rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Peavey Vypyr 75 Modeling Combo - 75 Watt - 1x12" Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Zach Neels

    Of all the modeling amps you can find, I believe the Peavey Vypyr is hands-down the best. Having 22 different effects at your fingertips, as well as 12 amps with clean and dirty channels, this is the go to piece for budding guitarists and seasoned vets who want a do-all box. Match this with a foot controller, and you have a gigging amp for every style!

  • from United States March 7, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Nice Amp

    This amp has amazing potential. I've only had it a month, and I'm still finding new sounds and new possibilities. It's really hard to come up with something to say. If you want nice crunch and heavy tones, it's got it. If you want sparkly cleans, it can do that too. If you need effects, it has an entire array of effects, all of which can be edited. It's like having dozens of pedals and rack effects without all the mess laying around.

    This amp is also VERY powerful. You'll have more than enough to gig with if you want to, but it can also play at bedroom levels with relatively good sound. The power sponge doesn't really seem to do much in that regard. I find that particular feature rather useless.

    One nice thing is that the amp's EQ section behaves like it would on the particular amp model you select, and you have both clean and high gain channels for all amp models. With up to five different effects available at a time, I don't think you will find a better modelling amp than this.

  • from Taylors, SC September 28, 2012

    Peavey Vypyr 75 (75 watts)

    Let me preface this review with saying that I've been playing for 44 years. I play classic rock and metal. I have a variety of guitars and I have to say that I'm extremely impressed with this amp. Hard to believe that you can get this kind of quality for the price. I've had it for a short time and it seems to get better every time I turn it on. Log story short- Buy it and enjoy it!! The service from Sweetwater was fantastic.

  • from Bedford,Tx. USA August 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar player/ Solid guitar Builder.US made.

    Well loaded equipment

    When I recieved it I was intimidated, But once I figured it out and added a pedal to it, Now it will blow away most other Amps I own.You can't go wrong with this. Buy it, you won't be sorry.Again Sweetwater knocked it out of the park. Thanks again John.

  • from Gering, Nebraska USA March 29, 2010Music Background:
    Player for 35+ years, pro musician, music educator, college guitar instructor

    Amazing... you'll love it... trust me!

    I had been looking for a new amp that I could use for my electric gigs that I’ve been playing recently… so thus began my quest. I went on an all out search for the “best bang for the buck”. Now understand, I have no allegiances with any one company. I’ve been playing for over 35 years and have used everything from Marshall to Crate. I have just paid off my Martin D41 and don’t really want to dive into another investment, so… you get the idea…

    My first encounter was with the Fender line… I have always loved the Fender twin (clean) sound. I mean, who doesn’t? If you’re any kind of guitar player, you’re familiar with the clean, rich highs and warm mids… and yes that reverb. The twin has provided the standard for years. Again, cost is a factor… and I realize that with Fender, you’re paying for the name first… then the rest. (too much for my taste) For $300 (my budget) all I could locate was an amp with a clean and a dirty channel. Sorry, I’ve got plenty of old amps at home in my arsenal that offer that much.

    The old belief was that you needed to have all the stomp pedals so that you can edit each and every sound. True… and I do have a load of them. I use most of them, with my Digitech looper in a custom built floor box. The problem of carrying everything around has become a hassle to say the least… And quite heavy as well.

    Well, my journey led me through many amplifiers…and many dealers… (all of which think their product is the latest and greatest). Always be aware of these guys!!

    FINALLY… I ran into a Peavey Vypyr… and the guy selling it… knew nothing. This was amazingly awesome… He told me to continue my search “online” and to take a check out why everyone is saying so much about this amp. He did say that there have been many guys very pleased with what it had to offer. Wow…!!! I loved the soft sales pitch… and that led me to my last but always reliable source… the internet. I love YouTube… and continued my search of the Vypyr there first… hearing is believing... then I went to the different reviews that are out there. I never go to the product website first… (Peavey… in the case) Again, I’m trying to get an unbiased opinion.

    I spent three days with this plan of attack… and soon learned more and more about the Vypyr series and decided that I need to play through one myself. So, that lead me back to the soft pitch salesman and it was there that I played through the amp and discovered for myself first hand…what it had to offer… and I soon was sold. Within the amp there are literally endless sound configurations all of which are editable. On the front of the amp you can store 12 presets and they’ll be saved even after you power it down. And you can also create 5 effects at once. Trust me… this is an amazing combination of the latest technologies and firepower for any style of music. I also got the salesman to drop the price… now the question is…which one… should I get the 30 watt or the 75 watt? …Both of which are within my budget. Well, Peavey was having a promotional on the 75… if you buy it… they will throw in a Sempera 1 foot pedal. Well, even though a 75 is plenty of amp for me… I jumped at the 75… because I found through research that I’ll need the foot pedal… which is $100 by itself… so it made no sense to buy the 30 and buy a foot pedal for $100 more… when I could get the pedal and the 75 for less money.

    Sorry… about all the verbage… bla, bla, bla… Anyway, I’ve been playing with it nonstop. I love the versatility and it… Peavy Vypyr… is the formost modeling amp on the planet. Easy to use… sounds are amazing … competes with any and all instruments and settings. Trust me on this one…. I have stomp pedals that cost more then this amp… and do about 399 less functions.

    You will be amazed.
    Pbrening
    Gering, NE

    BTW... all my firend... love this amp. Now if I can just get them to leave so I can play... sheesh... :)

  • from Cadott, WI. October 5, 2009Music Background:
    Musicain

    Kicks anything out there

    They do not tell you you can even update the software thru the midi interface even! This amp does it all in one package! I bought the Sanpera II pedal, so it's all I need for small gigs, but I can patch it into anything also!

  • from September 6, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Truly Amazing

    Brought it home and started messing around with the different tones. That was a week ago, still haven't touched them all. I have a Line 6 75 watt a few years back and this is the Lord over Line 6 IMHO.

  • from North Carolina April 30, 2013

    Vypyr75

    Really haven;t had. Time to put it thorough it,s paces as of yet. From what I have done with it it is a great piece of equipment. Lot of bang for the buck

  • from warren mi usa April 28, 2010Music Background:
    metal head

    kick aaaaas!!!

    I just purchased this amp an im extatic it has so much to offer. I am a metal player and I love the distortion and the great tones cant wait for the pedal to come in the mail. played it in the store kick ass...

  • from paducah, ky January 11, 2010Music Background:
    multiple instrumentalist, filmmaker

    Good Amp

    I've played guitar for many years. I'm a big fan of Peavey gear but hadn't played through anything new by them in a while. Until now the newest Peavey items I had played were a Predator Plus and a Transtube Bandit. The Vypyr 75, while not made in Mississippi, is a good value. Good FX, good and loud and not as heavy as older model Peavey amps. A good amp if you don't want to lug around a bunch of valuable pedals but need a good sound.

  • from Raleigh NC June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good amp at a decent price.

    I've had this amp for several years. It's extremely versatile. All the amps models sound pretty good. And all the effects are just great. You really do need the sanpera to get the best of it all though.

  • from wv June 12, 2010Music Background:
    pro audio/musician

    not great, but well worth the price

    Let's be honest, what can you expect for $300?
    The features set is enormous and practical, but a few solid negatives should be pointed out:
    1: "studio quality headphone & direct out" is misleading. It's just a 1/8th inch headphone out. There is no useable direct-out (XLR or 1/4") and utilizing the phone-out bypasses the amp (good for practice, useless on stage)
    2: unlike every other Peavey product I've owned over the last 20 yrs, it just feels cheap, like plastic and particle board. I'm gonna be real careful w/ this one
    3. no FX loop
    4. it sports the imfamous Blue Marvel speaker, Peavey should just stop making these nasal cones. I didn't think this would be much of an issue for me when buying because I thought I this amp had a "direct-out", so it wouldn't matter...
    5. with the tuner function engaged, signal still goes through to the amp... odd...

    With all that being said, it's got some serious upside to it.
    It's plenty loud, and extremely light.
    Quite a few of the amp models are VERY useable, and unlike the Spider, they're not ALL geared toward Death Metal. It took me quite a while to find a tone I'd actually use, but once you find one and start to dial it in, you'll find more, and more...
    The power sponge acts similarly to the "presence" knob on a tube amp and helps tune to the room quite well... love it!
    The FX are practical and decent sounding, but often aren't subtle (you can't really dial in "just a touch" of anything, but they sound pretty clean).
    The delay is SO simple and quite versatile, verb's not bad either.
    Honestly, when it first arrived, I nearly sent it back. But after an hour or so of tweaking, I quickly changed my mind. For $300, this thing is plain sick. I can't wait for my Sanpera to arrive, then we'll see what this puppy can really do...

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr 75 Modeling Combo - 75 Watt - 1x12"?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway