0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer XM1800S Reviews

4.5 stars based on 51 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer XM1800S?

Questions about the Behringer XM1800S?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Nebraska February 26, 2017

    Behringer XM1800S Mic Set

    In a review I posted 02/26/17, I wrote no problems with reverb. What I meant to say was no problems with feed back while using these mics. Sorry for the blooper.

  • from Nebraska February 26, 2017

    Behringer XM1800S 3Mic Set.

    I was a little skeptical about ording these mics, The price looked too good to be true.
    You know what they say you get what you pay for, well in this case you get way more than you pay for. Sound pick up is great, and have had no problems with reverb. And molded padded Cary case they come in is awesome.
    If you are on a budget as I was and you need some descent mics, you can't go wrong with these. Also I'd just like to mention that the sales staff at Sweetwater are outstanding.
    One more thing their shipping times are very fast. Thank you Sweetwater for making this a great buying experience.

  • from Kendallville In. February 24, 2017

    mico

    I put them in service and they work very veryvery good --- everyone is happy that i got them for chruch and they great one for us

  • from Bakersfield January 20, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Composer & Sound Engineer

    Shocked and Amazed!

    Unbelievably GREAT mics for the price point! Very responsive and clear - use them for live sound and recording and haven't had one issue yet!!!

  • from California November 28, 2016

    Couldn't get any cheaper!

    Highest value and quality available in an entry-level mic!
    I don't have any complaints. They do the job far above the asking price. I don't know how they're going to hold up yet.
    They're no SM58, let's get real. But, for the aspiring artist on a budget, it is a choice. Thank you for caring, Beringer!

  • from Brazoria county, Texas August 9, 2016

    Versatile, durable, and cheap.

    Got these with a Behringer mixer. Wow. I use them for voice, mic-ing a 20W Orange head + cab, mic-ing the wall reverberations from the amp, and for my kids' karaoke machine. They have proven to be quite durable in less than kind hands, and with great sound quality.
    Sweetwater service is a big part of why I buy here.

  • from June 29, 2016

    Great for the price

    They work great they pick up very well and great for the price.

  • from June 26, 2016

    Games

    My little boy need it for his show

  • from May 22, 2016

    WOW!!

    I have to say we started a Church in a Theatre a few weeks ago. The only michs the praise team had were the body michs taped to the side of our faces.They were ok but I didn't feel that we aquired the "Church Sound" that we needed. I odered 2 sets of these BehringerXM1800S. We set up this morning and used them. Everyone commented on how FABULOUS the entire music sounded today. They were hot and extremely clear sounding. People walking passed the building walked in to hear us. I came home after church and ordered another set.

    Thank you Sweetwater! You truly bring SWEETNESS to music.

  • from New Haven. Vt. May 6, 2016

    Xm180s mics

    I was very suprised at the quality ! None of my band members can tell the difference. I will be buying more of these mics . I used these for singing and miccing drums and amps. I like these so much I am buying more of these mics plus I am going to try a condenser mic too.

  • from Mead, Washington May 6, 2016

    Good Gear - Good Value

    Behringer XM1800S is an exceptional value, sound range is excellent both for vocal messages and singing accompaniment. We borrowed this brand from other musicians and just had to purchase some for our church group. Sweetwater's service and communication has been very prompt and professional. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Ft Wayne, IN January 1, 2016

    Behringer XM 1800S

    I purchased these as an addition to my karaoke setup and was very impressed. Ive also used them as a backup to my wireless set for weddings. Ive also started using them when i run sound for bands.Behringer XM1800S

  • from USA November 23, 2015Music Background:
    expierienced

    soooo good!

    I own over a dozen vocal microphones and this xm1800s 3 pack is awesome! Behringer's other one, XM8500 is vastly superior but they are for different purposes. These are general purpose, utility, spare, good to have, back up type mics, and for the price/quality ratio, there is absolutely none better. I own some $200+ dynamic mics and I am absolutely thrilled to have these things in my "locker" now. Unless you're a highly skilled vocalist with lots of different vocal pitches and techniques, these mics will sound as good as anything for you. Oh and I gotta throw in, they sound is better than the SM58 for actual singing. The freq resp is almost identical, these are obviously not as durable but that's not what theyre for. For the price, are you kidding? So amazing. I should also add that it's your singing that ultimately makes a mic sound good, not the mic it's self. Plus Behringer? Behringer makes some awesome stuff!

  • from new madrid, MO August 27, 2015Music Background:
    mobile DJ sound engineer and student of the world

    Behringer XM1800S awesomeness

    I put it aginst my shures and peavey mics and honestly my sure were quieter than my 1800s. By that the shures you had to speak louder to get the same decibels .. Plus the Behringer's are just a little heavier than the peavey was bout the same weight as the shures. The shures I am referring to are the sm58 plus at half the price 40 buck for these 3 mics and you pay 54 to 60 for the sm58's I bought these mics cause I am adding karaoke to my service and do not want to put a expensive mic on the stand to get tore up in a bar. If I need more mics I am definitely going to order another 3 pk.

  • from San Diego August 15, 2015Music Background:
    garage band

    XM1800S

    Used one for the first time last Saturday when the band played at a high school reunion. The guy balancing our sound during the soundcheck commented on the quality of the sound and the rich tone the Behringer had. I'm very happy with this microphone.

  • from Palm Bay, FL March 24, 2015Music Background:
    novice/intermediate experience

    Awsome value and Great sound

    We recently bought these mics for our nursing home ministries singing team. We use them in conjunction with our other three SHURE xlr mics. There is no noticeable difference in sound quality. We also use these in a small setting (room about 30' x 40'). Our amp system is a small portable Fender P150 via a Behringer XENYX 1202 mixer. We are nothing short of ecstatic about the products purchased through SWEETWATER. Not to mention the outstanding customer service from our Sweetwater Sales Rep!!!!

  • from Quincy, Florida March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Sing mostly and home and church sound man

    Great Microphones

    Great Microphones for my use at home. Thinking of bring them to church for comparison - I believe they are on a par with our church microphones.

  • from Ohio March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Very Surprising

    I bought these "hoping" I wasn't throwing my money away.
    I now have one side-by-side in my music studio next to a Shure SM 58.
    Honestly, at one-fifth the price per unit, there is very little difference.
    The Shure could be said to be slightly better sounding, but that would be highly subjective.

  • from PA March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Self-taught

    Great Deal

    Can't go wrong with the 3-pack Behringer XM1800S. We now have enough mics in the house for all potential and aspiring singers. Great product for home use and more. Fits the bill.

  • from barbourville ky usa February 27, 2015Music Background:
    singer at church

    awsome Behringer XM1800S

    i got the awsome Behringer XM1800S
    6 of them for our church. thay are very well made mics,
    and very clear, no noise at all
    if you need great mics at a great deal.
    these are what u need..
    thanks ,derek godbless

  • from San Diego, Ca February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Amateur Recording and Live sound Engineer

    Great Deal

    Despite the price, these mics are built solid. The on/off switch is firm but noisy. They feel good in your hand but you don't want to hold them in a quite setting because they are noisy to the touch. They have a strong signal and are a little on the tinny side. We bought one set and was so impressed we bought a second set for our church. We simply rolled off some highs and they sound as good as any mic in our church hall.

  • from Decorah, IA, USA February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Amazing Mics

    I purchased these mics about three months ago. I have used them on several occasions (studio and Stage) and they sound phenomenal. They are as good as Shure's SM 58. Defiantly worth your time and money

  • from Tollhouse, CA October 5, 2014Music Background:
    Vocalist, formerly professional

    Very happy with all aspects of this purchase!

    I was amazed with the quality, price and service I received from Sweetwater Music! The clarity and quality of sound on these mics is excellent.

  • from Ocean City, MD June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro for 50 years

    Excellent Deal

    Amazing deal. These are really decent microphones and 3 of them for this price is insane. don't get me wrong they are not as good as Shure 58's but they are not a cheapo lousy microphone either. Perfect for young groups just starting out or for practice use. I carry one of them with me to my gigs in case my main microphone bites the dust.

  • from Los Angeles California May 9, 2014Music Background:
    vocalist, guitarist, recording engineer

    AMAZING DEAL

    So you are looking at these microphones and thinking "cheap and probably sound lame", I did for years until I started playing with some pinheads that did not respect my Shure mic's so I bought some of these as throw-aways.

    They came in a nice carrying case and included mic stand holders. I've been using Shure vocal mic's (PE54, SM57, SM58, SM7) for over 30 years, I was very surprised to find that I like my vocal sound better with one of the XM1800 than SM58 or my beloved vintage PE54, this microphone has a nice combination of proximity effect and crispness in the high frequencies that makes my voice sound fuller and sweeter. My drummer and bass player are both using them too, we're having no problem with feedback or handling noise either.

    It's a mind-blowing unbelievable price, give thee XM1800S a try, at $13.33/mic you don't have much to lose.

    On another note the Behringer electret calibration mic (for RTA applications) makes a killer inexpensive omni drum overhead mic, that and an XM1800S on kick drum makes a pretty sweet inexpensive drum microphone setup that works for live and recording (provided you have good sounding drums like the custom DW kit I got from Sweetwater).

    Good music to all.

  • from Trinity, Fl USA November 26, 2013Music Background:
    KJ, DJ

    Behringer Microphones

    Bought these for one of my KJ setups. They are great sounding and what a great price!!

  • from Columbia, MD October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Work as electrical engineer in non-audio/video field; do audio for fun

    Behringer XM1800S survives middle schoolers!

    I bought these microphones for a middle-school studio that produces the school's morning announcement TV show. All their equipment is basic and beat up, but their microphones were particularly pitiful, so I bought these as an upgrade (my son helps work the technical crew in this studio).

    I shopped around for suitable mics (even looking at used gear) - but couldn't justify big bucks for high-end equipment in this setting, and didn't want to waste time on gear that wouldn't hold up. I stumbled across these mics using the Sweetwater equipment search function - and could barely believe the price. After some research, I ordered them (they showed up faster than expected - Thanks, Sweetwater shipping department!).

    I did some quick testing at home before sending them in to school. They seem to have great response for both singing and spoken voice. Someone who's exacting about their mics will probably find their performance limits, but I found no such limits for my purposes.

    They worked as expected without fuss in the studio. I didn't even go to the studio for the upgrade: I sent everything in to school with my 14 year old, and let him handle it. Everyone in the studio is happy with the new mics - and they are surviving their life at the hands of typical middle schoolers without problem.

    In summary: These microphones are hard to beat and perform at a level that's well above what you'd expect at this price point. Highly recommended.

  • from Unicoi, Tn October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player backup vocals

    Great Mic

    Outstanding Microphone. Works well as an instrument mic as well. Great value to boot.

  • from Michigan November 21, 2016

    Great budget mic

    Great mic, great price, very sensitive to hand movement so better use a mic stand.

  • from Lafayette March 13, 2016

    Unbelievable for the price

    Cons: they feel a little flimsy in hand, and get a lot of noise through the chassis (hand/cable movement, stand bumps, etc), tend to feedback more than 58s
    Pros: super clear, high output, and a few bucks a pop!

    I have always been a devoted sm58 user, but I recently picked up this 3 pack just to have some spares. In many situations these mics are just as good and even superior to the 58s (in tone quality). They are a little more pronounced in the upper mids with a little less low end. For vocals, it's great. I compared this to the sm58 track to track in a recent recording session and definitely preferred these to the shures. Also, these sound great on guitar amps. Depending on the situation and voice type, these could be a great and exceptionally affordable alternative to the shure sm58.

  • from Gibsonia, PA April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Played from local to regional touring bands

    Why spend hundreds?

    This is my second set of these! My entire band ended up using them, so I ended up ordering another set. There's one (1) mic stand adaptor and they come in a padded carrying case! I've used other mics for years and these have been used exclusively. Forty bucks, 3 mics and a case, plus the great customer service from Sweetwater (thanks, Matt!)...can't be beat!

  • from Marengo, OH April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Lifelong guitar addict...

    Unbelievable Quality at an Unbelievable Price!

    When you open the case on these mics and pick one up, you can feel the quality. And they sound pretty good when you consider that the price is around $13 dollars each.
    There're not a Shure SM58 of course, but holding one in your hand and listening to the response, the XM1800 is surprisingly good. And if you've ever dropped your $200 dollar mic while setting up or performing, you know the sinking feeling when it go dead. But if you happen to drop the XM, the sting is not so bad...$13 bucks.
    Considering the unequaled customer care you receive when you order from Sweetwater Music - you can't go wrong! It doesn't matter if you are buying a pack of guitar picks or $5000 dollar Custom Shop guitar, you get the same great service.
    But like they say, don't take my word for it - try it yourself.

  • from lenoir,n.c. usa March 7, 2015Music Background:
    pastor,musician,song writter

    awsome package

    After dealing with older and worn equipment I purchased this package mostly for the price,but what a great supprise! These mics not only look great they sound better than than I ever expected. We had to turn the gain almost off and the balance is almost perfection in operation. I am very pleased and hats off to Sweetwater.

  • from Alsea Bay, Oregon December 15, 2014Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter, guitar, drums, perform, record, tech.

    Behringer XM1800S Good Value.

    These are decent all-purpose mics. After using them for over a year I bought another set. I use two as drum overheads (removed grills), others to mic guitar cabs and an organ.
    The mic clips and case are a nice addition, although the mic clips require a bit of attention. The threaded sleeve will easily pull out of the clip. Before using the clips I recommend this fix. Slightly unscrew the plastic adapter. Use a small screwdriver between the adapter and clip to pry the brass threaded sleeve out. Apply super-glue to the inside wall and push threaded sleeve all the way back in. Immediately unscrew the adapter (to prevent accidentally gluing it to the brass insert).
    Sweetwater - excellent service and competitive prices. Thank You, Aaron.

  • from Pa November 25, 2014Music Background:
    church praise team

    Behringer XM1800S

    work great for price.

  • from Central Coast California September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Rock star

    Great value

    Great mics...everyone has their preference and mine has always been my Shure Unisphere (pre-Sm58) but these have me re-thinking the rig.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Live sound

    Sound good and reject feedback

    I bought these expecting they would simply work but they actually sound better than some of my more expensive mics. Feedback suppression is also very good. Lots of gain for vocals in small rooms with floor monitors.
    I even dropped one 8 feet onto a tile floor. Dented the ball but still works.
    Unbelievable price.

  • from December 16, 2013

    Hard to beat at the price!

    These mikes are used for amateur performances at various venues. They are solid and work great for our purpose. I'd recommend them for anyone with similar applications and a limited equipment budget.

  • from Cedar Rapids, IA February 2, 2017Music Background:
    Live performance, recording, worship

    Almost too hot!

    I have used one of these weekly leading worship for about 6 months now. Running it through a tube pre-amp is has a really warm sound and the sound guy complains that it is too hot compared to the Shure mics we also use. If you are on a budget (like me) and crave s good sound (also like me), you will not go wrong with this.
    Only downside is the lack of true low-end as it has a limited response and won't reach below 40 HZ. Recommend for use with Tenors and Sopranos.

  • from Kingwood, TX August 26, 2016

    Great Mics for Low Price

    We had a house party with some Karaoke and I didn't want to use my better mics for that kind of handling by lots of party people. I wanted to find some mics that could handle some abuse, sound good, and maybe use for other functions. These did the job fine! I'm very impressed. The hardware is not as strong as the usual 58/57 dynamic types but it is still quality. I would not hesitate to use these for shows, or even recording. They sound great and if lost, stolen, or broken then they are easy to replace. Three good mics for less than 100 bones and case included!? No brainer...

  • from Petoskey, MI August 12, 2015

    Behringer XM1800S

    Didn't know what to expect from these mics, given the low cost. I did look at reviews at both Sweetwater and elsewhere and found favorable reviews.
    We are using these units in a modest fair PA system, so it doesn't stretch the range of the microphone, so I can't attest to their performance in a high-end PA or recording scenario, but are excellent for my needs. Still shocked at the price/value. $13 bucks each?
    Delivery exceeded expectations and excellent follow up by Sweetwater.

  • from June 6, 2015

    NICE!!

    I PURCHASED ONE SET AND WAS REAL IMPRESSED SO I PURCHASED ANOTHER SET.
    THEY SOUND ALMOST AS GOOD AS SOME MICROPHONES I'VE PAID 4 X'S AS MUCH FOR.

  • from May 25, 2015

    Was Surprised

    You know I got these as a freebie and I have to say they arent bad mics for the price. They are not Sennheiser, Neumanns, or Shure, but they can hold there own. If you are needing a mic in a pinch and dont have the money to put into a one of the 3 stated above, then this is the way to go.

  • from March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    Behringer 3 pac mics

    Great bargain

  • from temple ga. usa February 9, 2015Music Background:
    pro musician southern traition band 40 years

    behringer xm 1800 s

    HI these mick's has been doing great in southern comfort bar&grill there good and strong thanks fred james

  • from socorro, NM USA December 9, 2014Music Background:
    ameture musician

    great for the price

    I am no pro audio producer but these mics work well and do exactly what i need them to. So for the price I don't know of anything else that will work so well.

  • from ND August 9, 2014Music Background:
    Boradcaster/Reporter/Producer/ Network owner

    New toys

    I needed some microphones to be able to some off site recording. These were inexpensive and they sound great. The other crucial item is that they got here quickly.

  • from January 8, 2016

    Low-cost option for podcasting

    I bought these to use for recording podcasts with a multi-person panel. I'm running them through a Behringer Xenyx 1204USB mixer. We've recorded one show with them so far and the sound was great. You do have to be right up in the mic to get good sound quality, but that is actually an advantage because these mics don't pick up a lot of background noise.

    My podcast is strictly a hobby so I can't afford Heil or Rode equipment, but these mics do a great job for a very low price. I will probably buy a second set so I can increase the number of seats available per recording.

  • from Edwardsville, Il February 9, 2015Music Background:
    former sound man, current musician

    decent mics

    After super gluing the brass threads into the mic clips they work just fine. After hot gluing the wind screen back on to it's threaded ring on one mic it's just fine. The actual mics & their sound quality is the real bang for the buck ! For as inexpensive as these are, they are everything I had hoped for & more. Well worth the money !!!

  • from Zephyrhills, Florida December 16, 2014Music Background:
    amateur musician and karaoke singer

    good everyday microphone

    These microphones perform very well and for the price are a good value.

  • from SUWANEE, GA June 18, 2015Music Background:
    punk, grunge, metal, industrial, indie

    get what you pay for

    When these mics arrived, i couldnt wait to use them. Sadly (fresh out of the pack) one of the 3 mics in this pack barely worked. i should have known to NEVER buy a Behringer products. The ones that worked sounded fine which is the only reason why im giving this 2 stars.

Questions about the Behringer XM1800S?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway