0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Crown XLS 1500 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from June 16, 2015

    Great Power Amp

    Plenty of power. Nice and light. Simple to use. I've only had it for 3 months so I can't speak on durability. But it does the trick quite nicely for me.

  • from United States April 24, 2015Music Background:
    50 years in the business;studio owner; worship leader; composer;

    My back likes this.

    Coming from a history of playing on stage since 1965, it has been cool to watch the evolution of the music biz technology. In my youth the systems really were quite awful. Later, there were fairly powerful amps that weighed a ton. This amp does exactly what I wanted: it is ridiculously light weight; the fan is only audible if you stick your head close; it has plenty of power and the transient response is great. I bought this to use with my Kemper Profiler (which deserves a review of its own!). This guitar preamp has all of the tube amp "sag" already, so I did not want anything from the amp except pure, clean, quiet and responsive performance. I have an early 70's 4 x 12 greenback Marshall cabinet wired in stereo that this goes into. Some will say that this amp is way too powerful for that cabinet. Not true. Extra power means extra headroom and improved clarity. I don't run this amp above about 40%. Why only 4 1/2 stars?...because the menu on the front is not the most user friendly...I actually had to read the manual! Buy this amp.

  • from Earth March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Always learning

    Very lightweight and sounds clean

    I'm pushing 2 passive JBL's with this power amp. This power amp weights less than 10 lbs! I turned on the high-pass filter to kill some of the boom and preserve the power for more high-end signal like voice and guitar. Overall, I'm very happy with it. Very reasonably priced.

  • from Marseilles, IL January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Church Sound System Tech

    Excellent Amp

    Crown just keeps on delivering exception amps. I've been a user of Crown amps for over 20 years and they have never failed. They are the best, hands down!

  • from Il July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student

    XLS 1500

    Works as expected

  • from rural usa April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, professional musician

    Tough piece of gear

    This monster took everything I could throw at it and it never spiked. Clear, clean and a great addition to my system. I would buy another if I needed it.

  • from Salado, Texas December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Retired Pro Musician, Sound and Recording

    Crown XLS

    Light and powerful, but clean reproducing our great sound.

  • from November 30, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    works fine so far

    Power amp works fine...I needed more than my Roland KB amps could do, since I play KB bass on many gigs...great sound through a Yamaha BR-15...using a Yamaha MW10 as a mixer, since it allows me to EQ the bass KB separate from the other KB sounds

  • from DE Soto, Ks. October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro player for over 40 years member of Kansas music hall of fame.

    XLS 1500

    As a player , and retailer I always appreciated the Crown reputation. After purchasing the Crown XLS 1500 I more understand the reason for that reputation. It is everything I have come to expect from Crown.
    Excellent piece of gear, and wonderful buying experience!

  • from missoula, mt July 11, 2013Music Background:
    semi pro musician

    clean crisp sound!!

    Hooked up at first gig not knowing what to expect. I was blown away! Crisp, clean, and present. Should have done this years ago.

  • from NY May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Teacher, Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    can't go wrong with a crown

    Dependable power.....every time! Light weight, powerful and some great extra features. Perfect!

  • from Bristow, OK May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    I love this amp!

    I had previously owned a QSC amp that weighed a ton. After my back informed me that it was time for a change, I called my sales engineer, Mike Harris and he paired me with this baby. I am blown away with how much quality is packed into such a light weight unit! I would highly recommend the XLS series for anyone looking to buy another power amp!

  • from michigan October 25, 2010Music Background:
    dj--host

    crown amp

    just bought this thing and did my gig it is awesome geoff took good care of me. and I will always come to sweetwater first....thanks jon

Questions about the Crown XLS 1500?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close