0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Allen & Heath ZED-24 Mixer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-24 Mixer?

Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-24 Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Colorado October 9, 2016

    Fantastic Mixer

    I upgraded from a Mackie CFX16. I didn't think the sound would change that much. But I was blown away. I don't think I need to say any more.
    ALLEN & HEATH That's all I need to say. Do your research. So strong and clean. Thanks to Ryan and sweetwater for great advice and customer service.

  • from NEW MILFORD, NJ June 21, 2016Music Background:
    40+ years performance no live, now doing worship & praise

    Allen & Heath Zed 24 Built For The Long Road!

    I was considering other analog mixers but was steered to Allen & Heath by more experienced sound engineers. Because I am a musician/performer first I knew I wanted something straight forward and easy to operate. Next consideration was my low budget. I had my sights set towards either Mackie or Berringer since I own some of their gear already and for the price they make some decent gear. That said, when they die you throw them away. This console is built tough, built to be repaired and if kept in a case and cared for it should last you a long, long time.

    My more experienced sound engineer friends pointed me to Allen & Heath because they know that Allen & Heath make rugged straight forward analog consoles because they have used them in small pro gigs.

    My salesman Mike Picotte was great about helping me figure out the financing offer and more importantly in getting my order out the door in time for my upcoming 5 band festival paying gig! The level of service at Sweetwater and the personal care I get is what keeps me a loyal Sweetwater customer. I work for a NYC pro sound shop and learned of Sweetwater from the pros about their legendary customer service. Thanks again Mike!

    This console is built like a tank and definitely something that will withstand the riggers of the road. On my first gig I received nothing but compliments on the quietness of the system. Being that it was my first small festival I was worried it might be too complicated for me but the controls are straightforward and you can feel the quality of the knobs and faders and hear the audio response with the slightest touches.

    I'm a live performer with over 40 years of experience doing small shows, I work in a pro sound shop and I have seen and heard the good, the bad and the ugly so take my word on this-you can not go wrong with quality gear like this. It is an investment in quality and priced for the low budget sound guy.

    I will be using this for my new worship and praise band and for some small paying gigs. At this reasons noble price the equipment will pay for itself very quickly!

  • from nowhere in middle USA December 8, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound

    Great Board for the Buck!!!

    Had mine for several years now and had no problems. The USB connectivity works great for recording and playback, unfortunately the board driver will only record at 16bit though, but unless you are doing ultra-high end production (and if you are you wouldn't be using this board anyway) you won't notice it. Between rehearsals and performances, this board gets used anywhere from 2 to 8 hours a day, six days a week, and has never missed a beat. If you are looking for a board with lots of channels and Aux's you won't find a better deal. I spent 3 months researching and I'm glad I did. Also buying at Sweetwater you get the additional year warranty free, though I don't think you'll need it.

  • from St.Lucia W.I November 22, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    First Allen & Heath Board

    I have heard many good things about Allen & Heath, and I have read about it. I have always wanted a board that will give you clarity and user friendly. I have a Duo and we do gigs around, and we get compliment on our sound all the time. This mixer is affordable and its worth buying it. Thanks Allen& Heath..

  • from Seattle October 24, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    First Board

    I run sound for our Youth Group band and it is the perfect fit. Everything is straight forward and easy to use. I had the whole Mixer figured out before it arrived at my house! Other Mixers i have seen i can't even figure out where to start. With how much this board has to offer you cant go wrong with that price.

  • from Bend, Or June 9, 2008Music Background:
    12v audio, live sound engineer

    what a deal

    Perfect. If you know what you want and this board fits the holes, it is a great board. I run sound for some local bands, and we did not want to haul our 32ch gl3300 to the small gigs anymore. This board fits the bill, sound great, plenty of headroom on the main pre amp. The sonar le6 software is a plus great for a beginner. Recordings live sounded great. For some reason after running effects one night for about 5hrs, the effects started to sound very digital, and had to turn them off, but what can you expect from a laptop running that long. The instruction manual really helps with the software, had 0 issues setting up this board, and for 699, I have to say I am impressed.

  • from Pennsylvania February 5, 2016

    Versatile

    If you want a multi-use product on a budget, this is it. The S/N ratio is amazing for the price. With most situations, it has everything needed INCLUDING a USB out (which is essential for modern recording). That was one of the greater selling points to me, honestly, even though I have not yet fully converted to a laptop and DAW software.

    Combined with a Tascam 2488 Neo deck, you have a dynamic duo. The balanced "out" can "master" just about any individual instrument and give you a solid input signal into a balanced "in" on the Tascam. Preload your outboard FX units onto the signal, and you can ignore the complex menu wheel of the Tascam to have just the sound you want on that channel. Repeat with vocals, keys, even a simple drum machine (if you are just making scratch recordings) to get the levels where you want them, and processed just right.

    The channel strips are loaded with all the necessary EQ, and you can have a spare or two for FX sends. There are plenty of places and ways to get signals (hot or passive) into the mix, and the only things missing are really high-end features that budget-conscious studios can probably work around anyway.

