0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Pedaltrain Volto Lithium-ion Rechargeable Power Supply Reviews

3.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
  • Jeffrey Crook
    from Hammond, IN March 30, 2015Music Background:
    30+ guitars and bass: rock, blues

    Great power supply

    Beautiful! I can go for days in the studio on a single charge. Powers 4 pedals and a tuner. Bought it with a pedaltrain "mini". So nice not to have to have another power cord to contend with.

  • Marco
    from San Francisco, CA, USA December 10, 2014

    Very convenient

    Works exactly as advertised. Very convenient and compact, it does away with the need to plug in to a wall socket, thus also eliminating interference from "dirty" AC power. Delivers up to 2000mA, more than enough "juice" for several analog pedals, or for a few more power-hungry analog ones.
    I highly recommend it.

  • Hawk Johnson
    from Virginia December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Work fine for me.

    My little pedal board draws 52ma. The Volto works very well for my purposes. I've used it for several four set gigs and have never had any problems.

  • Jon
    from Miami, FL August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Professional bassist for Live Performance and Studio

    A "must-have" for international travelers!

    I bought this device for several out of the country gigs in Spain and Greece and needed a reliable way to power my stripped-down pedalboard. This device was certainly up to the task. I was able to power a Boss tuner, Tech 21 VT Bass Deluxe, MXR M87 bass compressor, EHX bass microsynth, and Rolls PM351 headphone amp for my in-ear mix for a 3-4 hour performance with no problems at all.

    With only 3 blue LED indicators for charge level sometimes you panic a little when it goes from 3 to 2, but even after long shows with several sets, 3-4 hours, it never went below 2 LED indicators. Plus there is a convenient power button on top so as long as you remember to turn it off on set breaks, it can last a long time.

    Comes with all the handy international travel adapters so its easy to charge up in your hotel room before your show or even through USB if needed. Great product all around.

  • james
    from SoCal August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Giggin guitar player in two bands

    Great Little Gadget!

    This one gets 5 stars as I am just super impressed and pleasantly surprised to have stumbled across such a cool and handy little gadget. As they say, your mileage will vary, depending on how many pedals you power with it. I'm using it to power a Morley Bad Horsie II wah and a tc electronic polytune and it all mounts very nicely on my pedaltrain jr. board. I've used it a handful of times for a few rehearsals and a couple of gigs and last I checked, all bars were still lit. I can't imagine ever running out of juice with this thing. If you run a ton of pedals, this may not be the power supply for you. I only run a couple of pedals and don't think I'd ever run more than 3 or 4 so I think this will be sufficient for my needs. So far, I'm really happy with it.

  • Corey C
    from Tucson, AZ USA May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Producer, Rock Bassist

    Thee solution

    From multi-hour rehearsals and 'sound check to last call' gigs spanning 6+ continuous hours...and it still has charge left for my 4 pedals! They covered the bases with cables/adapters/velcro included. It's compact design tucks away nicely under your pedaltrain so one less thing to carry and plug-in onstage. No more constantly plugging/unplugging pedal cords to preserve 9V batteries, just turn the power switch on/off. You'll want to be disciplined about pre-gig/rehearsal charging, but even then...you can charge it in your car on the way there.. Extremely happy that I purchased this product.

  • Preston Stedman
    from Sonoma County , CA May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby , parlor/barn , player who loves to play

    VOLTO , no , not a monster with super power ..

    ... But it has plenty of power for pedals ! What a perfect addition to the Pedal Train board I have. These guys seem to have their systems perfected. Light weight , strong , and they give you PLENTY of HD velco tape.

  • Peter
    from Philadelphia, PA March 24, 2014Music Background:
    gigging amateur musician

    Pedaltrain Volto.......Yes!

    Just got it. Charged it overnight, and powered my small pedal board of four pedals (three are battery suckers) for six hours of continuous use, all three charge lights were still lit at the end of the session. My 9 volt battery bill just went to zero, love it!

  • Marc Noriega
    from Covington Texas March 17, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Just what I have been waiting for

    This Item works great!
    Being a lane performer. I've been carrying around dozens of 9 volt batteries for years trying to stay mobile. Pedaltrain Volto powers my pedals and a 5watt amp easy. I have played all weekend and it still has power to burn. Thanks Sweetwater for always having what we need to get the gig done!!!

  • Customer
    from New York, NY February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Exactly what I needed

    This has saved me space and time having to plug in. This thing holds charge for a while. I haven't had any issues thus far.

  • John Storie
    from Hollywood, CA January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Composer, Educator

    An E-Volto-lution for your board!

    Really a game changer for those gigging guitarists who need to consolidate their boards' brick-sized power unit and for those who tour internationally (typically having to deal with 220V-110V issues).

    I'm powering 6 units which all draw a large amount of current and the Volto can handle them all for hours. My sound is cleaner and I've tested it powering my active DI and there was no noise at all through the house PA mains. Did I mention you don't have to plug it in on stage?

    While on the road, I charged it up in the tour van with my iPhone charger. Within an hour, it was at full charge and ready for the show that night.

    Pedal train really thought through the concept behind this power unit. I'm confident this new addition wills be a mainstay for all my grab-and-go boards for many years to come!

  • Steven Snyder
    from Illinois November 13, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar

    Pedal train volto

    Very handy..saves weight, works great.

  • Brian
    from Provo, Utah November 13, 2013Music Background:
    live in rock-and-roll fantasy while working my day job

    volto pedalerai

    awesome pedal, and awesome service from Sweetwater. They're exceptionally prompt and personal...there was even CANDY in the package!!! and, it just so happened that the pedaltrain was cheapest at sweet water. they even called me to check before they sent the goods....ridiculously cool, classy, razzle-mc-tazzle service.

    the pedaltrain volto is the scheise

  • Jonathan B. Orrison
    from Urbana IL. November 12, 2013Music Background:
    Drums/Keyboards/Bass/Vocals/Studio Owner

    Volto!

    VOLTO is the Stuff! Tiny, fights neatly under and between the Pedaltrain structure. Small enough to fit under most pedalboards. Gives me close to 36 hours of power, maybe a little more, as I am only running 2-3 devices. Can't tell ya about it's longevity yet, but so far so good. This is a cool way to eliminate the need for another stupid cable to be run across the stage. I mounted my Line-6 Wireless unit on my pedalboard, and connect it to the Volto as well. NO CABLES on the floor between me and my amp! Volto will run quite a few pedals, even some of the hungry ones! They are so cool, if you need more pedal power, it would be worth it to run 2 Voltos, just to get the power you need without the power cable. Oh yeah, they charge anywhere from standard AC, to any usb power source, to your cigarette lighter in the car. Get one, or maybe 2 if you're a heavy pedal jockey.

  • Mark Ballard
    from United States October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Music Studio Manager / Weekend Warrior

    Solves more problems than I had anticipated

    Immediately after charging, then hooking this up, I was picking my jaw up off of the floor. I live in an older home and all of the little power noises like hums, whistles, that 'singing thing' disappeared and I have my board plugged into a pricey power conditioner most of the time. Everything (TC tuner, Pigtronix chorus, TC reverb, TC delay, Moorer boost) just sounded more transparent and whisper quite. ALL of my pedals sound better. I have not tried an overdrive or distortion pedal through it yet so I'll get back to you about that. I bought it to save time setting up because I mostly do open mics, etc, these days. With this, I no longer have to search for power at the front of the stage which is so handy. I will update this review after a few months to give feedback as to it's reliability and battery claims but I am betting those will exceed my expectations as too...I hope so!!!

  • Clinton
    from Salisbury Md July 9, 2015

    Volto

    So far it works great cuts down on noise

  • Bo
    from California central coast May 19, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist whose been gigging over 40 years

    Volto

    The Volto is a great device. With almost a dozen pedals on my board it handles them all with ease, making set up and tear down a breeze as well as taking away the clutter of adapters and power cords. It also eliminates pedal board power outages due to poorly wired clubs--the main reason I bought it.

  • Alex
    from Covington, LA August 7, 2014Music Background:
    The best guitarist in my entire house...

    So far, so good...

    I was nervous because apparently some folks have had a rough go with the Volto, for me (so far) it's done exactly what I wanted it to do. I have a PT Mini with 5 stomp boxes + wah. I only have a couple of effects I leave "always on" and I play for about an hour every night. I have to recharge about once a week. It's simple, straightforward, and efficient with my Mini. I wish it had at least one isolated jack, but if you want to eliminate a power cord to your board, this thing gets the job done. I may switch to an AC power supply some day (for isolated jacks, 18V variability), but I would probably keep this thing as a backup for when the need arises. It works for me as of this moment...

  • Matt Johann
    from Houston, TX July 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Band Leader, Producer, Music Instructor

    Fantastic Little Battery

    I run about four pedals on my travel pedalboard (A PT-Nano most recently equipped with a TC Electronic Noir mini tuner, BB Preamp, Boss DD-3, and Strymon Bluesky - this setup changes often), and then occasionally for some synth lines I'll run a Line 6 FM4 to the side of that small pedalboard.

    It powered all 5 of those pedals through a 5 song set - with roughly an hour of rehearsal time, and then the set was about 30 minutes. I turn the board off when it is not in use and the power didn't even dip down to the second bar. I have no reason to believe this power supply couldn't do more if I needed it to.

    Wonderful power supply - You can charge it in your car (with provided USB charge cable), and don't need to plug it in to an outlet for it to function. It velcroes to the bottom of my PT-Nano with ease, supplies even the most power hungry pedals with what they need to get you through a rehearsal and a set, and best of all - it's only $100. You can buy two. You won't regret it. Best gear purchase I've made all year.

  • Daniel Witwer
    from Boca Raton, FL June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Ametuar Guitarist

    Very nice Secondary Option

    Nice as a power supply, i use it as a back up on a pedal train jr. The usb cord is very short less than 6". Otherwise great piece of gear for a small pedal board. only 9v option. fits perfectly under pedal train boards. great having a usb for charging. battery life long enough for gigs but easy to forget to turn off. would suggest if you own a pedal train

  • Bill McKee
    from MD United States January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Professional gigging musician

    Great power supply!

    Well this little battery pack sure makes setting up easy! With my wireless, there is only one cable that runs to the amp. That's it! I power two regular size pedals and a Line 6 G30 wireless with it and it works great. My only complaint is that it says that you can charge while you play, don't know if mine is deflective, but it will shut off when the charge gets low and will not charge while playing. And it gives you no warning, bam, your shut down! ANd the charging cord is VERY short. However, with a full charge, which takes a full 6 hours, it will play an entire gig. Not sure about the 36 hours that they claim. I think it depends on how many pedals you have on and how much power (amperage) that they pull. Other than that, it's a great gadget! I am going to call Sweetwater though and ask them about the charging thing.

  • Andy Konieczka
    from Johns Creek, GA USA December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Jammer

    Alternate Use

    I originally bought the Volto for my pedal board, but I have several pedals that require 2-9 volt batteries (MXR Flanger and MXR Chorus) which defeats the purpose of having the Volto. I either would have to deal with 9-Volt batteries or have AC power. Good concept, but just didn't work for me.

    So, I re-purposed my Volto. It now powers my wireless transmitter for my guitar. I cut one of the male-male plugs and used an old 9-Volt battery male/female clip to connect the Volto to my transmitter. Beautiful. Works like a charm and clips on my strap next to my wireless. The Volto is light weight so no issues.

    So, no more 9-volt batteries or fumbling with changing one out in the middle of a jam session. I can now be wireless all the time, even when practicing at home and not have to worry about chewing through batteries.

  • John Boutell
    from June 5, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro, 40 years

    Volto Power Supply

    I've got 6 pedals connected and it holds it's charge for a very long time, came with all the cables I needed, very light weight, if you want to get free from 9 volt batteris or 120 volt power and the extension cord that is always needed I highly recommend this.

  • Tim nelson
    from WI USA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Band

    Beats a battery

    Running 5 pedals with it and seems to do pretty good lasts the 4 hour gig with out worrying about shutting down and charges up fairly quickly weighs next to nothing

  • Matt
    from Northern California February 6, 2014Music Background:
    20+ Years Playing Electric Guitar

    Works Fine - Do Your Homework First!

    This is a handy little product that makes life a little easier for us guitar players.

    BUT... you need to know how much current your pedals are pulling in order to calculate how many hours of use you will get out of it.

    Digital pedals pull a lot of current and many pedals are pulling current even when they are not on.

    To figure out your own pedalboard current draw you have to go digging for this info in the specs docs for each or your pedals.

    If you read the Volto FAQ on the Pedaltrain site it says that Volto was not specifically designed to power high draw (aka digital) pedals.

    Unfortunately it says nothing about this in their product overview / sales pitch so I think it's fair to dock this product one star for Pedaltrain not being forthcoming about the digital pedals issue. It would be nice if they provided more guidance for us to figure this stuff out pre-sale.

    Bottom line is you get 2000mA to burn through and how fast that goes by is dictated by the pedals on your board (and as my kid's preschool teacher used to tell 'em... "you get what you get, and you don't get upset")

    I'm using mine around the house with a couple of digital pedals and one analog and i charge it up a couple times a week (getting about 10 hours from a charge). Works for me.

  • wb
    from United States February 1, 2014Music Background:
    play live!

    not bad!

    if you gig on a friday night and saturday nights and your doing 3 or 4 sets each night,then get a real power supply with a third ground prong. also take in consideration your pedals that draw current and add it up specially if you have 2 or 3 digital pedals,they draw allot of current!

    I was fortunate on a night when we were on the last set and last song when the volto suddenly turned off! if you always have to bring the charger with you,then your better of getting a real pedalboard power supply and never have to worry about it. but if you gig half hour only on a saturday night then you'll be ok but monitor it well cause it all depends on how much your pedals draw current.

  • Chad
    from Florence, AL December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No more noise!

    One of the places I play regularly has very dirty power. I always seem to get noise no matter what gear I use. I purchased the Volto to solve the noise issue and I'm very pleased. If the noise is coming from our pedals, or single coil pickups, this won't help, but if it's dirty power, then this is the ticket. The only thing keeping me from giving it five stars is that it doesn't seem to last anywhere near as long as advertised. I typically have plenty of juice, but in my experience, you're looking at about 4 hours of so of use before it's gonna die on you. I'm running a fairly power hunger Zoom B3, so your experience may be better.

  • Jay
    from New York November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Good IF YOU UNDERSTAND YOUR NEEDS

    I use a pedaltrain mini with 5 pedals. This unit fits well under the board and runs quietly. It only runs 9v pedals so if you need 18v, this is not for you. There are a couple of small issues. The advertised running time on a single charge is grossly over stated. Another thing that is only discussed on pedaltrain's website under FAQs is the fact that it is not meant to power certain pedals (like my line 6 m5) which IS on my board. It will power the pedal but in that scenario you get about two hours of running time. I play bar gigs that run longer than that. My board also has a wireless line 6 receiver pedal on it. If you are just using standard 9v battery pedals, you can probably get longer running times out of a charge. The sanyo pedal juice will run longer than the volto but it won't mount under your pedaltrain unless you put taller feet on your board. I might get a second volto and this way be assured of constant power at a gig.

  • Danny
    from Asbury Park, NJ March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Volto Good for 4 hours gigs

    The Pedaltrain Volto is a good little unit if you are only powering a few pedals. I found it to last about 4 hours for my setup. It's cool to have in your gig bag if you are playing Blues Jams or are doing one or two sets shows otherwise I would stay with the plug in type of power unit.

  • John d
    from Little Rock AR February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician.

    Power supply plug choice for North America wont fit into charger

    The rest of it seems ok but the international power supply has several choices for where ever you may be. The standard US one will not "snap" into place because the part was glued together wrong. Poorly fitted. Quality control issue. Time will tell how the rest of the unit performs. Since i can charge the volto from any 5v usb supply ( old cell phone charger) i dont really care too much about adapter. However, at a $100.00 it is expected that all arts are useable, no?

  • Customer
    from Oakland, CA USA June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Reliability issues

    Great product but suffers from reliability issues. Unit failed after 2 weeks and was promptly replaced by the company.

  • Mike "Alagator:" Wright
    from Marysville, Wa. May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Amature/Hobbyist

    Pedaltrain

    It's a nice battery and does an OK job.
    I have 6-8 pedals on my board and you really need two of these battery's to do an all night gig.
    I think Pedaltrain should offer different size batteries for different app's.
    I don't like the thought of having two batteries to charge to do the job.
    One big one would be nice

  • Mel B.
    from Buffalo, N.Y. April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Check Your Power Draw

    Works as advertised but only about 6 hours until shutdown with 3 pedals. I don't know the draw from the pedals but all are 9 volt. Rivera Compressor, Chandler Colored Boost & Dumbloid Overdrive.
    So, be careful if you expect to last through a session. It still is a handy device for $100.

  • Martin Kenna
    from Patchogue, New York March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Professional singer/guitar palyer.

    pedaltrain

    After charging the unit I've had repeated problem in getting it to power 2 voice pedals and yet it shows it's charged?!! It's worked half the time I've used it.

  • Greg
    from January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Studio engineer and guitar player

    Doesn't last very long

    Doesn't power pedals long enough for a gig

  • ang
    from Asheville, NC February 11, 2015

    This Product Doesn't Work as Advertised

    The unit was advertised as having enough juice at full charge to power 5 pedals for 36 hours. I noticed right away that it was being depleted way sooner than that. I don’t think any of my pedals are especially power hungry.

    So I have run a test with it and here are the results.

    • First - I charged it all night long. For 12 hours.
    • I hooked it up to my 5 pedals and turned it on.
    (Polytune2, Caroline Haymaker, Suhr Riot, Visual Sound Tap Delay, and Loop Station 2 RC 2)
    • at 3.5 hours it was down to 2 bars.
    • at 6.5 hours it was down to 1 bar.
    • at 7 hours - it was off.

    And this is when it's brand new. I would not purchase this product. Great idea. I wish it worked. It doesn't.

  • Bud
    from Nashville, TN January 29, 2015Music Background:
    songwriter, performer.

    I have a better idea

    The first one worked once. I mean, one time, one day, then died. Sent it back. The second one worked one week, then died. I sent it back,

    Meanwhile, I started looking for alternatives.

    Here's what I came up with: about half the price, twice the power (10000 mAh versus half that as far as I can tell on the Volto). BTW, they have identical total mA ouput at one time—2000 mA, which means they should run the identical number of pedals at the same time.

    * XTPower 10000mAh External Battery Pack (available at Amazon) - $49.90
    * Visual Sound 1 SPOT Reverse Polarity Converter (available at Sweetwater) - $3.99

    You need the second item because the first item has center pin positive and you need to switch it around to center pin negative for most "standard" guitar pedals.

  • Sean
    from Grapevine, TX April 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician 30 years

    I only got 90 minutes out of it - Not ready for prime time

    I followed all charging directions, and only had 3 pedals hooked into the Volto Pedaltrain. Had the unit on for a 30 min sound check... then 60 minutes into a 70 minute set, it crapped out on me 34.5 hours before the suggested 36 hours of life it was supposed to give me.

    Great idea, absolute LET DOWN.
    Sending back for a refund.

  • Jeff Wasserman
    from Chicago, IL April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro Musician

    Don't Buy Volto

    I have 3 pedals on a Pedaltrain Mini. I have fully charged the Volto according to the instructions. It is totally drained after 3 hours. I have run this test 4 times. It is on its way back to Sweetwater. Don't waste your money.

  • Michael Rock
    from Buford, GA April 6, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Worked for awhile

    Worked great for the first 4 or 5 gigs and then it started dying very quickly. Now it won't charge at all. Great idea but back to the drawing board guys..

  • Andy Konieczka
    from Atlanta November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend jammer

    Never Worked

    I received it today and plugged in to charge. It lit up and took a charge. I set up my new Pedaltrain jr board and went to fire it up and nothing. Plugged it back in and no longer would take a charge. Going back tomorrow.

  • ron jennings
    from philadelphia,pa. usa November 18, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    nice concept...awful execution

    with great anticipation,i waited for this thing till it came out.but in the interim i bought the sanyo pedal juice units,which have never let me down.
    anyway,the volto was delivered to me with what appeared to be a full charge;i tried it out at home,took it to the gig,and it cut off.repeatedly.

    bought it home,tried to charge it and...nothing;no lights,nothing.
    avoid.

  • TP
    from San Francisco, ca November 10, 2013

    Volto

    Mine didn't work right out of the box. Realized it wasn't going to work 5 minutes before going on stage. It would turn itself off, even with a full charge. Returning it, and I'm not sure if I'll be getting another.

Questions about the Pedaltrain Volto Lithium-ion Rechargeable Power Supply?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway