0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 - 20-watt 1x8" Modeling Guitar / Bass / Acoustic Combo Amp Reviews

4.0 stars based on 38 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 - 20-watt 1x8" Modeling Guitar / Bass / Acoustic Combo Amp?

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 - 20-watt 1x8" Modeling Guitar / Bass / Acoustic Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jason
    from Brooklyn Ohio February 17, 2017Music Background:
    metal classic rock been playing for 9 years

    Great loud amp

    Im a bass player and I bought this amp for practice when the guitar player comes over this thing sounds great . I dont know about country or jazz but rock or metal I love it it has me playing guitar sounds incredible! It keeps up with my Hartke bass stack on 4 for practice . I havent played too much with controls I have at one setting its great. The tuner works good too! I tryed plugging my bass in it wont get very loud obviously!! If you need something for band practice this is it has AV input too to play along !

  • Robert
    from Phoenix, Az February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Bassist, electric guitar and keyboards.

    Great amp for the money

    Great amp for the price and it sounds phenomenal. I was blown away at all the different sounds I could get out of it. Yes it can be very loud. Enough to make your neighbors complain. I usually keep it between 2 and 3. No more than 3. Nice little investment. Great for garage bands and small venues or just practicing (at a low volume) in your bedroom.

  • Customer
    from January 24, 2017

    Killer

    This thing is load as h***! And it sounds great.

  • Jim Quinter
    from Louisville Ky January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer and bass player

    Peavy Vvpyr 20w amp

    Got this for my son. We consider him a prodigy. He plays guitar, bass, drums and learning piano. But this Amp just has a very clear sound and the on board effects are just what he likes. This is build for using all guitars bad and Acoustic as well. He has used it for his acoustic and it's sound is very warm and inviting. We have a friend who works for Eminece speakers who make soesjersvfor peavy and we are very impressed with what was delivered here. I highly recommend this for beginners or seasoned players.

  • Bob S.
    from Grayson, GA May 5, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    A Great Amp

    I am an acoustic guitar player/performer but I wanted an inexpensive amp to play my electrics now and then. This is a great amp...sounds great, plenty loud, the effects are excellent...if you are looking for a small, practice amp with a ton of features at half the price of comparable amps then you need this!

  • David S Heier aka Detroitoutcast
    from S.W. Florida December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Played Lead back in the late 60's early 70's

    Review of Sweetwater & Vypyr VIP 1

    1) Customer service and support; one of the very best I have ever dealt with. Have no issues/problems recommending you to others and would highly advise others to deal with you.
    2) Regarding the amp itself; note the last time I played is more then 45 plus years, (ya I know, I'm old but rock n roll never dies). Still learning how to use it (my days go back to the 45's and 33 1/3 days). A lot has changed since then. Only issue to date was installing the download "Vypyr Edit Graphic User Interface". Luckily, I had great support and assistance from the Peavey forum group.

    In closing; originally I was going to purchase a basic amp for about $30.00. Glad I spent the additional $$$.

    Will update this review.

  • Richie Lee
    from United States May 19, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner, but that will change soon.

    Sweetwater and the great service and personal touch.

    I love the Peavy Vypyr. I have loved everything I have Got from Sweetwater.I wil contiue to deal with you all and no on else. Great service- great products. Could not ask for anything more. Thanks to you all. Richie Lee

  • Allen Sevener
    from Petoskey, Michigan USA February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Vypyr VIP 1 review

    I purchased the Vypyr VIP 1 as a practice amp. I had heard that it was't loud enough. Not true, I have never had to more than crack the volume control. Will it fill a large auditorium or noisy bar? I don't know. But I doubt it was intended for that. It is solid and very nice construction. Like all Peavey equipment it is made to last. The options it gives are unlimited. The sound is clear a bright with great definition. It is a digital amp not a tube amp. I have always liked the full, often warm and rich sound of a tube amp but for a solid state amp, this seems to provide a sound close as could be hoped for when you choose the correct setting. The options are nearly unlimited. I have used Peavey equipment in live performance venues for over 30 years and it has never let me down.

  • Stephen Wood
    from Greenwood, IN July 28, 2014Music Background:
    beginner

    Peavey Vypyr VIP 1

    This amp can do so much.It is well made and sounds great.

  • Charles
    from Central VA March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very impressed

    Never thought you could get this much out of such a small amp. Twenty years ago you would spend hundreds of dollars to get this many effects. Still learning but I love it.

  • Clark
    from New Cumberland,WV. December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    One great AMP

    This amp sure makes my hand made 8 string lap steel sound great, like the effects and amp models, on board tuner a great feature, like this amp more than any I have owned.

  • Joseph Anguiano
    from Chicago,Il. November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pleased !!!!!

    Very Happy with this small but amazing amp !!! I have gone through purchasing many stomp boxes and effect pedals,but to have most of them wrapped up in 1 is gratifying... Not to mention several options of amplifiers.... Thumbs UP !!!!!

  • Benny
    from Jarvisburg , NC September 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitar student

    My New Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 Cranks it out !

    I really did not expect this much amp for what I paid. This little bugger can Crank It Out with the tube amps of the same caliber. I use it almost every day since I got it and I am learning something new to do with it every time I use it. I can't imagine myself needing anymore amp for quite awhile since I am basically a beginner guitarist. I am really glad I got it !

  • George Spires
    from Chillicothe Ohio September 24, 2013Music Background:
    partime musician

    Peavey Vypyr Vip 1

    Supprised of the power in a small amp.I personally can use this amp in a small to medium venue with no problem.Lots of volume for 20 watts.The electric and acoustic settings work great for me and the amp models are great. I have not had to mic the amp yet but im sure it would work great. Easy to transport and actually more than I expected in a small inexpensive amp!

  • Larry
    from Dryden, MI August 8, 2013Music Background:
    70 year old, new to guitar, hobbyist

    A lot of bang for the buck.

    With only 20W of power it still will blow you out of the room, and others out of the house.lol Love the memory features, kind of like, set it and forget it. With inputs for electric, acoustic and bass guitar you won't have to change amp's if you change guitar's.
    The customer support at Sweetwater is great and Norb gave me advice that helped me select a pick-up for my acoustic guitar that proved to be just what I needed.

  • Kerry
    from Massachusetts March 5, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar Lover

    Peavey Vypyr Vip 1 - 20 Watt

    This lil amp packs a lot into its little modeling body. There is a great variety of effects. The distortion choices are killer. What's great about this amp is that you can loop effects and tweak effects to your liking. You can play anything through this lil guy: bass, guitar, acoustic guitar - and all of them sound great! You can practice with it or gig with it. So versatile and affordable. Buy this amp! :)

  • Larry Goodenough
    from Sacramento Ca February 2, 2017Music Background:
    I grew up playing Hank Williams....

    Great Effects!

    This amp was great as far as the effects go, but it didn't have the power in acoustic mode to amplify to my needs. The amp functioned flawlessly all the effects worked and I loved the onboard tuner. I'd really have enjoyed working with the looper but you need the foot pedal. It was great to use the bass mode playing on an acoustic guitar as it really boosted the bass notes! I'm returning it for the VIP-2 and I'm really excited to see what it can do.

  • Customer
    from January 3, 2017

    Peavey Amp for Luthier

    Perfect for my purpose. Used for building and tuning electric acoustic guitars (no performances). Great selection of sound choices. Very good sound quality. Great price! An enormous number of options for the cost.

    I haven't used all the features yet. It is somewhat complex and there are too many settings to remember.

    The only problem is that it resets every time it's turned on, i.e. it doesn't re-start at the last used setting. Not a big problem, especially for the price, but would be a nice feature.

  • Daniel
    from Winston Salem NC March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist/semi pro playing for 40 years

    Great Little Amp

    An amazing array of tones in a small package. Plenty loud enough for jamming at home or even some rehearsals - although not enough for a live show at a medium sized venue. Presets are great and there is so much there in terms of presets and effects that you made not need to tweak it much - but if you do the capability is there. I have only used it with a Snarling Dogs Very Tone - which is my go-to pedal and it took to it just fine. No real need for other pedals since there is so much on board,
    I own a Vox Night Train, a Marshal Stack from the 80's and a 40W Fender Mustang and this amp competes favorably. No it won't play stadiums but you can get killer tones at moderate volumes and to me that is what this amp is about - but don't be fooled it will get loud enough to annoy the neighbors.
    My only complaint is that to really access the looper function you need to get the additional foot switch which costs nearly as much as the amp.
    In my opinion this Amp is best for metal but cleans us fine for lighter fare although probably not your best choice for clean shimmering pristine tones. I have played it using a Gibson LP standard, Fender US Jaguar, Dean Cadillac and a MIM Stratocaster - all performed well with this little workhorse. I highly recommend it for the novice and seasoned player alike.

  • JP
    from Houston TX June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    model amp !

    I have had modeling amps before, most every brand and most of which I liked well but not as much as one.
    This thing sounds great and is the most versatile modeling amp you can get.
    I really like it for the studio. But if you want to use it live you will need the Sanpera pedal!

  • Roy Crelia
    from Ferriday Louisiana September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Potent Peavey

    This little amp is awesome its like having multiple amps in one best practice amp I've owned light weight and packs a punch love the different settings on this amp great sound!!!!

  • Dave Klabo
    from St. Cloud Minn. April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    everything as advertised

    The Peavey Vypyr amp. is everything they said it would be. Great sound,
    and great selections that cover everything I need.
    Accoustic, Electric and Bass, what more can I ask for.
    And once again Sweetwaters attitude, price and professionalism is
    unmatched.

  • Don Julian
    from Anderson IN April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 Amp

    I'm well pleased with the performance of the amp. The sound is what I hoped it would be. I'm using the amp with a vintage Fender double neck steel guitar and the amp produces the quality of sound this guitar is capable of producing.

  • Eric Hiltunen
    from New Hampshire March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Play for fun and relaxation

    What I needed and a lot more

    I play music for fun at home only. I find plugging my electric/acoustic in enjoyable as it lets me hear things I don't with just the guitar. It has way more features than I need or think I'll ever use, but the value for the money was well worth it.

  • charles Curvin
    from phoenix Az. USA December 12, 2014Music Background:
    bass & guitar hobbyist

    Older fart truly loves this amp.

    I love this amp more than you can imagine. Bought a great acoustic amp with SRT preamp. IN THE PAST I OWNED A carvin AG100D amp with effects,it was great. I could plug 4 things and play them all at once.Like a mini PA. so I was in the market for something I could use for bass, guitar and acoustic guitar.I used youtube to hear some options.and this amp seemed to fit the bill, espically because of it' small size. I wanted something that could fit onto my kitchen table when I needed it there. bass sounds are bedroom level and very percussive, slaps sound much better than other brands small bass amps and I have one. acoustic guitar sounds very full and the preamp really sounds fantastic. The clean guitar sounds are really what I wanted. The 3 channels for each electric guitar are very easy to use and give great tonal variations. The modeled amps seem to really have those amp character before you start tweeting their sound, much better in my opinion than the mustang.I sold my Mustang 3 and my Bugera V22 and have no regrets The dirty channels, along with the effects have effected my creative juices. Love this amp, thank you peavey.

  • Kathy Pratt
    from SF bay area, CS August 31, 2014Music Background:
    am. player and recorder

    great amp

    Love this amp, it gives the option to play any one of my guitars, I play slide on the acoustic, strat electric and ibanez bass. I don't have room for 3 amps. My only problem has been with the edit program, I use Linux, so I can't run the Peavey software that goes with the amp

  • Christopher McGowan
    from Crocker, MO June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Production, Recording

    Peavey FTW!!!

    This little amp sports some awesome features. I've owned multiple Peavey amps (Vypyr 1 series, Valveking, 5150, 6505+) and those tones are there! I gave 4.0 stars because the tuner feature is a little fussy sometimes.. Solid little amp for practicing, writing and even recording. Throw a OD and a Noise Suppressor in front and this little VYPYR will spit some serious venom! Do yourself a favour and get one!

  • Wayne Cohen
    from Plainville, MA June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Peavey Amp

    This amp has all the bells & whistles! I'm still getting a feel for it but it sounds fabulous!

  • David Lopez
    from Tacoma, WA May 29, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician/recording engineer

    Great, Perfect, Just what I needed, quality in a smaller box

    My review may of been WOW! but have not used for gig yet. perfect for rehearsal and I`m sure for gigs too!.

  • Rob
    from Warren, MI. USA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great little practice amp

    The main feature that caught my eye is that it handles my Bass, and Acoustic/Electric, as well as my Strat. Next was the ability to play my backing tracks, or metronome, from my iphone through the input jack. Headphones out is nice for late night noodling without disturbing the rest of the house. Modeling Amp feature is OK if your into that. I wish it would hold your settings that you last played. It defaults back to High Gain settings each time you turn it on. Having a Looper is always nice. The onboard tuner isn't as sensitive as I'd like and it's hard to read. Overall it's a well spent $130.

  • Delmar Hooper
    from South Haven, MI October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Bassest and lead guitarest

    Awsome

    Just got my Peavey vypyr vip1 and the sound just blew me away. I needed A small bass amp but this is so much more than that. Thanks Sweetwater for the fast delivery. I will defiantly be making more orders in the future.

  • Ron Jones
    from South Texas October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Vypyr VIP1 Review

    Great small practice amp. Good tones with lots of options to play around with. Limited effects uses and no looper without the optional footpedal hinder this amp some, still a great amp.

  • R.R.
    from Mid-West August 16, 2016Music Background:
    R&B, Classical/ Baroque ,Gospel, Jazz

    VIP

    Louder does not mean better .Used as rehearsal amp. Also audition work amp. Easy to pack and run if the set is going south and you want to exit without much distraction. Lol. Great buy for practice amp. Not for gigging unless intimate and orderly venue: Loft, Penthouse, coffee-tea house, wine taste etc. Still trying to coordinate disc manual instructions to set up user bank memory for custom multi-fx. Sampera pedal helps illuminate multiple stomp boxes and string up time. Over all, Cool beans.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
    Sampera fx pedal cost approx. $10.00 less than the VIP 1 amp. It is what it is. I purchased both.

  • stockwrock
    from nashville February 15, 2016Music Background:
    been playing assorted instruments all my life

    could be better, but pretty good compared to others

    I use this amp primarily to record electric guitar and bass with added effects directly into a computer, in other words, not miking the amp, but connected via USB. i think Peavey took a few shortcuts and left out some options that could have made the Vypyr VIP 1 a home run 5 star amp. here are some things that I don't like about it: (1) you cannot engage more than 1 effect at a time unless you purchase a Peavey foot pedal accessory which costs about as much as the amp; (2) the "studio quality" headphone jack is actually a mini-jack which can still be used, but I would have preferred a full sized RCA jack; (3) the factory demo presets are ridiculously loud, but can be reprogrammed and saved to the user's preferences, which I have done; (4) when recording directly to a computer program, you have to insert a cable, connector, or headphone into the headphone jack in order to stop sound from coming through the amp; (5) Peavey decided to omit the "fuzz" effect from the VIP 1 for no apparent reason, since i doubt that effect alone would motivate anyone to spend more on the VIP 2 or 3 models which do include the fuzz effect. i have worked around all of these assorted criticisms and still enjoy this very powerful amp. if i ever need to use it for a band rehearsal or on stage, this lightweight 20 W amp will be plenty loud enough.

  • Jim Weller
    from United States February 9, 2015

    Good sound for a small amp

    Controls can be confusing at first. The "owner's manual" that comes with it (on CD) is almost worthless, leaving you to figure things out for yourself. I'm still working with it to learn the controls.

  • Samos Alixopulos
    from Edmonds, WA November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Musician.

    Really? This is good tone?

    I went for this based on the reviews, but I was quite under-whelmed... It seems like every few years I make the same mistake of buying an amp with a modeling type of device... To be honest, I initially bought it to use mostly as an acoustic amp, but when I saw it did not have a mic input, I realized it would not work well for that application. That was my foolish oversight, but I figured I'd try it out since it was already in the mail. To me, every [electric guitar] "amp" model I tried on this thing just sounded digital, boring, and lifeless... Maybe it does sound better with the larger speaker/models, but I really didn't like the sound of this 1x8 model at all. To be fair, I am used to 100+ watt tube amps and alnico speakers, but still... Yuck! Also, I did not even bother to try this thing out with a bass or acoustic. I figured if I couldn't use an electric guitar though it, it wasn't worth keeping. This might be okay as a practice amp for a kid, but the sound did not seem even as nice as my little old Roland Micro Cube, and it only has a 5" speaker!!! Also, as others have mentioned, the tuner is terrible, and not really very accurate. I do love my other Peavey stuff, but unfortunately, its time to take the shine off all these 5 star reviews... Sorry Peavey!

  • Customer
    from August 4, 2016

    put a save button !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    you cant save anything you can save. the nob settings it just disappears ever time you turn it off

  • Davis
    from Kansas December 16, 2015Music Background:
    Old beginner

    Rest in Peace

    My wife bought this for me for my birthday. It died 5 minutes after plugging it in. It did continue to flash pretty green and red lights so it put me in the holiday spirit but it was a silent night! Sorely disappointed in Peavy quality control.

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 - 20-watt 1x8" Modeling Guitar / Bass / Acoustic Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway