0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Rode VideoMic Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Rode VideoMic?

Questions about the Rode VideoMic?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Spring, TX November 18, 2016

    Great Camera Mic

    The only reason I give this mic a 4.5 and not a 5 is because the connection wire to camera was not very long at all and needed to buy an extension since I was actually setting the mic up closer than the camera was. Otherwise, performed great!

  • from WV April 26, 2016

    Works well in certain situations

    These are great for run-n-gun shooting! I have had 2 of them for about a year now. They sound a lot better than the onboard mics on DSLR or other cameras. I don't rely on these for an important interview though, but they are always on a couple cameras as a back up. I much prefer the sound of my NTG3s into an external recorder, but I can't use those in every situation.

    The things I like about them is that the Rycote shockmount greatly reduces handling noise. These are great backups for your external recording rig. These work well in a noisy environment like a wedding reception as long as you keep the null point towards the unwanted sounds. We were able to quickly do some guest interviews at weddings and other events with these without fumbling with a lav mic. you can definitely hear the crowd and music in the BG but you can hear every word the guest was saying. They are easy to use and 1 9V battery lasts a really long time. I've never had one go down due to low battery even at all day shoots. Although I have forgotten to turn the darn thing on a few times when on an unmanned stationary cam. That made for a lot of extra work since I had no audio to use for sync with the other angles on that shot.

    Things I don't like.

    I really hate the battery situation. The Rycote gets in the way of the battery door sliding off so you have to bend it down everytime. I'm not a fan of how the battery door slides off either. if your hands are sweaty or the plastic is wet from dew or something its quite difficult to get the battery door off. The entire housing is all plastic. Easy to scratch plastic too. This wouldn't take a hit well at all. I have to be careful about putting these on a wide angle outdoors when I have to use the dead cat with it. It sticks out over the lens and sometimes gets in the shot. I find that its not the cleanest audio recording. There is always a slight distortion in the voice with these. This might be the camera though. I haven't put this on anything else. The average person watching your video will either not notice it or not care, but I like nice audio. I don't like the work flow when I use these. I process all of my audio in Protools so i can use all of my nice studio plugins, but I edit in Premier Pro. Audio editing in premier isn't fun for me since i've used protools so long. So I have some extra steps to get the audio into protools and then back into premier. More than I do if I use my external recorder.

    Over all a great little mic that is easy to use and sounds much better than the stock mics on your camera.

  • from Nevada City, CA March 13, 2013Music Background:
    member of performance percussion group

    Rode videomic

    great mic and good price

  • from Kent, WA USA March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Audio/Video Productions

    Rode VideoMIc

    This mic picks up sound beautifully, fits onto my camera with ease, I am very pleased to have purchased this item.

  • from Cape Coral, FL September 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Amazing Mic!

    This mic takes in such clear rich signal and for a bargin price! We film outdoors, indoors, in studio, it performs extremely well in every setting. It has great recognition of the "voice" over "white noise" ex: traffic, air-conditioning units, etc...
    I recommend this mic highly!

  • from Concorddia University in Seward, NE October 5, 2011Music Background:
    Videographer

    Rode VideoMic works great for capturing seminars.

    At our university, we do quite a bit of recording in areas where we cannot get line in connections from the built in sound systems. This mic really imporved the quality of the captured audio from the speakers as well as it cut down the noise from around of the camera. Works great.

    Like everything about it except that the hot shoe placement does not leave much room to use the controls on top of the camera. I am using a Canon Vixia.

  • from Knoxville, TN October 21, 2010Music Background:
    Film/TV production and post-production

    A must for smaller cameras

    Another great gem from RODE.

    If you're shooting with any smaller camera that lacks XLR inputs, but has 1/8" mic in, this is the mic for you. Purchased for use with a Canon T2i, I have found the VideoMic to be invaluable. The camera's pinhole mic is all but useless, and this gives me camera reference audio I can trust.

    HOWEVER, there are several things to know when purchasing a mic like this:

    1) A mic located on the camera is not going to give you quality dialog recording. Period. This is an improvement for scratch/reference audio, but for usable dialog the mic must be removed from the camera and mounted to a pole. The on-camera mic can, however, capture some ambient sounds that are useful in the post mix when placed subtly underneath music/VO.

    2) Cameras with non-defeatable AGC (like the T2i) can't record decent audio. These require a separate audio recording setup (double-system).

    3) There is no substitute for a dedicated, skilled sound engineer on set who has a separate and dedicated sound recording system.

    Keeping those in mind, the VideoMic is still a worthy investment. The sound is clean and clear, and the built-in pads and bass roll-off are very handy. Suspended in a built-in shockmount helps reduce handling noise.

    On the down side, the bands that hold the shock suspension can break fairly easily. The mic comes with a pack of replacement bands, but depending on how rough you are on the mic they may not last long. Also, the mic requires a 9v battery. These are not the cheapest batteries per-unit, though the mic will run for a long time on one battery.

    In all, it's a great mic. Don't expect it to be your one and only audio solution, but as long as you know it's purpose and limitations, it will be a stellar performer.

  • from McKinney, TX September 15, 2008Music Background:
    Film Composer/Director/Videomaker

    If your audio is important to your video, this mic should be important to you!

    I can't tell you how many semi-pro videos I've seen shot where the location audio is terrible. Many amateur filmmakers will go to great lengths to get amazing shots, as they should, and then the whole illusion is shattered by audio recorded in the little front mounted mics on the camera, usually the weaklest link in a consumer camcorder that falls somewhere under "Special effects." When I got the Rode VideoMic, it was extremely simple to integrate with its 1/8" plug. It's spring loaded, which I'm not sure what that's for, but I guess it means it won't make a sound when you're moving it around. The sound is very accurate, very "dead," if you will, and handles spoken word very well, both indoor and outdoor. While it won't take the place of your vocal mic in post, it will save you on location for its accuracy and quality.

Questions about the Rode VideoMic?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway