0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Vox amPhone Active Guitar Headphones - Bass Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • Ed Chevy
    from Hawaii June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist in a Deaf rock band, Beethoven's Nightmare

    Vox amPhone Active guitar Headphone - Bass

    An excellent headphone has a combo unit as guitar headphone and stero headphone to listen to rock music. With a hearing loss, this headphone suits me well with good volume and gain controls. I highly recommend every hard of hearing musicians to check it out.

  • Customer
    from April 9, 2015

    Vox amPhones for bass

    These headphones seem to work ok. They have a fair dynamic response, but could use some help on the over all thought on quality. The cable is thin but very delicate, and the head phone diaphragms are not a true 1 to 1 on sound response. But as a working tool to practice they are compact. I only wish that they would have made the headphones so that they would turn flat so that they could fit into a guitar case without getting damaged. Other then that they are better then one would think.

  • Glenn
    from March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Worship team

    Very Practical

    I spend a lot of nights on the road. The amPhone's let me entertain myself without getting kicked out of the motel. Drawback? They are costing me sleep.

  • Dustin
    from MT, USA December 10, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    Fantastic Practice Headphones

    These are amazing! I did not expect to be able to get the tone that you can get out of these. And the aux input is fantastic! Plug your smartphone into it and play along with your favorite tunes or backing tracks! I subtracted one star for the guitar input wire. It seems cheap and is just a TAD bit short to be perfectly comfortable.

  • Pete O'Malley
    from Port Washington, WI November 27, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Happy!

    These are great for the sound you get from them. Very true bass! And, when I hook up to have my backing tracks piped into the headphones while I am playing it creates a much, more, realistic and pleasing representation of the music I am playing.

  • Anthony F.
    from Bay Area, CA USA June 24, 2014Music Background:
    Studio, Gigging

    Worthwhile Purchase

    Well made product. Good when traveling and places where an amp would be out of the question. Best replacement for practice during off hours of the night when an amp is likely to attract complaints for neighbors.
    Joe Schafer was also extremely friendly and seemed to generally care beyond the common "it's my job to care" attitude.

  • Max Minor
    from Austin, TX March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Makes Practicing Bass Easier!

    The Vox amPhone Bass headphones were exactly what I needed to keep the noise of the world out, and nice, resonant bass tones in. They now go everywhere my bass goes.

  • Eric Lester
    from Buckley, WA February 19, 2014Music Background:
    bass student

    Overpriced

    Good stuff: These are comfortable and have good sound quality. I've been learning to play bass, and these headphones are a useful tool. I can connect to a computer or other source and play along with recordings effectively.

    Disappointing issues: they could be louder. Also, the "effect" switch seems to have little or no effect on the sound. "Gain" is apparently just a second volume control, so what's the point. If these had been $40 I would be delighted, but they were $100.

    I almost returned these, and Sweetwater kindly offered to take them back, but by the time I paid the return shipping it seemed it would be a little silly to bother, so I'm keeping them.

    My advice: if you can find these for a reasonable price and have a use for them, buy them. They are not worth $100.

  • zMarko
    from Tampa Bay, FL U.S.A. January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist on the Bass Guitar

    These are fantastic!

    Whoever invented these should get an award. Such a simple concept, yet so great and bottom line, they just make sense. A practice amplifier built into a pair of headphones is the best thing to happen since the practice amp itself! They sound so great and they make practicing a joy. The quality of the audio these headphones posses surpasses two practice amplifiers that I have owned. I would recommend these to anyone in a heartbeat.

  • Dennis H.
    from Charleston, WV September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I was a little disappointed...

    I was a little disappointed in the quality level of this item. The padding on one of the sides fell off almost immediately and took some time to get back on. The plastic cover on the side feels cheap and is awkward to remove and attach when changing the batteries. Also, the controls are small and a little difficult to adjust while wearing the headphones. The sound is pretty good and its convenient to be able to walk around while playing, but for half the cost I would have preferred the standard plug in unit used with a pair of inexpensive ear buds.

  • Sharon Leftwich
    from Morganton, NC April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Old dog learning a new trick!

    Awesome!

    Exactly what I was looking for! Now I can practice anytime and anywhere without being distracted by or annoying to those around me. I even used with my Ubass in the car while my husband drove! Thank you Sweetwater for excellent customer service and fast shipping. This was my first order, but a you will be my go to from now on!

  • Chuck
    from San Diego, CA March 9, 2013Music Background:
    Recovering pro bass player

    Nice but you get one sound

    3.0 because "really good," but not "Great." :-)

    Pros:
    * Convenient use compared to the amplug I've been using for a few years now. I bought these because my new MTD bass has a recessed cable jack in which the amplug barely fits, and then only in an awkward position that exposes the headphone plug to repeated banging on anything I brush up against (which then causes some loud bad noises in the headphones - not fun). The amPhone cable plugs straight in and is much cleaner.
    * Compressor is cool.
    * AUX input is out of the way and works well (as does the same on the amPlug).
    * Headphone quality seems pretty good.

    Con:
    * My only complaint is that the amp sound is limited to a "scooped" EQ. Many players are surely going to like that, and it's nice for slapping, but it's not always to my taste. In particular, this EQ doesn't cut through as well when playing along with recordings, but sounds pretty woofy. I can EQ some mids back in on the instrument, but in general it doesn't sound as good to me as the amPlug. It would be great to have a real EQ on the amPhones, or even 2 or 3 selections in amp modeling.

    In any case, I'll get used to it and will be using the amPhones because they are way easier to use that the amPlug and don't leave stuff sticking out for bumping on a countertop or something.

  • alfredo torres
    from chicago ill 60617 February 1, 2013Music Background:
    bass player

    vox am phone bass

    vox is world class all vox man big sound good head phones for bass vox is greatest value of greer impressive product .

  • Larry
    from San Diego January 1, 2013Music Background:
    50 years, all types of music, last 20 years in the Praise band at church.

    Sounds great!

    My G&L M2500 sound great through this headphone amp. As the adjustment controls don't have any dentents for reference, it took a bit of tweaking for me to get the sound I desired. As I am blind, some reference other than numbers would have been helpful, such as a stop at either end of the pot.
    Other than that, the amp sounds super and the headphones perform very well when listening to music.
    The cable seems a bit thin but there is shrink tubing where the cable goes into the left ear piece and behind the eighth inch connector. The cable may be the weakest link only time and usage will tell.

Questions about the Vox amPhone Active Guitar Headphones - Bass?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway