0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Crown XLS 1000 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
  • from United States February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Run Sound, play bass guitar.

    Sweet Amp for little $

    Low price but big features, bridge mode, XLR inputs, speakon outputs, etc.

  • from Arlington, TX May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Owner and Engineer

    Super clean, zero hiss

    The sound from this power amp is impeccable. Absolutely no hiss at full volume, but I rarely push it past 7. We use it at 2x215W to run a pair of 8 Ohm JBL SF15s and Peavy PVM12 floor monitors in our live room, and I have been blown away by the improvement in sonic clarity and overall power. I used a Mackie 808 PA mixer for years to do the same job...I kick myself for not investing in this sooner. Ikes Taylor, thank you for the recommendation.

  • from Marseilles, IL January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Excellent Amp~!

    Crown keeps getting better and better! This amp is used for our main speakers at church. Everyone could tell the difference - clarity of music and speech. Awesome!

  • from Fontana, CA December 26, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, and Old Man

    Absolutely NO Coloring or Artifacts (like hiss, hum)

    Coupled this rig with two 8 Ohm JBLs, yielding roughly 210 watts RMS. Unplugged the mixer, and cranked it wide open, could not hear a thing in speakers. Set it to level 5.5 for our 140 seat hall. Great control, great coverage. Very light, small, no heat, fan didn't even kick on. Can attach bare wire, banana plug, or Speakon. Can cascade these together if desiring to split your crossover (high pass, low pass). CLEAN amplification without artifacts, or tonal coloring.

  • from Marion,Illinois September 21, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Wow

    Just got one about two weeks ago. Ordering another one this week. Again WOW

  • from August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Engineer

    excellent product

    I bought two Crown XLS 1000 PA for the sound system we use in our Church. Product arrived on time and in a very well protected packaging. Installation was simple and took no time. Performance exceeded my expectation. I am planning for buying more for a second system we are going to use in the GYM.
    I definitely recommend the product. The exceptional technical service has added to the overall value of the whole transaction. Thanks to Weetwater team. Greatly appreciated.

  • from Penn Valley, PA August 7, 2013Music Background:
    piano for personal enjoyment

    Great for my needs

    I'm using this to power a pair of speakers for a Roland RP301 digital piano (the internal speakers suck!). Now the piano sounds like it should. I'm very impressed with this amp. Great from lows to highs.

  • from South West MO July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Church Sound Man

    Great Amp

    We have two of these we have had for a number of weeks. They have worked very well in our Church. We use the banana plugs so we can easily stack more speakers if needed. They install on the top of the output plugs. You have to be sure to get the polarity hooked up right. We hope to get another XLS1000 amp in the future to hook up more monitors. I did a lot of research before choosing this amp. Jon at Sweetwater did us great on these.

  • from Long beach CA USA July 18, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, recording engineer

    I Love this amp

    I use it in my studio for two pair of monitors have and man do this thing beat lows, mids, highs I like that it has the stereo bypass to give me that true sound if you need a amp get this one for sure

  • from Eatontown, NJ June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Mixing Artist, IT Admin

    Get It

    Awesome Amp. As one of their lowest models in the XLS series, this thing puts out great power. I have 3 of these amps, they're super light and look great (although I don't travel with them).

    I use these to power speakers throughout my house. I have one of these hooked up in bridge mode to a niles speaker line distributor. Then it's out to 4 pairs of 8ohm speakers through an A/B source selector and impedance matching volume controls on the walls. They work great and play loud. The back end of the A/B source selector is a second XLS1000 in case I'm mixing downstairs I can send the audio upstairs. The third XLS1000 goes to a pair of outdoor JBL control 23's that I needed to be set louder than the house amp.

    I think it's also important to mention that I have these 3 amps running in my rack all day 24/7 since last November (that's 8 months now nonstop). I never go down to turn them off, the amp is always ready to perform when I send it a signal.

    I'll update this review down the line, I check sweetwater almost every day. Thanks Brian Loney!

  • from Monroe, MI. USA March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Bassist - Live Sound Engineer

    Awesome Awesome is all I can say.

    I have 1 Crown XLS1000 running my 2 JBL JRx115 cabinets. These bad boys are the best I have ever heard in a long time.
    They sound fantastic at full level thanks to the technology that Crown has put into these units and so lightweight at that.
    I'm definitely going to buy another one for my subs, and another one for my monitors. This power amp is definitely worth every dollar for your investment, and I highly recommend this unit as with all the Crown amps that have been made from such a great company for years.
    And Sweetwater has fantastic prices on all there gear anyhow, so if your looking for great overall quality in a power amp I highly recommend this unit, and it only weighs 11 lbs.

  • from Westchester, NY July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Just as I had hoped!

    So far one gig. I run sound for an outside concert series (in the hot sun!). I ran the XLS 1000 for about 4 hours, powering two 15" mains and two 15" monitors. My soundboard was 100 feet out in front of the stage. PLENTY of volume with headroom to spare! Three bands played and I was up to 14 channels going on the board. btw - the sound was terrific - clean and uncolored. And I can't even explain how wonderfully light this thing is.

  • from Deltona,Florida February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician,live sound and recording.

    Great match for the SWR Goliath 3/4 bass bins

    I bought this amp for my bass rig and it is the near perfect mate for my SWR Goliath 3,clean and not a whisper from it in bridged mode.
    Get this amp if you care about your sound and your back.
    Mike you're the best!

  • from Austin TX November 29, 2011Music Background:
    Vocal hobbyist

    Crown power amps

    No problems hooking up and my system sounds great!!

  • from Woodstock, GA November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Ex-Pro Musician, Home Studio Rat

    Perfect!

    Exactly what I needed to power my vintage horn-loaded speakers - this amp is quiet, too. Thanks, Sweetwater!!!

  • from Colorado May 28, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Crown Does It Again!

    I Love Love Love This Amp, I Have Some Crown XTI's For My Mains However I Didn't Want To Spend That Much For My Floor Wedges, This Is The Perfect Amp For The Perfect Cost! + I'm Still Amazed How Light It Is. If I Didn't Have My XTI's Id Use These Instead For Everything.

  • from United States March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Live Sound Engineer, Post Production Engineer

    Perfect fit for my small auditorium

    This amp works great for my house of worship. Easy setup and administration. Clear crisp sound even on sub par speakers. Quiet operation doesn't intrude even in the same space as the the audio engineers.

  • from Astoria,NY January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Gigging Musician

    Get It--'Nuff Said.

    I'm doing sols gigs right now with my Piano,Drum Machine,and Vocals.I have Q.S.C.,and Carvin Amps which I Love, however the weight issue was getting to me.I didn't trust the new lightweight technology but with Sweetwaters 18 month financing I figured I'd give the Crown amp a try.In a nutshell--if you're a Gigging Musician buy it.You will lighten your load by about 20 Lbs and get all the Sonic Character you'll need.By the way I've spent thousands with other Music Dealers and have never gotten the personalized service I got from Sweetwater.Thank you Bob Mondak.

  • from Bend, Oregon November 20, 2011Music Background:
    Promoter and performer since 1986

    Great performance and looks!

    I recently purchased this Crown amp to run 'monitor world' in my band.
    We're a five piece rock band and needed to develop a monitor system on stage that would help us hear the vocals better. The Crown XLS 1000 is perfect for the job, delivering 350W to the 4 SA-12M monitors we use.
    The overall look and construction of the amp is pretty nice as well and the setting options are a nice plus too!

  • from September 25, 2015Music Background:
    Producer singer songwriter keyboardist

    A Happening Amp

    Having owned older Crown amps I was a bit hesitant to go for the XLS 1000 but am very glad I did. At the &159 price point the 215 Watts of CLEAN power through my old KRK 6 monitors was stunning almost three dimensional playing my I phone tunes it will be good to try it with the keyboards but it is pretty transparent ... great value coming from an old studio rat w/good ears

  • from June 13, 2015

    Great amp!

    This amp is crystal clear, the built in crossovers makes this amp very versatile.

  • from Philly July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great little amp

    Picked this amp up to power monitors (EAW VRM12s). No distortion. Sounds very natural. Admittedly, I haven't found a Crown amp that doesn't sound good yet:)

    Got into a jam with mains at a show last week. Needed one channel of the XLS1000 to power front fills, leaving one channel to power four wedges - 2 ohm load. Worked great for the whole show.

    BTW, this thing is light. A few in a rack is still manageable by one man!

  • from United States April 1, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader & Sound man forSHAOG for 5 years. Computer software developer for 35 yrs.

    Crown is good.

    I bought the low end of the series due to cost for a start up church and that we only needed to drive the main speakers (monitors are self-powered). Ran Peavy SP2's for the main. Power was more than ample. I plan on getting one more, possibly the XLS 1500, so round out redundant need and extra power to drive additional monitors and such.

  • from GA USA February 24, 2012

    Works well, easy to set up, light

    Satisfied with the sound amplification of this model so far. I love how small it is, and it was very easy to install because of the size.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Crown XLS 1000

    I use the Crown XLS 1000 to amplify my Mackie Mixing Console. It was easy to hook up and supplies our needs very well. The Crown gives us plenty of "head room" in our control room.

  • from Jamaica February 11, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Not bad

    This is a very light weight amp so its a pleasure to carry around, plus its very nice to look at. It plays very cleanly and even at its limit it still sounds good with just a hint of distortion. I am disappointed with the power of the amp. It has lots of power but it runs out of steam quicker than it should.

Questions about the Crown XLS 1000?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway