0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Samson Expedition Express Reviews

4.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson Expedition Express?

Questions about the Samson Expedition Express?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • M
    from NJ November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    All wireless

    This is a great solution for anyone who needs a totally wireless system. Just bring the speaker and you've got amplification anywhere without power or wires.

    The Bluetooth works great. Sound production is very good. Battery does it's job. Nice carrying handle.

    The only unanswered question is to determine the charge remaining on the battery. Not yet sure what happens when the battery drains down near to exhausted. Didn't see anything in the manual and the folks from Samson never replied to my query via their website.

  • Janet M Fry
    from New Cumberland, PA November 1, 2013Music Background:
    I am a mediocre piano player, but the reason for this purchase is that I am a professional clown - music provided by CD's !

    Exceeded my expectations

    I am a professional clown with my main focus on the elderly and Alzheimer patients. The challenge I have always encountered, of course, is that they are often hard of hearing.

    My 45 minute skit includes some funny jokes, tricks and music, coupled with my Samsung Tablet. Before I purchased the Samson Express product, I used a set of small German brand portable speakers, which only worked part of the time, causing me and my audience much anxiety.

    The Samson Expedition Express, coupled with the Shure Microphone that Sweetwater recommended worked wonderfully. It is light enough that I am able to transport it easily and the sound - magnificent. This product is well worth the price. Absolutely!

  • Joe
    from Georgia, USA October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur DJ

    Powerful Little Speaker

    I got this speaker to use on the beach for a group who like music. Never needed to turn the volume above three, and it will go to ten. The speaker was very strong and the music was very clear. After two days, people started coming by to find out what kind of speaker I had. They wanted to know why it didn't have wires. After I explained how it worked, most wanted to buy one too. Fully charged, the speaker will last about 6 1/2 to 7 hrs on the 3 setting. Fully discharged, it takes about 3 - 4 hrs to recharge. Then it’s ready to go again. Best little Bluetooth speaker I have ever owned. I think I will order a second one. Two matched together would be awesome.

  • Will
    from Rome, GA USA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Little Speaker

    I had been looking for a strong speaker that was Bluetooth, portable, and lightweight for the beach. After reading the reviews, I decided to give this little speaker a try. With free shipping, I got it two days after placing my order online. Took it out of the box, turned it on, and paired it with my smart phone. When I touched “play music” on my phone, I was blown away by the big sound coming out of this little speaker. It has lots of bass and volume for the music I play (R&B, soul, beach, and other shag dance type music). Very glad I got it.

  • Don Medlen
    from Topeka, KS. USA September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Barbershop

    Great sound for such a small unit

    Wife loves it for singing at rest homes. We are going to get another Samson for our Motorcycle group for prison bike shows and Dragoon races. We plan to pair the two together for outdoor use.

  • PSL
    from August 25, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Reliable, Versatile, Durable

    Build-quality here is pleasantly good - I would not be scared to bang the box around a bit. The size to output ratio is also quite good even though the tweeter is not horn-loaded. It would be punchy enough to use for small format music or vocal reinforcement to crowds under 40 persons but obviously don't expect much bass from it. In terms of features the addition of a pole mount socket is nice to get it up on a tripod, and the battery is able to switch live between AC/battery during playback. The monitor angle is also nice to have in case you need a backup monitor. The XLR in and 1/4" output is nice for integration to larger systems. The fully charged battery seems to be able to easily last for a 4hr gig and I have not tested it beyond this.

  • B. Choy
    from vancouver, BC July 14, 2015

    Love the sound!

    This system is very light and last very long on one charge. I have yet to test it for an outdoor wedding. But we have used it in a big house for group of 30 ppl. And it is also my feedback monitor for guitar playing at praise and worship.

  • Kevin Labbe
    from Denver CO June 10, 2015Music Background:
    Concert flute Playing and rock bands

    Samson Expedition Express

    Just right for portability and sound output
    Just enough speaker to not overdo it at a banquet
    or a more intimate setting outdoors or coffee shops!

  • Dennis Hoover
    from Parkville, MD (USA) February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Part Time musician

    A Great Unit!

    Before purchasing this, I was using a lap-top computer, PA head, a heavy speaker and a couple of small tables in my one-man-band show. This is terrific for me as it is so much lighter and more compact to carry, yet puts out great sound and works with an IPOD through blue tooth so that I no longer need the computer or any tables. Am VERY satisfied!

  • TJ Weger
    from Safety Harbor, FL November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician of a variety of styles.

    Perfect for it's intended purpose!

    Got a call for a beach wedding with ZERO power access. A generator would have worked, but now that's just more hassle, not to mention the noise. So, got one of these. For a beach wedding of 40-50 people, it was PERFECT and plenty loud enough for all to hear clear ukulele and vocals. I only give it a half-star less than five due to no FX, but honestly, you don't need 'em, and they suck power, too. Super light, easy to schlep and sounds great. The deal sealer for me though? BLUETOOTH! Love not having to hook up the iPhone. Just play the music and there it is in the Express. Samson hit a homer with this one.

  • Chris Saucedo
    from San Antonio TX October 22, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Reinforcement Tech & DJ

    Great portable Item

    Great speaker, good range on my phone. With a pair of these speakers, this system is perfect for Wedding Ceremonies. Battery definitely last longer then anything else out there.

  • Mike
    from Maryland October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great little speaker!

    As an audio professional, I do a lot of PA gigs in small to medium sized rooms where a full PA system is overkill. This little speaker is a perfect solution and the fact that it's wireless means it can be placed anywhere in the room. Bluetooth connectivity is another bonus. It's small and lightweight but the sound is full and balanced.

    I knocked off one star because I had to send the first one back. The mic input didn't work but Sweetwater replaced it quickly and their customer service is great...will definitely order from them again.

  • Ford Pugh
    from Richmond, VA August 15, 2013Music Background:
    musician, DJ, auctioneer

    Awesome Speaker

    I love this speaker. I run an auction company and the last battery operated speaker we had stopped charging. I bought this one and it was 8 lbs lighter, and lasted just as long. In addition to line in jacks for a micorophone I can also plug in my iphone or anything with a 3.5mm, as well as bluetooth. I also took the unit to the beach fully charged and it lasted about 10 hours playing continuous loud music with perfect sound. I would recommend this to any auctioneer, DJ or consumer who wants a portable rechargeable speaker.

  • Tom
    from New Britain, CT December 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not for vocals

    I love this little machine for mp3s, but in my experience it will not support vocals in a room larger than about 15' x 15'. I also love the battery and blue tooth, and the light weight but without great vocals I will probably only use it 3-4 times a years (I do 400 gigs). This use will only be for the smallest venues where I need backtracks. For vocals I'm almost as well off singing without the mic so I've gone back to my bigger rig. It also cannot adjust eq separately for the channels so my vocals are too bassy or my backtracks have too much treble.

  • Eve Holmes
    from California April 27, 2017Music Background:
    Professional singer/entertainer

    Does Not Work Well With Just Battery

    I have had mine for about a month. I do a lot of tiny rooms for Nursing Homes and when plugged in it worked fine and the MP3 music tracks and my cordless Shure mic system works. Now I wanted to use it without having to plug it in. No matter how long I have charged the battery, mind you my little gigs are only one hour long, the MP3 tracks go off and on and sometimes my microphone cuts off as well. I tried using it yesterday with the microphone that came with it and just battery operated. It was so awful and I was embarrassed to be getting paid, though just a few dollars, for such a bad performance from me due to the system going off and on. I was only performing an hour again and did not have time to run to my car to get cord to plug it in. It is suppose to work with the battery? Fortunately, Sweetwater is making an even exchange with a new unit. If the new unit does not work, I have thrown away $. I have 2 other sound systems, but I do not need all those bigger units for little rooms like this. Thank you.

  • AC
    from Los Angeles June 26, 2016Music Background:
    DJ

    Samson Expedition reviews

    Not even close. Very disappointed in both models of the Samson Bluetooth speakers ... I tried both and returned both unhappy.

Questions about the Samson Expedition Express?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway