0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Preamp EQ/DI/Tuner Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Preamp EQ/DI/Tuner Pedal?

Questions about the LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Preamp EQ/DI/Tuner Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Virginia February 6, 2017Music Background:
    Jazz

    LR Baggs has the best customer service in the business.

    The Venue DI is a solid unit. I play a Maccaferri style gypsy guitar with a K&K definity transducer through the Venue. These guitars are typically hard to get a good balanced sound with just a piezo, but the K&K with the Venue produces a great tone at all volumes. My Venue was over 3 years old (beyond the warranty) and it had developed a crack in the phase button. I contacted Baggs and the service rep told me that even though it was beyond warranty, the button should not have failed. I sent it in to them and they replaced the button free of charge and turned around the unit in a week. I have never had that much luck with music gear, but these guys are great. The quality and technology is there AND they are great at customer service. I'm with Baggs.

  • from Lone Willow Texas June 22, 2016

    Love This Preamp!

    I have many guitars with preamps built in that work great. For some of my older stage guitars that have custom pickups, but no preamp this more than fills the bill. I love it. The tuner just works and the boost is perfect!

    Musical Background box would not light up.

  • from Hopewell Jct. NY November 5, 2015

    Super!!

    First time I used the Venue all my band mates could hear the improvement in the sound quality!!! Well worth the money!!

  • from Birmingham, AL March 26, 2015

    A Must Have for Professional Violinist/Fiddlers

    This product the LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Preamp EQ/DI/Tuner Pedal is a must have in every Violinist/Fiddler's Gig Bag.

    The sound is crystal clear and its clearly the BEST thing on the market. It is worth every penny. I have been a professional violinist/fiddler for 20+ years and this makes my job effortless sounds like I was in the studio. I full endorse this product.

  • from Portland, OR January 5, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, player

    Finally something for violin

    For 40 years I have tried to find something that made my fiddle sound big and fat with varied success. Luckily or unluckily my ToneBone got stolen from a gig and I decided to shell out for this Baggs. Everyone in the band said "WOW!" Sometimes it takes a bad thing in life to make a change. It was the first time I had anything stolen but I'm kind of glad it happened! Doesn't matter if I'm sawing on bluegrass or tripping in my Dead band this is the ****

  • from St. Paul, MN October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and teacher

    years later, it is still my favorite

    This tool was a game changer for me... I am a professional gigging violin player and have had all sorts of trouble. No one knows how to make the instrument sound good; you never have enough control and you have to be on the same wave length with whoever is running sound to get it right, no matter what. This is the first DI I saw a violinist endorse. Got it and it is still my most bragged about piece of equipment to date for 2 and 1/2 years (and lots of my other stuff has cost more). Before this, everything sounded awful; after: heaven! Even if I go to an amp, I use this guy! I'm never without it! I'm a multi-instrumentalist and have told my blessedly understanding wife that I would take 3 or 4 of these (one for every instrument I perform on) in a heart beat... if I could justify it. Guitar/mandolin/violin/even electric violin... I swear it is an amp with no speaker! Now that I'm doing more electric violin instead of my acourstic w/a pickup, I am using the fx loop more, which is awesome. Volume boost, which is adjustable, is very adequate for an electric band, and one can tweak it off a bit for an acoustic group. Being a multi-instrumentalist, the mute is VERY important... no one needs feedback in the middle of a song from an un-used instrument. TURN IT OFF! I also love that the amp-out is different from the direct impute. it gives you more control in loud settings or practice. I sincerely feel this is the replacement for an amplifier! It is also is a GREAT pre-amp! This tool is even better than some of the instruments that I play on!... Guitar: please, it was intended for guitar... but it is so versatile that it handles everything! You still need to be in good contact with your sound guy for violin (ie. roll off the highs like crazy, but still...) Very solid metal design. If it ever broke, no one could ship a new one fast enough... sweetwater has the best chance, but we are really talking about my patience...

  • from Sierra foothulls, CA October 24, 2012Music Background:
    45 years of garage bands and folky ensembles, currently in two bands, one jamgrass, one prog-rock.

    Marvelous tone and detail

    My performance signal chain is 60s Gibson Heritage -> Baggs Dual Source transducer/condenser blend -> tuner ->Genz-Benz Shenandoah 60 - direct outs -> board.

    I LOVE the tone of my Genz Benz.

    But it weighs 40 lbs and lugging it to the rehearsal space is killing me.

    At a pound or so this baby produces AT LEAST that quality of tone and detail straight to the board, and, if anything, greater flexibility in tweaking the tone.

    I was teetering on buying the ubiquitous Para-D.I. when our mando player bought one of these to use with his Schertler PU. He didn't like that combination much but I had him try a prototype Bryan Gumsher (BG Pickups) transducer Bryan had loaned me to beta, and now he loves it. I borrowed the Venue to try it out and immediately fell in love.

    For me the configurable clean boost made the price spread over the Para-D.I. well worthwhile, eliminating the need to fiddle on the fly with the Dual Source's soundhole controls for a lead. As other have noted, the tuner is slow and imprecise. A standalone pedal tuner like the Digitech or my favorite, the 2-ch Korg Pitchblack, is vastly superior and belongs in your chain.

    i still haven't done any extended tweaking of this thing because it sounded so wonderful right out of the box but I can only imagine it will somehow get even better with some quiet time alone with the board (hard to come by at rehearsals, so I'll have to set up a day for solo tweaking).

    This might be the best gear purchase I ever made.

  • from Phoenix, AZ April 2, 2012

    Incredible DI, Great Boost, Ok Tuner

    Since I didn't buy this di specifically for the tuner, I won't count that against it. I wanted a di that sounded as good as my lr baggs para di, CHECK. I wantd a di that had a great boost feature, CHECK. It does amazing at both of those main tasks. The eq sounds phenomenal just like the para di. The tuner is very annoying to use. Even thought its accurate, it's slow and annoying live. Also sometimes, it doesn't even show up at all, and I have to unplug it just to get it to recognize the tuner. However, it's amazing at the rest of the things it's used for, and that's why I love it.

  • from Granite Falls, NC March 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    A Must-Have for Acoustic Guitarists!

    I recently purchased this DI Pedal and have been thoroughly impressed. The sound is true L.R. Baggs quality; it sound crystal clear and the EQ functions perfectly. I was probably most impressed with the tuner however. It is very accurate and easy to use, but most of all it is extremely bright- I can see it from all the way across a lit stage. I have had several comparable acoustic guitar preamp pedals such as the BBE Acoustimax and this blows them all away. You can't go wrong with L.R. Baggs!

  • from Dallas, TX February 10, 2012Music Background:
    Worship team member.

    L R Baggs Venue DI is Awesome!

    L R Baggs Venue DI is Awesome! I love being able to use the boost when I go from strumming to finger picking. So far, the battery life has been great, which was kind of a surprise.

  • from Los Angeles, CA February 25, 2015

    Best Acoustic DI on the market w/ Small Issues

    Been using the LR Baggs Venue DI consistently for a couple years now with my Gibson J-45 Standard for live performance and I have come to the conclusion that it is the best acoustic instrument DI on the market (which the price reflects). That is not to say it doesn't have its problems, but you won't find a better overall package anywhere.

    PROS
    - unique, all in one package (tuner, EQ, notch filter, ground lift, adjustable clean boost, preamp/DI)
    - top notch sound quality
    - relatively durable and road worthy

    CONS
    - Tuner is a fickle beast. At times you have to turn it on and off several times until it registers, sometimes very forcefully (stomping on the footswitch). Thankfully the lower half of the circle flashes green when it engages so you do get a visual cue when it works. I have owned two of them and they both had this same problem so it's definitely a design issue. However, it will always mute the guitar regardless of whether the tuner engages.
    - As others have mentioned, the footswitches are somewhat loud especially if you are playing in a quiet setting. This is not a problem for me at all in my full band setting but if you were switching between the boost and normal channels in a dead quiet solo performance they would be very noticeable. And if you're stomping on it to get the tuner on forget about it.

    Other than those two things though, it's basically ideal. Go ahead and get it.

  • from Columbia, SC October 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Nice Gear

    Love this peddal, especially all the components packed into one.

  • from Los Angeles January 11, 2017

    Great EQ...but...

    Built like a tank, with a convenient user interface, this parametric EQ is great. I can precisely tweak the tone of my acoustic just so. And, using the Gain control along with the boost switch, run through my Sparkle Drive, I can get respectable sustained leads. What a blast! However, the tuner is a piece of junk...a confusing indicator that gives inconsistent/inaccurate tuning results--the only reason it's not a 5-star pedal.

  • from Nashville January 14, 2016

    A "must have"

    Regardless of the type of pickup or preamp your acoustic may have, this is a must have piece of equipment. Set your onboard pre flat and use the Baggs Venue DI for all your gain & EQ settings. Very flexible unit for control and FX loop. When you can, use an AC adapter as this does not use phantom from the board and a 9v battery lasts about 4 to 5 - four hour gigs.

  • from Detroit July 9, 2015Music Background:
    34 years pro

    Venue DI

    This really helped smooth out the LR Baggs pickup in my acoustic. Great addition.

  • from Bailey, CO February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Semi-Pro Musician

    great DI

    I've had this pedal for over 5 years. It's always worked and sounded great. In comparison with other DI's, this has the bang for the buck.
    The only "issue" that I've had is with the power jack. It's solder joints have come loose 3 times since I've owned it and I've had to take the unit apart (which is a timely and meticulous chore in itself) to repair it with LR Baggs instructions.
    The third time, the lands on the circuit board by the jack were too far gone and unrepairable.
    But, because I like it so much, I have just ordered another Venue from Sweetwater.

  • from Mile High City September 30, 2014Music Background:
    40+ years pro, semi-pro.

    Great sounding DI!

    This little guy provides a very good sound and tons of flexibility. I used it on a recent gig with an acoustic bass guitar and it worked flawlessly. I much prefer to run an ABG through this thing than into my stage amp.

  • from phenix city alabama June 29, 2014Music Background:
    I play mandolin with two groups bluegrass southern rock heavy metal to much fun for old retired dude

    venue DI

    Only used it twice,learning more about it, set your sound the way you like it and send it to soundman the boost is great. Also my radius mandolin pickup sounds good very pleased with both of my purchase, my fishman loudbox want a great amp. Sweetwater will have my business great company thanks for all the help willie bob peace out

  • from Oklahoma Panhandle March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    LR Baggs Venue

    I replaced a para di with the Venue. I really like the Venue. Great EQ--lots of tone shaping ability. Love the boost function, the mute button. Love the fact it has a ground lift. The tuner works well, but it is a little quirky-takes a little getting used to but works great. The only negatives to me are the size of the unit and the ground lift does not quiet all the hum I get at my church where I use it every Sunday. Overall I am quite happy with the Venue and also like the fact you can power it with an adapter, where as the para di was battery driven only. Would recommend it.

  • from Philadelphia, PEAY October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Decent

    This is a nice acoustic DI, depending on your setup. I had the chance to compare this to a couple other DIs in the price range, and I have to say, against expectations, I actually like the Fishman Aura Spectrum better. The Aura is definitely better if your guitar has an undersaddle pickup. If you have a higher-end pickup with a microphone then the benefit of the Aura may not be realized (the Aura imaging process sounds much better with an undersaddle pickup rather than a mic). If you really want to use a microphone pickup, you could probably use the Venue or the Aura (with no imaging) and get similar results.

    One drawback that I've found for the Venue is that the audio signal is extremely compressed. I really noticed this when I recorded my guitar through the venue DI. When looking at the waveform you can see an enormous amount of compression. I've tried to find a way to change this, but I haven't found anything yet.

    Despite my preference for the Aura, I do like the Venue, and you will probably be happy with it should you choose to buy it.

  • from April 25, 2012

    LR Baggs Venue DI

    love the LR Baggs Venue DI, use it for solo acoustic gigs.
    like the tone and the feel, feedback notch filter is great.
    t

  • from San Antonio, TX June 5, 2015

    Great sound, boost pedal stuck

    I love this pedal and how it can dial in the sound of my Taylor 814ce. As a gigging musician I need reliability in the products I use. However, while the sound is great, I cannot have the boost button stop working.

    What has happened is that when I depress the boost button, it gets stuck. So if I am switching back and forth between boosted and not-boosted, I can no longer make that happen. I have had to attach my old Dunlop boost pedal to the chain after the Venue DI in order to get that boost that I need.

    So, while I love the sound, I am not especially fond of the durability of the unit. I have owned this unit for about a year.

Questions about the LR Baggs Venue DI Acoustic Preamp EQ/DI/Tuner Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway