0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Casio WK-6500 76-key Portable Arranger Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Ann Arbor, MI December 18, 2013

    Highly recommend !

    Good keyboard, fast shipping, and good service!

  • from Goldsboro, NC USA October 19, 2013Music Background:
    22 yrs, Hobbyist.

    What happened to sound quality?

    I was really excited to get this keyboard, as I thought I was upgrading from my Casio WK-1630. I was really impressed with the WK-1630 and was certain that the WK-6500 would be a major upgrade. Unfortunately, that was not the case. I unpacked the WK-6500 and immediately started playing around with different sounds. I noticed that it sounded like a Wal-Mart special I would get my 5 yr. old to toy around with. The sound quality is terrible. The tones just don't seem to carry and the built-in speakers dont carry any bass at all. Perhaps it may sound better if I get an External Speaker. The User Interface is decent. It took some getting used to, but overall, seems pretty user friendly. The Variable Touch Response is garbage. Seems like you would have to have heavy hands to even turn it on. One of the reasons I got this particular keyboard was for the Synth Action keystroke. If I wanted to be Heavy Handed, I would have gotten a Weighted Hammer Action keyboard. To Casio's credit, the keys are responsive in regards to the speed of the keystroke though. They are Very Fast. There is no emotion in the keystroke however. It would be impossible to soften a song like " Moonlight Sonata " Please understand that I'm not totally against Casio. It's an " O.K " keyboard... for a beginner. Perhaps after I tinker with it for a while, I may begin to love it. Perhaps an External Speaker System would take care of the sound quality issue. For the moment, I would not suggest this to a more advanced musician.

  • from long island ny February 25, 2013Music Background:
    songwriter, home studio owner, cover band musician

    great features to price ratio!

    I bought this unit to use in a cover band situation...something easy to use, with good general sounds...well, it has that for sure, only complaint would be the drum sounds and rhythms...a bit cheesy and generic, unlike Yamaha gear in this range, but, the ability to program your own rhythms is nice, if u need that...sounds are more than sufficient for any scenario, the tone editing is a great feature, really key, and the ability to save custom tones is fantastic for the price...like I said, the tones are really useable, the speakers nice and clear, good volume, and the front panel layout is easy to navigate.
    Complaint wise, its like this...the manual is a bit hard to read, a lot left unclearly written...no MIDI connectors, and the sustain plug jack polarity is not switchable. The auto accompany programs are silly sounding too...very childish, but that's about it for the complaints...oh, and way too many oriental rhythms and tones...
    For a simple to use home practice or jamming board, use in an uncomplicated cover band, or maybe a church group, for the price, u can't beat it.

  • from Mount Pleasant, SC September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surpassed my expectations

    Love love love my new Casio WE-6500. The feel of the keys and the sounds are fantastic. I'm amazed at how authentic sounding the organ feature is when playing Bach. This is a handsome and versatile musical instrument.

  • from Mount Pleasant, SC September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surpassed my expectations

    Love love love my new Casio WE-6500. The feel of the keys and the sounds are fantastic. I'm amazed at how authentic sounding the organ feature is when playing Bach. This is a handsome and versatile musical instrument.

  • from Mount Pleasant, SC September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surpassed my expectations

    Love love love my new Casio WE-6500. The feel of the keys and the sounds are fantastic. I'm amazed at how authentic sounding the organ feature is when playing Bach. This is a handsome and versatile musical instrument.

  • from Mount Pleasant, SC September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Surpassed my expectations

    Love love love my new Casio WE-6500. The feel of the keys and the sounds are fantastic. I'm amazed at how authentic sounding the organ feature is when playing Bach. This is a handsome and versatile musical instrument.

  • from NY metro August 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician,Teacher,Choral Accompanist, NYSSMA Mentor

    Well,you did it again.

    I just unpacked my 6500. I like to plug and play first. I own several Casio keyboards. They're user friendly from the get go. This one is no exception. I thought about the 7500. Maybe later. It's gonna be fun chipping away at this one first. Cool sounds and rhythms. Gonna be fun messing with them. All Casio internal clocks are the same. If you own two,the rhythms can be synced as long as the tempos match, and you hit both together. And, as always,superior customer service. It's great doing business with you. Till next time.
    always,superior customer service

  • from Wyckoff, New Jersey April 25, 2012Music Background:
    currently an audio engineer, but also a musician of metal, blues, & gothic dance music also other creative thinga as well!

    my keyboard & overall service @ sweetwater

    actually the rating is great!! I'm very pleased with my recent purchase of the Casio WK-6500. Not to mention the other stuff i've bought from Sweetwater! The sales people are friendly & very knowledgeable, indeed!! Great tech service, great prices saves much cash! And you know what, the coolest thing about Sweetwater, is that they keep in touch with you & not just about how your doing with a purchase. They ask how everything is going in your life in general, which is unheard of with most musical companies!! Just a great music store; i gotta tell ya, there has been a few people ask me if i know of a good music store & my first answer is dude, check out sweetwater, you can't go wrong with them,trust me, their great!! Anyway, thanks a lot Sweetwater, you guys rule!!
    Sincerely,
    Phil Metro

Questions about the Casio WK-6500 76-key Portable Arranger?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway