rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Washburn WCG55CE - Koa Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Washburn WCG55CE - Koa?

Questions about the Washburn WCG55CE - Koa?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New York City June 5, 2017

    Stunning Guitar!

    The guitar was delivered in perfect condition and played beautifully right out of the box. Matt at Sweetwater as usual was extremely patient with throughout the purchase process. And the comfort edge really does make a world of difference!

  • from Greenbay, WI USA April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Beauty and perfection

    i dont really want anyone to know about how sweet this guitar is cause truthfully if the world knew about this one it would be everyones go to guitar. I am in love with this guitar! Washburn gets a perfect 10 for making this brilliant piece... Love the Solid Koa.

  • from Jonesboro, AR, (USA) April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Previous pro, Music producer, and mastering tech.

    Washburn KOA WCG55CE

    I placed my order in December, 2013, had to wait until January 28. Well worth the wait. I have been playing for fifty years and have a great collection of top shelf guitars. This is a super piece for the price. Looks and sounds great. Sweetwater has been my source for years for great quality and fair prices. Tim Harrington has always been my rep, and he is on the ball all the time with my requests. Great job guys. I Like the Washburn WCG55CE, immensely.

  • from Virginia October 9, 2013Music Background:
    week-end warrior

    Wow!

    I had to wait a bit for the guitar to arrive (Aaron R. was in contact the entire time, he's a great person to deal with!) It was scheduled to arrive this past Saturday at noon - FedEx arrived at 11:45!) I unpacked the guitar and headed off to my afternoon gig - tuned up, plugged in and did a three hour gig! I also received several compliments on the guitar! I have to say it does what Washburn says - Comfortable to play (fits like a glove on your body) and sounds great. If you have one on order, it's worth the wait. The folks at Sweetwater are the best - you won't be dissapointed.

  • from Indiana August 12, 2016

    Great Guitar

    The reason I bought this guitar was because of the reviews and the sound I heard online, the sound bites you can hear from the reviews do not do this guitar justice. It is such a mellow sounding guitar, balancing all levels well. Look wise, it is beautiful, and even though it is not a solid wood guitar the body is made up of layered Koa wood (that information comes directly from Washburn.), which keeps the price down, but honestly, it is beautiful sounding guitar, much better than my solid spruce top. As far as the feel, the neck is so soft due to the matte finish, the comfort edge just allows your arm to rest naturally against the guitar, with no irritation. I honestly would not hesitate to recommend this guitar to anyone. It was well worth the money spent.

  • from Swartz Creek, MI January 29, 2016Music Background:
    making noise since 1960's

    Great Guitar

    I was looking for a guitar that sounded brighter than my Martin jumbo/cutaway. I figured being Koa wood it would be thin as possible making it brighter. It is and sounds great. I have three grand into the Martin and if I had to give one up, it'd be the Martin. I really love the beveled top edge and the rest of the fit is perfect. I waited eight months for this guitar, way longer than I waited to get married...but it was worth the wait. I heard they changed factories during my order. The nut fell off when I changed strings, but that wasn't a big deal because it needed to have a shim anyway. At this price range I think having a pro set it up is a good idea. Adam and his team took care of me, thanks Adam, And remember..."if ya can't change you wife, ya can change your guitar..."

  • from South of Heaven August 22, 2014Music Background:
    Player, some luthier experience

    the Good, Bad, & Ugly of WCG55CE

    Out the box this guitars action was so high it was unplayable (by my standards.) I asked Sweetwater if I could purchase a spare bridge saddle so that I could lower the action and have a spare in case I sanded too much off the bottom. They never got back to me about it. The did however offer to pay for me to have it set up by a local tech. Who proceeded to sand too much off the bottom of the saddle and asked if I could purchase another one. Haha. Instead, he just shimmed it back up a hair and it plays GREAT. He also glued the nut in place which was completely unfastened, hammered in a few high un-sat frets, did a truss rod adjustment, and filed down some fret edged that stuck out past the fretboard. This guitar needed some serious tlc. Whoever set it up at Sweetwater before it left the door really dropped the ball. That being said, Sweetwater did pay to have it setup and the guitar is great so over all I would say the experience was good and would recommend this company and this product with the condition that it needs some tech work out the box. The armrest bevel has changed the way I perceive acoustic guitars. It is amazingly comfortable. The koa is beautiful and the tuners are quality. This guitar stays in tune unlike any acoustic I have owned. The Fishman electronics battery box is a little loose and can rattle (a design flaw) but a piece of business card shimmed in tightened that right up. The guitar has character and with a little effort has the potential to play awesome. I was fortunate to get one of the early models with a matching koa headstock overlay (as currently stated in the details on the Washburn site) - the new models have a rosewood one which Sweetwater is well on top of in their description. With the exemption of not getting back to me about purchasing a spare bridge - excellent customer service and excellent communication. To my knowledge, this is the only production guitar that offers an armrest comfort bevel. The only other source for this option are small shop customs in the 5-8K price range. In my opinion, the sound of the koa is not quite as loud as traditional spruce or cedar and has a little less treble. A warm low end quality. Rock and/or roll yall.

  • from Temecula California September 11, 2016Music Background:
    Hack with 20 years experience

    Ok for the money

    I had been eyeballing this for over a year and finally pulled the trigger. My usual go to is my Taylor 416ce which I love. However, I wanted something I wasn't afraid to take out to play in places I wouldn't want to bring the Taylor. First thought is it was set up very playable but I will definitely will sand the bridge in the future. After plugging in the first time the electronics played well but upon unplugging, the plug in output became really loose and I had to unstring to retighten. Upon removing the strings the nut came right out. I noticed this to be common according to the other reviews.

    Overall the guitar is beautiful and fun to play, but the craftsmanship is about a 7/10 when you get into the fine details. So ultimately it's a good second guitar but if it's going to be your goto definitely get it set up professionally if you can't do it yourself.

Questions about the Washburn WCG55CE - Koa?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway