0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack?

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 24, 2015Music Background:
    Pi Sound Studio

    Tc=Helicon VoiceLive Rack

    Music production on its manpower shortage, to help me live a lot of work in the studio ..... work and teaching is a great partner.......

  • from PA, USA October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Home studio

    Voice Live Rack

    As a single in the box compressor, pre amp, vocal effect unit I does not get any better of this. Most importantly the sound is superb. The ease of use is easy . I figured it out quickly without the manual. Not only are the presets great but the tweekability is easy and can be saved easily.. Unless you really want to buy individual high grade compressors, reverbs, effects and harmonizers and spend thousands of dollars, this is the way to go

  • from Reno Nevada June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Singer,Songwriter,Recording Engineer,Producer

    TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack

    Ever since I bought the voice live rack it has cut my recording time in half . You don't have to do harmonies,are going over and over for double vocals the effects and mastering software that comes with the product is incredible I recommend this product for anybody that is serious about music and actually making professional hits .and a shout goes out to Mark Maxwell from sweetwaters the best sales guy you can have working with you .

  • from Mechanicsburg USA March 8, 2012Music Background:
    musician hobbiest

    TC Helicon voice live rack

    I have been recording for 15 years. This is the best piece of an all in one unit for getting great professional clear vocal performances. There is a great pre - amp, limiter. Then add reverb, or delay, and even natural harmont (the best I have heard from any of these boxes), with the simple touch the screem. Programming and saving your custom presets are easy. For me in my studio saving a great vocal patch is important. Then when you go back just dial it up. Also the harmonies are so good when I add these (great when recorded with the stero output) I hav.'t needed even to sing the harmonies. If I were on the road and was a vocalist this would be a must have. The mic that it came with is ok. I am using it with a great Blue Mic and also a Sure KSM 32 SL and the sound is buitiful and totally pro.

  • from Knoxville August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Worth the money

    I had a difficult time justifying this purchase, since I already had a Digitech LV4, but I'm glad I did. Coupled with the Switch 3 foot switch you have really good control over several very useful features.
    The only reason I did not give this unit a 5 rating is that I hate the ON / OFF switch. The switch seems cheap and it can take several tries to get the unit to turn on (you have to press it just right).
    If you can get past the On/Off switch, the VoiceLive is worth the money.

  • from selinsgrove Pa. March 14, 2014Music Background:
    semi pro musician in a working band

    vocal effects

    the unit is really great but the foot controler should really come with it.

  • from Yukon, OK May 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Version Yet!!

    I have owned several of TC Helicon's products in the past and this is absolutely the best one yet. I am giving it a 4.5 because their isn't a printed manual.

  • from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Professional singer, Music producer

    Lack of ins and outs

    This piece is amazing. Very high quality effects, very easy to use and user intuitive. Once you pair it up with the switch 3 pedal, you simply fall in love with it for live performances.

    On the negative side though, the one thing to consider is the lack of inputs and outputs, which makes the unit very un-flexible. To me, it's unforgivable that a unit in this price range doesn't have an FX Loop. There is no send-return feature for this unit, which means you can't put any external FX into the chain.

    I had an issue with this because I need a vocoder for my performances, which this rack lacks (yes, this unit lacks an actual vocoder). I wanted to insert my external vocoder (EH V256) somewhere before the ambient FX, but since there are no Send-Return jacks, you have to insert the vocoder before the physical input, in between your microphone and the VoiceLive Rack. Sadly, once you do so you loose functionality of the Mic-Control on your MP75 Microphone.

    I use MIDI to control the unit remotely, use a vocoder and was hoping to be able to bypass the unit through the mic-control for in-between-songs small talk with the audience, without the need to use any pedals in my performances. Sadly, it's not possible.

    Don't get me wrong though, it's an amazing unit overall, stuff you can do with it is more than enough for any vocal rig one may have, and it's definitely the best there is out there.

  • from Bethlehem,Pa November 7, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack

    It's exactly what i needed to get vocal arrangements down.
    The service? spectacular!
    the unit? awesome!
    the video tutorials? not so clear or good.
    so expect to dig in and explore on your own.
    but the unit is relatively super easy.

  • from Ventura CA March 25, 2012Music Background:
    Re-tired Film/TV Composer

    Great Fun and really nice sound

    It sounds great. Fids love it, My daughter sings in a choir and it sounds great. Like the TV stuff she said. IT would be nice to have a scoop up patch then the correct pitch instant jump. The sound is nice, reverb reat,and lots of programming to tweak how you like it.

    It is a must have to the studio, for the price Sweetwater offers it, and Nick Church as your sales person. How could you go wrong?

    YEas I would buy it again. (Only if the candy comes in the box again!!

  • from San Francisco June 27, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, Vocals, Home recording 15+ years

    Good Processing but Terrible Interface

    For the price of this unit, I expected something more "professional" than what it is. While the processing of vocals is high fidelity and the offering of effects ranges anyway from extremely subtle to over the top, the unit is set up around presets that are often named in such a way that you have no idea what it will do to the sound. Furthermore, changing the presets (and making your own) is involves some digging through submenus, which I found impossible to do much with in a live recording environment. One could make the argument that spending more time with the tool would eliminate some of the issue of a clumsy interface but I just don't think this is a piece of studio gear.

    I made the assumption that the knobs would control settings in real time and that the buttons on the side labeled reverb, delay, etc would be activated when pressed and then the dials would adjust that setting. This is not the case- the adjustments for each effect require multiple clicks and reading miniature text. The presets toggle certain of these effects on and off and tweak their levels. The point is- it is very hard to try out a number of presets and vary the effect quickly, which basically forces an exploration period of hours to know if a preset will do what you want, or can be adjusted to do so. (Most especially when you are recording yourself, versus other musicians.)

    Basically, my feeling was that this unit is like the "instagram" of effects processing- you have some choices of filters and it's just easier to use what's provided rather than change it. I think that forces the music to conform to effects rather than the other way around. I gave it a fair chance but returned it after a couple of months. (Thanks, Sweetwater, fot eh good return policy.)

    If you are simply after effects to spruce up your music and don't want to do much tweaking, or will create only a few presets and simply use them over and over, then this would be great. If you want knobs and flexibility on the fly, this isn't for you.

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Rack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close