    Where a live band is concerned, whether your drummer is running an E-kit and only needs a pair of inputs, or you are dropping mics or triggers on an acoustic kit, you can still eat at least 10 for that and have room for the rest of the musicians & singers. Moreover, things are laid out quite logically, and even in low-light with aging eyes, you can find what you are looking for in a hurry either on stage or during set-up.

    In my case, I have been doing one-man-band stuff live -- so I end up with a dozen unused channels. But that isn't a problem when recording or other situations present themselves. Run an MP3 player or a laptop into one of the stereo in channels (I use 23/24 for that) and do what you need with everything else. Running full range, or into a rack stack including a crossover is still a breeze with all the output options.

    The only downside at all is the lack of assignable sub-mixes/groups that you find in higher end units. For either stereo or mono out with a monitor mix, you are still golden with this board. I've been using it now for about 6-7 years, and it has performed flawlessly. Never blew a channel, never had an output transistor fail -- it works as good today as the day I first opened the box. And even as I contemplate switching into a DAW computer situation, I know the USB out is still there waiting on me to get ambitious with that.

    Reliability is paramount in this day of planned equipment obsolescence. I haven't seen any evidence of that on the ZED 24. The only reason I gave 4.5 instead of 5 stars it that it would have been nice to have at least one more output bus for a dedicated monitor mix. But I've been able to find workarounds no matter what for everything I have thrown at it -- from the recording studio to outdoor gigs in front of 3000 people. That's outstanding for the price.

  • from New York, NY December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Theater sounds and studio sounds

    Good looking Board

    Wonderful sturdy board and great for the $. Plenty of pre/post editing options.

    i complaint is the Aux 1 and 2 override the stereo out sound, and no XLR monitors out, only aux. (Aux 3 and 4 work just fine as monitors but they are 1/4" balanced out.)

  • from Denver, CO August 10, 2012Music Background:
    Production

    Good Choice

    Another great product by Allen & Heath. This is my second ZED-24. I recently split up my studio and decided to go wit this board again because it worked well. One of the quietest boards around. Can't beat the price either. I definitely recommend this board.

  • from Charlottesville, VA November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Allen & Heath ZED-24

    The Allen & Heath ZED-24 was my first choice and this is my first time using a mixer. I met with the associate at Sweetwater (AJ) and he gave me a tuitorial of how to use it. It was a great choice for me.

  • from July 15, 2011

    Great mixer at a Great Price

    The ZED 24 has 16 mono channels and 4 stereo channels which is more than I need at present but may become handy in the future, 10 independent outputs including RCA plug and phono outs, USB, and XLR outs which is nice, and a USB 1.1 send and return for PC connection ( which limits its use but is still standard in many mixers unfortunately and should have been replaced with USB 2). The sound is excellent and the price is good for the features, but the manual is only basic and does not explain its use in detail.

    Included is SONAR 8.5 LE which is adequate for many, and after it is registered it is free to use without the Cubase nonsense.

    Also included free is Amplitube 3 and T-RackS 3 in both standalone and vst versions (they are terrible to activate) which are good for FX and mastering, and when you add the prices for this software package it is well worth it. The Sweetwater service and free delivery are excellent also, and I would recommend this mixer to everyone who wants a basic high quality unit at a good price.

  • from Pennsylvania July 14, 2011Music Background:
    Audio/Video Enthusiast

    Exactly What We Needed

    Everything works as advertised..its definitely a beautiful board. The only reason for a 4.5 star rating is cause I would like it to have firewire connection also, and full EQ for each channel. But I love that I got 24 channels and usb for the price! The USB works wonderfully, and Sonar (the recording software that came with it) works very well too. I would highly recommend it to small-medium size churches and bands, if money doesnt grow on trees for them:)

  • from West Michigan November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/guitar player/onstage tech

    As advertised!

    Absolutely everything it's cracked up to be. I have had zero problems since switching to Sweetwater!

  • from Metro Area DC USA August 13, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Amazing value for money

    I used to have a Mackie 1604VLZ, then went all software for about four years and finally decided to get a nice desk again and a friend tipped me off about the ZED24. I loved it from the day I got it - nice long faders, EQs are great (except that there's no precision EQ for 4k-12k), layout is comprehensive and easy, and the sound is crisp and powerful. It is now the hub of my studio - everything comes together on it. The USB feature is nice too although a little bit limited, but it's a nice extra feature for quick recordings of sessions

  • from Minnesota April 3, 2011Music Background:
    Live sound, setup, promoter.

    ZED-24

    I use this board for mixing an outdoor festival type show that I hold during the summer months. I mix 5 bands each Sunday. It is pretty user friendly, and easy to pick up and use as a relative newbie when it comes to mixing live sound. I am by no means a sound engineer, or claim to be great at it. I do wish that it had more aux sends to make for more monitor mixes. Other than that, I have yet to find any problems, or issues. Overall, it is a good board, and easy to use.

Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-24 Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway