rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Korg Volca Bass Analog Bass Synth Module and Sequencer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg Volca Bass Analog Bass Synth Module and Sequencer?

Questions about the Korg Volca Bass Analog Bass Synth Module and Sequencer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Jose Ca June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Piano_Production

    Great synth

    This is a really good synth for the price.

  • from Minneapolis, MN March 23, 2016

    First Analog Synth

    For the price, there's just no competition out there anywhere. Tats and the Korg team really did great on this one, presenting us a powerful affordable analog in a 303's clothing. Great for when you're on the go, recording or performing. If you throw some chorus, delay, or reverb on this guy, it sounds like a million bucks. From the sound alone, there's no telling that you got it for $160.

  • from Oakhurst, NJ February 1, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just a great bass synth/sequencer!

    There's not much to say that hasn't already been said, but I have to add my 2 cents. The filter is amazing, and the ability to shape and modulate the sound adds a pleasing complexity to a simple 16 step pattern. I use this mostly for sweeping drones, and the occasional bassline, but have also sequenced it via MIDI with my BeatStep Pro to add more variation to my sequences. This little beast also has 3 oscillators that can work either together or independently - adding the ability to run up to 3 individual patterns simultaneously from a single box!

    The fact that this has no patch memory is a bit of a drag at times, but with its simplicity, it's not that difficult to reproduce the sounds that I've created.

    I also have the Keys and Sample, with the Beats on its way to complete the collection (so far). Although the other two are also impressive, I think this one in particular produces a great sound, and is very versatile - especially being the Volca with the least amount of knobs.

    It's also a great time killer at the kids' sports practices or just sitting in the living room during commercials. I'm confident in saying that the Volca Bass has earned a permanent home in my studio. If you are looking for a meaty bass synth/sequencer for not a lot of dollars, this is the one to get.

  • from December 23, 2015

    Best bang for the buck!

    This synth sounds huge! I have the Keys as well, you cannot beat these for the price, and there isn't much comparable at any price, as the Volcas are so easy and intuitive to use.

  • from Jacksonville, Florida December 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Producer, DJ

    Volca Bass incredible

    By far not a 303 but it's bad, phat, and incredible! So simple to use and the sounds makes this bass a production tool that will be well sought after for years to come. I'm very impressed with this product at this price point. You really can't ask for more than what you get from the Volca Bass being this affordable. I can almost promise you if you purchase one you will not regret it.

  • from Austin, Texas December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    This is not a 303

    I bought this thinking I was going to use as a inexpensive 303 sound and not have to use VST's. After the first time i pushed the peak up and resonance up, I knew its filter is totally different. This thing screams. It can do the bubbly 303 type lines as well, but it also does so much more. You can stack all 3 oscillators and detune them into a reece sound. You have a LFO that you can control pitch, filter, and amp with. The filter envelope has a attack. I have made everything from typical 303 sounds, to huge reese sounds, to crazy video game sounds with this box. If you use Ableton Live, you can use max for live easily to create a controller for it using the online midi charts, I had mine working in about 10 minutes. For the money you can't go wrong. This machine can not be beat for the price. I am buying at least 2 more for my live rig.

  • from Venice Florida March 21, 2014Music Background:
    maker of

    Volca Bass is Great

    Definitely my favorite out of the Volca series. Squiggly, squelching, little bass box. Very fun and easy to use.

  • from San Antonio, TX December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic Recording Artist, Producer and Songwriter

    Can't go wrong

    Been a 303 fan for years and have used many emulations. The Volca Bass is simple to program and sounds fantastic. The resonant filter is insanely good and goes into a squelchy overdirve mode when pushed to it's limit. Three oscillators, MIDI, built in reference speaker, battery operated, analog and an excellent price! It's easily a no brainer for synth-head, music making, mad scientist geeks.

  • from San Rafael. Ca February 10, 2016

    Bass powerhouse really performs

    I actually use this more than my microbrute and bass station 2 for bass. What makes it a go to instrument is it's simplicity, it's so easy to get great sounds. I use it with the Beatstep Pro and in that way can get pretty much unlimited bars of sequencing. Set the Beatstep running and twiddle the controls on the Volca Bass to your hearts desire. The stacked oscillator mode is very impressive.
    Best value synth you can buy.

  • from January 28, 2014

    Best Volca IMO

    I could not put this one down when I picked it up last night. I played with it for 5 hours straight.Sadly my night was over before I new it but it was worth it. It really has it's own sound compared to the Volca Keys. The slide function, the pitch option for three vco's offer you some interesting options when creating a tone. Volca Keys kinda sounds generic I find. Especially if you own any other analog synth, but the Bass rocks.Get it!

  • from January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Professional freelance bass player

    Almost perfect

    Great value, great sound, tons of fun for hours. Only complaint is the lack of a balanced 1/4 output, ended up reamping it to get a quality signal for recording. Can't beat it at all for the price

  • from TX January 7, 2017Music Background:
    Synthesis

    Bass is Ace!

    Is WAY more functional than I initially thought it would be! Speakers are great for on the fly improv jams, but do not compare to quality earphones. For the price sound is truly great! Knobs, while not as sturdy as Roland's line of Boutiques, do feel good enough for the price. Overall, these machines do fill a gab in gear ranges. Totally capable of producing magic.

  • from United States February 16, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, Producer

    Volca

    Not much for sound-design, it has a very straight-forward tone that is consistent. The only sound-shaping mechanism is a simple filter which also has a very straight-forward tone.

    The old saying of "You get what you pay for" -- in this case: You pay a very low price for an extremely simple but effective analog bass synthesizer. The controls are limited, but it sounds good.

Questions about the Korg Volca Bass Analog Bass Synth Module and Sequencer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway