0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Samson Expedition 510i Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from millsboro Delaware November 15, 2013Music Background:
    pro D J.

    Great little system

    I D.J. and have some small trivia shows I do and hate taking the big system out for the smaller rooms. This system has a great sound soild bottom end. Easy set up and take down. Only down side I don't like the board being exoosed when its packed up. Otherwise great system for a good price!

  • from Minn. October 31, 2012

    A great product, and exactly as advertized

    This is a very lightweight and compact system, with great sound and features. I especially like the I-pod docking station. Great personal service, and very fast shipment. I'll recomend, and will return. Thank You

  • from Lavergne, Tn ( Just south of Nashville, Tn ) December 11, 2011Music Background:
    Lifetime Drummer

    Just what I was looking for in a portable sound system

    As a drummer using a Roland TD4s V-Drum kit, I was looking for a powerful portable sound system that I could use not only for my kit alone but also for a whole band. But it also had to deliver the sound quality along with the power. The Samson Expedition 510i was the perfect choice for me. I use it all the time playing in my church band. We have the drum kit and two keyboards going through the Samson and everything sounds fantastic. We have never had any interference or feedback using this system. It is just one of the best systems I have ever had the privilege to use and will always use Samson for all my sound needs.

  • from Addison, Illinois USA October 6, 2011Music Background:
    Zumba, Fitness instructor and DJ

    Great sound in a portable unit

    I am a Zumba Instructor, and I find this is a great portable unit to take on the road . It really cranks in large gymnasiums. I like the fact that I can use more than one music source and mic source. Lightweight too!

  • from St. Louis , MO October 11, 2010Music Background:
    pro player, studio engineer

    Great Upgrade and Replacement For Stagepass 300

    I love the Yamaha Stagepass 300 at close range and small rooms. As we added better backing tracks with improved bass and drums in larger rooms it wan't quite enough. Sales reps gave the 510 very good marks but couldn't find one to listen to in town. My first choice was the Yamaha 500 but the interlocking speakers and effects were of interest for the money so I gave the Samson a chance. My first use was for speaking voice only and the clarity was amazing. The size and ergonmics are better than the Yamahas. With pole mounts the less pwerful Yamaha 300 with speaker mounts pole mounts is exactly the same height as the more powerful 510 ( the pole mounts are recessed. For reverb the 510 is first rate. The handles on bot the
    top and bottom make it far easier to move. This is a first rate, well designed product ar an incredible price. This is probably the best small to medium sized PA I have heard. Yamaha invented the design but Samson has both copied it and perfected it.

  • from Kingston New York United States October 2, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Jazz/Classical Guitarist, Keyboardist, Church Organist, Accordionist , Electric bassist, and Singer.

    Samson Expedition 519i

    We brought this unit because of an emergency. We were called at the last minute for a solo/duo jazz dinner music gig, a rare thing in "Our Town" Our Beringher was half dead, and only would have funtioned if we used spare amps and frankensteined the whole operation for that gig. The Samson Expedition 510i was sent Wednsday 9-10-2010 over night by Fed-Ex. Upon arrival, it was easy to set up, plug and play, but in my excitement of making adjustments I accidently shut the mixer down with the volume almost half way by stepping on the cord that goes into the power strip that was plugged into another bigger power strip, for double safety in the event of a power surge, the cord came loose from the first power strip. This episode happened on a Thursday 9-30-2010. We got a hold of our wonderful salesman Matt Emick who in return got a hold of John from technical support. After explaining to John from the technical support our dilema, John and Matt concured and proceeded to overnight a replacement Samson Expedition 510i mixer. We already had the speakers from the original order and just needed a mixer replacement. Sweetwater is a wonderful company!!! There is no other place on the planet--period-- that one can find such fantastic service and caring. Because of Matt and John's help, my wife and I have secured two other music performance venues at this wonderful establishment, not only because of our jazz performance, but also because of the compliments that we received from our Samson Expedition 510i. It's like having your own "Batman and Robin" in case of emergencies!!!

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana September 14, 2010Music Background:
    Worship leader

    wonderful value and versatility for the money

    This is my second foray into the Samson brand which to be honest I was a little skeptical at first but no more.
    If you want light and powerful this is the unit for you. The speakers connect into one unit if desired with total weigh of 50 lbs. The 500 watt amp with mic and RCA jacks,effects and monitor can park in its speaker or be seperated. I use it as one powered speaker. At 25 pounds with amp, handles top and bottom and small light frame it fits any where and if you wish you can add a small band. This is great quality, value and versatility for hundreds less that other brands.

  • from Merrimack, NH April 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    Samson Expedition 510i is a winner!

    I ordered the Samson 510i PA system to provide amplification for vocalists and speaking to the audience for my jazz trio. The first time we used it was in a large hall with a very tall ceiling and I wasn't sure how well it would perform. But we were pleasantly surprised at how much umph it had and provided perfectly adequate amplification for our vocals and general announcements. It's very clever how the whole thing fits together, i.e., the two speakers lock together to form one unit to carry, and the mixer cleverly locks into the rear of one speaker, while the cables and other gear fit in a compartment in the other speaker. Overall, a very neat setup, and just right for our use. I'm not sure how well it would perform at an outdoor venue, but certainly for the types of rooms we generally play, it is more than adequate. Even the iPod sounded good going through the system. I think the addition of the carrying bag with wheels and a handle that's available would be helpful, as the two speakers together weigh over 60 lbs; you don't want to carry them too far! I do wish they provided longer speaker cables; the ones that come with it are each 20' long.

  • from Suffolk Cnty, L.I. April 1, 2012Music Background:
    Veteran bass player, percussionist and vocalist.

    Exactly what I was looking for

    This compact portable PA packs a big punch for a unit it's size. The system is perfect for my 3 piece acoustic band, and is perfect for smaller venues or restaurants & pubs. The 500 watt Class D amp delivers clean, powerful sound with no distortion or clipping. The built-in reverb and effects are nice. Also has 2 monitor outs for powered monitors. Very versatile. Setting up and packing down is a snap. The head stores neatly into the back of one of the speakers. Very easy to transport. I just wish it could turn around so that the dials and knobs are not exposed. Overall, this system is well worth the money. Buy it now.

  • from Indiana July 25, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Pleased!

    Very nice and compact system. Sound quality is excellent. Perfect for acoustic solo, duo, or trios. Probably could handle vocals nicely for an electric band in a small to medium sized barroom setting. iPod dock is awesome feature. Minor complaints are no compressor/limiter switch for ch. 3 &4 and would like to have 3-band eq for all channels. Tripod stands should be included in the package, but are sold seperately. Highly recommended. Samson would do well to expand the line with a 1000 or 1500 watt system with 12'' speakers and optional sub woofer.

  • from August 11, 2016

    Great sound when it works

    I have had this unit for 2 years now. I really love the sound, the portability and pretty much everything about it except, the right channel keeps going out. I have sent it back to Samson 3 times. Each time they tell me there is nothing wrong with it. It comes back to me working. It will work for 3 to 4 months and then go out again. Right now, it is out again. I don't know if I should send it back or junk it and go to a different company. Each time I send it in, it cost shipping and I am out of the unit for 2 - 4 weeks. Samson has "repaired" it for free but it is a real pain. I can't recommend it.

    I have been using all sorts of high end musical electronics for 40 years or more. I have never had a piece of equipment in the shop more than once. Some equipment still works fine after 40 years without one single issue. I can't figure out why this sound board is a problem. I think it needs a new board but they don't want to pay to swap it out. Now it is out of warranty. Dislike.

Questions about the Samson Expedition 510i?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close