0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

TC-Helicon VoiceLive 2 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The TC-Helicon VoiceLive 2 is the choice processor for many high profile musicians such as Imogen Heap. Take a listen to her song "Hide and Seek" to get an accurate representation of what you can accomplish with this amazing-sounding voice processor.

  • from March 13, 2015

    TC-Helicon Voicelive 2

    It's like having a real vocal group with you all the time---THANK YOU !!!!

  • from clarkston, mi March 11, 2015Music Background:
    part time musician

    Must have for vocalists

    This box is incredible. Stick on a pair of headphones and plug your guitar and mic into the TC and you can get lost for hours playing with the presets. If you want to get a taste of what it feels like to be in the middle mic position in CSN, this box will give you an idea. I like it for recording as it offers hundreds of options to alter your voice and improve on it as well. Worth every penny!

  • from Dallas, Texas November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Bought as a toy - became an invaluable tool.

    I originally bought this because I thought it would be fun to play around with in my home studio. The band I was in at the time was performing material that did not require three-part harmony or choirs of angelic voices. I just wanted something I could control on stage to thicken my vocals during certain parts of songs, as well as give a nice compression and delay. I probably could have gotten away with using one of the VoiceTone pedals...but once I saw the video for this unit I just HAD to have it. Boy am I glad I did. The original project was shelved and I started singing in a wedding / cover band...and that's when I fell in LOVE with this unit!! It has allowed us to perform material I would not have dared to (vocally) before having it. In fact, I rely on it so much I purchased a 2nd one as a back-up unit...however, other than to program it, I have not had to take it out of the box. TC Helicon makes a very rugged and reliable product.

    The other thing I feel I need to mention is the top notch customer support of TC Helicon. Their website is easy to navigate and find information/updates on their products. They have replied to every one of my emails within 24-hours, and I really like the Voice Council Forum. I have received great advice and tips from other users of the VL2.

    Overall I am extremely pleased with the VL2, and I highly recommend it to anyone in need of a quality vocal processor.

  • from USA March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/ Songwriter

    Amazing Top of the Line Service and Product

    I felt that the representatives at Sweetwater were not only extremely knowledgeable and professional but very courtious. I've already recommended Sweetwater to all my musician friends and family and urge them to avoid dealing with store chains such as Guitar Center or Sam Ash who have in my own opinion have generally bad customer service and have little or no idea of the products they sell and deal with. Ask for John Ptak and I can guarantee you will have a great shopping and buying experience. I definitely will be a returning customer! Thanks again Sweetwater!!!

  • from Coral Springs, Fl December 17, 2012Music Background:
    playing guitar and singing since 1965.

    TC-Helicon Voicelive 2 - High praise!

    i bought the VL2 just over a month ago and truly had every intention of returning it within the 30 day period) if it did not live up to my standards. I'm heavy into recording but i also wanted something to possibly play out with. i've always been into harmony. the first couple of weeks i put the VL2 up on my computer desk and put it through it's paces with my DAW (Cakewalk Sonar X1 Pro) and my audio interface (RME FF400 <-- also purchased @ Sweetwater). i used both the MIDI and SPDIF interfaces on VL2 and was able to send an audio clip with a MIDI clip TO the VL2 from Sonar and have a harmony come back in a 3rd clip that followed the MIDI clip. it was impressive to say the least.
    i have used the Looper and it is VERY clear, the buttons on the VL2 and they respond very well - this is important in getting the Loops started at excactly the correct time. i've gone 5 deep with the loop and the original stays clear and present..
    i've been able to use the Voice Support (software interface with the VL2) to move & copy presets around. i've place a bunch of "blank" presets at the beginning of the preset list so i can create customized presets.
    the effects are many, and have enough editing capability (even for a picky user like me.)
    again, i've had this for just over a month now and i have gotten to know it well enough to know that it will serve my needs for recording & have i mentioned that it sounds incredibly realistic on harmonies? it's also a super clean/quiet device. Downside? i wish the looping time was doubled (even with out "undo"). but i went into the purchase knowing knowing this timing limit and even @ that should not be a problem in 99% of what i want to use it for. all in all - i've looked around for a long time and at many other vocal processors, but this one exceeds my expectations. it may seem expensive for its size, but it delivers big bang for the bucks!

  • from August 6, 2012Music Background:
    musician, hobbyist

    TC-Helicon VoiceLive 2

    I purchased this item mainly for pitch control, and it will work wonders for
    a vocal pitch that is led astray. The mic input range is unbelievable. I did not discover that untilI I learned how to adjust the mic volume manually.
    There is so little that I have learned so far, and much much more that I look forward to learning in the future, when time permits.

    Be sure to download the manual, and you will want to print all pages.
    It is easy to read, and is well written. You can't go wrong with a VL-2!

  • from NY January 28, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist Vocalist for St.George and Friends

    voice live 2

    What a great piece of gear. Although I had to return the first one, it had a faulty screen. I have only had it for about three weeks and I am still just going through all the presets, I must say they sound so real , I have become addicted to singing. This pc of gear actually makes you sing better because you can hear when you are off key. I am just a novice at this so trying to adjust setting will be in the future although I have tried it it seems easy but for me not necessary because of all the presets, there are plenty to choose from. you will not be let down with this purchase.

  • from Monticello, Illinois December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Incredible!

    I have been looking at this type of thing for years. We have been trying to find a 4rth for our band for about a year now with no success, and I am the only vocalalist in the band, which is very limiting. After some research and reading a lot of reviews, I pulled the trigger. Man... was the the best decision I have made for a while. Incredible harmonies, and tons of choices. It's gonna take a while just to sort through all of the pre-packaged choices. Now our 3 piece power trio sounds like a 5 man band, and no cheese factor.

  • from Kalispell, Montana October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Over The Top

    I never sounded so good and after starting to use the VL2 I opened up new doors to vocal capabilities. I have actually gained more confidence since starting to use this device. The people in my church were amazed at how much fuller the sound was and really appreciated the addition. The only thing I would do different on the design is make is so you can plug two different guitars in as I play electric and acoustic guitar and have to switch out cables during the set. (Maybe in the next design)

  • from Michigan December 29, 2010Music Background:
    Lead Vocalist/Guitarist

    Beautiful

    I'm so impressed with the elegance of design that went into making this system! Not only have I had a chance to try this out in a live format, but i've also experimented with it in the studio. Voicelive 2 did an exceptional job in both.

    Just when I thought I couldn't be any happier with this product I found out about V Loop...wow!! Talk about a fantastic firmware update!!

  • from Columbus, Ohio December 2, 2010Music Background:
    Some professional, mostly church worship music.

    Addition of V-loop

    I have had mine since Spring '10 and totally blown away with the variety vocal alternatives, harmonies, and effects. Now that TC-Helicon has added V-Loop FOR FREE by just downloading the new 3.1 release, the VoiceLive 2 is even more amazing.

  • from USA August 19, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great for Recording Vocals

    The VoiceLive 2 is also awesome for recording vocals. It's a USB interface good up to 96K and has RCA SPDIF I/O. You have the adaptive compressor, EQ and de-essing available (all very good and musical sounding), and you have access to some fantastic TC Electronics reverbs, printable for demos or as an aux effect on your tracks. It's like an instant "THAT'S the pro lead vocal sound I've wanted" machine!

  • from South Florida May 5, 2010Music Background:
    Former Professional and Recording Artist

    Amazing Technology!

    Last December I purchased a TC Helicon Harmony G. It was so good , I immediately put it up for sale and started saving for the Voicelive 2.
    I got it just in time to install the latest software update and all I can say is AMAZING!
    All the video demos and reviews are accurate. This thing allows a singer to do amazing things with the voice. Everything is fully editable and you can create just about any sound imaginable. Start with the guitar effects. You can dial in the most amazing reverb, chorus, flange and compression and then easily edit them to perfection. My guitar never sounded better! Take any of the 200 + harmony effects and customize them in every way possible. If this wasn't enough, each harmony preset can have up to 10 step changes where you can change harmony settings, effect settings, add singers, etc. etc.
    10 different steps!!! This thing is unreal.
    I played professionally for many years with a small group that featured 3 part harmony. Well, my group is back, ( in a box) and better than ever. I perform solo now and people are stunned by the incredible sound and Harmonies.
    This is something all performers dreamed about 10 years ago. It happened, and it's great. Thank you TC Helicon.

  • from Lomita, CA March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Exceeded Expectations

    I'm the music director/worship leader at a church here in the Los Angeles area and was skeptical about utilizing this kind of pedal for corporate worship, fearing that it would come off as "fake" sounding or "cheesy" and stick out in a church setting. I have seen performers use smaller versions of the TC Helicon harmonizers with decent sounds, but not in a church. When I saw it for more than 50% off on the President's Day sale, I knew I had to take a chance. I was extremely happy to have my fears vanish and I would recommend anyone in this modern church worship style setting to also consider this pedal for a number of reasons.

    First - the auto EQ, compression and voice shaping that it achieves gives you a better vocal tone than most volunteer sound engineers will likely have time to achieve for you (if they have the know how to do it in the first place, which isn't always the case with church volunteers). This feature can't be understated, especially if you're like me and your church doesn't employ a full time sound engineer and you have to coordinate a sound/media team as well as musicians and vocalists.

    The adjustable reverb switch also eliminates those "I forgot to turn the reverb on" moments that sometimes happen in churches with volunteers that can disrupt your entire set. Your vocal signal runs to the board with the exact effects and tone on it that you select as the lead vocalist, with no discussion from anyone else how much of this or that is on it - awesome.

    Second - It makes teaching harmonies and making sure they are performed at the moments you want them as you arrange and sing your songs live, much easier to do. I sing lead primarily with various combinations of other singers, but with only a couple hours of rehearsal each week with my volunteer team, there simply isn't enough time to get multiple singers of different ability and experience levels appropriately rehearsed. The pedal allows you to tailor which parts you want, how many voices you want, how loud they are in the mix individually and collectively in comparison to your voice, the effects on the voices and so much more. I feared that my vocal team would hate it and would feel marginalized, however what I have found is that they say they enjoy having some reinforcement for the moments they aren't as confident in their part.

    One thing to note as a vocalist - you have to be precise with your pitch, otherwise the harmonies will also all be off. I know most of us don't always realize when we're flat or sharp, but this pedal really enhanced my ability to recognize quickly the moments where I'm just not getting the note that it feels like I am, and to be able to correct it immediately. It's made me more precise, even without using the auto tune feature.

    I have not used any of the guitar tones as of yet, mostly because I am leery of combining my vocal and guitar signal so I can't comment on that feature, but I will say that the guitar "thru" line out has no imprint on my guitar tone that I can detect.

    Another thing to note as a guitarist - if you're used to using alternate or "open" chords, you'll find yourself using standard formations to make the harmonies a little tighter - then again I've never programmed the key into the patch to see what it would do otherwise. This is a slight adjustment on my end, but certainly nothing that is deal breaking especially with the vocal fullness you gain as a result of the pedal.

    I gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars mostly because in the month or so that I've had it, I haven't fully explored all the capabilities and I can't say that I've been thorough enough to give it an A+ - but it's definitely grading out at a solid A for me with the potential to go up once I have more experience with it.

    Get one, you won't be sorry.

  • from January 10, 2013

    voice live 2

    The voice live 2 greatly enhances lead vocals, and provides the harmony needed for solo gigs. I have not had it that long but i have found that i only use two of the presets for what i need. The instruction manual is terrible, the tutorials on-line have helped greatly, but they do not explain everything the device is capable of doing. Both the manual online ,and shipped with the product refer to a CD that is supposed to be included. I called and asked for the CD and I was told they don't make one for this product. Unfortunately a first time user like me is having difficulty figurig out everything it is capable of doing. Great device but a terrible instruction manual. I'm sure i will be calling tech support often to get help on adjusting some of the features for this product.

  • from Saint Louis, MO USA November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Vocalist, Live Sound Engineer

    Amazed With TC Helicon Again

    I bought the original VoiceLive back in 2004, and for it's time, it was a very good product. One of the first non-rack mounted harmony and vocal processors to hit the market. I still used it right up until I bought my VoiceLive2. The editing functions were a bit cumbersome and quite labor intensive, a very small screen, and plenty of menus to dig through! Now on to the VoiceLive2...awesome, bright display! And the like the fact that I can turn on/off all the effects without having to enter any menu screens! VoiceLive only had 100 presets and as you edited programs, you had to save over some of the presets. The VoiceLive2 has over 250 presets, and I haven't even been able to play with them all yet! The auto/hard tune feature is way cool...move over T-Pain and Kanye. The harmonies are a lot smoother than the original. The only drawback I have is that the processor cuts off if the vocal input levels are quiet. Editing is much easier thanks to a larger display and more user-friendly controls!

  • from Melbourne Australia October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, bassist, drummer

    TC Helicon Voicelive 2

    Fabulous unit, does a great job and you can always set the key if it doesnt work on the presets or guitar input for the job.

    Saved on another vocalist or two.

  • from USA August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Worship team Musician

    Helicon Voice Live 2

    Absolutely incredibly awesome!!! The only way to fully understand what I mean is for you to own one of these "bad0boys" and experience it for yourself. If you can "spring" for the extra dollars, avoid the lesser products and invest in the VoiceLive2; it is well worth it!

  • from Cleveland OH USA September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Pro and Semi-Pro musician.

    A great unit!

    I have only had this unit a couple of weeks, but I have had some excellent results with it. The sounds are great! I used it to record some backing vocals via In-Track Sampling on my Korg M3, and it works wonderfully. It is also very easy to modify and store settings once you get used to the interface. I had to reluctantly deduct 1/2 star for the slightly "inexpert" instruction manuals. The detailed manual in PDF form is rather clunky, inasmuch as it doesn't have the "bookmarks" that you find on others, and lacks the in-depth detail of similar manuals. I had to go to their on-line tutorials for some answers. But buy the unit anyways; once you get the hang of it, you'll be hooked!

  • from April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Incredible!

    I use it primarily for generating vocal harmonies, and I feel the harmonies it generates sound real and authentic.

  • from St. Petersburg October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboards and Drums, playing in a local garage band and as a hobbiest only.

    TC Helicon Voice Live 2

    This equipment is top notch, and delivers the effects promised. I have enjoyed using this excellent piece of equipment. It is well built, sturdy, and easy to operate and the effects are great! A little difficult getting the mic level adjusted but after a small learning curve it is not too hard to set the mic level. The best settings are reverb and double. While there are 250 presets, most are not useful for everyday use, for example, the multi voice choir, is really fun but not useful for performing, unless you want to pretend you are in a church. I mainly use the manual foot switch settings. My daughter, who is new to singing, loves the Kanye setting, as well as lots of others used in popular music.

  • from Colorado Springs , CO February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Live sound engineer, professional musician

    So far so good

    I just started using it last night so this is an early review. Im sure ill add more to it later.
    You really have to tweek it to get it sounding decent (but what multi FX unit doesent require lots of tweeking). I like being able to build the harmonies from midi, guitar, or manual. As a lead singer in a rock band, I can set the key of the song and choose the scale I want. Im really interested to see if I can reproduce some Alice in Chains harmonies with this thing. The megaphone and distortion FX are really great and can be turned on and off with a single button. Ive been wanting this for a loooong time and have tried stomp boxes and multi fx units as inserts and could never get it set right.
    I also play solo acoustic shows so the guitar feature works great because i dont have to think about programming it for every song. The reverbs and delays are really nice as well.
    It still doesnt sound as good as real harmonies, but it pretty impressive and will fool the average bar patron. Not sure I will use it in the studio yet, but it works great live (hence the name VoiceLive).

  • from November 11, 2013

    It's ok

    There is a bit of a learning curve that you need.

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive 2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway