0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

sE Electronics X1R Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the sE Electronics X1R?

Questions about the sE Electronics X1R?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from wantage, NJ May 22, 2017

    Mono Drum Overhead

    Sounds AWESOME. Really tames a sharp kit. You have to push this mic a bit to get where you want to be so make sure you are running it on a decent board or pre-amp (NO +48). If you are doing your research and you are looking for a certain sound you will not be dissatisfied with this mic.

  • from Utah May 8, 2017

    Surprisingly Great for Metal Vocals

    After getting the kit (with reflection filter and SM57) and playing with both on a guitar cab, I got a wild hair to try the X1R on a metal vocalist. The result? HOLY WOW!!! His voice came through the monitors with every sound and nuance we were looking for but was unable to get with condenser and dynamic mics - mind you this was before I applied EQ and compression. I have been using this mic for this vocalist since then for everything he does - from high pitch screams to mellow melodic, almost pop vocals and everything in between - IT JUST WORKS for him.
    I've also used it on a voiceover project with my own voice which sounds like a kazoo through other mics but this made me sound natural.
    Whether you get this mic alone or in the kit I mentioned above, it is definitely worth way more then the asking price.

  • from South Central Michigan May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Very Nice!

    I don't believe I've ever given a single item I've reviewed five stars, but the X1R certainly deserves all the kudos it gets. It's very warm and "vintage" sounding (as you'd expect from a ribbon mic), but it certainly doesn't sound muffled as I've had other ribbon mics come across in a mix. I've used it on both vocals (voice overs) and guitars and have been more than pleased with the results.

    Mixing it with an SM57 (using the GuitaRF isolation shield) is super simple, but, frankly, I didn't feel the need to use both mics as I didn't feel I needed the fizziness I associate with the SM57. It stands on its own in that situation and is superior when you run it without the shield in a fairly live room. That hits that Bo Diddley vibe just right!

    HIGHLY recommended!

  • from Montana March 29, 2017

    Nice Ribbon update

    I'm kinda stunned at the quality and clean, natural sound. I am running it thru a Cloudlifter... the results are stellar! Vocals and guitar amp so far.

  • from Pittsboro NC December 3, 2016Music Background:
    professional guitarist

    Yup it's good!!!!

    Best $ I've spent! This mic sounds so realistic you will actually be angry you didn't buy it sooner. I use it on electric and acoustic guitars and it sounds so natural - unlike dynamics or condensers, which add their own personality to the sound.

    Ribbon mics work much like the human ear, so the sound you get is almost exactly what you hear in the room.

    I do recommend using it with the cloud lifter btw, it matches well with this mic.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah August 3, 2016Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer

    Freaking AWESOME!!!!

    I actually waited to use this mic on a hard core metal singer's vocal tracks. I knew without knowing that this would capture everything that I would need it to capture from him. Not only was I impressed but his band mates were as well. Captured the "grit" and infused clarity to his vocals. Can't wait to try it on a female pop vocal in the near future.

  • from Austin,TX April 7, 2016Music Background:
    Composer,Producer,Studio and Live Engineer

    X1R

    I took my time before buying a ribbon mic because there are so many to choose from, and the price range is so wide. What made me make my final decision learning more about sE Electronics. What a great story, and it's obvious they have a real passion for quality. I have tried the X1R in several different applications, and I fully understand why ribbon mics are crucial if you are looking to run with the big dogs. Great mic!!

  • from Cleveland, OH January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Musician/Guitarist/Producer

    Wonderful sounding "Ribbon Mic"

    I was looking for something new to add to the sound of my recordings and after researching the "Ribbon" microphone seem to come up more and more. The cost of the very high-end is "Very" expensive, and in some way I wasn't sure if it would add anything special? After putting several hours "Listening" and then blending with a Shure SM57 on a elec. guitar cabinet "Wow!" what a beautiful sound!!! Even on it's own, the Clean sounds are wonderful, with both distorted & clean tones what I noticed was that it sounded like it does "In the Room!" My SM57 sounds great but it has it's plus/minus tonal output (most people know) but has been my Microphone Standard for rock guitar cabinets for Years. Blending the two has been Awesome, I'm sold on Ribbon mic's and this sE X1R construction/feel/sound is worth the cost. The Sales Engineer's at Sweetwater are the most professional and "Real World" musicians, so helpful.

  • from New York April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist/Audio engineer

    Biggest bang for the buck you will find

    I bought a pair of these to try as drum overheads and was impressed for two reasons. First, they have a bit of extended high end for a ribbon so they tame cymbals without loosing too much sizzle if you have a lower ceiling (8'6") . Second they dont require as much gain as a lot of ribbons do to really open up the mic. I only had to use about 45-50 db to get them to sound full and close. You can get a better ribbon, but you are going to pay for it. Also the build seems VERY sturdy. Sweetwater didnt carry my first choice of mic but Mike Grebe recommended these. Thanks Mike!

  • from Jacksonville September 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitarist, Hobbyist

    The Gateway Ribbon Mic

    For the money I don't think you can get a better ribbon mic that's why I give it 5 stars. Are there better mics? Yes for alot more. I bought this to use in conjunction with a Sennheiser e609 on guitar cab and sE really added the depth and warmth to the tone I had not been able to get before. I tried it on vocals just for fun and it does well there too. You can add a good amount of top end in post and get really nice results. For someone who hasn't used a ribbon before, they sound darker, with less pronounced top end but have a realistic clarity that typical dynamics don't have (my opinion). I have run this mic through an API and Neve clone and both sound good. I know it's not a Royer, but for those wanting to get into the world of ribbons this is a great place to start.

  • from February 28, 2017Music Background:
    30 yr. music and recording pro.

    Nice Ribbon !

    My test recordings have come out nicely, very natural sounding. I will be using this mic extensively on a current project. Vocals, guitar amp, even on some percussion. Build quality feels excellent.

Questions about the sE Electronics X1R?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway