rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

ART Voice Channel Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the ART Voice Channel?

Questions about the ART Voice Channel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Canada April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Home Studio

    Very Impressed

    I dont give products 5 stars ever. But today I'm doing that. I got my Voice Channel 3 days ago. Let me tell you I am really impressed.

    I recently recorded an album in a proper studio. Spent a lot of time learning from engineer regarding the very nice preamps, compressors, eq's etc that he had. Asked a million questions. Eventually I decided to just take a gamble on the Voice Channel because hey, it'll be my first channel strip and at the very least it should teach me a lot.

    IT IS SOOOO GOOD. I've been recording in the box (plus a preamp) for a while. This was such an immediate upgrade. I've tried both using the USB out as well as running direct into my interface. The quality is absolutely there. The control though? If you're an in-the box mixer, you should still get one of these. Add a bit of compression and De-Esser on the way in and your singer can relax and focus on the performance. You can get SO MUCH MORE out of the singer that way. I am just so incredibly impressed.

  • from Coral Springs FL September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Producer & Voiceover Talent

    WOW !

    Got one of these in my studio and the quality is awesome !!
    Just had to spend some time fine tuning with my voice and got that sweet warm “In your face” sound I’ve always been looking for. Also got the Pro Channel II in my smaller studio.

  • from Milwaukee, WI May 16, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording, guitarist, hobbyist

    Cheap and Powerful

    Tons of outputs, solid metal knobs and both analog and digital meters. I needed hands on EQ, De-esser and a noise gate. I found three I was interested in but was attracted to the Art due to the amunt of bang for the buck.

    I recorded in a spare room in my house that sits on a busy and noisy street. After I flattened the file I showed it to some friends. They asked me what studio recorded this. Big smiles!!

    Set this thing up right and it won't do you wrong. Glad I bought this.

  • from natchitoches, la April 18, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer, live sound engineer, producer, d.j.

    the best

    if u want a professional sound for a cheaper price then this is it. The name speaks for its self. U won't be disappointed. I've used art pro channel for years and just upgraded to the voice channel and im glad i did.

  • from Atlanta, GA January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician & home studio owner

    Ahhhhh....

    At last...a piece of gear that lives up to the hype without breaking the bank! I got Voice Channel and one of ART's M3 condenser mics and the sound is AMAZING. My sE mic and Presonus Audiobox VSL44 now have some serious competition in my project studio. I haven't touched all of the capabilities of the new ART tools but what I have done is miles above my previous recordings. The Voice Channel is a magic box...even my ok voice came out shimmering and clear in the mix. The EQ, compression, de-esser and expander /gate functions help vocals cut through. Add a touch of reverb, delay from my TC Electronic or Lexicon and I've got some good things cooking. I've had some other ART products ( MP Project Series preamp and the TPSII dual preamp)...all have been durable and do what they advertise. I've sung through UA and Avalons in other studios and while this isn't quite that pure, I also have a few more grand in my pocket too. Get this!!!

  • from Boise, ID July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Better than dbx or Presonus

    I bought the dbx 286s and the Presonus Studio Channel and the ART Voice Channel blew them all away! The sound is both rich and warm and the EQ is just right for voice overs.

    The addition of the expander gate makes it a slam dunk over the Presonus (though I usually prefer Presonus as a brand). I ended up returning my dbx and buying a 2nd Voice channel.

    Also, the fact that this has a direct audio output via USB makes it a extremely versatile in the studio.

  • from June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Hobbyist home studio

    Love it

    I really like it. This is the second most expensive preamp I own, so I can't compare it to high end gear, but I think it sounds great. I am a big fan of channel strip style gear. It's so easy to get a good sound quickly. I have to do demo videos / screencasts, so I primarily use this for recording spoken voice now. I love that it has a built in ADC. Just plug it in to your computer with USB and it appears as a sound device. Rather than turning a rack full of equipment and a mixer on (and raising the temperature of my room about 8 degrees), I can just turn this on when I need to record a voiceover. Having 2 outputs on the back makes it easy to duplicate the output to my headphones. The expander with a variable threshold makes it easy to reduce background noise without affecting the sound too much. I was not a huge fan of the gate, but I didn't need to use it. The de-esser is nice to have. The EQ sounds good to me and it is quick to dial in the sound. The metering is fantastic. The connections are very flexible: 2 outputs comes in handy, and there is a separate preamp output if you want to replace the EQ/compression later when you have more control. I really have to max out the gain when I use it with my RE20, but that is a notoriously low output mic. I just ordered a Cloudlifter CL-1, which should fix that problem. The gain makes a big jump at the end of the knob, not an even increase like farther down. Other than that the build quality seems very solid. I wish the low pass filter was variable, and a variable ratio on the expander would be nice, but you can only fit so many knobs on a piece of gear. One of my favorite pieces of gear all things considered.

  • from Asheville, NC July 12, 2011Music Background:
    Bassist and studio engineer

    A great value in a vocal strip!

    I got this unit as a reasonable alternative to a lot more expensive units, and I must say, it surpassed my expectations. It has a very warm sound that works well with both male and female vocals, and it's extensive features make it one of the most versatile pieces I own. Thanks as well to Sweetwater for there great customer relations and fast and reliable shipping.

  • from Decatur IL June 27, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, songwriter

    great sound out of Voice channel

    The voice channel delivers. Easy to use. practically no learning curve.
    comp, EQ, and gate/expander are similar to cubase vst.
    Love the pad and expander. I also like the many choices of digital outs.
    I generally record acoustic and electric guitars thru voice channel and BLUE baby bottle microphone.I get great results everytime.
    Preamp sounds good. Using digital out sounds excellent. It blows away a standard mixer as an interface between music and computer.
    I recommend voice channel over standard preamp because it delivers
    sound and features one would expect on a unit costing a 1000 dollars or more. great buy. good tool for home project studio!

  • from Portland, OR May 20, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician,

    Works Wonders!

    I have used this piece of gear numerous times to record. I am always impressed by the tonal quality, it provides. It is a solid hard working machine, that you could use it all day and never get tired of. For any size studio, it is a beneficial add-on! Thank you ART, and Sweetwater, for carrying such wonderful gear!

  • from OR July 10, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist

    Great piece of gear

    Great piece of gear. It has big metal knobs that do not feel fragile. It sounds clean and non- noisy. The Compressor works wonders, and the EQ section is a great add-on. This piece of gear should be in the thousand dollar range.

  • from Alamo Tx March 27, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician, Producer, Studio engineer

    High end sound

    The ART Voice Channel Strip works great. Has all the bells & whistles you'd expect out of a high-end channel strip. Lots of bang for the buck!!!

  • from Kingston, NY November 10, 2016Music Background:
    Voice over actor

    Nice addition

    This channel strip is a nice step up for me. As an aspiring voice over actor the ART Voice Channel gives me the ability to eliminate background noise, add compression and EQ to my voice to tailor it to my needs. Clean, quiet warm gain is a nice feature also. Now I can actually record without having to time it around ambient noise (I live in a noisy residential neighborhood so that is always an issue) which is a HUGE plus. Another nice feature is I didn't need to to download 3rd party drivers since I use a a MacBook which recognizes the built-in audio interface via the USB port. Thanks again to Alden and Drew for suggestions to me and some needed help. This was a great choice.

  • from United States April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Nice!

    Works great. Every feature works fine and I like how transparent the compressor really is. The compressor on this works pretty good to me. I'm not using the eq much, just a small boost in the lows, but it sounds good. (Have it on 150Hz seems to be In right spot frequency wise, so it's not a weird bassy sound. Seems nice.) Using it on D.I. guitar at the moment and a sE 2500A condenser mic. It evened out the harshness this mic has nicely. And the compressor works flawless with it. (Sounds very good.) I'm going to love tracking vocals through this. All in all, I like it a lot. Does what I wanted it to do. Shipping was very fast and everything came fine as well. Sweetwater is the store!

  • from Troy, Alabama April 22, 2010Music Background:
    Profesional Musician, Recording Artist and Studio Owner.

    MUCH MORE THAN A TUBE PREAMP!

    I definitely wanted at least one Channel Strip in my studio and this one has more than exceeded my expectations. In addition to being a great sounding tube pre (especially in the High Tube Voltage) this thing does an equally job of Compression, EQ, DeEss and much more all at a high quality. Other home studio's in the area have asked me why my vocal tracks are so much warmer, fuller and alive. The ART Voice Channel.

    I recomend this for ANY level studio as a great stand alone unit. Ask for Alan Carter one of their GREAT Sales Engineers and he'll get you fixed up!

  • from Chicago October 20, 2015Music Background:
    Music lover for over 40 years!

    ART Voice Channel does the job!

    I've seen a major improvement recording vocals using an AKG C314 through the ART Voice Channel. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a nice Mic pre-amp but doesn't want to break the bank!

  • from Muscat, Oman August 3, 2014Music Background:
    Audiobook Narrator

    Great Box of Tricks

    I needed something with a bit more clout than the ART Tube MP Project series that I had been using before and also wanted to be able to slightly compress and EQ during recording.
    This is a great piece of kit for the price. The dual voltage on the tube and the adjustable impedance can pull a dozen different basic tones out of a single mic.
    Very happy!

  • from Tinley Park, IL USA April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Guitar Player

    Great choice!

    I was actually thinking about a different channel strip and my salesman, David Hess, suggested I consider the ART Voice Channel. He said for a little extra money, I would get way more bang for my buck and he's was right once again! The ART channel strip has all kinds of routing features, great sounding EQ and compression. The users guide has suggested setting for lots of applications. It's very easy to use and sounds great, what else could you ask for?

  • from East Lansing, MI November 2, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Great bang for your buck!

    This is honestly a great piece of equipment! I bought this few months ago I was purely a fresh beginner in the world of actual studio recording and it has treated my band quite well so far. The clarity that it brings to the table as well as a lot more signal control is very nice to have. My only complaint would be the knobs on mine didn't perfectly line up with the faceplate making some knobs almost completely stuck in place. I remedied this with the use of some tools but it was slightly annoying to have to deal with.
    Thanks to Ryan Murray and the Sweetwater staff for the best customer service I've ever seen. It simply can't be beat!

  • from July 18, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Mixing Engineer, Pro Musician

    Not bad... Especially

    So, what can I say? I can't say "great" or "wonderful". It is not. But for channel strip, lower than 600$ cost - it's not bad deal. I think, it's an optimum choice for beginners, who needs "all-in-one" device.

Questions about the ART Voice Channel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close