0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

D'Addario Planet Waves DP0002 Pro-Winder String Winder & Cutter for Guitar Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves DP0002 Pro-Winder String Winder & Cutter for Guitar?

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves DP0002 Pro-Winder String Winder & Cutter for Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    Every guitarist should have a string winder and a cutter in their toolbox. This is both, and it's ergonomically designed for efficiency. Why don't you have one of these yet?

  • from Malibu CA February 12, 2017

    Great Winder (How to Fix Friction)

    Nice winder, if winder is stiff during turns grab a philips head & go counter clockwise about a half turn & this loosens up the twister for a frictionless wind. The screw comes a little tight from the factory, but with this tip makes it perfect.

  • from Upstate, New York February 11, 2016Music Background:
    been playing guitar since the mid 70's

    Nice tool to have

    The winder fits over the machines of my acoustic guitar nice, it cuts all the strings nice and clean and the bridge pin removal part gives you all that you need to make string changes " easy peasy ". Seems to be well made and made in the USA. Well worth the price in my humble opinion.

  • from NEW Mexico August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Family

    great

    The best to use

  • from Missouri February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Great Winder!

    Great tool! Cuts strings and doesn't dull! Quality is good!

  • from October 18, 2014

    Perfect tool

    I don't need to use multiple tools to change strings anymore because this winder does it all. The winder is very smooth and it cuts the strings better than my wire snips.

  • from Upstate, NY August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar and Harmonica Hobbyist

    Does what it's ment for.

    I was looking for just a pair of string cutters when I found this. I've never used a string winder before but figured I'd try it out. I just got done using this to put on some new strings and it worked great. I did loosen the screw on the winder a bit so it was smoother to use. I put a little thread-locker type stuff on also, so I'm not too worried about it popping out. The cutter worked better than my other pair so yeah I'm please with this. Good price.

  • from Kent, OH July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Effectively Simple.

    This cuts guitar strings like a knife through butter. The winder serves its purpose quite dutifully as well. Great!

  • from October 17, 2011

    perfect

    slices through the strings with no problem, fits easily into guitar case, winds well. fabulous multitool!

  • from Reno, NV November 19, 2010

    A nice handy tool

    This is a well made winder that comes in very handy for changing strings. The integrated cutter works very well. A very good product indeed!

  • from Bloomington, IN June 21, 2016Music Background:
    play music for stress relief. Bass/guitar

    Pro Winder

    Very useful tool for anyone who strings their own instruments. Stays balanced on the tuning knobs much better than the single handle units. Much less slippage while winding strings.

  • from Malibu, CA December 19, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist guitarist

    Excellence

    Of the many string winders that I have tried during the past 40 years, most -for various reasons - have quickly found their way into the bin of accessories that were ... almost...useful. I expected no better from the Planet Waves DP0002, but after using it on 4 guitars, with a variety of different machine heads, in different configurations, I found the tool to work exactly as it should, and with zero fuss.

    My impression is that it was extremely well-designed, is well-constructed, ergonomic...and with the inclusion of the string cutter, it represents simple, but substantial and very effective, innovation. Excellence is difficult to find...but you can find it here.

  • from Longview, WA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Beginning musician

    buy one

    Like Chris said- a guitarist should have a winder and clippers; this is both. Could be a little more heavy duty at the same size, but for the price it's hard to beat.

  • from Corning, NY January 28, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Great Tool and a Good Value

    Simple/Compact design works well. I wanted a basic tool for restringing my guitars. The winder works fine, a little clumsy as you need to fold the opposite arm out of the way for string winding. I love the notched end, which I use to pull the tapered bridge pins out of my Guild acoustic during a string change. The built-in string cutter works well and gives your instrument a more polished look with the strings trimmed. Worth the money.

  • from Austin tx September 23, 2016Music Background:
    play at home

    GREAT LITTLE TOOL

    all you need to change strings quickly

  • from Upper Black Eddy, PA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Diehard Hobbyist, Rock/Metal Fan, Garage Band Member

    Durable, Usable, All in one

    Cuts the strings, winds the tuners, and survived my puggle dog chewing on it for 10 minutes. Easy to use, and durable.

  • from Saint Anne, IL September 10, 2015Music Background:
    64 yr. old novice

    Just OK

    You can get a decent winder for about $2.00, the cutter leaves a bit to be desired...Yes it cuts the string ends OK but it is not a flush cut and leaves about 1/8" of very sharp stub exposed. I will probably be carrying a small flush cutter in my accessory kit now anyway. The flush cutter my wife uses to cut jewelry wire cost only $5.00 and cuts guitar strings like butter. Just OK for an all-in-one but it could be better.

  • from TX March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro for 39 years, Jazz, Classical, R&B, Pop.

    Nice String cutter but...

    The string cutter works nice, it's rounded so you have less chance to scratch there guitar BUT the string winder part fell off the first time I used it. The self threading screw backs out.

  • from Fairview, CA February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur musician

    Save your money

    String cutter on this tool sucks. Winder works ok if you don't insert it completely over the tuning pegs. If inserted to full depth handle hits other strings while turning. There has got to be a better all-in-one tool out there.

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves DP0002 Pro-Winder String Winder & Cutter for Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway