rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Korg X50 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Yuval Fuchs

    Boy... do I wish I had this 10 years ago when I had to work so hard to get the right sounds for my musical arrangements. The X50 delivers more quality sounds than anything you could have ever imagined at a price this low.

  • from Chippewa Falls, WI. September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hammond and synth

    x50 Lives

    I am replacing my original Korg X50 with this one. I bought the original as a scratch and dent for a greatly reduced price. After seven years of use and abuse it has become time to replace it. But it has been worth every penny. It might seem strange that I would opt to buy the same synth again but I have become accustomed to its sound and program and I am sold on its performance. Korg's Hi synthesis is just that, excellent. Not to mention its light weight. The x50 has a ton of really good sounds and I haven't used them all yet. In fact I think I favor the X50 to the Korg M50 that I use. I do a lot of track on track recording and the X50 has become an integral part of my chain.The x50 also works well using the Hammond XK3c as a controller and gives me a full range of lead and accompaniment sounds on the lower manual. When I mentioned my time constraints to the Sweetwater rep I was happily surprised to receive shipment on the new X50 in just two days. Way to go Sweetwater. The Korg X50 is a lot of synth for the money. I guess the Kronos will have to wait.
    Mike Padrutt

  • from West Grove, Pa. May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Old School Techno, Trance & Acid Breaks

    I love my X50

    Bought this two years ago, loved the sounds it makes and that's what counts most in my opinion. The piano's are highly realistic and if your into electronic music it can make a very close resemblance of a Roland TB303 with square wave and distortion effect. I know diehards out there will scoff at that remark but im pretty picky and it can come really close to that sound. (I been listening to the TB303 sound since 1992.) Also the m1 organ patch is taken from the earlier Korg M1 and its excellent for making old school house tracks. My only complaint for new folks is it can be hard to learn to program your own sounds using the computer interface as i found out. If this thing had 30-40 knobs and no screen it would be sick,. If you dont mind the 512 factory patches that isnt an issue.
    If i had to do it over again i would probly get the Dave Smith Tetra for a $100 more which is TRUE analog not that this one makes that claim but thats just personal preference. When i bought it i thought i would rarely use it and too my surprise i use it just about every other day.
    I am highly satisfied with this machine but wish company's like Korg would give up DSP and make some true analog machines again.
    Its worth the money for sure! For newbies id recomend Rolands Gaia SH01 which is far easier to learn.

  • from LA, CA USA January 7, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineering Student

    Highly Recommended

    Extremely powerful synthesizer. I use this regularly for MIDI compositions. The programs on this thing are amazing, so good that I hooked up my Roland V-Drums and Yamaha P70 Digital Piano up to it because I like the X50's drum kits and piano programs MUCH better. The keys are fairly tough despite being unweighted (other synths feel very toy-like in my opinion) and the on screen navigation is very easy to scroll through. Most of all, this thing is EXTREMELY portable. My MIDI class professor loves the size of this synth, it's extremely light, yet solid enough to be very easy to transport from home to studio. This synth is highly underrated in my opinion, and is by far of the Korg's best products. If your thinking about buying, please do, you will no regret it.

  • from DETROIT, MI June 1, 2008Music Background:
    PRODUCER/ARTIST- BHC RECORDS

    WOW- TH E SOUNDS ARE GREAT

    I HAVE THIS MACHINE SET UP AS ONE OF MY MAIN UNITS IN MY RECORDING STUDIO. I REALLY CAN'T EXPLAIN, IN SO LITTTE TIME WHAT THIS MACHINE HAS DONE TO MY OVERALL PRODUCTION. IT A GREAT TOOL TO ANY STUDIO SETUP FROM SMALL TO BIG THIS MACHINE PACKS A BUNCH OF SOUNDS.

  • from Oregon September 19, 2016Music Background:
    professional

    what replaced the x50?

    I am thinking about buying another x50 but... I miss it... easy to use, great sounds, fun sequences/arpeggiator... but.. isn't there something better by now?

  • from Palos Verdes, CA January 13, 2012Music Background:
    keyboard player - performanc and recording

    Great for Gig-ing

    I've played live with this keyboard for over 3 years now and if you're into reducing the weight of your equipment this rig is the one. I love that I can pick it up with one hand! I'm tempted to buy another one to have to full keyboards with different sounds live, although you can split the keyboard if you'd like. The synth Triton engine is the best for all my sounds and you can setup favorites so that one touch you have rhodes, organ, piano, etc. Great instrument for the money and perfect for gigging.

  • from Raleigh NC May 26, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing sounds...Perfect keyboard for the money.

    I was very impressed with the sounds. The only few knocks I have against it is: The keyboard action isn't that great, No aftertouch...and I can't persist my Global MIDI Channel (it resets after each power cycle). Other than that it's great..The On-board navigation is quick and intuitive. The software that comes with it makes it real easy to edit combi's and patches. I use a lot of Combi layering and splits and it was so easy to setup with a computer. Software was easy to install and I was up and running in minutes.

  • from Los Angeles, CA, USA July 6, 2010Music Background:
    former pro keyboardist/trumpeter, now hobbyist

    Triton sound generator/programs in an inexpensive package

    Triton sound generator ... what more can you say? Well, for starters, this is a very lightweight keyboard - about 9 lbs., so portability is its strong suit. The key bed isn't the best, but it's not bad at all and its strength is ease of touch, excellent compliance when you play very fast runs, and/or if you like a lightweight touch. The 4 easily accessible user knobs are very practical and provide you the most common tweaks you'll likely want to make during a live performance. But, they're also programmable, so you can choose what you'd like to tweak instead. The price is another of the X-50's strengths. It's almost unfathomable owning a keyboard with a Triton sound generator for under $1,000, much less under $700! I really love the acoustic and electric pianos, as well as the various clavinets; some string programs are very full and realistic; some organs are particularly great if you love jazz, rock, and church organs; the combis are particularly colorful and full-bodied, and with the arpeggiator, you can groove to a number of different rhythm/arpeggiated patterns. In summary, a lot of keyboard for the money!

  • from Louisiana November 17, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, performer, keyboard junkie

    Great Sounds, poorly designed key sections.

    I ordered one of these and after about a month the "F", the "G" and one more key started sticking in the down position. I called Sweetwater and they replaced it immediately. That is the kind of music equipment company you want to do business with.

    After I received a replacement unit I used it for a couple of months before the same thing started happening. Keys are sticking down. I love the sounds on this unit, and it has some awesome options but there is obviously some design flaw in the keys that make them stick after a while.

    No I don't misuse my keyboards. They are in a smoke free music studio and covered when not in use.

    I will not buy another one because this one is poorly designed. Perhaps they are going for more profit instead of quality instruments but I know I can't trust this one to work properly so I can't use it on stage which is what I wanted to do.

Questions about the Korg X50?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway