0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

On-Stage Stands WS7500 Wooden Workstation - Rosewood Reviews

3.5 stars based on 71 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands WS7500 Wooden Workstation - Rosewood?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands WS7500 Wooden Workstation - Rosewood?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Cameron Wheeler

    The WS7500 has proven to be the perfect desk for my studio. Itís very sturdy, looks great, and has been well worth the investment!

  • John Grabowski

    I needed somewhere I could park my laptop recording rig at home (at a price that was easily approved by my wife) and this simple, VERY affordable, and attractive desk did the trick!

  • Jesus Estevez
    from Colorado October 26, 2016

    Everything I Expected

    Easy instructions and assembly. Lots of space, sturdy, and it looks great.

  • Mike Carr
    from Holland MI September 17, 2016

    On-Stage WS7500 Workstation

    I gave it a 5 because of the value! It's small enough to not ruin your limited home studio space. Big enough to be the center of your studio. Assembly is a bit of a challenge... They left out a few screws....Still, for the price, there's no other option.

  • Thomas
    from Fostoria ohio July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar

    Real nice

    Great product for the price can't beat it easy to put together

  • Eric Oskanian
    from Palisades Park, NJ January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Been shredding chops for over 40 years

    Cannot be beat for the price!

    I was skeptical due to some of the reviews and peoples expectations considering the cost. For instance its not solid wood and anyone thinking they are going to get a solid wood desk at this price point is just absurd unless its used on Craig's List and not nearly as functional. Solid wood workstations are expensive.

    The other worry was screws and assembly. However, they may have updated this unit because assembly was simple and it was all Allen hex screws and some nuts. Once put together the unit is very solid. The complaint about the tray bearings I am unsure of as the two side rails for the tray assembly had the the tray glides already installed.

    I have purchased 'assemble on your own" computer desks in the past for 3 times the cost that were garbage. I could not be happier with this purchase and I amazed at how solid it is for the price. Mind you,its compressed board with a laminate or sheeting like wrap over it. Regardless,if you take care of your stuff I can see many years of trouble free use.

    I am glad I took the chance as I am well pleased.

  • Terence Weyenberg
    from Zimmerman, MN, USA January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, home DAW

    Solid durable desk!

    This is a fantastic desk! Assembled quickly and is solid as a rock. We like it so much we are buying one for my wife too.

  • Brady loch
    from Albert lea, MN August 2, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Awesome

    Was looking for a good desk and this is a great desk and for the price you really can't beat it. I thought it would be shakey and not so sturdy but it's really nice and the set up took a little but I got it with one other friend. Overall great desk with an amazing price.

  • Benny Morales
    from USA January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician / Hobbyist

    Ws7500 Wooden Workstation

    Adam Briggs you are the Man! Thank you very much for your help and the accomidation spirit no hassel you provided. You should get a Raise! seriously! But the workstation is great and perfect for what I needed.

    Thanks again!

  • andrew bakun
    from philadelphia, PA January 11, 2014Music Background:
    student

    WS7500 Wooden Workstation

    best choice of this type, highly recommend, you will not lose your money buying it*****

  • roycie
    from conyers ga October 23, 2012

    w s 7500

    I am very happy grate stand

  • Russ
    from Alabama July 16, 2011Music Background:
    Composer

    Great Stand

    While this took time to assemble, I found it all worked and didn't need to drill any extra holes -- wood screws are included. The assembled product is sturdy and attractive.

  • Gordon
    from Seattle, WA December 2, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student

    Got it despite the bad reviews and glad I did!

    First off, I'm giving this a 5 because I think the other ratings are more harsh than they should be and I want to bring the average up.

    Before this, I had been using a student desk from office depot. I simply wanted to upgrade so that I could have my keyboard and computer all in front of me. This did exactly that, with enough room on the top to hold my Alesis M1 320 monitors aswell as my fast track pro next to my laptop.
    It took me and my friend an hour to install this. YOU WILL NEED A DRILL in order to screw the platforms into the legs. Others have complained about the holes not aligning properly, but since you're drilling the screws in anyways, all you need is to align one side according to the small holes, and the other side will look virtually even. The most frustrating part of this was putting the screw cap to lock the screw on the two bars that hold the legs together (There are 8 total). Other than that, I have a solid desk that's even according to my plum line.

  • Jake Carroll
    from MI November 13, 2014

    perfect for money looks professional

    great desk with option to customize depth of top shelf over main. only issues I had was it took a bit of time to figure out and set up besides that it is gorgeous wish I could upload pics of the wonders it has done for my studio upgrades

  • eli
    from n.j usa April 3, 2014Music Background:
    dj

    awsome workstation

    its a gr8 size really strong and easy to put together

  • John Geneau
    from Stafford Springs Ct. USA February 7, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    workstation

    Love it , rugged and good quality plus a great price .

  • Harold
    from Oklahoma February 17, 2013Music Background:
    Home musician

    Great Deal

    I really love this desk. It is sturdy and spacious. I have two computer monitors on the top tier and a small mixer on the middle tier. I have plenty of writing space. My only complaint is that it was extremely difficult to fasten the main shelf onto the frame. That being said, I honestly can't be happier with my purchase.

  • Jana Thompson
    from Jeffersonville, Indiana September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and mother of pianist/composer

    great desk!

    Great desk, overall a wonderful addition to the music/student/composer. My son keeps his venom, laptop, and homework all on the same desk. This desk has now become his major workstation...plenty of room and sturdy too.
    I put this desk together with a little difficulty, I had to drill pilot holes a little larger to get some of the screws in, and had to use power tools.
    I would have given this desk a 5 star if the particle board was better made, or had it been real wood. Great bang for the buck, though!!!

  • Satisfied in VA
    from Virginia November 1, 2011Music Background:
    Commercial Composer

    Best Bang for your Buck!

    I bought mine a couple of months ago. I love it and am looking to expand with the matching side extensions. The issue with people feeling they may need a drill is due to the screws you will have put in place from the bottom or at weird angles. You can use the other pieces as addional weight for you press on forcing the screws into place.

    Seriously they could have charged $500 for this. This desk is a super deal.

  • Bob G.
    from Hartford County, CT, USA September 9, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist, Student

    On-Stage Stands WS7500RB Studio Desk

    The On-Stage Stands WS7500RB Desk is just what I needed for my study desk. Already owning one of these previously purchased from Sweetwater, assembly was comparatively simple: the only tool not supplied was a Phillip's screwdriver. It should be noted that when assembling the lower slide-out drawer, it is required to align the inset screw holes so that the screws that fit into these holes aren't misaligned. After a bit of trial and error, the lower slide-out drawer was assembled and attached to the main desk. For that reason alone I gave the desk 4.5 stars. If you're not worried about breaking a mild sweat while climbing under the desk (which you'll need to do for assembly), have no fear. The finished product is indeed a bit of quality furniture that is both functional and practical. This desk is a good value for your money; the desk can hold an all-in-one computer workstation, or act as a study desk with plenty of room for books on the upper level as well as workspace on the main and drawer level. P.S. The upper level can be adjusted during assembly to place the upper level closer to the back of the desk, or more forward. Nice option if you want to save some depth space.

  • Mark Harris
    from Indianapolis, IN USA August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Engineer

    A well designed desk, sturdy as can be!

    This desk is perfect for my nearfields, flat panel monitor, external drives and keyboard. There's plenty of workspace and this desk is solid. Now I can leave everything set up and just plug in my laptop when I get home and keep working on my session.
    As others have mentioned, the part labeling and pre-drilling could be better executed, but as long as you leave the hardware loose until everything is in place, it will tighten up nicely.

  • Leon
    from Philadelphia January 25, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar, bass, recording, mixing....

    Not Bad At All...

    First, I was VERY unsure about purchasing this workstation after the negative reviews, but I am really really glad I did. For the price it is unbeatable, and sturdy. So...here are some things to keep in mind:
    First...every review is correct...the holes DO NOT line up...but this isn't so terrible if you have a drill, like another reviewer stated. If you line one side up to the holes, and then use a drill on the other side, it will end up just fine, and even. Second: Yes...it is NOT a solid wood desk..it IS laminate...but it is NOT at all shabbily made. The finish on one I have looks rather handsome, and authentic. Third, the desk is STURDY...you have to adjust the four small leveling "feet" on the bottom of the unit until it sits level, once tightened, the unit doesn't rock at all. It's the perfect size for small work areas, plus it is expandable with end pieces available to add to either soze, adding a nice amount of additional workspace, not many other workstations offer that.

  • JET
    from MI January 18, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter

    I dig it!

    True, it was poorly packed from the land of cheap desks. The box looked like they drop shipped it from 10,000 feet. Holes were slightly askew. However, for the money it has been a GREAT desk!. I have a large pair of monitors on it, as well as all my other equipment. I have had it for more than a year with NO problems. The desk has remained stable too. Nice layout, lots of room for my gear. It holds a lot for it's size. Cool unit for relatively cheap.

  • Skytown Jonnie
    from Skytown February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Long time player

    Great

    I'll start off by saying...yes...for the money.
    It is what it is. For $170 the size is perfect for me and is solidly built. Assembly was no problem. I think perhaps it has been improved over time. I didn't install the keyboard tray, as I have no need for it. Overall, I'd recommend it. Super service from Matt Alexander at Sweetwater.

  • Mike Wright
    from Marysville, Wa 98271 October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Amature

    On-Stage Stands WS7500

    Easy to assemble and is strong and steady. Well made and good value for the Money

  • Customer
    from March 17, 2015

    workstation

    awesome , does great job for music & personal stuff .excellent size . very stable .
    assembly was easy - the drawer was a little tricky . they could improve directions on that a little .

    Other than that l would recommend this desk to friends .

  • Alan K.
    from San Jose, CA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Solid Workstation

    This was not so hard to put together and really did not take more than an hour. It is sturdy and roomy enough for my gear. Studio Speakers, 11Rack, Drum machine, mixer and Laptop as well as cables and accessories. The only drawback to me was the color is darker than the picture. I would say it is more brown, When I took a picture with my camera it also came out lighter in the photo. The 4.0 is due to the color and laminate as there was a back corner slightly dinged but hidden from view and the color not what I expected.

  • Quanah
    from Portland texas February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio engineer / musician

    Great value

    I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product considering the price point. I thought the directions were a bit misleading for the assembly of the keyboard drawer but otherwise no issues. I plan on buying the rack and insert modules next

  • Bob S
    from Centennial, CO USA January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exactly what I expected

    First of all, this product is $170 delivered. Set your expectations there. For the price, you get a very sturdy, well laid out, excellent proportioned workstation. Minimal wobble, relatively easy to assemble, other than screwing the desktop into the frame. That is a bit challenging, but best achieved with some help. Not impossible alone though.

    I have a Kronos X 88 on the main desktop - it extends over the edges a bit but there is no shaking when I play it so I can see the monitors without feeling like I am about to break the sound barrier.

    The keyboard tray is a bit low, but not terrible. A good hiding place for computer keyboards, mice, etc.

    Excellent value for the money. It is particle board with a thin plastic-type veneer, so just be careful with it and you will be fine.

  • Customer
    from New jersey November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, live, pro musician

    Good desk

    Great desk, sturdy, not as hard to put together just at a certain point not enough room to put screws in but it's the right size and perfect for a 61 keyboard

  • Adam Turner
    from Lemoyne, PA September 19, 2014Music Background:
    singer, songwriter, home studio owner

    Very cool but...

    I like the overall design but never expected cheap screws to hold things together. I mount 2 monitors on a single bar and an additional bard for the laptop. Not only did the 1st 2 screws strip during installation,I would never trust them to hold my mounting system together. I had to go to Home Depot and get better screws. But all in all, perfect design for a small home studio.

  • Anthony
    from West Orange NJ August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sturdy desk

    I read most of the reviews and decided to try my luck, very happy with my choice, took me a little over an hour to assemble. Parts were well aligned and no extra screws left over. Good starter desk go for it .

  • Guy Icangelo
    from South Florida March 5, 2014Music Background:
    Player

    Great workstation

    Solid work station big enough for a modest home studio.

  • Robert Oakes
    from West Chester, PA January 11, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    WS7500 Wooden Workstation - Making it work

    I purchased the workstation to house my ProControl mixing board.
    I found that as originally designed the VU meters would be hidden under the top shelf. Easy solution, move the location of the bottom board (with keyboard shelf). I don't know if designers had this fix in mind but, with additional fastening on bottom shelf, it works very well.
    Sweetwater, as usual was very helpful with fast delivery.

  • Rod
    from Philadelphia, PA September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, songwriter

    Perfect for my space

    The quality is solid, and the form factor is nice. I was a bit disappointed that the width if the main desk was 2" shorter than advertised, but that was ok for me because I just set my monitors on my full range floor speakers that are roughly the same height as the desk.

    Also, the instructions for the keyboard drawer are very vague. I had to disassemble it once and reverse the top and bottom boards, and I think the drawer itself is still backwards because it doesn't come put as far as it seems it should.

    That said, my MacBook fits on it nicely, and I am pleased. Take extra time with the keyboard assbly so you don't make the same mistakes that I made!

  • EQ Why
    from Indianapolis, IN July 9, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Exactly what it says and perfect!

    This desk is perfect for new users and if you are on a budget this is a desk I highly recommend for you to get. Very sturdy and it's heavy. Simple to assemble and steady. No cheap wood the real deal!

  • Marty Heldt
    from Lakeville, Michigan March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Playng guitar for 35 years and now writing music and doing God's will for my life.

    WS7500 Helpful Hints

    I am giving this a 4 becuase I have time to assemble it.Delivery was the next day and packaging was ok. How I assembled this.
    1. Layout frame. fasteners, and wood to make sure everything is there(as with anything)
    2. Attached the crossbars to the main z legs and tighten snug.and add the 4 rubber feet to the bottom of the frame.
    3. Place the top shelf on the frame so it is almost flush with where it would fit against a wall..
    4. Take a fine point magic marker and stick it in the support tabs from underneath so that you know where to drill the 4 holes. Grab a drill bit slightly smaller than the wood screws provided.Mark the drill bit with the marker 3/4 depth of the screw itself.
    5. Place the top shelf FACE DOWN on the floor. Drill the 4 holes to the depth of the mark on the drill (so you don't drill through the top)
    6. Place the frame up side down on the wood you just drilled and align the holes.
    7. Grap a long phillips screw driver and tighten down the frame to the top shelf with the wood screws so they are snug.(If you hear crunching than you are over tightening them! Top is now Complete.
    8. Start assembling the pull out drawer- Slide on the 2 sides of drawer remembering which side is up!!Look at the diagram in the instructions if needed. Spray the bearings with lithium white grease if you have it to keep them lubed.
    9.Take one of the side screws (should be 8 of them) and poke them through the holes to make sure there is a clear pass(this will help when you align the bolts to the inserted nuts.
    10. Place the slide out on it's side and bolt in the BOTTOM of the sliding drawer . (It has less holes in it than the top)It is easier to get the bolts started straight this way.Make sure they are started and snug them down
    11. Take a 15 minute break to rest your neck and fingers..
    12. Thank God you have eye sight and arms and can afford to do this as many in the world don't and can't.
    13. OK. Now Place LARGE lower table top on it's face and screw in the other side of the sliding drawer(not connected yet ) onto the underside of the LARGE table top. Use the 4 bolts provided and snug them down!
    14. With the LARGE table top still facing face down, slide the siding drawers onto the Large table top so you can put in the 4 side screws. This may take some wiggling to get them all started.
    15. Once started, snug them down when the allen wrench.
    16 Take a break. It's almost done!! Thank God.
    17. With the sliding drawer firmly attached to the LARGE table top, flip it onto the upright frame . Be careful not to get slapped in the jewels as the sliding drawer will move!! ;)
    18. Crawl underneath the stand and mark where he wood screw holes are , drill them out, screw them in and you are done!!! Amen!!
    Hope this helps.

  • Jim Andersen
    from Florida January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Song Writer

    Excellent and great value

    Found assembly not bad about one hour
    Very attractive and functional- plenty of work space.
    Would certainly buy again- great choice.

  • Don Smith
    from Hampton September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Bassist

    Does what it supposed to do

    Desk is sturdy and holds all of my gear. I like the fact that it's expandable. Also stylishly designed. Great starter desk for a small home studio.

  • Rick Shelley
    from Baker, FL USA January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist of great limitations, wanna-be recording tech

    On-Stage Stands WS7500

    Very good solution for my small home studio. Small footprint with right amount of smace for my mixing board, MBox, laptop and other miscellaneous gear. Only concern was poor construction on sliding keyboard mechanism, which we are working to get replaced.

  • Michael Neaton
    from Monroe, CT USA September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Recording Engineer, Musician

    Desk is great

    Setting it up was pretty tough at points, simply because the holes that were pre-drilled into the wood were a bit off...but overall it wasn't too bad. The only problem I have now is the fact that the entire desk wobbles slightly, nothing bad, just enough for me to notice sometimes.

  • Jim
    from Eustis, FL USA October 11, 2010Music Background:
    Semi-Pro musician, Hobbyist/Student Producer/Engineer.

    Nice workstation, difficult to setup

    As others have said, this can be difficult to setup. I've put together numerous desks and computer workstations, but this seemed to be a little more frustrating. But when done it is a very nice workstation and plenty of room for my 61 key Roland A800-Pro, 27" monitor and keyboard. The Pull out tray is large enough for a 25-key controller for sure, possible a 49-key.

    On suggestion, the instruction tell you to tighten the frame before putting the shelves up. I found that by keep the frame a little loose, it was possible to "force" the holes to align. You can then tighten the frame when your done.

  • Gary
    from Fort Wayne September 14, 2016

    onstage workstation

    assembly was smooth till the keyboard shelf, I put it together and the ball bearings fell out sliding mechanism was junk used a different set of slide out rails from my old desk was no way to salvage the set that came with the desk

  • Adam Turner
    from Lemoyne, PA October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Producer Amateur recording engineer

    Functional but overpriced

    First, the tops are held on by cheap screws that are too small. You'll have to get better screws if you want to trust the sturdiness which I needed because I mount 2 monitors on a bar on the back side.

    The keyboard pull-out busted and 100 ball bearings were all over the place and it couldn't be reassembled. The base shelf is deep enough though to not need the keyboard pull-out. It would actually be too far away and I have 2/24" monitors.

    All in all, I like the overall design and compatibility but I found $50 cheaper somewhere else a few days after purchasing it.

  • Michael Curtis
    from Dallas, TX July 18, 2014Music Background:
    Mixer, Bassist, Masterer, Composer

    Very Functional, Frustrating Setup

    I like this finished product. There were a few dings in the wood and some blemishes on the metal that occurred during the manufacturing process. There weren't any included instructions. Eventually figured everything out, but was frustrating at first.

    It's sturdy once it's all put together. Has plenty of space for all my gear. (keyboard, mouse, midi controller, macbook). Great for the home studio environment.

  • Kapone Beatz
    from USA May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Cool but can be better!

    Great table for the cost. I give it 3.5 stars because the slide out tray is very easy to break and it broke on me. I dont use it anyways for what im doing but its a shame that it broke so easily.

  • Mark
    from United States March 20, 2014

    Solid desk

    Nice looking. Some skill required in assembly. Works well with my DP-24 and LSR-305's. Also my laptop and wireless keyboard and headphone amplifier.

  • Jeremy
    from New York. NY February 14, 2011Music Background:
    www.troysnoise.com

    Gets the job done

    Somehwat of a pain to put together (not as bad as others have described) but in the end is a great functional desk for the price. No electric drill is needed and it should only take you about two hours from beginning to end. It looks pretty slick and so far has sustained significant weight...I have a 32" LCD on the top level along with two Rokit5's and hasn't budged at all. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.

  • Markeyse J. Mundy
    from California April 12, 2010Music Background:
    Music Engineer, Producer

    Good desk. Extra setup effort required

    I bought this desk because I needed more space, and a better layout. The price was right, so I decided to buy it.

    The bad part of the desk is the setup when attaching the shelves. The holes does not line up, thus causing you to make additional holes from an uncomfortable position. It also doesnít line up with the WSR7500 off the bat. So be prepared to spend a lot of time doing adjustments.

    Otherwise, the desk is very good. It is big enough to put controllers on top. The top shelf for the monitors is a Godsend. It cause for a very ergonomic position while sitting at the desk. It is also pretty sturdy. I did wish it had a form of cable management, but I guess you can only ask so much for the price.

    This desk is at a very good price and it is a good buy, just expect to take some extra time aligning and drilling new holes.

  • James Ashley Hartman
    from Fayetteville, AR October 5, 2015

    Excellent Value

    Nice size and easy to assemble. Worst quality laminate I've ever seen, particularly at the rounded edges. Assemble the frame very loosely. Assembly the drawer very carefully then torque the drawer screws. Lay the top piece on the frame. Manipulate the frame as you install the screws. Leave the screws loose. Do the same for the desk top. Torque the frame screws. Torque the top's screws. Very simple! Apply a few layers of ploy and this will last you many years.

  • Greg
    from Chicago September 29, 2015

    Recording desk

    The table itself is good for the price. Unless you're looking to spend 500+ on a workstation then this is great. The only reason I have rated lower was because it was a little bit of a pain to assemble. I was only missing one thing and that was a rubber stopper for the top shelf no big deal. I wanted to say that the tray table gave me a huge pain. It got stuck in the glide system and the ball bearing glide system ended up falling apart. But the great guys at Sweetwater Luke and Andrew helped me out and I was able to have a full glide system shipped to me in no time. Always great service from Luke at Sweetwater!

  • Bob Lee
    from Caldwell, NJ November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist, drummer, composer, film editor, budding film scorer.

    WS7500 Nice Desk, but Pack a Lunch!

    Once assembled, the desk is great, but bring a drill, screw drivers, a decent socket wrench, and plenty of patience.

    I was a mechanic and a machinist for a number of years, and I can tell you that the QC on this piece leaves much to be desired. Pilot holes that don't line up with the tabs, threaded anchors that take forever to align with the bolts, etc.

    What should have taken about 20 minutes took about an hour and a half, and I am no neophyte!

  • Andrew
    from New York July 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist, Music Director

    It does the Job.

    No doubt the cheapest workstation on the market right now that will actually fit your needs! I would rate this higher as it's really working for me nice but ehh on quality. It was a PAIN to assemble. The holes didnt line up I had to redrill them ugh. It appears to be MDF board veneered with the nice rosewood covering- it was mashed on its edges when I got it, too lazy to return it but with all my studio stuff on it -you can't tell. So in comparison to everything else out there-I would recommend this mainly cause it fulfills the need to hold your equipment and after the hassle of installation it does look nice-I have gotten a lot of complements. So it does the job and I overall would recommend it (unless you can find something cheaper or at the same price point thats better then by all means don't get this) but I'd implore the company to pay just a little more attention to detail.

  • Customer
    from United States March 11, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Decent for the Price I guess

    Once it's assembled this is a fine and useful piece of furniture for the price. Design wise, I wish the top shelf could be adjusted or at least raised a bit so I could get more vertical space on the main shelf.

    I hated this thing when I was assembling it. I am quite handy, but the instructions were a bit roundabout. I'm pretty sure there could of been a better way, method or order of assembling certain things, but I stuck with what the instructions said, just in case. Certain things just was not as easy as it should have been. For example installing the wood screws to the main plate. Make sure you have adequate light to line up the holes.

    The wood and metal framing materials feel a little cheap to me, but I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Bruce Kaiser
    from NJ, USA June 29, 2010

    roll with it

    you'll need to rely on your own ingenuity, and you own tools, to do the job right. my hardware packets were labelled incorrectly, which resulted in having to assemble the frame twice (fyi-the shorter allen screws are for the frame). i had to reattach a draw slider that was botched at the factory; and the pilot holes for attaching the shelves didn't align properly, probably due to the frame not being perfectly square... so i made new ones. after it's all assembled, it's a solid, useful piece with lots of work surface. good bang for the buck.

  • Bob M
    from Sonoma, CA August 5, 2014Music Background:
    40 years of playing

    Definately has some flaws

    The price is low and it can fill a need but there are a lot of issues. The "wood" is vinyl cover particle board, and not all that well done. I found the upper shelf way to high, if a monitor is placed there you will be looking "up hill" at it. It also will put monitors higher than optimal for correct listening.

    The stands are sturdy but be prepared to need more tools than the little one included. The "pre-drilled" screw holes for mounting the boards are no more than pin size and there is no way you will get the screws in without "stripping" the head slotting. They need to be drilled out to a larger size.

    Most annoying was that one set of the tabs for the main surface mounting are right under the cross bar and only a stubby screwdriver will get them in, and that is after drilling the holes in the board larger. The fasteners for the end allen bolts in the sliding drawer box use unusual inserts that can turn in place so you will need a flat blade screwdriver to position them in order to get the allen bolt to engage. Plus putting in the box mounting to main surface allens is a pain.

    Most annoying is the minimal of instructions leaving out all of the above as well as how to correctly insert the sliding drawer into the box. The slides are not well designed and one of mine fell apart right away. I ended up replacing them with more quality units. In the end I cut off the upper shelf mounting, upgraded the sliders and narrowed the main surface to reduce flat surface reflections from optimal speaker placement behind the unit.

    In short the unit is inexpensive but poorly thought out as to assembly along with poor instructions. Buyers have to balance out the low price with the amount of effort to assemble and the design issues.

  • Tony
    from Powell, OH August 3, 2012Music Background:
    Budget audiophile

    If it had more rigidity

    If it had more rigidity I'd rate 3 1/2 stars. I personally though have no use for the pull-out keyboard panel and should have probably left it off. My eyesight is really messed up due to disabilities so the screen being on the top shelf is a bother, but I tried and it's too big to be on the lower shelf. With all the negatives out of the way, the top shelf fits a Dell U2412M and two KRK Rokit5 G2's near perfectly, and the large desk space on the middle portion is great. I have a headphone Dac and amp and they fit well on one end while I listen to music and surf the internet. I wish I had better credit score so that Sweetwater could carry more mid-range (300-500 is mid-range for people that aren't ridiculous) audiophile gear I could buy.

  • Tom
    from Yes. June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Oh My Yes.

    Oh Baby, Oh Baby.

    Pretty straight forward to assemble. A little shaky. But it gets the job done.

  • Customer
    from March 20, 2010

    On-Stage Stands WS7500

    This is a great looking workstation and very functional. The assembly process was just a little tricky, however, I was able to figure it out.

    The only thing I really don't like about this workstation is it is unstable. As I type on the keyboard tray, the stand shakes back and fourth.

    I will be modifying it with a piece of heavy plywood attached to the back, main legs. I am going to paint it flat black and drill two small holes in it so I can run my cables through. This will strengthen the workstation to help make it more stable. I don't know why On-Stage didn't do this in the first place.

    I do realize many workstations/desks are unstable, however, this is probably the best for the money (if you are willing on modifying it like what I will be doing soon.)

  • Adam
    from Chicago January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Production

    Read Carefully

    I'm only giving this item a 2 star because it looks good visually. I would buy again, however:

    1. The Main Board screw holes don't match the sides. So I basically have only one side screwed.
    2. READ the instructions carefully, the instructions are worst ive seen. there are only 4 images and hard to follow instructions.
    3. The Main board and the keyboard tray attaching use a smaller screw! I mistakenly used the same screws as all the other parts and damaged the wood. how frustrating. the instructions should have this highlighted and in color RED..... since the instructions say to put the board upside down so you dont really know if you are damaging the wood or not READ INSTRUCTIONS VERY CAREFULLY.
    4. The keyboard tray doesn't screw in properly. so again the same issue with the main board the screw holes don't matching.

    I basically have a wobbly desk that looks good

  • Morgan
    from Columbus, ohio October 5, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Really Cheap

    This is a really cheap desk. It's not actual wood, but a cheap, thin coating that peels with little contact. We moved it into another room and got numerous scratches.
    Also, the adjustable top shelf does not align properly. We currently have it with the screw just on the right side.
    I never do reviews, but I had to say, this is not worth the money.

  • Danny Showalter
    from Missoula, MT November 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    Poor engineering

    I have plenty of experience putting to gather furniture. This desk was poorly machined and difficult to line up the connections. The desk is functional and full fills the function for my studio.

  • Sid
    from Chattanooga, TN USA June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Performer, engineer, composer, professional

    Difficult to assemble, but useful when put in use

    It took a long time for two well qualified individuals to assemle the On-Stage Stand: Wooden Workstation. Many of the holes for screws did not match up and it was in some instances a new build. The directions were sketchy, but all in all it is working out now.

  • Todd Ivey Sr.
    from March 29, 2013Music Background:
    sound designer

    March 28, 2013

    I would have giving this workstation a better much higher rating.
    Maybe I got a bad workstation.
    It is big and strong, problem I had was putting it together.
    Some holes were not align correctly, I had to drill holes.
    I got frustrated because I had to take it apart.
    Normally putting a workstation together takes me 2 hours.
    This workstation, one day.

  • Josh Fowler
    from Newport News, VA September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Great for the money, but not amazing by any means

    This desk is really functional, and it certainly does the job. You can't beat it for the money. Some things I didn't care for:

    1.) The cheap laminate was already peeling in 2 places when I got it, and the wood underneath had been slightly warped. It was kind of what you would expect from an open box ikea item.

    2.) The instructions weren't nearly specific enough. Thank God I had put together furniture before, or this could have been a disaster. If you get this piece, try to think intuitively as you put it together, and be thinking about what is required for your next step, or you could end up having to take some of it back apart like I did.

    3.) The keyboard tray was the biggest challenge to get right, and it still isn't great.

    Now some good points.

    - It works well for what it is designed for.
    - Seems to be very sturdy

    Get this piece if you are desperate for a desk, but not if you have more money to spend.

  • Shane
    from Utah January 9, 2015Music Background:
    15 years, Musician, Recoring Engineer

    sharp rails

    Itís not very nice, the slide out keyboard tray has sharp rails on both sides. The only reason I donít return it is because itís already put together. I recommend Sweetwater STOP selling this product.

  • JD
    from Nashville August 17, 2013

    Heinous Assembly

    This desk may end up being great for recording, but the assembly is so heinous that I nearly have already thrown it out. The instructions could not be less detailed and vague. The holes are in all the wrong places. And good lord, the keyboard stand is a joke. It doesn't fit in at all. So much frustration.

  • Robert
    from Cincinnati OH September 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Stand, wish the quality of the wood was better

    First, I got this because the form-factor was PERFECT for my application. Also, the steel frame, although the welds were a bit sloppy, was pretty good. However, when I got it, I found the "wood" panels were the worst excuse for composite wood I've ever encountered. Every trouble I had assembling this related to that problem (1) The keyboard drawer was dumpster-food. The rails were screwed into the sides (sort of) but the wood was so soft that the screws couldn't even hold themselves in. Further, the slides were bent, but the box didn't appear to be damaged, so it must have been packed that way. (2) the main table would NOT hold the wood screws supplied. Screwing into this wood was like screwing into cardboard. I ended up drilling though and putting in thin carriage bolts to hold it.


    I didn't return it because I was in a time crunch and getting another desk would take a week I didn't have. I salvaged the keyboard drawer from the previous installation to replace the one they sent, and am going to get the Church carpenter to make a replacement top of real wood, or at least composite made with some real binders.

    This desk is a real winner IF you get the wood panels right

  • Warren
    from Santa Monica, Ca December 16, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer & Pro Musician.

    You just can't imagine....

    ....how frustrating and exhausting it was to assemble this product and the matching 12u rack. Mounting holes were poorly aligned and instructions were not helpful. It arrived with two scratches on the top worksurface finish. The worksurfaces are meant to be attached to the metal frame with the supplied, insufficiently sized wood screws. The included rack hardware screw heads are small and don't include protective washers. Once it's assembled and set up, it looks and works fine, but On-Stage Stands should pay you to assemble this item.

  • Wyatt
    from Los Angeles September 2, 2015

    Very Poor Quality Desk.

    Very poor quality product. I was not expecting an amazing wood desk and having read other various review I knew the laminate was not going to be the greatest I had ever seen. But I at leastwas expecting a functional product. Upon set up of this desk multiple of the allen screws did not line up to the holes they needed to be screwed in to as if the company did not even measure the wood when making cuts. Also the keyboard trey is very flimsy and snapped off upon initial assembly. 1 Star is being generous, I feel this product deserves no stars. I recommend you save your money instead of dealing with the hassle of returning the product and wasting two weeks.

  • Dave Parfitt
    from East Stroudsburg, PA March 27, 2014

    Might be worth the $$$ if it was $1.69

    This is the worst piece of furniture ever created.
    1.) Directions are outright wrong in that they tell you to use screws labeled one letter, but earlier in the instructions the same letter was used for another type of bolt.
    2.) You must drill or tap your own pilot holes.
    3.) Picture diagrams are primitive making it harder to follow.
    4.) Fake laminate bubbles on the underside of pieces.
    5.) Missing black end cap (I searched and searched ... it wasn't included.
    6 I foolishly bought the side table too and there is no way to tighten the leg so that significant wobble doesn't exist.

    1/2 way through the installation I would have gladly payed $200 more if I knew a more expensive desk would have been easier to build and more so, better quality.

    Sweetwater rules, but should dump this line. I have put a decent amount of cheap furniture together in my day so I set my expectation low when I unpacked to assemble, but I should have set my expectation way, way, way lower.

  • Customer
    from September 25, 2010

    If you enjoy wasting money

    If you enjoy wasting money on garbage, then by all means, purchase this desk.

    This desk is maddeningly difficult to assemble, and nigh impossible to do so without wanting to smash the thing to pieces for being so incredibly poorly designed.

    Do not buy this desk under any circumstances. I did, and now I have no choice but to either toss it in the trash, or leave it on the curb for some hapless soul to take.

    I would personally rather drink a bucket of cyanide then have to deal with any On-Stage Stands product ever again.

  • Customer
    from Las Vegas June 18, 2010Music Background:
    Sr Sound Designer/Composer

    Spend more - get something better

    I would not buy this again. The desk is made of pressed PAPER, covered in plastic that looks sort of like wood. I'm not talking about Formica here, it is more like a heat wrapped thin layer of plastic. I've honestly never seen anything this cheap - I was marveling at it while I was putting it together. Mine was damaged in a few places during shipping, but I need something to work on right away so I can't send it back. I will replace it when I can. Rollers on the drawer already started to pop out and I have only just put it together. I know there isn't much else out there in this price range, that's why I suggest you save a little more money up and buy something better. Honestly, this thing is junk and you've been warned!

Questions about the On-Stage Stands WS7500 Wooden Workstation - Rosewood?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close