0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Crown XLS 2500 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Rocky Point NC January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Crown XLS 2500

    only,one thing wrong with this amp is that it should come in twos,this is a great amp.

  • from Laurel Mountains of Pa. November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer in a weekend band, and audio enthusiast.

    Perfect subwoofer amp

    Tons of clean power, for not a lot of money. Powers my home subwoofer with ease, which is a notoriously hard to drive Watkins 12" woofer. Watkins woofers have an, amp punishing, less than 2 ohm impedance, that ate my previous Yamaha amp. The Crown XLS2500 laughs at it.

  • from Yorktown Heights, NY October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Pro Computers, Pro AV, Pro DJ

    Great amp BUT BEWARE

    Crown produces Great Amps Most agree :-) But know this: These amps come shipped with Plastic Plugs in the Speaker Out Banana Holes :-(((((
    I've had to deal with this abomination 3x's now and have 'cursed' having to deal with this EVERY TIME :-((((( If you wish to use the Banana Outs then be prepared for 'war' before you can use the Amp ! :-((( You'll need a sharp Awl, or a Dental Pick, or a Drill ! grrrrr On my last foray with my new 2500 xls, 3 came out begrudedly but the 4th NO......so I had to use a Drill ! I was ready to 'kill' ! I called Crown and they said the reason for this is the European Union demands this, as In Europe the Power Plug is Identical to a Banana ;-( I spoke to a VP and asked where are most sold and he said the US ...... Soooooo I suggested that if someone at the factory is setting the Voltage for US distribution, which is the case, then why not have that person pop the plugs then and there !?

  • from Seattle, Wa September 26, 2013Music Background:
    All the above using the best products possible

    A stack of the xls2500's will power any project

    Whats better than 1 xls2500 is 2 or more. The xls2500 on a good preamp with any amount of money is tough to beat. I use xls2500's on the road and in my home theater as well as 2ch stereo. Im compraing to my tube amps, crown macro techs and crown xti's. Great power and lightweight. Modern technology is getting interesting. I still used some 75lb solid states til i got a 10 pound xls2500 and yes i will say i was blown away after the doubts i had. The more xls2500's you have the better

  • from Birmingham, AL June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur

    Lightweight yet powerful

    I needed a 2-channel option for my bass rig, and this product line was recommended by my favorite Sweetwater sales engineer and a couple of friends. This amp has plenty of power and is very lightweight. I use it to drive two Hartke HyDrive cabs (a 1x15 and a 4x10), and it sounds great. The built-in crossover can be set to any speaker configuration you may need: full-frequency stereo, highs only, lows only, or lows through channel 1 and highs to channel 2. My only complaint about the device is fairly insignificant, barely worth mentioning: it has no routing option for the crossover's output; you're stuck with lows in channel 1 and highs in channel 2. While we're on the topic of complaints, I suppose one could see the light weight as an issue; it would be very easy to accidentally pull this thing off of whatever surface it's on if one were to trip over a cable. The first time I set up my rig with this amp, the pressure of pushing the quarter inch TS cable into the input was sufficient to cause the amp to slide halfway across the cabinet it was sitting on when I attempted to plug it in. It's so light that you have to hold it down to hook it up. I'd say this is a good problem to have. Overall I'm quite happy with this purchase.

  • from Ashland, WI July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Great buy!

    Wonderful light weight amp with lots of power.

  • from Tinley Park, Illinois July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Recording, Musician, Hobbyist, Performer

    Using my Crown XLS2500

    Nothing bad to say really! It's a great amp for the price and I don't really have any complaints. I use it with my Orange 4x12 anda pre-amp-- it powers it flawlessly! I'm sure it'd be great for PA's as well.

  • from Colorado July 1, 2011Music Background:
    38 years doing national and local live rock bands

    Crown XLS2500

    Definately worth considering if on a tight buget. Currently using for subs and with the built in clip limiter and crossover It has lighten my load. I do not worry about over driving it. I pound this weekly and have had no problems. The only negative I can say is the lack of reak bannana connectors on the output.

  • from NorCal June 14, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Designer. Fabricator. Installer.

    Look No Further

    If you searching for a high power amp for anything including subs and are stuck on a budget (or even if you're not) this is the one. We were looking for something to fill in with the rest of the rack and took a chance and wow were we surprised. This amp is now powering a Triple 18 sub on one side and 4 satellites on the other at 2 ohms and can ROCK a small club to pieces! The clarity is stunning and the power is endless. Can't wait till they make one more level up, say 2k a side at 2ohms. Thanks Brandon for making the whole package super easy. You know your stuff, Man!!! We'll be back.

Questions about the Crown XLS 2500?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway