0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Yamaha YPG-535 88-key Arranger Piano Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha YPG-535 88-key Arranger Piano?

Questions about the Yamaha YPG-535 88-key Arranger Piano?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Los Angeles May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Novice

    Great started piano coupled with excellent customer service

    I was looking for a beginners piano that wasn't too expensive and will still hold its place as I learn more and more. The piano sounds great, the keys are weighted which gives me a good feel when I practice. My piano teacher tried it and had nothing but good comments for the piano.

    I would be remiss if I didn't mention Sweetwater's customer service. Absolutely loved it every step of the way - From the initial call I received when I placed the order to the candies that were included as a 'sweet' bonus.

  • from MN February 2, 2016

    I love it. It does so much!

    I was expecting a lot and it delivered more! Full 88 keys. Many features. Many sound settings. Many rhythm settings. Built in metronome. I was looking for a great keyboard to self-teach myself and it was loaded with tools to help me learn and advance. Highly recommend it.

  • from NYC March 11, 2015

    I just love it

    this is a steal for such great quality.

  • from January 5, 2015

    I LOVE IT!!!! AWESOME PIANO

    I'm just starting out and i found this online and i love it. i like how it has usb midi and the lessons on it make it even more better. well done Yamaha!!!!!!

  • from Houston TX USA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Novice guitarist

    Alright already, you guys are good!

    As a novice guitarist who bought this keyboard to sort out music theory, I can't offer any expert opinions. But my wife can; she's a professional musician (cello) who also plays piano expertly. The YPG-535 was highly recommended to her by a fellow gigging musician who uses one. They both love it.

    My review is concerns not the product but the company I bought it from. Sweetwater is simply outstanding. They notified me when it was in stock, I ordered it, and three days later it's at my door. Two thumbs way up!

  • from East Tennessee November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Great keyboard

    I really enjoy how the keys feel compared to a regular piano. The keyboard has a great sound from built in speakers.
    The electronics are very straightforward and easy to learn.
    Overall a great product.

  • from Leesburg, IN July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Studio owner, musician and engineer

    Review The Yamaha YPG-535 88-key Arranger Piano

    A great little addition for entertaining and practicing. Easy to set up and move…lightweight and portable compared to my pro keys.

  • from Columbia City, IN June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Adult Beginner - Student at Sweetwater

    This does a little bit of everything at a great price!

    I already have the Yamaha - DGX 640, but took it to my winter home in Florida. I needed another keyboard but didn't need to spend as much as I did for the 640. I did some research and found the 535 does pretty much everything the 640 does, except the keys are not weighted and it does a few less voices, sounds, which I don't really need. The 535 is a couple hundred+ cheaper, still has 88 keys, can record yourself and can hook it up to your PC or use a USB stick to load "simple midi" files into it, which you can then turn into lessons (it shows the score and you play along) or you can just listen, almost like a player piano. Of course, my 640 works a little more smoothly, but for the money, this is a great buy, especially for a novice like me.

  • from buxton, n.c. 27920 usa December 28, 2013Music Background:
    playing in church mostly

    a great piano

    just wondering why the keys are not up this has not been played often altho it is about 8 years old abut 2 hours of playing because I have other piano's can this be fixed always in a well heated place

  • from Derby, New York March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Mother of three music students

    Yamaha ypg-525 awsome purchase for price!!!

    I bought this keyboard for my son. He loves it. The sound when he plays songs on it is very crisp. Would recommend and buy again.

  • from CATHLAMET, WA February 1, 2013Music Background:
    PERPORMING ARTISTS MANAGER. MUSICIAN.

    OUTSTANDING VALUE!

    REMARKABLE INSTRUMENT. THE STEREO SOUND IS INCREDIBLE! LOTS OF MUSIC OPTIONS AND SEEMINGLY ENDLESS ADAPTATIONS. GREAT FOR THE BEGINNER OR AN ACCOMPLISHED MUSICIAN. NOTHING BETTER IN THIS PRICE RANGE. LOVE IT!

  • from Ipswich MA USA December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Music teacher, performer.

    Great Buy!!

    A wonderful sounding keyboard that you can do so much with and lots of features that are well worth learning. A great product at an excellent price.

  • from Illinois April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    Outstandning

    This was a great purchase, its been fun a great price. I recommend to all. Sweetwater has outstanding service and very fast deliver highly recommend purchases from them.

  • from HOPEWELL, VIRGINIA February 28, 2012Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL MUSICIAN

    MORE INFO FOR YPG-535; STILL HARD TO BEAT

    In an earlier review, (7/2010) I wrote that Ithis keyboad rescued me from an emergency situation. It's still performing as good as ever! I've heard nothing but good comments about its sound, Although some other players have issues with the spring-action keys, I don't. Its dedicatd PORTABLE GRAND button will bring back the PIANO sound from any function on the keyboard. The EXIT button will bring back the main screen from other work areas of the insturment. Although the owner's manual chord chard dos not say so, thie YPG-535 recognizes 1st and 2nd inversions of major chords; just play the E and the C above it (do NOT play the G in the middle) to get the 1st inversion of a C chord; play the G and the C above it to get the 2nd inversion (5th in the bass). The TEMPO TAP is an easy way to get the exact speed that you want if the default accompaniment style setting is too fast or too slow.Larger buttons make this a very user-friendly instrument. ONce you learn your way around this piano-based board, you will be able to play ANY piano, even 9-foot concert grands! If you like the VOICE and STYLE lineup but want weighted action keys, try out the YPG-640.

  • from Buchanan Dam, Texas, USA January 20, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Awesome buy!

    Really enjoying our YPG-535. Our daughter is having a blast learning on it. Extremely high quality made and sound.

    We've never dealt with a company like Sweetwater with any purchase. They are friendly and the follow up is incredible. They want to make sure that you are more than 100% satisified.

  • from vacaville ca. June 17, 2011Music Background:
    item purchased for my daughter

    yamaha ypg-535

    perfect fit for my daugther she loves all of the dirrefrent things that she can use. jasonwas great in helping with all of the necessary assessories that i needed to get the maximum performance from the key board.

  • from Hopewell, Va, USA August 17, 2010Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL MUSICIAN

    HARD TO BEAT FOR THE PRICE

    I first tried the YPG-535 and its twin, the DGX-530 just before Christmas, 2009. At that time, I decided that either one of these boards would replace the DGX-505 that I was using at the time. The replacement time finally came on July, 19, 2010 when the pitch bend wheel on the DGX-505 broke down for the fourth (and last) time. Exam of the owner's manual shows that the DGX-530 and YPG-535 are esentially the same instrument,. For purposes of this review, I'll say that the YPG 535 is the best instrument in its size and price range. Its buttons are on the YPG-535 are much larger and easier to operate that the older 88-key Portable Grand-series keyboards. It's a great companion instrument to the Yamaha MM6, the other half of my dual setup. Its voice selection covers virtually every kind of music; I lovethe British-style Auto Accompaniments that are part of the 160 style lineup. As with all multiple-voice instruments, you'll need to invest lots of time in trying out the voices and styles before taking it out on its first gig, but in an emrgencey, the PIANO is ready to play when the instrument is turned on. I prefer the lighter key action of the YPG-535 since most of my experience comes from organs and synths. But for those of you who like the VOICES nad STYLES but prefer the heavier touch of a regular acoustic piano, try out the YPG-635.

  • from Lewiston, ID May 5, 2010Music Background:
    Old-time, self-taught piano player

    Outstanding Keyboard

    I received my YPG535 Yamaha keyboard just five days after ordering it. It is truly an amazing, beautiful-sounding instrument. It is so much more "user friendly" than other keyboards I have previously owned. I especially want to commend my Sales Engineer, Alan Finkbeiner for his expertise and excellent service. Sweetwater is very fortunate to have such dedicated staff as Mr. Finkbeiner.

  • from Barbados, West indies February 4, 2010Music Background:
    Musician(Partime) Guitarist, Keybordist, Bassist

    Great sound and feel.

    Got my Keyboard from Sweet Water just 3 days after I ordered it. The sounds are great and realistic. The keyboard is easy to operate and set up. This is ideal for home practice, live performance, and hoking up to a computer with the necessary software to do even more advance music production.

  • from Peoria, AZ USA January 15, 2010Music Background:
    Composer, Semi-Pro Musician, and entertainer.

    Dollars Well Spent

    I bought the YPG-535 for my Christmas present. I currently own another Yamaha keyboard, the 61 key E413, but wanted eighty-eight keys. After much shopping and comparison of features I settled on the YPG-535, which did arrive before Christmas of 2009.
    Having played on synth style keyboards for a number of years, over twenty, I didn't want a weighted piano style keyboard. Assembly took a little time to affix the instrument to the stand, which went together without any problems and complements the look of the instrument. In a nutshell this keyboard is all that I had hoped for and more. The features and keyboard itself are more than I had hoped for. For me, it's a perfect instrument not only providing a splendid piano sound it provides other instruments and options that will keep me practicing and playing for the foreseeable future. More bang for the buck than can be imagined and the best I have ever had the pleasure of buying.

  • from Bluffton,IN November 17, 2009

    Amazing

    i love using this keyboard. it doesn't sound like a 500 dollar it sounds like a $1000 one. The people at Sweetwater are very nice. The box on mine was damaged and they let me take it out and play it in the showroom. Thats service.!

Questions about the Yamaha YPG-535 88-key Arranger Piano?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway