0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

DigiTech Whammy 5 Pitch Shift Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the DigiTech Whammy 5 Pitch Shift Pedal?

Questions about the DigiTech Whammy 5 Pitch Shift Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 5, 2017

    TrueBypass and Polyphonic ver 5

    I liked this pedal so much I had to get another one after I sold the one had over some mistaken multi unit that was to replace everything, so did not.
    This pedal takes some experience to really use properly and develop some musical sense and shall I say finesse.
    It seems to hold the record on crappy first time demo users.
    No one seems to get how cool the harmonizer modes are, much less no set key or scale, ultimate freedom of expression.
    Some very musical things I like to do with it:
    - Harmonizer a 5th low or combinations there of, 5thup/dwn 4th etc. But the 5th down harm is a fusion treat, such a killer tone!
    - Using Harmonizer mode 1 oct down to 1 oct up, extremely cool. Think Dazed and Confused like note shifts, endless possibilities.
    - Whammy shifts up 1 and 2 oct, Gilmour does this with such taste and musical feel, probably uses the pedal better than anyone else, talk about finesse!
    There is the thing also, if you are using it just for the Whammy section you can put it before or end of line amp -in, before the delay/reverb (that should be in the amp loop). If you are using for harmonizer modes Digitech recommends, and I agree, more front of chain for accurate tracking.
    Earlier versions of this pedal were monophonic tracking only and all that glitch and burble they had was not as some think, "an endearing artifact quality of the old pedals", it was simply bad tracking glitch out. The new Whammy 5 has new polyphonic tracking ability AND they have removed the old tone suck buffer to true bypass. Whole new animal. Has to be one of my fav pedals of all time and the one w the worst videos of all time. You have to spend some time to learn this pedal, it is not a bloody wah and the less you rock that treadle the better, unless you of course need a wide note shift or a dive bomb. But all that blasted "weeeeeeoooooo" crap really gives the pedal a bad name.
    Put in front of your drive on that 5th harmony dwn and try to stop playing.

  • from San Diego, CA March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Saxophonist/Keyboardist

    Great Pedal for Saxophonists

    I decided to buy this pedal after hearing Casey Benjamin of the Robert Glasper Experiment use it and it sounds super rad on a saxophone. It's tough finding pedals that respond well to horn instruments but this one does it really well! Love that I have the option of getting synth like textures with the octaves/pitch-shifting feature, or just switching it to detune for gnarly chorus as can be heard on Terrace Martin's sax playing (Kendrick Lamar's "Alright"). I'm sure it sounds great on guitar too, haha.

  • from Harrodsburg Ky May 30, 2016

    Ummmm.... Wow!

    Just buy it! Its so rad!!!

  • from MS May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist (Hobby)

    Amazing Pedal and OUTSTANDING Customer Service

    The pedal itself is extremely impressive and loads of fun during jam sessions. Just the sounds I was looking for! The customer service team is AMAZING and will go out of their way to make sure you are happy at every step of the way. I will definitely be a repeat buyer! Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from Tamarac, Florida June 26, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Pianist, Music Producer

    DigiTech Whammy 5 Pitch Shift Pedal

    Awesome alternative to having a real whammy bar. Digitech always have awesome guitar pedals.

  • from Glendale, Az June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Shredding it up for 46 years

    Digitech Whammy 5th generation pitch shifter

    I love the flexibility of the pedal. From subtle changes in pitch to harmonic beauty. It is a great new asset to my rig. And Sweetwater rules when it comes to selection and customer service that is second to none.

  • from Covington, WA January 7, 2015Music Background:
    5 years semi-pro, playing guitar for 30 years!

    Wow! Best Whammy Yet!

    Wow! What can I say, this new Whammy from DigiTech just blew me away! I'm glad I made the right decision. I've had the chance to play the previous versions including the legendary WH-1 but always shied away from them as they are notorious for tone sucking when they are in the off position. The "desirable" glitch that the WH-1 and the other models had wasn't really desirable for me. It was an either you love it or you hate it kind of deal. But now here it is! Finally! The DigiTech Whammy V! Polyphonic and true bypass switching! It even has a switch for the guys/gals who love the "glitch" of the old Whammys. Not to mention more Whammy options and Harmony! Pretty freakin' awesome! Love it! This will be on my pedalboard for a very long time. When an effect pedal is this good, it just inspires me to be really creative in ways that I could've never thought possible. The tones and combinations are endless! Bravo DigiTech! This new Whammy just gave me a whole new excitement in playing and creating new sounds. Truly the Best Whammy yet! Space is not enough for me to describe the awesome stuff of what this pedal can do, you're going to have to find out for yourself. If you're a Whammy guy/gal, you ought to give this new version a try. No disappointments here. I'm glad I got it here at Sweetwater. Can't get a better deal with their 24-month, 0% interest financing with my Sweetwater card! THE BEST customer service in the business hands down and shipping is always FREE!

  • from Michigan July 29, 2014Music Background:
    Pro-semi-pro, composer, guitarist

    Most Stable Whammy Yet!

    The ability to shift whole chords with minimal glitching is awesome! Set the shift to 5th up, all wet, and its possible to simulate slide guitar type sounds with no slide. Of course, you can still flip the switch if you prefer the older style glitch-prone tracking. Its also built like a tank.

  • from Austin Texas February 8, 2014Music Background:
    51 years playing Guitar

    Whammy V

    The first time I realize what David Gilmour was using in the song " The Blue " I knew I had to have one. After all ... if it's good enough for Gilmour .... well You know the rest !!!!!!!

  • from Ayden, NC May 8, 2013Music Background:
    live performer for 26 years

    If your 'thinking' of ordering this pedal from Sweetwater, you're over-thinking

    I preface this with i am a very picky guy when it comes to purchasing anything from anyone-especially online, but I am very satisfied with this!
    We're all entitled to an opinion, but I don't see how anyone doesn't love this pedal! It does EXACTLY what is says and does it perfectly! The various modes it has will keep you engrossed for hours and when playing live, your fans ears will pique when this pedal is engaged! Love the true bypass. The ONLY critique is that you physically have to change the modes with your hand, though if you can master the foot roll (kinda like driving with your knees) to change modes then no worries. I use the two octaves up for swells with my looper or for soft delicate solos because it transforms your sound into an almost synthesizer effect that is very cool!
    Also, if you're a phan of Trey Anastasio and the crazy swell loops he does live then THIS IS YOUR PEDAL.

    I'll close with you should order this pedal/or any other gear for that matter only from the people at Sweetwater! I know no one who works there and have no affiliation to them but have been VERY satisfied with their service! I'm the guy with the worst luck ordering anything technical on line (always get the dud or something better comes out as i order something) but Sweetwater really goes above and beyond to help you custom your purchase to what you need! They offer the best price, offer continual tech service/advice, and are quick in their delivery)
    Basically, there is no other pedal for 'whammy' effects or company to order it from than DigiTech and Sweetwater!

  • from Earth December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Who cares?

    IF YOU WANT TO SOUND LIKE TREY ANASTASIO

    I originally purchased this pedal in the hopes to emulate Phish's song "First Tube" as I found out that all the astonishing effects that were performed weren't so much his skills at guitar but the technology of effects pedals. Now keep in mind you'd need a Boomerrang Pedal as a looper (or use a flashback they get good ratings) but pitch shifting provides a plethora of possibilities and lets your imagination run wild. I can't get enough of it. Especially when you put it in your signal chain as to where the other pedals are effected by the Whammy pedal. You can have so much fun with it. I highly recommend being a guitarist for over 20 years that you will LOVE this pedal.

  • from philadelphia pennsylvania usa August 20, 2012Music Background:
    guitar player and songwriter i have played for 30 years

    the whammy pedal

    to whom it may concern i owned a whammy pedal years ago i had forgotten how great a whammy pedal is i love the powerful chorus and of course i love the various octaves of the whammy pedal i thank all of you at sweetwater as without you easy payment plan i woul not have been able to purchase the dgi tech whammy pedal and i thank sweetwater and all of you at sweetwater peace

  • from SF, CA, 'Murica July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Noob

    Awesome Whammy Pedal!

    This pedal absolutely rocks! So much fun can be had! Very sturdy, looks cool, all around awesome. Makes you feel like Tom morello or Jack White! I would recommend this pedal to anyone.

  • from Columbia, SC March 29, 2016

    Solid 9 outta 10

    Great pedal. I owned the WH-4 for so long, but after trying to consolidate to a board with one Voodoo Lab power supply, I realized the AC power was an annoyance and the pedal had its drawbacks.

    This update fixed about everything I could think of, incorporating standard DC power, a cleaner sound (and a switch to have the classic buffered sound), automatic calibration, and a much nicer design. I can tell the switch between modes is more soft sounding as well.

    The only drawback I can think of is that the latch button is the loudest sounding click I've ever heard in a pedal. Louder than the older Whammy, and loudest click on my board. Might be super annoying if you're a bedroom player, but very negligible on stage.

  • from Wichita Falls,Tx January 23, 2016Music Background:
    professional

    Awesome pedal!!!

    Just revieved my whammy pedal! Loving it! Has some awesome sounds!!!
    My sales consultant Ryan Murphy was awesome as always and the deliver was very very fast! Sweetwater always comes through fast!

  • from burbank ca July 12, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician ,producer

    wammy

    finally true bypass!

  • from January 14, 2013

    Great pedal

    It works as advertised. True bypass and great features. It is better than the previous version

  • from Poway June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Neat update to a classic pedal

    I received my pre-ordered Whammy 5 from Sweeter today and am very happy with it and plan to keep it permanently connected to my setup, unlike my Whammy 4 which muddied the through sound.
    Yes, it is true (mechanical switched) bypass, if you disconnect the power the bypass sound remains.
    Chord (multi-tone) mode is very neat and sounds good with arpeggiated chords, for example in Harmony Oct Up/Oct Down mode. Personally I plan to keep it in Chord mode all the time, even for single note stuff.
    Classic Whammy mode Octave sounds are there and tracking is very good.
    Pitch shifted sounds are tonally different to input, but still sound good.
    Although 9V power standard has been adopted, current on case says 1300mA, so you will probably need AC adapter provided; adapter is pretty quiet, I did not have any hum problems when I put it in my pedal-board.
    Pedal action was very stiff when it arrived so I got out the toolkit drive socket set to to loosen pedal screw and added tiny amount of lubricant to plastic bearing.
    Case is solid, switches and jacks seem sturdy and unit is made in USA.

  • from canal winchester, OH October 24, 2016

    Whammy

    Lots of options with this Whammy pedal. The expression pedal feels really natural and accurate. This was my first pedal of this type, so there was a short learning period before I felt comfortable and could easily get the sounds i was hearing in my head. That being said, very easy to use and tons of usable sounds/effects available. It does have a slight drop in volume and low end when engaged. The bypass is great.

    As always, Dan Overstreet did a great job of helping me feel confident this would meet my needs and got it out to me the very next day. Sweetwater service cannot be beat.

  • from Ca. USA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist / Songwriter

    Whammy 5

    This peddle is awesome. The true bypass is a great new feature, and works perfectly. The only negative comment is it does not adapt very well in the chain of effects. It must be on the backside of the effects chain. In a two-amp situation, it is an inconvenience. There was also some trouble getting the unit. The Sweetwater card did not go through right away do to some server problem. In the end, it arrived on time, (as always) and in perfect working condition. Sweetwater has the best customer service in the industry. No one compares.

  • from TX July 19, 2012Music Background:
    20+ years Hobbyist Guitar

    Ohhhh yeah!!!

    If you are trying to decide between this and the Whammy DT, my advice is to get this and save a hundred dollars.
    The only advatages to the DT are the fact that you can drop tune and use the whammy effects on top of that. But the chords mode on this pedal is the same algorithym as the downtuning side of the DT and it is not good enough to really replace a downtuned guitar, there are other products that do that better. The DT also has a momentary switch that is pretty cool but a momentary line selector is still cheaper than the difference in price between the Whammy and DT and you can use it with other pedals as well.
    This pedal rocks! The sound of the effect is classic whammy just like you are used to hearing and using but when you turn it off, it does not sound like you threw a blanket over your cabinet.
    The detune feature is a great mono chrous! Shallow for more common chorus sounds and deep for the Small Clone sound. A lot of people who have never used one do not realize that.
    The chords mode was the only dissapointment. I could have done with out it. They should rename it slightly less glitchy mode because it is still NOWHERE near the level of the POG or Morpheus. If you are looking for that level of preformance you will need those pedals, this one will not do it.

  • from Pleasantdale WV October 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Teacher, builder.

    Digitec Whammy 5

    Cool sounds just like you'd expect. This pedal has a lot to offer but really needs some kind of a memory. Even an AB switch would be something. But, if you like the effect and need it - it works well. Not noisy, plays in-tune, good construction all around.

Questions about the DigiTech Whammy 5 Pitch Shift Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway