0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Primacoustic VoxGuard Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Alex V Dickson
    from Lawton, OK USA March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist as of right now.

    Definitely does the job

    This has came in handy so far as to block out everything around the mic. I have my setup in my bedroom so there's not a lot of room for mic placement so my mic stands around my computer which is fairly noisy. I did a test when I had the microphone before this guard and you could hear just about everything around the mic. Now it's just isolated to the source in front of it. I like it.

  • Susie Berneis
    from Dexter, MI September 4, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover artist

    Great problem-solver

    I'm just starting out as a VO artist and can't afford a real studio yet but the Primacoustic VoxGuard has made a huge difference for me. It provides the effect of a recording booth, keeping out the extraneous sounds and making my voice tracks sound full and clean. High recommended!

  • Customer
    from United States October 30, 2013

    Hey... it works!

    This thing is pretty awesome. I have a semi treated room but am not wanting to add more treatment to it just yet. This thing really does help on vocals a great deal. Much cleaner takes. It is a little bit awkward to set up though. That is the only reason I did not give it a 5.

  • Skip Zehnder
    from Walnut Creek, Ca April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Voice Over Actor

    Voxguard turn me spare bedroom into a recording studio.

    Easy to set up. Cuts down on ambient room noise allowing me to record auditions for voice over jobs. It is lightweight and fits either on a desk mic stand or a studio boom mic stand.

  • Mario
    from Wellington , Florida August 21, 2012Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter / Recording Engineer

    Voxguard Makes Recording Vocals A Breeze

    I've been having trouble recording my vocals , all there was just walls and no type of padding in my room and I would always get all these echos and distortion in my recordings until I purchased the primacoustic voxguard and now every time record my vocals they would always come out real clean and clear !!!! Thanks

  • William Menton
    from Cincinnati, OH January 3, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Great for Bass Clarinet

    We were having trouble with feedback both onstage and at rehearsals with the mics on our bass clarinet. This baffle was a simple solution that not only reduced monitor feedback, but also clarified the horn's signal by reducing the amount of drum, bass and guitar being picked up.

    I'd give it 5 stars, but the extension bar for the microphone is a little too lightweight and will bend easily.

  • William Menton
    from Cincinnati, OH January 3, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Great for Bass Clarinet

    We were having trouble with feedback both onstage and at rehearsals with the mics on our bass clarinet. This baffle was a simple solution that not only reduced monitor feedback, but also clarified the horn's signal by reducing the amount of drum, bass and guitar being picked up.

  • Jacques Delaguerre
    from Colorado Front Range October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    VoxGuard helped quite a bit onstage

    I play concertina (an acoustic squeezebox, a sort of lap accordion) using a mike. Concertina is an ambient sound instrument: you have to catch the sound some distance away from the instrument to get its characteristic syrupy, nostalgic flavor. When accompanying loud bands onstage, it has been hard for the sound person to boost me up high enough to be heard due to feedback issues. The VoxGuard *looks* funny on stage, but it sure helps with feedback and lets them crank me up so I can hear and be heard! And the audience is motivated to move around a bit to try to see the instrument better :) Thanks!

  • JERU M.
    from Beverly Hills, Ca. February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Label Owner

    Primacoustic VoxGuard

    THE Primacoustic VoxGuard IS A GOOD PIECE OF GEAR. NOT AS GOOD NEARLY AS THE SE ACOUSTIC MIC REFLECTOR. BUT THE Primacoustic VoxGuard ONLY WEIGHS A COUPLE OF POUNDS AND ANY MIC STAND WILL WORK. WE BOUGHT THE SE EQUIVALENT WHICH IS A REAL SOUND DEADEN-ER FOR LACK OF BETTER TERMS. BUT THE Primacoustic VoxGuard FOR CERTAIN APPLICATIONS IS MORE FEASIBLE. WE HAD TO BUY A HEAVY DUTY MIC STAND WITH ROLLERS EXPENSIVE FOR THE SE REFLECTOR. THE Primacoustic VoxGuard IS A GOOD ACOUSTIC DEVICE. WE LEARNED TO TURN OUR MIC SIDE WAYS AT A 45 DEGREE ANGLE AND THAT CANCELED MOST VOCAL REFLECTIONS IN THE STUDIO. TWO THUMBS UP.

  • Aaron Olsen
    from Rexburg, ID September 22, 2011Music Background:
    Recording

    Good filter

    Took out some ambient noise, though not enough to create 'an entire studio.' Great for isolating a mic.

  • Studio 139
    from Kalamazoo May 21, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    It Works...

    This product is small, light weight and does not make
    the mic stand unbalanced. If you are looking for it to
    make your untreated room sound like a pro studio, it
    will not. However, it does cut down on room reflection
    and does make the recorded source seem more detailed.
    My room is treated but still has a bit of reflection with a
    loud source, which you can hear if you listen critically.
    This unit does minimize that effect, but not everyone would
    hear it. The unit is a little awkward for some mic mounts,
    but since the unit is not expensive it is worth the minor
    adjustment.

  • Jimmy J.
    from Dallas, TX January 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Comb Filter

    I used this unit to try and cut down on my room reflections, just as everyone else I'm sure. The main problem is that I experienced a comb filtering effect with it at times, depending on the distance of the singer to the mic. I guess since it's thin foam on a pretty much solid back, it reflects the lows and mids back into the mic (foam doesn't tend to absorb low mids and lows very well). I tried to make this thing work, but ended up having to scrap all the vocal tracks I recorded with it. I'm gonna bite the bullet and get the sE, which should work as intended. (I hope).

Questions about the Primacoustic VoxGuard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close