0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Peavey Vypyr 30 Modeling Combo - 30 Watt - 1x12" Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Ohio October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Vypyr 30

    Very nice amp. lots of bells and whistles. Took me a little while to figure out how to use this amp but indeed I really like it great practice amp and good for bedroom volume. Headphone feature a must to keep the wife from complaining. Overall Iam very satisfied

  • from June 8, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great amp!

    this is a great amp. i upgraded from the 15 watt version, and bought the sanpera 1 pedal. it sounds so good and is great as a medium sized practice amp. it definitely can get loud though; don't underestimate those 30 watts. also, sweetwater was great on shipping. it's just a pleasant overall experience.

  • from East Hanover,NJ,Close to Downtown NYC November 20, 2009Music Background:
    35 years Guitar playing,Semi-Pro

    AWESOME HUGE TONE in a 1X12 Combo Amp!

    I was Always the "TUBE SNOB",..if it wasn't a TUBE AMP,Digital DSP,it was a piece of *%$#.
    IF you feel the same way I did about Solid State Amps,THIS AMP WILL CHANGE YOUR WHOLE OUTLOOK AMP-WISE!! VERY Versatile,Multi-FX built in,Multi Amp models available,and EVERYTHING IS FULLY "TWEAKABLE" to Custom Tailor your OWN TONE! I Especially like the "HI-GAIN" Amp tone,The VYPYR 30 will give you the TONE,the FEEL,and,the Overall SATISFACTION that you get when you can dial in everything from Pristine Clean anp tone,to BANG YOUR HEAD,MELT YOUR FACE Hi-Gain METAL GUITAR TONE.
    THIS IS MY "HOLY GRAIL" now,I wish these amps came out YEARS Ago,..I could have saved so much Time,Money,and AGGRAVATION Trying to get the SOUND I was Searching for with Hi-Dollar,Big Name TUBE Amps,and even some of the DSP Equipped Solid State Amps,TRUST ME,TRY THESE AMPS OUT,..Although it's only 30 watts,it is LOUD Enough for small gigs,Great for Practice,or Mic it for Larger gigs. CHECK OUT www.peavey.com,go to the VYPYR AMPS,and click on the Demo Videos done by a great guitarist,MATTHIAS ARP,...The tone you hear is WHAT YOU'LL GET if you buy a VYPYR.
    I'm waiting for the 120 watt VYPYR "HYBRID" Amp Heads to come available,I have a Line 6 Spider Valve,but,I am Betting that the 120H VYPYR is going to REPLACE My SPIDER VALVE,All Around more versatile,More Options ,and Flexability,all ONBOARD Amp models,"Stompbox pedals" and "RACK EFFECTS" in the VYPYR are FULLY USER EDITABLE,allowing you to come up with some AWESOME Guitar Tone you would Normally need a good AMP,Effects Rack,and Pedalboard to achieve,You WON'T Go WRONG With a VYPYR,This is the product of years of R&D from many amp designers and Really will INSPIRE YOUR Guitar Playing,songwriting,etc,I Can't say enough about these amps,You'll have to Play through one to see what I mean and KNOW For YOURSELF!!

  • from Yellow Springs, OH January 19, 2017

    Peavey Vypyr 30

    I've had this amp for years, and I love practicing with it. So much customization all in one little box. But don't let the size fool you, the thing can get LOUD.
    It's got an onboard tuner, which I have always found to be pretty unreliable, so I tend to just stick with my Snark tuner.
    This amp paired with the sanpera II footswitch can give you an astounding array of different tones available right at your toetips. With the Sanpera I or II, you also gain access to the amps onboard looper, which you can use to make a backing track and practice soloing, which is incredibly helpful and encourages you to be as creative as possible. I've even inadvertently written a few songs this way.
    This amplifier may not be very good for any large scale gigs, but it's excellent for toying around with different effects in your bedroom. And it even has a headphone jack so that you don't piss off your neighbors when you play at night!

  • from Kenosha, WI October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Old Axe Grinder

    Great Little Amp

    What an excellent amp for gigs and practices! Lots of bells and whistles with any adjustments you like.......plus their savable! It's worth every penny and then some....plus it was delivered to my door in 24 hours!
    It took Guitar Center almost two weeks to deliver my Les Paul, which they said was in stock! I know where I'm ordering my next guitar from.....Sweetwater even called me to let me know the amp was shipped and would be delivered the next day!

  • from November 9, 2011

    Peavey Vypyr 30

    Once you figure out how to tweak the presets for each amp model, the amp is great! It is very loud, which is good when you want it to be loud, but it is sometimes difficult to play it quietly when practicing. Adjusting the volume knobs on the guitar helps with this. Even if you don't buy a Vypyr, download the manual & read Peavey's description of the input jack - best line ever in an official owners manual!

  • from ATL January 29, 2009Music Background:
    Playing anything that sounds good

    Killer Amp...Killer Price

    Was all set to but the Line 6 30, but compared this one to it side by side. Pros: Tons of effects,very loud, the amp sims are great, awsome tonal pallet. Cons: A little noisy on start up, the presets aren't that great, hard to attain a low level "bedroom jam" volume. Overall this is a great amp for any style of music.

  • from Clark Fork, ID October 19, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Amp!

    First off for the price this amp is unbeatable. It has 12 amp models with clean and distorted versions of each, effects, and stompbox effects. It can be a confunsing amp at first. The reason why is there are lots of lights everywhere and some knobs can actually controll 2 or more things. For example if you push in on the effect knob it changes other knobs into their secondary function ex. reverb. This is an amp that your going to want to actually read the manual for. Once you get the hang of it it is pretty easy to get around and control the amp. The only major problem I had was the amp is HUGE. For a 30 watt it is a big and loud amp. It has a 12" speaker in it and is capable of doing small gigs. I would highly recommend this amp for the price and wide range of sounds you can get out of it.

Questions about the Peavey Vypyr 30 Modeling Combo - 30 Watt - 1x12"?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway