0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Yamaha YPG-235 76-key Portable Arranger Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha YPG-235 76-key Portable Arranger?

Questions about the Yamaha YPG-235 76-key Portable Arranger?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Milford Ct June 18, 2016Music Background:
    I play bass and keyboards

    Awesome

    It's awesome and I even haven't scratched the surface. I have so much more to learn but I love it. I'll be buying a bass next.

    Dante

  • from Lower Alabama June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Lifetime of piano, guitar (bluegrass), vocals, percussion

    Yamaha YPG-235

    This keyboard is an absolutely wonderful instrument. I purchased it primarily as a piano because of its' superb sound, very similar to a full-size studio unit. It has much the same touch as any piano I have ever played. Key size is the same, or very close to the same size as standard pianos. I accommodate the 76 keys, rather than the 88 on standard pianos; no problems with that. The built-in metronome is a plus when trying to learn and maintain a certain beat. As far as all the other "bells and whistles"; that's just a plus. It is fun to see what it's capable of doing.

  • from January 27, 2016

    Yamaha GPS 235 keyboard

    We purchased this keyboard for our granddaughter. What a great buy! It has a great sound, is easy to play, with lots of versatility, but most of all - she loves it! Sweetwater was very helpful to this one who knows very little about keyboards. The keyboard with adjustable stand, a Gator bench, and accessories all arrived together within a few days - even through the busy holidays - and just in time for our family Christmas! Fantastic service and quick delivery! We will do business with Sweetwater again and will certainly recommend them to anyone and everyone. Thanks for being such a good company with wonderful customer service!

  • from January 16, 2016

    Yamaha YPG-235

    Great keyboard. Shopped around before buying here and got a great deal at Sweetwater. Delivered sooner than expected. Excellent customer service. Thank you!

  • from Oak Harbor, WA December 30, 2015

    Yamaha YPG-235 Portable Arranger/Keyboard

    Works and plays as advertised, lots of capabilities and functions, awesome keyboard for the money!

  • from Mountain Home, TX December 28, 2015

    YAMAHA 235 Keyboard

    Just a wonderful keyboard and so easy to learn and use. I could not be happier.

    I also bought a stand and seat very pleased with everything.

  • from Barnwell September 10, 2015Music Background:
    piano lessons for a few yea4s

    Overjoyed

    I am overjoyed with my purchase, it's everything I had hoped for.

  • from March 10, 2015Music Background:
    God given talent..praise and worship.

    bless the machine

    what an excellent machine,i have used it for 3 years and it has taught me a great deal in music.its a a machine that you can do everything with..i mean everything...

  • from South Jersey, US October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician, singer, songwriter, teacher and live engineer. 38 years exp.

    No need to look any further!

    This instrument exceeds all expectation! The features, quality and sound on this exceeds the cost by miles! Easy to use as well!
    Could there be some tweaks to improve it? Not for the cost! After a month of play, we cannot find anything NOT to be happy with.
    And it sounds even better through a PA system.
    Stop reading, and just get it.
    And of course the folks at Sweetwater offer exceptional service! They are the best at what they do. Period.
    Sales Tech Mike Hammond was the best!

  • from Alpena, Michigan August 25, 2014Music Background:
    all styles of music, depends on the band or the solo gig

    What else can be said after: I love this keyboard!

    There was a 46 year span between my going back to playing the keyboard...saw the yPG-235...liked the price, read the reviews and I bought the instrument. Wow and Wow...what a keyboard. Love everything it offers. The sound is beyond wonderful. I do use a bass Ampeg amp....the amp you chose to use makes all the difference when it comes to thow he keyboard sounds. The afore mentioned amp is my ticket to sounding awesome. I play both in bands and I do solo gigs. If you are looking for a fun keyboard with lots of personality, give this one a try.

  • from Newnan, Ga USA May 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner

    Yamaha YPG 235

    I have two other keyboards not Yamaha and to tell you the truth. This keyboard out weighs the others. I love it. I am a beginner and have only been playing for a few months. I would recommend this to everyone looking for a great keyboard.

  • from Kansas City, MO August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Educator

    Unbelievable Value

    Bought this unit for one of my instructor to use at a Montessori school where we are contracted to give lessons. He continues to use it for that but we have fallen in love with it's sounds, action and portability so it gets used much more than we had anticipated. We actually used it in two keyboard heavy album salutes (Dark Side of the Moon and Sgt. Peppers) along side a Kurzweill PC1X and a Roland Juno-D and it sounded as good as the much more expensive units. We will be buying another one soon.

  • from Florida March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur

    Love It

    Keyboard is beyond my expectations

  • from Naptown, Indiana February 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician for many groups as the Spinners and many other's.

    YPG-235

    This was a keyboard that has all of the bell's and whistle's for of an upper price and feature's of a more expensive keyboard.
    I am a pro bass player. Before I even got to read the product information book, the sound's just blew me away.

  • from Woodburn, IN June 15, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    A great keyboard!!

    This keyboard is great! All the on board sounds sound amazing! very easy setup and great sounding speakers! I would recommend this to anyone!

  • from West Virgiia July 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Product

    I would have given it a 5 except for the fact that there is no fast way to get to the transpose selection. I can see down the road the switch that has to find that entry is going to fail as you have to push it at least 20 times to get where you want to go.
    Other than that, great tones, amazing selections of instruments (wish there was a Hawaiian Guitar though). So far very impressed with it.

  • from South Whitley, In November 17, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist. 10 year classically trained pianist and a learning guitar player. I play at home, church, and in a band.

    Excellent Keyboard

    This is a fantastic keyboard. Excellent quality and value for a keyboard in this price range.

    The Grand Piano voice sounds just like my upright piano. This keyboard has so many voices and many of them sound exactly like their real counterparts. Keyboards, strings, synths, horns, drums, etc. The guitar voices aren't so real, though. I like to combine voices with the Dual feature.

    Yes, it only has 76 keys, but I hardly miss the extra 12 that a full piano has. It's easy to get used to the semi-weighted keys.

    I take the YPG-235 to church and other venues to play on. And because I'm too cheap to buy a case for it I bang it around a bit. It holds up well. Scratches don't show up much on it.

    I live just a few miles away from Sweetwater Headquarters in Fort Wayne, In. So I picked it up at Sweetwater HQ. They were very friendly and had the keyboard down from their massive warehouse in 5 minutes.

    Their HQ is so roomy and their toilets are eco-friendly. There were lots of instruments on hand. They even had free pop and coffee for patrons.

    I bought a stand and a pedal with it and found candy in the sweetwater bag. Nice touch.

    Bottom line: If you want a good keyboard and don't want to put a large hole in your wallet the Yamaha YPG-235 is a very good choice.

  • from Montgomery, Alabama July 30, 2008Music Background:
    Musician

    More Bang For Your Buck!!!

    The Yamaha YPG 235 76-Key Portable Grand Piano Keyboard is
    a great deal for the money!! This keyboard has one feature that is
    called "Graded Soft Touch action", meaning that you can adjust
    the keyboard if you so desire to simulate the weighted action of a
    piano. This keyboard also has a great sound, try the Grand Piano
    setting and you won't believe you are playing a $300 keyboard.
    It has many, many features that you would not consider in this
    price range and it has that great Yamaha quality and value.

  • from January 6, 2016

    owner

    just got it and had to go to library to get books to learn how to ply and read music love the product

  • from St. Louis Mo. May 5, 2015

    Yamaha YPG-235 76 key Portable Arranger

    Makes a great addition to my studio.

  • from Cincinnati,Ohio USA July 10, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner

    The Yamaha YPG-235 is a great keyboard for starting out with.

    The only down side is it don't come with a power adapter. But it does have a lot of options an sounds good.
    Sweetwater is a great company to buy from.

  • from shreveport, LA April 20, 2016

    yamaha

    perfect for anyone who wants to arrange, write or play along........... also great for learning keyboard parts from any source... so , anyone who doesnt need a GRAND . ... and wants a keyboard handy at all time, it is perfect. i suggest the lok-tite pro double x stand. no wobble, always steady

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana May 8, 2013Music Background:
    Attorney, semi-pro musician

    Yamaha YPG-235 is Exactly What I Needed

    The Yamaha YPG-235 is exactly what I needed. I needed a keyboard that assisted me with song writing, was easy to operate, fun for my two little boys, and portable. Most importantly, it was afordable. I love it.

  • from Fire Island, Long island, New York June 15, 2014Music Background:
    amateur, but playing piano and other instruments for nearly 80 years.

    Touch could be improved.

    A great many fine features, but the piano touch is not good. And it reacts too strongly to any change in finger pressure. But dealing with Sweetwater was excellent in every respect.

  • from Philadelphia May 25, 2014Music Background:
    church soloist who is learning how to play the keyboard

    I hate the dual and split features which do not work

    I like everything about this keyboard except the dual and split features which rarely or do not work and never have. I did not know when I bought it that it is advertised in its name as a portable grand piano because I do not want the piano sound enough to like that button, and I occasionally hit it accidentally after trying all night to get the dual or split feature to work for me. I am also tired of everything I want being erased by the machine. I haven't gotten any further than trying to learn how to use the dual and split features which don''t work. So I do not know how to record. For instance, if I want the dual bird sound to go with fantasy, I am constantly getting one of them erased and replaced with the machine's selection which might be base guitar or strings 050. I want to know how to jury rig my machine to get rid of the grand piano key, the base guitar sound, and the strings. If I ever play this thing on stage before an audience I will either have to go with a sound that I don't want or use the same sound all night long because I cannot see myself trying for hours between songs to change the sound that I did not ask for to something that I like. I took it back to the store, and it worked for the employees, so they would not look at it any further.

Questions about the Yamaha YPG-235 76-key Portable Arranger?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close