

  • from Central NC March 15, 2015

    There's Always a Use For This One!

    Man, what a cool gadget. You know those times when you want to practice (or noodle) and you don't want to disturb anybody. This thing does the trick! Whats better it sounds great and has plenty of effects. You can input audio to play along or just hook up the headphones and get at it. When I bought it I wondered is this thing for real? It is and I highly recommend!

  • from TX/MN March 12, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great product

    This VOX unit is a must with my Traveler guitar. I love it.

  • from San Diego January 29, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect Set Up

    This little thing is great. I use it with a pair of Sennheiser HD 280 headphones and its so convenient and sounds amazing. I love not having all the cables get in the way. I have kids at home so by the time they are in bed I can't use the amp. I have a micro cube that I really love but this is better since its more convenient. I'm not a fan of the Tremolo setting but the rest sound great. The gain has a fuzz sound to it. Very British rock sounding.
    I have the VOX Classic Rock one as well and like it much more than this one. The Classic Rock sounds amazing. Just blistering rock and roll.

  • from Farmingdale, NY January 25, 2015Music Background:
    Recreational Player

    Big things do come in small packages.

    First off, let me say, I'm not a big fan of Vox. I owned a couple of their products in the past & their support is miserable to say the least.
    That said, I took a chance on getting the AC30 ampPlug, only because if it worked I'd keep it & if it didn't I'd just send it back. To my surprise, it is amazing. It responses well to pickup changes, the effects are clear and crisp and the output is more than one would expect from a unit this tiny. It is definitely perfect for practicing. I can't wait for one with Bluetooth so you can wear wireless headphones or buds and be totally mobile.
    Definitely worth $40 to play wherever you like.

  • from United States November 22, 2014Music Background:
    Professional something or other

    Crowded room

    Terrific little gadget. I like being free of cables. But it's not very loud even in the small clubs. The audience has to rush the stage and gather their ears around my guitar to hear my solos. Being close to my fans is important, but this is ridiculous.

  • from East Lansing, Mi USA October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Incredible! Best practice/recording gear!

    I'm really impressed with this little amp, sounds like a real AC30, perfect for what I play, U2 and brit rock.

    This is a must have for Vox fans, you can use it for practice or recording. The amp controls are very simple, just gain, tone and volume, but that's what make this amp special, it needs very little tweak to sound good. Actually I think It sounds better than my POD HD500X AC30 sim when I play with headphones or record.

    The built in effects are pretty good too, especially the Delay, it seems to be somewhere around 400ms (I don't think you can change this), pretty good for solos or clean guitar.

  • from Jefferson Pa April 24, 2017Music Background:
    Self taught

    Vox amPlug AC30

    Great product for practice it sounds way better than you would expect. I even plugged it into my amp it really gives some great original electric guitar sounds. You won't be disappointed for 39.00 it works excellent I use it all the time. Great for playing and not bothering anyone! Highly recommend

  • from February 2, 2017

    VOX amPlug AC30 Headphone Guitar Amp

    I'm very impressed with VOX AC30. Plug it into the guitar wow a mini amp! Highly recommend for the price!

  • from December 14, 2016

    Vox ampplug 2 ac20

    This is a great practice toll. I hook it to my laptop and run band in a box and play along to whatever I build. Has good tone and easy to use.

  • from New York November 16, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding for quiet practice

    Pretty cool for a headphone "amp." I use it with a straight-up AC30 sound set to clean, low gain, no effects. Perfect for practice, as it's a sensitive, articulate transducer of just how sloppy I am with both hands. Ultimately, what I hear in my headphones will embarrass me into being a better player. I recommend a male to female jumper cable so that you don't have to plug it straight into your guitar: that will keep you from banging the unit into something and breaking the plastic housing. Effects are a bit extreme, but I don't use them. Can't beat it for $ worth of fun and great tone.

  • from Surf City So. Cal. June 24, 2016Music Background:
    Psychedelic Oceanic Garage Rock

    Try it with your DAW!

    With a simple 1/8 to 1/4 adapter jack you can run this through your "real" effects and into your interface and then into Garageband "what I use" then you've got a much better sounding AC30 than the one in GB. I use this plug all the time. It sounds really cool with my vintage Cry Baby Wah pedal and my old Fuzz Tone soooo retro 60's. For recording songs it sounds like I have the real thing and as you guy's know the real thing ain't cheap.

  • from Friendswood, TX June 14, 2016

    AP2-BS amPlug Review

    The VOX amPlug is what I've needed for years. It allows me to practice my bass playing without disturbing everybody in the whole house. It took me a while to realize that the aux. jack was what I needed to insert the MP3 music into the earphones also. Every musician that has played with it has expressed the desire to get one, also.

    I have both the fixed plug and the swiveling plug models and find that most have liked the swiveling plug, AP2-BS model the most.

  • from Hanover February 16, 2016Music Background:
    7176983979

    Vox AP2AC

    Great tool. Can now play without disturbing everyone.
    Also has good fx for it's size.
    In general very satisfied with buy.
    Had been looking a long time for such a toll.

  • from September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Band Engineer, Bassist, Drummer, Guitarist

    Amazing Practice tool

    Awesome practice tool. the increase in quality of playing from my band bassist and guitarist was noticeable. Before they had no practice amp, and would not be able to practice outside of practice now they can for a fraction of the cost of a actual AMP. Only reason for the 4.5 stars is one fell apart on me but they replaced it free of charge in true Sweetwater fashion!

  • from July 20, 2015

    Awesome gadget

    I bought the AC30 model of amplug 2. It worked out of the box, exactly as you would expect after watching reviews and demo videos. The plug is so small and light that you wont notice it on guitar.

    Two AAA batteries are good enough for at least 6-8 hours of practicing.

    Sound is quite good to my taste.

  • from Seattle June 25, 2015

    Surprisingly good sound!

    Good tones, I would prefer lower settings on the reverb & delay, but overall I am impressed. I plugged in my Razr Turbo with Spotify thru AKG K240 headphones also from Sweetwater. It is a great practice tool. Both the guitar & MP3 sounds are good. The build quality could be a bit better, time will tell, but it is a great value.

    As for the headphones, they are semi-open, so I can hear ambient conversations, I like the auto adjust fit system, and the sound is very good.

  • from May 16, 2015

    VOX AP2AC AM HEADPHONE GUITAR AMP

    I use this unit on my on my acoustic/electric guitar. My particular use of this unit is not for practice after all it's an acoustic guitar. My use is when playing with a group of other guitar players through mic's without a the use of a central earphone system, (and partially my hearing issue) I hear the guitars next to me and (if they go off key I think I must be wrong and follow them, and now I'm playing the wrong note) I can'thear my own guitar unless I put my head closer down to the front of the guitar. The vox has solved my personal hearing issue. I turn it up just enough to hear my guitar through the ear buds along with the guitars next to me.
    Until we have a better sound system this unit helps me greatly.

  • from United States April 12, 2015Music Background:
    Piano, Keyboard, production and now guitar!

    Very Helpful

    This device helps me tremendously as I am deaf in 1 ear (my right) and even though my major experience in music regarding a musical instrument has been in Piano and Keyboard. However; a year ago my 8 year old who was then 7 decided she wanted to take guitar lessons over the summer break. I go in with her every week for her lesson. After the first couple I decided I wanted to do it as well as I had started guitar lessons many, many moons ago but had not gone very far. So she learns guitar and I shadow her as well as help and encourage her in it. The issue with me being partially deaf is that it is harder to learn an electric guitar without being amped and this device helps me tremendously. I can practice without drowning the house in my practice notes. I can also plug into my computer and this device at the same time and listen as well as practice through my computer at the same time. SO overall it is a great device for anyone who want to practice privately and would like to use a computer or external device while doing so!

  • from Fort Collins, CO March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sounds a lot better than expected

    I was very impressed with the sound out of this thing. In fairness, I did have low expectations from the start. Good use of $40 if you need to practice quietly.

    Downsides: Controls are a pain to access when it's plugged into the guitar and not easy to use with pedals. I'd have preferred this had at least the option for a standard 1/4" jack rather than the built-in plug.

  • from Florida December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome gadget

    Coolest thing I've ever spent $40 bucks on. The new version with the built in effects is an awesome addition. Glad I waited around before picking one up until this one came out. Sounds great for a little tiny box, with both my Strat and LP. I know there's a bass version but I tried the AC30 with a bass out of curiosity and it works just as well. This is an amazing tool for quiet but inspirational couch practicing without upsetting your spouse or roommates. Or even for travel. I only took off half a star because it feels fairly fragile. It fits nice and snug into the jack which is good, but when removing it I try to carefully grasp around the plug portion so I don't feel like I'm going to pull it apart. Aside from that, this is a fantastic invention.

  • from Junction,Tx June 3, 2016Music Background:
    Rhthym player - 9 years

    Vox AP2AC headphone amp

    I was really impressed by this little tiny amp. I keep it and a pair of headphones in my guitar case now and when I want to practice without interrupting everyone else's lives, I crank up the gain and get with it. It has several different settings, and it really puts out some mean tone for being such a small toy! I'd recommend it to everyone, especially folks who want to practice electric guitar without hauling around a lot of equipment. For $40, what do you have to lose?

  • from colorado May 10, 2016

    headphone amp

    fast shipping good price it is amazing the sound you can get out of these little units

  • from Naples February 14, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surprisingly Good

    You can't go wrong if you are looking for a practice amp with headphones. The sound is excellent and the f/x pretty decent. I've heard of some people using this thru a PA, but the headphone out isn't the ideal way to do this. Would be a slam dunk if they had a standard 1/4" out. Then you could use thru a PA no problem and never need an amp or f/x pedals. Maybe they'll work on that for the next version. All in all, a great value. Buy one!

  • from Merrick, New York October 17, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar Novice, Music writing.

    Handy

    It is really handy, specially when you don't have an Amp, or you are unable to use the amp!
    Quality is very good!

  • from Lima, Ohio June 6, 2015Music Background:
    I'm a former nightclub musician and have played guitar for 52 years.

    Headphone Amp

    What I like: A surprising amount of effects, it allows me to practice without disturbing others.
    What I don't like: The controls are a little confusing at first. It's plastic so an unexpected bump could break it.
    What I wish it had: A cleaner sound setting, what it has is okay but not quite what I wanted. I wish it mounted on the strap for easier access to controls and it would be less likely to break if bumped while plugged in the guitar.
    Would I buy it again: Yes, it does what I wanted it to do.

  • from Southern Texas February 7, 2017Music Background:
    Hobby player

    Personal feedback

    This is a great way to hear yourself in the local jam session. It works great for keeping me on target when other jammers may be off a bit.

  • from San Diego, CA December 30, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Good tones but fragile is right

    Mine broke within 30 minutes of use. The flashing around the jack is very weak so you have to be very careful with it. Other than that this thing is great for practice.

Questions about the Vox amPlug 2 AC30 Headphone Guitar Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway