rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Allen & Heath ZED-10FX Mixer with Effects Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-10FX Mixer with Effects?

Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-10FX Mixer with Effects?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from White Hall, MD February 24, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Just What I Needed

    I purchased this mixer for use in church every week where it's just me and my guitar plugged in and sometimes another vocalist.
    I'm very pleased with the sound from this mixer and the size and capabilities are what drew me to selecting the Allen and Heath versus other brands. It is super quiet and I had no problems getting it set up for vocals and guitar. Price is excellent as well as the service from Clint at Sweetwater.

  • from Chicago November 9, 2016

    Superb in this price range

    I returned a zed6fx which has a serious design flaw in the line/instrument toggle. Massive buzzing, be warned. The 10fx on the other hand works like a dream. Fantastic compact mixer, very portable, tons of outs, record options, 4 band eq, stellar A&H effects, and more. Functions as a sub mixer in my studio as well. At this price it simply can't be beat. I'm quickly becoming and Allen and Heath devotee!

  • from August 24, 2016

    Very Impressed!

    Very happy with this unit so far! Initially I was just looking for a more portable mixer for recording drums outside of my home, but I've actually found myself using it in my studio as well.

    Had some issues with noise at first that I eventually was able to solve by using a different electrical outlet, and while the on-board effects are nice to have, and can be fun to play around with, I can't see myself using them in any practical recording application.

    Overall the unit feels sturdy, and does exactly what I need it to do. For the price, I'm very happy with this.

  • from Phoenix March 12, 2016Music Background:
    Cactussin

    Best investment I've made

    This mixer has gone well beyond my expectations for sound quality, capability, and stability. There is never any overload, even if all channels are in use. The effects are a sublime addition to any channel, and knobs for each channel makes this the best mixer in this price range for live electronic music. The hall reverb can make any blues song sound as though the ghosts of the delta are sitting in your living room howling away. The plate reverb can make synth sounds (especially acid bass) sound as though a higher intelligence is unveiling to you a vista of your inner mind. The various delays each have their own distinguishable personality and provide the psychedelic volume-delay layering needed to massage the pineal gland into silly putty. If you are in the market, go for Allen & Heath.

  • from October 28, 2015

    Good functionality, sounds great

    I got this mixer for small acoustic live gigs. It is pretty awesome sounding through a pair of Yamaha DBR10s. We used this mixer and these speakers for a trio (guitar, autoharp, violin) to play recently at an outdoor wedding with 170 guests and the sound was fantastic. I had the DBR10s on stands with levels set to 3 of 10 (markings above unity gain) and D-Contour set to OFF.

    I pre-mixed us with headphones, because we played without a monitor. The ZED 10FX EQ is very nice, very sensitive. I rolled off the highs about 2db on the autoharp, kept the fiddle EQ flat, and on the Martin HD28 guitar I rolled off the bass 3db and boosted 2db at 2Khz for a perfect guitar sound. I used a wee bit of reverb on all 3 channels. Sounded awesome, and interestingly, the venue owner said it was the best sound system he has heard at his outdoor wedding site. Lots of audience folks told us later the sound was perfect, they could hear every note clearly, and when one of the wedding party did a recitation using one of our sm57s thru the PA, they could all hear her very clearly and she sounded nice.

    Before the wedding, I did some testing at home with my other little mixer (Mackie 402VLZ4) through the same DBR10 speakers -- I definitely preferred the sound of the ZED 10FX. The Mackie was clean and quiet (no background noise), maybe even quieter than the ZED 10FX, but it was a bit sterile sounding to my ears, while the ZED has some nice warmth and musicality. I really think the ZED 10FX with the DBR10s are a perfect sounding combo for acoustic music in small to medium applications.

    I wish the ZED 10FX had mute buttons for each channel, and it would be nice if the monitor outs were TRS or XLR instead of RCA. Also, it would be nice if the stereo inputs could be used for mono by just using the L jack with the signal going to both L and R. But the ZED 10FX's EQ, effects, and routing are great soI love this little mixer anyway - it is definitely the best sounding mixer I have heard. Small footprint and low weight make it perfect for us.

  • from Beaufort, S.C. (29907) August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Lead & Slide Guitar / Singer / Song Writer / Recording Engineer

    Outstanding Board / Superb Service

    Hello Folks. My name is Bill Lubekey, and I live in Beaufort, SC. I've been playing R&R music for over 50 years. I still play live music, as well as writing my own music and recording in my home studio. I travelled full time through the 1970's and 80's, and have been through the mill with equipment. I own several Yamaha, Behringer, Mackie, and Fostex mixers. I wanted a small mixer with decent effects, for ease of set up. I looked at all of them and ran the reviews. I could have spent easily half of what I paid for the Allen & Heath ZED-10FX, but I already either own those brands or have played through them. I ordered the ZED and got it at 4:30 in the afternoon of a gig I had to start setting up at 5:00. I took it out of the box for the first time at the gig, and HANDS DOWN, it is BY FAR it is the best sounding mixer I have EVER used. The effects are easy use and sound superb. If you don't buy it, you're missing out on the best you can sound. It delivers from 10Hz to 30k to start with, giving it crisp, robust sound, without that "phony" sounding low end you usually get. As far as SWEETWATER, they offer without a doubt the best, most professional retail service in the buisness. Buy cheaper if you want, then try to get a reply if there's a problem. Ha ! Good Luck ! The real deal-breaker? Well, other than it arriving 2 days ahead of schedule, is the follow-up. Without my contact, a real nice, savvy guy named Dan Overstreet called me, out of the blue, just to ask if I was satisfied with my purchase. Talk about service, WOW ! I am so impressed with this mixer and the follow-up, why would I ever use any company other than SWEETWATER? Pretty much a no-brainer ! Thanks Dan ! You are a great representative of the quality of service at SWEETWATER !

  • from Fairport, NY July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Years and Years of writing and international performance.

    Love this board!

    I have been a full-time musician including a 10-year run as owner and performer in an international entertainment group. In addition to my career as a Financial Advisor I am currently a songwriter and perform with two bands in the area. I bought this board for my acoustic guitar duo The Venton Clark Band. Crisp and clear, ease of use and perfect quality. What's not to love?!

  • from NAPLES, FL December 21, 2013Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Great Small Footprint Mixer

    I have had this mixer for over a year and practice/gig with it regularly ... it is fantastic. I like it is small, sits nicely next to the keyboard (why do us keyboard types always default as the sound person? - smile) ... my singer has some reverb that we control and it adds to the sound nicely. When we have a bass, we just plug the bass in too. We matched the mixer w/ some QSC K-12s and it is a great setup for country club/restaurant jazz gigs.

  • from Huntsville, Alabama August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pastor, Praise & Worship Leader, Songwriter

    ZED-10FX

    Head Room galore! Clean sound! FX the best I've ever heard for built-ins. Compact. Layed out very well. User friendly. Would like to see some mute buttons/lights, however, but level dials are OK for this price. After listening to the difference between this board and many other boards I have owned, I will never purchase anything else but Allen & Heaths. Awesome! This mixer rocks!

  • from Phoenix, AZ March 5, 2011Music Background:
    Touring Musician - Over 8 Years

    Absolutely Amazing Mixer

    When most people think of a compact mixer, they think of a mixer with no special features, and the minimal inputs, and sound quality. Re-think your whole thoughts of a compact mixer when you're thinking of the ZED 10FX. I purchased this mixer as my secondary mixer from Allen and Heath for solo and duo shows, and I'm absolutely blown away. It's incredible to think how powerful, and clean this little mixer is. Everything you'd expect from Allen and Heath while maintaining a tiny size.

    My only complaint (but it's not a huge deal to me), is that there are no mute buttons. However, I understand with every button adds size, so it's understandable.

    The built in effects are as clean as all the other A&H boards, and do an amazing job. This mixer should be a must have for any band, regardless of the size. You can find a use for this guy in any setup.

  • from Boston, MA February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Engineer, Performer

    Best for the price by far

    Sound quality and preamps blow everything else away. I run live acoustic shows using this with a pair of Roland Cube CM-30 monitors, using a bit of the on-board reverb and the sound is great, totally pro. I get compliments every time. The routing's a bit weird compared to other small mixers, there's no mutes, and the 16-bit USB I/O is useless to me, but if sound quality is your highest priority go with this baby.

  • from Los Angeles April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Perfect for my band

    Bought the mixer to do a podcast and it worked beautifully for that. It's small and light, easy to use, good natural sounding reverb for the vocals, good sound overall. We've also found it handy for those gigs where they don't have enough inputs in the PA. We use it as a sub-mixer and run all our vocals through it.

  • from September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound engineer

    Best bang for the buck

    I agree that this mixer could have used mute buttons, but given the price and sound quality of the pres and FX it is not a deal breaker. You can tell that this mixer was made with high quality materials as expected from A&H. I haven't tried to record with it yet, but as soon as I do I will post my experience.
    I would recommend this mixer to anyone who doesn't have the need for large number of channels or if you are on a tight budget like me. Also if you live outside the USA, please call Dave Brow, he is more than willing to recommend something for you.

  • from Cincinnati, OH June 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Love it, but with 2 minor complaints

    The effects on this are excellent. Typical sturdy construction that A&H are known for. However, there are 2 LITTLE hiccups. I was surprised to see that the monitor connections are RCA. I'd much rather have the more sturdy XLR like the main connections. Also, if you use locking XLR connectors on your cords, you have to remove the Right Main connection before removing the Left Main connection. You can't fit your fingers between the 2 connectors to remove the Left Main first. Like I said, minor. All that said, GET THIS MIXER, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!

  • from Fredericksburg, Texas November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, recording hobbyist

    Excellent little mixer!

    You can't go wrong with an Allen and Heath.

  • from Denver, United States September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Performer, producer

    A step up from cheap mixers

    My partner and I recently bought this mixer for our act (2 mics and a keyboard). After burning through two cheap mixers in the last 4 years, we wanted something reliable. We've only had a chance to use this in a couple of shows, but so far I've been impressed. The build quality seems really great, and I was pleasantly surprised by a noticable improvement in sound quality from our last mixer. The XLR outputs are very nice to have. Sure, it would be nice to have some of the other things expensive mixers have (sliding faders, compression...), but at this price point I'm very satisfied.

  • from Lexington, Ky. December 17, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound, Recording Engineer

    Don't Let The Price Fool You

    This mixer is serious. The pre amps are of a quality unheard of in this price range. They are very quiet and have a nice sound with plenty of gain. The FET instrument inputs are actually quite nice also. I have to admit I haven't had a chance to run guitar through them much yet, but they get an incredible bass sound! The effects, while somewhat limited, are very good quality. The EQ is decent and definitely musical, but I tend to run everything flat when using it to record. The routing capabilities and variety of outputs are also well above what one would expect for a mixer this size and price. All in all, this is a very capable and useful mixer whose size and price belie its quality and features.

    My only two complaints are there are no mute buttons, but that seems typical with such small format mixers. My other complaint is more of a question. Why do companies keep using USB interfaces that are limited to 16 bits when 24 bits has been pretty much the "standard" for quite some time now. You're better off just mixing the analog outputs into your sound card or interface when recording.

    That being said, for the money the pre amps and routing features alone make it a great deal!

  • from Jacksonville, FL October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist DJ, Producer

    A&H Brilliant!

    If you are on a tight budget but want a desk that does what other high end desks features costing 3/4x as much then this is for you. Allen & Heath cut no corners when they made this little guy. Professional effects, plug a guitar right into the mixer and usb for mixing with your DAW. I had mine for over a year and I get compliments on the nice warm buttery sound this mixer helps produce. This is all you need if you're a DJ, small band or just want a nice desk for your home studio! Allen & Heath got you covered.

  • from Tilghman, MD November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Allen & Heath ZED-10FX

    I am an acoustic, classical mostly, musician with almost no clue about electronics. Retired and decided to gig with backing tracks. I bought the LS-1 Bose + Bose 1 Bass unit form a private party and he told me I should get a mixer. I have been impressed by the level of service and expert advice advertised by Sweetwater and verified by so many of the reviews here so I called up and spoke with Matt. He was patient and clearly answered my questions and advised me. We finally selected this ZED-10FX. I set it up, read the guide, did a little experimenting, and everything worked beautifully, both technically and in sound mixing. His concern that I be comfortable with dials over sliders was a good caution. This is more compact, which I wanted, and I find it perfectly adequate, but I now see why he brought the issue, like several others, up. I trust Sweetwater, have since bought cables and headphones. My vendor of choice. Lots of people have the same gear for sale. Comes down to service, consultation resources and trust. I am a fan and I am not connected or in any way coached by Sweetwater.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN. July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Live Engineer

    Solid Build, No mutes!

    This console sounds great and has the same build quility as the larger ZED desks. My only beef is that I didn't notice that it doesn't have mutes for each changel. Not a deal breaker, but makes punching an MC in and out a pain.

Questions about the Allen & Heath ZED-10FX Mixer with Effects?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway