rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Casio WK-7500 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
  • from New York May 5, 2013Music Background:
    Part Time Musician

    Keyboard action a major disappointment

    Fantastic keyboard sounds and functionality with the exception of one thing. The keyboard action is terrible. Casio really dropped the ball on this one. With a good semi-weighted keyboard action this board could have given the Korg's and the Kurzweil's a major run for the best bang for the buck.

  • from Washington pa April 13, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great keyboard

    Just got it a few days ago and I'm very pleased with it. As a few other reviews mentioned I also have high end Roland synths and a Yamaha stage grand however this keyboard stacks up nicely against them. Though I haven't used it on stage I feel I would do just fine the sounds are excellent and navigation around the board is easy it seems well built. The only minor complaint I have is the keys are kind of noisy they make kind of a rattle sound however for the features and sounds its easly overlooked. Love the Hammond b3 effects and the piano sounds with the ease of layering. I think it's a great home or gigging board. Glad I purchased one. Casio did a awesome job with this board.

  • from February 9, 2013Music Background:
    composer/orchestrator/entertainer

    Astonishing...!

    Once one gets over the embarressment of owning a (gulp) Casio and come to terms that it really should not be the name that matters but the product, you will be struck with the notion that this is probably the bargain of the millennium! So many great useable sounds, sequencing facilities and poattern arranging and not forgetting the abilitiy to record directly to SD cards, there really is nothing out there to touch this beast. I bought it mainly to be a musical/song sketch pad - a means of not having to boot up Sonar and hundreds of VST, by which time all sense of creativity has usually left me and I go make another coffee and ponder! Not so with the Casio WK7500 - instant songs, instant phrases/cues and I am disocvering to my delight why I became a composer in the first place! On a slight downside, a lot of button.menu pushing is required and I know I haven't even scratched the surface yet of what it can do and more importantly, how it will help me - but straight out fo the box, I know I have bought something that will inspire and crucially, help me work quicker.

    And thanks yet again to Tom Maxwell and the untouchable Sweetwater service who managed to beat a horrific deadline and get this delieverd to me! I will never consider buying anything from anyone else...

  • from COVERT,MI. January 1, 2013Music Background:
    KEYBOARDS,GUITAR AND SINGER

    so much to learn about this keyboard

    I LIKE THE SOUNDS, AS FOR ALL THAT IT CAN DO, I T WOULD NICE TO HAVE SOMEONE TO TEACH ME ALL THE STUFF THIS ITEM CAN DO.THE MAIN THING IS THAT IT WAS EASY TO GET THE CHORUS, AND DRAWBARS FOR THE ORGAN SOUNDS THAT I WANTED. I BOUGHT A USED 8 TRACK REEL TO REELTO USE, INSTEAD OF TRYING TO LEARN HOW TO USE THE 16 TRACKS THIS KEYBOARD HAS. THAT'S IT FOR NOW.

  • from WISCONSIN April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Church musician, and entertainer at functions.

    New Keyboard

    I'm so very pleased with my new keyboard and the bench.
    Everything is working just the way I hoped it would.
    I can now practice at home and not have to run to my
    daughters' home, as it isn't always convenient for them
    or me. I do own an organ (big one), but the keyboard is
    better as I play in two churches. One with an organ and
    one with a Clavinova. I am enjoying it, and receiving it
    two days after ordering was an even bigger surprise.
    Thank you for such prompt service.

  • from north windcrest-church.san antonio,texas March 17, 2012Music Background:
    keyboard-remix12inch production 6trackep-cd engineer

    that wk-7500 for my 6 track e-ep

    i have a wk-110 and i will be hooking up a wk-7500 to my accr and my acer and my hewlett-packard laptop pre and post production with a yamaha mg206cusb 20 ch mixer and pair of jbl lsr2300 series studio monitors the wk-7500 is a pro production keyboard for a cd to be burn at home for the majors to sign your project casio is no joke on any day any second wk-7500 and wk-110 are 2nd to none

  • from Illinois March 16, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician/recording engineer

    casio wk-7500

    it's great! does all that it says it can do....very user friendly.!
    and the service from sweetwater is fantastic.

  • from Motown November 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Decent Workstation For $500

    If you want a board with a little more customization and personalizing ability (versus something like Yamaha's DGX series) this is probably a decent choice. At least with the WK7500 you can adjust an albeit limited set of parameters that affect the factory sound and store the change. DO NOT buy this board if you think the "drawbars" feature is going to replicate a real Hammond--particularly in the seemingly elusive area of a quality Leslie speaker effect. I've played tons of keyboards in my 40+ career as a performer and there are actually many decent keyboards out there that copy the drawbars sounds that emulate from a real Hammond tone generator organ. I think what lacks in the WK7500 and a lot of other boards is the "thickness" of the organ sounds and the quality of the internal Leslie effect. I guess your option here would be to pay $499 for the keyboard and $2500 for a real Leslie (model 3300).

    But, for $500, this board provides more opportunities to expand, explore and customize than most other boards in this price range, or less.

  • from Fresno CA October 10, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    I like almost everything about it, however...

    there is room for improvement in one area. Let me get everything else out of the way first: this board is probably the best bang for the buck out there. You've read it from almost every reviewer, and I concur, for years I associated the Casio name with toy keyboards, but no longer. The sounds (except the one I'll get to later) are excellent, as is the ease of use, and features. I don't sequence much, but found it was easy to find my way through the proceedure. I do not own this board but am considering it and have played a demo unit many times. I need a board that I can take to gigs that don't warrant taking my usual two keyboard 100 pound plus (Yamaha XS-8 & Hammond XK-3) set up. I need a good "do everything" board. The Roland VR-700 is easily without question the best do everything board currently available, but it's also four times the price of the Casio. I use a lot of Hammond organ sounds in my music, and that is where this board fails. The drawbars are laid out correctly and with the right footages, but each drawbar only has three levels of volume, where a real Hammond has eight. When making real time drawbar changes on the fly, this makes the drawbars sound terrible. If you have a real Hammond or clone and want to know what this sounds like, just use your drawbars only in the 3, 6, and 8 footages. There is also a period of no sound heard in between each of the three levels of each drawbar as you move it either in or out, this is really annoying. I'm actually surprised more reviewers haven't noted this, but maybe there aren't many Hammond purests buying this board. The actual tone of the Hammond section is not terrible, but it's not really great either. What is terrible is the Leslie speaker rotor simulation. It's typical of entry level boards that retail for hundreds of dollars less than this one. If you don't rely heavily on Hammond sounds, then you will probably be all right with the organ section, and if you don't need to make drawbar changes in real time on the fly, then the drawbar failure may not be a problem, either. Me? I need outstanding Hammond organ capabilities, it's manditory for the type of music I play, and this board falls short and fails miserably in that respect. I want to respectfully repeat what many reviewers have said: everything else (with the exception of the organ section) is excellent. I would be willing to pay more for this board if Casio had just devoted more time, effort, and technology into the Hammond section. I would also have liked to have seen the use of waterfall style keys instead of the piano style, (they're better for Hammond playing) like Roland did on the VR-700. The Roland would be quite the perfect board if it weren't so expensive.

  • from Beckley, West Virginia August 24, 2011Music Background:
    guitar, vocals, live theatre

    Bridges the gap between home and pro use.

    I can't tear myself away from my WK-7500. I'm what you could call a "finicky amateur": a guitarist who wants to branch out. I was skeptical at first of the Casio name and its connotations--"they make those calculator watches from the 1980s, don't they?" Glad I got over THAT.

    As an amateur keyboardist/serious guitarist I wanted something that sounds good to my guitarists ear, without the necessity of a second mortgage. Mass market home keyboards seemed to me to be loaded with the either the "kiddy" or the cheesy "wedding singer" factor, and I don't need learning software, thank you kindly. On the other hand, boards with the feature set I wanted seemed priced unrealistically for an amateur in this economy.

    I'm glad I found the WK-7500. The factory sounds (with a few exceptions which I'll never use anyway) sound very good through the onboard speakers...but amplified --oh, woot and joy! Many of the piano, electric piano and organ sounds are surprisingly rich. The sound editing features are a pleasure with easy, logical workflow, and recording to SD is a breeze. This board has a good feel for its price that is neither too stiff or too mushy.

    That said, it doesn't have MIDI output, but for features vs price point, I'll settle for USB (for now). So far, I'm very glad I took a chance on Casio, and just as happy with Sweetwater--this is my first purchase with them, but so far their customer service is a bowlful of awesome!. I hope to buy more from them soon.

  • from Sahuarita, AZ USA August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Impressive Keyboard

    If you are serious about making good music you should consider this very impressive keyboard. Don't let the low price fool you. This is not a toy. It is a workstation/arranger/sequencer/solo performance instrument. The music styles are good and up to date. The music presets are good. The tones are good. Excellent piano sampling. Touch is good. Using the full range keyboard instead of fingered chords it recognizes 9th, 11th and 13th chords. Even though the tones are decent use the tone generator. So far I have a tenor sax sound like Stan Getz, a Modern Jazz Quartet Vibe, John Pizarelli Jazz guitar, Miles Davis Mute trumpet, but the biggest surprise: a true Hammond B3 sound using the drawbars. I edited some auto-accompaniment, did volume adjustments for this, and played midi files from a SD card. I perform as a one man band with my wife providing vocals. Got lots of good reviews of the new sounds. One person thought I paid at least over a $1000 for the keyboard. Can't wait to use the recording feature and song sequenceing (it's been only a few weeks). But, there are some things that could be improved. You can't use any pedal, unless it has a polarity switch. You have to buy a Casio one. It has no numerical pad to call up a style, tone or midi file. You solve that with the dial and - + buttons. The manual is somewhat cumbersome and keeps repeating the same thing over and over again. There is no index (drives me nuts), but once you understand what they are trying to tell you it gets a little better. The music stand is the poorest part of the entire keyboard. It is flimsy, but I strengtened it by adding thickness to the bottom where it fits into the slots. When you make adjustment using the function make sure you select auto resume, otherwise you loose all your volume settings.
    Regardless, I have absolutely no regrets about purchasing this keyboard.

  • from Mount Laurel, NJ July 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbist, Local cheeser Keys band man, originals

    76 Kool Keys

    Good sounds (better if you amplify it) Intelligent layout and smooth work flow make the 500$ price point a winner. I LIKE IT!!!

  • from SE Virginia June 27, 2011Music Background:
    Old Rocker

    Heck of a deal

    I have or have had lots of keyboards in the last few years - mostly lower end stuff but some midrange as well. This board represents the best bang for buck of any I've tried. For half the price of a Roland Juno Gi you get a 16-track sequencer (32 really), MUCH better organ sounds, and better sounds generally, plus 15 more keys. The feel/action is better than the Gi (although not stellar) and teh only thing Casio really screwed up was not having real MIDI ins/outs. It does have USB but MIDI would have made it a much more "professional" machine. However, since they represent it as a home keyboard I guess I can't complain too much. If you're on the fence about this one, I'd say buy it.

  • from baltimore , md. May 20, 2011Music Background:
    self taught guitarist and singer

    wk-7000

    I bought this unit after reading a full page add in Musician's Friend. it was on back order and i can understand why. This keyboard exceeded my expectations in every way. My main instrument is guitar and i am not a great keyboard player at all, but this keyboard even makes me sound good. Because it is so lightweight i plan on using it on gigs as background accompany filling out the sound of my guitar and vocals. This keyboard really shines when run thru a p.a. head and a 15 inch speaker. It's also a wonderful practice tool as you can lay down a backing track in less than 3 minutes on the 17 track built in sequencer. It's a lot of bang for the buck. I just wish i'd put down the extra 100 bucks for the 7500 model, but hey, i'm still very happy. Thank you Casio and a special thanks to the engineers who designed this beautiful keyboard.

  • from Seattle, WA USA May 12, 2011Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL PLAYER

    a casio winner

    BEST KEYBOARD FOR THE MONEY OUT THERE. SOUNDS, ORGAN DRAWBARS, EFFECTS, ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES OF MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE KEYBOARDS. CASIO SHOULD RELEASE AN UPDATE WITH 128 POLY AND TWICE AS MANY SOUNDS. THIS ONE BEATS THE YAMAHA MM6 AND PSR-S550. MUCH BETTER SOUNDS, MORE PROGRAMMABILITY, MORE EVERYTHING. ANYBODY WHO BADMOUTHS THIS WK-7500 WORKS FOR THE COMPETITION. I WONDER WHY KORG AND ROLAND DO NOT MAKE ANYTHING THIS GOOD AND AFFORDABLE. WELL, IT JUST DAWNED ON ME. THE REASON IS THAT WE HAVE PUT THE STIGMA ON CASIO AND THE OTHER COMPANIES TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THIS. PEOPLE LIVE BY NAMES AND NOT BY RESULTS. THIS CASIO SHINES AND ONCE YOU PROGRAME IT AND TWEAK THE SOUNDS YOU HAVE A SUPER KEYBOARD. PLEASE CASIO GUYS, RELEASE THE 88-KEY VERSION WITH 128 POLY AND TWICE AS MANY SOUNDS. DO NOT FORGET THE DRAWBARS. I ADORE CASIO KEYBOARDS, SO AFFORDABLE, SO SWEET. YAMAHA CORPORATION,. WAKE UP, YOU CAN DO IT. CASIO IS WINNING.

  • from seattle, wa usa March 28, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    BEAUTY WITH A STIGMA

    I OWN KORG, ROLAND, HAMMOND, ALESIS, YOU NAME IT. I HAVE THE WK-3800. THE WK-7500 IS BETTER IN MANY WAYS. BUT PLEASE, KEYBOARD PLAYERS OUT THERE, SIT AT THE KEYBOARD, TWEAK THE SOUNDS, TURN DOWN THE TOUCH FEEL FEATURE BY ENTERING THE TONE EDIT PARAMETER AND THEN YOU WILL HEAR THE BEAUTIFUL SOUNDS. PEOPLE DISCRIMINATE AGAINST PEOPLE, WE LIVE BY NAMES, NOT BY CONTENT AND MEANING. THIS KEYBOARD IS AWESOME. LET US NOT COMPARE IT TO KRONOS OR MOTIF FX PLEASE. THIS PUPPY PRODUCES VERY NICE SOUNDS, YOU HAVE TO GIVE IT A CHANCE. IF MOZART HAD HAD THIS INSTRUMENT HE WOULD HAVE DONE WONDERS AND EVERYBODY WOULD BE WILLING NOW TO HAVE ONE. LET US BE MUSICIANS AND STOP TALKING ABOUT FEATURES. I HAVE TWEAKED THE INSTRUMENT AND IT CAN SOUND AS GOOD AS ANY OTHER KORG, ROLAND OR WHATEVER. YOU HAVE TO HAVE THE PATIENCE AND TIME. IT IS INSPIRING ME. DO NOT FORGET TO SET UP THE TOUCH SETTING TO ZERO IN ORDER TO HEAR THE REAL SOUND. APPLY EFFECTS, AND IF YOU ARE A GOOD MUSICIAN YOU WILL ALSO DO WONDERS. I DID THE SAME TO MY BELOVED WK-3800. I MIXED THE VIBE PAD WITH EFFECTS AND THE DEEP BLUE SOUND, AND WOW I GOT THE SOUND OF A STRING ORCHESTRA THAT IMPRESSED A LOT OF PEOPLE. LOVE WHAT YOU HAVE, MANY PEOPLE WISH THEY HAD THE CHANCE TO HAVE THIS INSTRUMENT. TREAT IT AS A PERSON, RESEARCH IT AND YOU WILL SEE WHAT I MEAN. CESAR.

Questions about the Casio WK-7500?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway