0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Moog Minimoog Voyager XL Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Moog Minimoog Voyager XL?

Questions about the Moog Minimoog Voyager XL?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    I bought the Voyager XL because of its functionality as a Moog with a great CV panel. But there is so much more to say about this synth. First off, it's a Voyager with all the CV expansions I could want, and a 61-key keybed with a Ribbon Controller. So on its own merits, it's a beast that is fully capable of delivering all of the classic tones I expect from a three-oscillator Moog. Creating "Pot Maps" turned it into a custom MIDI controller, making it a workhorse in the modern studio. Using it as a MIDI-to-CV converter allows me to take control of my vintage synthesizers as well. It has become a centerpiece in my workflow. Truly an amazing instrument!

  • from Clearwater, Florida July 12, 2016Music Background:
    30 years playing Synths

    So Xtra Large I need to loosen my belt

    First things first, the build quality is top notch, the wood cabinet is beautiful and better made and better looking than any piece of furniture in my house! The keyboard action is among the best I've ever played. Big sturdy knobs, Great Pitch and Mod Wheels with the pitch having a sturdy spring behind it, Yes! I do wish the LCD display was a little brighter on mine though . The factory Patches are horrible at best but that just means its time to dig in and that is where the fun begins, and fun this synth is!!! To get really different modulations and tones other than the standard "Vintage" tones we know it can already do, you have to milk it but it's there. The sound is thick but not as thick as I imagined it would be. I have an old Korg Mono/Poly that sounds fatter to me. But the Filters are awsome sounding and lush, don't get me wrong, this thing sounds great.The Patch Bay will keep you busy and the hours will fly by trust me. It is a superb Synthesizer and so hands on and Fun Fun Fun to play. Is it worth the hefty price tag? ummmmmmm, would I ever give it up or sell it? not on your Life.

  • from NC May 4, 2016Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Well at least it's actually made in America

    Well as far as Moog goes, if you want American made and actually based (somewhat) on Bob's designs, you can either get one of these, or a "reissue" Modular system. Everything else from Moog is Chinese made and only assembled in America now, and it sounds like it.

    For the price tag, it's really just not worth it. It's a standard Voyager with the XL portion being a CP-251 and VX-351 included and hard-wired into the board itself. The XL portion, to me, is what really makes it worth keeping. There are quite a bit of sonic possibilities with the instrument, but alas, there are plenty of polyphonic ANALOG synthesizers, yes they may have some digital aspects, for even less that do just as much.

    If you're really into CV and modular expansion for synths, modules and building your own would be a better bet, and a lot cheaper. Plus, they offer in a slew of custom wood choices, wheel colors, etc; that they do not bother to mention or advertise to the customer. For the price, a purchasing customer should know they can at least choose the color of their wheels...

    For the one note it can play, it is quite full and warm sounding. However, even with all the "bells and whistles", it's not worth the price of a decent used car. If you're ready to drop into synthesizers this heavy, check out all your options first.

  • from Dallas January 26, 2016

    The best of the best

    This is the best version of the best synth ever made. Better than a model D, better than a regular voyager. This is not just a normal voyager with all of the accessories bolted on. This is something special. I own a Sub37, mf104m, and two minitaurs. This one is my favorite by far. The only reason NOT to buy one, is if you can't afford it. If you can't afford it, why are you reading reviews of it?

  • from Chicago April 4, 2015Music Background:
    Music & Video Producer / Sound Designer

    The Fantastic Voyage(r)!

    So..let me start by sending a healthy "**** Yeah!" to Sweetwater and my salesman (Dave!!!) who got me the best deal in the land for a brand new one. Now, let's talk about the sound....AMAZING. By itself, this thing is a mono-monster, now add any external (moogerfoogers!!!!!!) effects and you have a lust that your significant other would be quite jealous of. I am challenged daily by it to create sounds anew, as well as enhancing old-standbys. The Voyager XL is a thing of beauty, visually and is more of the same, aurally. If you have the coin for it, GO FOR IT - you won't be disappointed.

  • from March 29, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Engineer/Producer/Keyboardist

    It's a real Moog! No doubt!

    What I can say... The BEST synthesizer! For a people, who know a price of a real analog sound!! For me, as a prog rock keyboardist - must-have stuff! Thanks to Moog Music Inc.!

  • from Iowa January 14, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/enthusiast/collector/wannabe

    It's a MOOG!!

    I don't usually write reviews, in fact after dealing exclusively with Sweetwater for about 3 years this is my first. I finally own a Minimoog Voyager XL and it is everything I hoped it would and more, This thing is fanFREAKINGtastic!! A true knob tweakers delight. Just remember to set your watch alarm so you actually come up for air once in awhile cause you WILL get lost in her charms and lose all track of time.

    Special thanks to my sales engineer Charlie Davis for honoring the sale price and arranging FAST shipping, You and Sweetwater are my go to source for ANYTHING remotely musical and I thank you for the always GREAT service!

  • from Los Angeles July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    LOVE MY VOYAGER XL!

    Possibly the best analog synth of all time. I actually have the limited edition white on white but regardless of color this thing is unbelievable! 1024 presets and room to make your own patches as well. Synced it to Ableton and been recording since. I think almost every producer knows the Voyager or has heard of it. Moog's flagship synth! In my opinion, if your going to get a analog synth why wouldn't you get one from the man who invented the synthesizer? Music wouldn't be what it is today without Bob Moog, may he rest in peace. Lastly a big thanks to my sales engineer AJ Petersen for getting me the last white on white Voyager XL!

  • from Blair, NE October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Brings back memories

    This is it, I grew up in the era of the modular synth's and the original MiniMoog, it is still the great synth that you would expect from Moog Music Inc., but better, with great new features, If you want that great fat sound with modular routing, don't wait another day before they are gone.

  • from Urbana, Il May 27, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Director, Musician

    Every day is like Christmas morning!!

    The Minimoog Voyager XL is a very high quality piece with countless extras - right down to the construction, it feels as solid as it sounds. As for the sound, what can I say? It's exactly as you expect. Pure Moog.

    I've been using it in many ways and it's quickly become my master controller of choice. The feel of the Fatar keybed begs you to! All pots and switches in the traditional section transmit midi and are easily mapped to control similar/same sections of my external gear. I can also port any output of the slaved device(s) through the external in of the Minimoog - opens the door to even more expressive control. Don't even get me started on the possibilities of using it with the Moog Filtatron!

    I ordered this with an extra set of colored cables and have managed to find several ways use all of them. I recommend using cold/hot color combinations on source/destination signal paths respectively to make it easier to know what can go where.

    As it currently stands, this is the best sounding, most flexible monophonic analogue instrument on the planet. I challenge Moog to now make a polyphonic. My wishlist features for this instrument: Add preset storage of all control pot settings add have the ribbon transmit midi and pressure sensitivity.

    Sweetwater staff was very helpful placing my order. Thanks Brian Loney and Hunter Sprenger for the many years of awesomeness. And bravo to Moog for pulling out all the stops on this one!

  • from Urbana Il. May 16, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Director, Instructor, Musician

    Modular is back!

    You know something is up when Memorymoogs start showing up on eBay at a rate of about one a day.

    There is something very special about the ability to reach out and literally touch an analog signal in so many interesting and creative ways and do so within one self contained instrument on the fly. In a world of digital plastic, this instrument is simply dripping with quality and is worth every penny.

    Thank you Moog Music!

Questions about the Moog Minimoog Voyager XL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway