0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Korg Wavedrum - Standard Version Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • Adam
    from Columbus, OH November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Teacher and Live Musician

    Amazing INstrument

    I love this thing. I've used various electronic drums, but have never had one that actually felt like a real drum. I play set and hand drums, and the Wavedrum does a great job with both. I fits into my current acoustic setup, allowing me to add electronic elements without losing the feel of the natural drums.

  • Michel
    from Los Angeles, CA April 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Part time Pro

    Excellent Drum

    I am a keyboard player and singer but also love percussion. I have bongos that I enjoy playing and wanted to have access to lots of different percussion sounds to play with. This instrument does the job extremely well. I have bought a pair of mallets, a pair of brushed, and use drum sticks and it's really cool how the instrument responds differently to each item differently. My favorite so far is using hands or brushes with mallets coming in a close second. Some people have complained that the aluminum rim is hard on your hands. I disagree. I also have a Roland SPD 20 (which I love playing with my hands). That thing is rubber and gives me cracked skin/fingers if I'm not careful. This is not hard on the hands.

    One criticism would be that the background beats that are built in cannot be altered in tempo. They don't have dedicated buttons either (you have to use an edit button to access playability of the beats). But the built in stereo 1/8" input makes up for this big time. Just play audio from an mp3 player and jam to it instead. I have had hours of fun doing this.

    Great product. I would recommend getting a snare stand (the Korg custom one is what I got and it works very well).

  • TablaNinja
    from North Carolina November 4, 2009Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Tabla player, multi-instrumentalist and Laptop Looper

    WOW! Even more impressive than I was expecting!

    Holy Crap!!! As a tabla player and electronic musician, this is probably the most excited I've ever been about a musical instrument/electronic gadget! I received my WaveDrum this afternoon and haven't stopped playing/tweaking it for over 5 hours now. This thing picks up on so many of the subtleties of hand drumming that no other electronic drum can even touch. (i'm sure it's awesome if played with sticks, but I haven't gotten that far yet) I had read complaints about the lack of MIDI and USB and was a little concerned myself, but I have to say that I'm no longer worried as I dig through the endless ways to tweak and customize the sounds. They really thought this thing through and it kicks *** to the bone!
    my new toy awaits, later...

  • Mike Carr
    from Holland MI July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wavedrum

    Lots of fun! Very responsive. I didn't want just another electronic drum.
    This thing is a keeper!

  • Chris DiBacco
    from cleveland ohio January 13, 2011Music Background:
    battle scratch/noise artist

    holy mackeral!

    thatwas absolutely beyond my expectations by far, and i must say i had entered this site for a power adaptor for a drum machine i have at my house, and saw this, watched the demo, and drcided to forget about this drum machine for now........ because i may just pick one of these up for now....

  • Wavelength
    from Cincinnati, Ohio November 17, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sound, but!

    The range and sound of this unit is incredible. Both the interior and exterior sounds are great. I have owned this for about a year. I design AD/DA units, guitar amps and stuff. Musician's that come over agree with me on the sound.... but two things that cripple this unit are no MIDI and the complex way you have to program it. One or two more knobs and a USB connector and this thing would rival anything on the market.

  • David Sydney
    from Sydney Australia October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Interesting Presets

    There are some really good presets on this gear. Switching between favourites quick. Selecting a new preset is slow to open.

  • Jason Williams
    from houston texas February 11, 2012Music Background:
    percussionist , producer, engineer studio owner.

    flimsy not as good as the original

    I purchased the original wavedrum in 96 and still use it for shows and studio work. The value has climbed to about 5k for the original making it too valuble for touring. so when i heard of the re-release i was stoked. Immediately i was let down . its sounds and responded some what like the original but the construction is flimsy and toy-like. Korg should bite bullet and release the wd1 again.

Questions about the Korg Wavedrum - Standard Version?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway