0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Peavey Vypyr VIP 3 - 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Guitar/Bass/Acoustic Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 3 - 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Guitar/Bass/Acoustic Combo Amp?

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 3 - 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Guitar/Bass/Acoustic Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from August 16, 2016

    nice amp

    love it best amp for the price out there

  • from July 2, 2016

    Great Amp

    This amp is much much better sounding than I thought it would be. Great tone and feel and has lots of effects and amp models. And for $299, you can't beat the value. I think I could have gone with the 40 or 60 amp version but too late now. Great all around deal!

  • from Bel Air, MD June 15, 2016

    Great amp

    I have used this amp almost daily for three years and still love it. I have programmed my banks by what I will play. I have only had one issue with the preset knob. For some reason the repair shop and Peavey could not get the right part for it but after month got it back and good as new. I mainly play in church now and have programmed my first 20 presets for covering the Contemporary Christian music from Casting Crowns to Third day for both electric and acoustic guitar. Then my next 60 patches are for classic rock and rock from Boston to Def Leppard. I have let other guitar players at church try both my electric and acoustic patches with their guitars and they were really impressed with the sound coming out of the amp. One guy was so impressed he went and bought his own VIP3 and loves it. I have tried the new Vypyr Pro 100 and it was pretty good but they do not have any acoustic amp models anymore which is why I am not considering buying it. To me this a great amp to use for church worship as if you play both electric and acoustic you can use a/b pedal to plug both guitars in and switch to the preset for which guitar you are using. The trans tube technology in these amps is awesome and they do sound and play similar to a tube amp. The only negative things about this amps are no line out(not sure why Peavey did not include one) and the cabinet quality is not the greatest plus the plastic amp corners they use are a joke. If you looking for amp to cover main styles of music and the ability to play both acoustic and electric guitars then this is the one to have. To me this amp is a steal at $300.

  • from Florida June 6, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist

    Super Amp!

    This amp is fantastic! It has grteat sounds and plenty of power for what I need (small performances). The name Peavey has been around for a long time for a good reason...

  • from Iola, KS February 3, 2015Music Background:
    RETIRED PRO MUSICIAN

    Peavey Vypyr VIP

    EXCELLENT AMP!

  • from Fontanelle, IA USA January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Peavey Vypyr VIP Amp

    Much more than I expected! Amazing that I can plug in any of my guitars and go! Sound is very clear. The range from soft and deep to a window shaker amp is a mark of excellence.

  • from Chula Vista, CA USA February 23, 2014Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    I was looking for a bass amp, and...

    I found this little treat. While I mostly use it with my Fender Precision Bass, which it's very fine for, ****1/2. But what blew me away was how well it worked with my Gretsch guitar and my Kentucky mandolin (with a piezo pickup). I've also amplified a few ukuleles through it, and it gets rich, deep sound that you can tweak.

    This is the future of amplification. It does everything extremely well for a small price. With the power sponge, you can use it for anything from stage work to a quiet practice amp. Also recommended is the foot pedal, with which you can access the looping functions. Highly recommended.

  • from Adrian, Mi, USA December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Used to be professional, now just a weekend warrior.

    A Swiss Army Knife of Amps

    Right now, I am playing in two projects, and this amp is being used for an electric guitar, a bass guitar, and an acoustic bass. Bang for the buck, this amp is excellent for all three. Even my acoustic 6 string sounds excellent through it. I'm a bass player first and foremost, so I was highly skeptical of the bass part.......I was wrong. It handles even my 5 strings like a trooper.
    Admittedly, there is a learning curve to the settings, but even messing around with the presets gives you hundreds of sounds to annoy the neighbors with! Oh, and get the pedal too......you won't regret it.
    I'm not going to tell you this will replace my "professional" rigs. It isn't designed for that. But smaller gigs, practice, and in some recording situations, this is just what the doctor ordered!

  • from Poseyville, IN November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sounds better than expected!

    I was afraid the bass tones would be weak but I was blown away how good it sounds with my Jackson 5 string bass and Jackson Dinky. Nice having one amp and great tones in a small footprint.

  • from Texas March 20, 2015Music Background:
    aspiring musician

    awesome amp

    I loved it it's really versitile I enjoy playing with it it's an awesome amp

  • from August 3, 2016

    cradle to grave

    This amp will do most anything you ask it the only thing you need the pedal for is a looper. It will take you from the practice room to the stage with the power soaker 1watt to 100watt with just the turn of a knob. About the only complaint I have is some of the presets act odd when you engage the crunch or lead gain . Like on some presets when I go from clean to crunch I lose almost all my volume. Then other presets will scare the hell out of you if you just breath on the guitar strings. The learning curve for this amp is a bit steep but once you understand it its not so bad. A usb and computer helps with making and saving setups.

  • from Springfield Missouri November 12, 2015Music Background:
    Local bands

    Works great for my purposes

    I bought this amp because I switch off between acoustic and electric guitar, and occasionally play an electric bass. The amp works great with all three. I like the power sponge, because you need all 100w for the bass, most of it for acoustic, and sometimes only quarter power when playing electric depending on your environment. I also like modeling amps for economy and convenience and this one is pretty good.

    That said, I use this amp to go back and forth to practice at a friend's studio. So far, the cabinet is holding up, but I'm careful with my gear. For the stage, I have a bass amp, an acoustic guitar amp, a head and cab for the electric, all of which I like better than the Vypyr. What's impressive is that the Vypyr can fill in for any or all of them in one pretty small package.

  • from Norwalk, OH USA January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Step-son is a hobbyist and musician

    overall good amp

    overall good amplifier great sound quality

  • from Twinsburg, oh USA October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbiest, home studio , small gigs

    Almost perfect

    Shipment came timely , amp is nice and fits my multiple- instrument needs. Software modeling is great. After playing bass in a practice session, I noticed one of the top screws coming out and it won't go back in . This is a little thing but bugs me when it's only a couple weeks old. Other than that , reAlly really cool. The software allows me to visually create and store my own sounds. For gigging I may still need a bass amp though.

  • from Sturgis February 23, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby 30 plus years

    Amp Rocks!

    Amps have come a long way over the years. Hung up my guitar for too many years. Making an effort to get back into music and after developing some callouses decided to reward myself with a new amp. This thing rocks, if you can't find your sound with this amp then you probably just haven't fiddled with all the knobs, dials and settings long enough. Only negative is there is a learning curve to get the sounds you want. After a month of playing with it I feel like I've just scratched the surface. Warning...when switching amp modes from clean, acoustic settings to overdriven electric modes be careful to turn down the master volume. Some of the canned preset modes are pretty low so you crank up the volume and then switch to a different amp mode and wake the neighbors. Like I said this thing rocks!

  • from s March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar fanatic and songwriter

    Great sounding and versatile, but...

    I have always been a Peavey fan. Good sounding and well built, right? well....
    This amp sounds very good and the fact that it has bass amp and acoustic amp models makes it very, very useful for recording. I like everything about how this amp sounds and functions. The only problem is that just a week after getting it, there is damage. I bumped it (not very hard) into another amp, my early '90s Peavey combo. The corner of the Vypyr (plastic) broke off, exposing the particle board cabinet. I am not gonna say "don't get this amp", it sounds very good, but I would say that it may be better as a keep at home amp. Peavey?

  • from Chicago, IL May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, long time guitar player and builder of amps/effects

    An Update

    In just the past few days I have learned a lot about this amp. I still contend that the user interface/controls are way too complicated, especially for live use and in light of the superior setup of the VIP 1 and VIP 2 versions. And it really could use the additional connections (line out, speaker out).

    With that said, I am very happy with the quality of the amp models, with the following caveats:

    1. I found that the power sponge feature mushes up the sound. The high gain amp models and the high-gain channels muddy / mush up when the power sponge is employed.

    2. The 12" speaker cannot handle the dynamics of the volume past 4 or 5. After that, again, it all turns to mush.

    3. There are two sets of effects, stomp (pre-amp) and rack effects (post-amp). Most of the effects are fine until you turn up the gain or use the two higher gain channels. Then again, it all turns to mush. The post effects are more forgiving in this. But the amp sounds MUCH better without the effects.

    4. This amp really needs a speaker out connection. The "head" could drive a 2 by or 4 by cabinet. Would love to hear it through a 4x10 or 4x12 cab.

    So I plan on keeping it. The amp models are very addicting. Just wish they did not overwhelm the single speaker and played nicer with the effects. If you're looking for a multiple purpose amp (to handle acoustic and electric guitars), this is about the only game in town.

  • from February 19, 2016

    setting

    We Realy Like it if we just can find the right setting for us to use & be able to go back to those setting the next time we play . & now we need a Stand for it . Thanks

  • from USA November 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound Engineer

    Good in thought, but bad in reality.

    Has a lot of good amp models as well as stomp boxes. The amp is made very cheaply, paper thin construction. You turn up past 4 and the whole cab vibrates like crazy. A bit of a learning curve to understand what this amp can do. They made it way too complicated. Works for a practice amp but that's about all. I built another cab and put the electronics in that. At least the thing doesn't rattle now. Trust me when I say, GO PLAY ONE BEFORE YOU BUY IT!

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 3 - 100-watt 1x12" Modeling Guitar/Bass/Acoustic Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway