0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

Wampler Velvet Fuzz Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Wampler Velvet Fuzz Pedal?

Questions about the Wampler Velvet Fuzz Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    This is the fuzz for people who normally don't like fuzz. I love the tonal qualities of fuzz but always found them too woofy on low notes and unclear when I played chords. The Wampler Velvet Fuzz fixes all of that. The low end is huge but controlled, but there is an openess to it that I've never found in another fuzz.

  • from Allen, TX January 27, 2017

    Sounds great.

    This fuzz is great. I didn't want a fuzz that was going to be finicky with whether buffered pedals were in front or not and if the amp was set just right. Just put this in front of a clean amp and you're in fuzz heaven. Is it this fuzz vs that fuzz? No. It's just fuzz. Don't get caught on up on what type of fuzz it's mimicking because it's not mimicking any of them. It's just fuzz!

    Love the tight switch. I run it with brightness fairly high. Surprised at how wide the gain range is. Can go from almost clean boost to extreme fuzz.

  • from So Cal August 6, 2015Music Background:
    Teacher/performer/songwriter

    Best fuzz ever

    Wampler did it right. Everything I don't like about traditional fuzz circuits is fixed in the velvet fuzz. Usable gain at all settings. Just enough wooly low end in the big setting without being muddy or overbearing.
    Sounds amazing with single coils. Hendrix? It's here. I use it through an egnater tweaker 15 and cab.
    Highly recommend!

  • from June 17, 2015

    Very Velvety

    This fuzz is just as the name implies, velvet. I typically use it on the "tight" setting, preferring the smoother sound (think David Gilmour). Recently added a few more pedals into the mix and now this one is indispensable. The others help control or shape the sound, but none of them give it that velvety smoothness. It's as rugged as my other pedals, easy to use and tweak without a lot of advanced thought ... which means more time playing and less time reading a manual. Definitely worth the price!

  • from N.Hollywood May 26, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Very Versatile Fuzz. Highly Recommended

    The Wampler crew knows how to make a Fuzz. After a month with this little guy, I have become attached....This will not leave my pedal board. Wampler pedals are becoming my new standard.

  • from Hammond, IN April 7, 2015Music Background:
    30 + years rock, blues

    Best Fuzz Ever

    Over 30 years playing rock and blues. Owned many fuzz pedals over the years and have always loved my EH Big Muff, still do. Have had the Wampler for slightly over a week and I am blown away. Most vestiile fuzz I've ever played through. I have removed my Big Muff from my main board and it now resides on a secondary board as I will still have some use for it but the Velvet is much more defined, much more versitile. Humbuckers or single coils, well defined fuzz, very focused sound and while I can get chunky sounds from it, even those are more articulate than anything else I've used. I no longer gig, I have a decent home recording studio, I mic the amps rather than depend on Pro tools or some other fake sounding software. I use Blackstar, Vox and Egnater amps and the tone that I get is incredible.

    Almost forgot, this fuzz plays well with other pedals too.

  • from OKC, OK February 27, 2015Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    BEST FUZZ I'VE HAD

    Not really much to say only that its by far the best fuzz pedal I've had a chance to use. I'm running it through a 57 reissue fender tube combo 2x12 with a wampler ego comp. very happy with the results.

  • from Beaverton, OR January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Music Background: Hobbyist, Composer, Producer, Former Performing Musician

    Great BIG fuzz tone, even with a clean amp!

    I have a Fuzz Face that I've used through my Fender Twin Reverb, but it never sounded that great, but the Wampler Velvet Fuzz sounds AMAZING! If you watch the videos from Wampler, they talk about how their intent was for players to be able to get the same kinds of sounds you'd get from a Fuzz Face pushing a big Marshall, even through a clean amp. They hit the nail on the head. The instruction sheet that accompanies the pedal includes a preset for a Hendrix-style tone and it is dang near perfect. I haven't found fuzz pedals to be very musical in the past, but the Wampler Velvet Fuzz is every bit as playable as my other drive pedals, true to Wampler form. If you're looking for a great, rich, thick fuzz tone like Eric Johnson, Jimi Hendrix, or David Gilmour, look no further and order the Velvet Fuzz today!

  • from Palisades Park, NJ August 27, 2014Music Background:
    40 year adventure in six string bending

    Fuzzalicious with sharp teeth!

    Velvety smooth fluctuations of creamy fuzz goodness wrapped up in one fine package. At this point I am sold on Wampler and my board will eventually be covered with Wampler pedals.

  • from Viera, FL July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tone, Easy Use & Quality Components

    I have been on a bit of a GAS binge and have invested in about 15 pedals this year. My goal was to create a great pedalboard where I could easily swap out pedals and get any tone I desired. Using almost all Wampler pedals, I achieved my goal.

    One of the core pedals needed by any blues or rock enthusiasts is a Fuzz. The Wampler Velvet delivers and then some. You get an amazing EL-34 tone with traditional fuzz and then flip it to the fat switch and you get rockin rhythm tones. The pedal responds very well to your guitars volume control.

  • from Louisville, KY March 25, 2014Music Background:
    50 + years playing electric guitar

    The Fuzz I've Waited For

    I've used a number of Fuzzes through the years, but the Velvet Fuzz is what I've dreamed about. It plays nice with other pedals, is VERY tweakable/versatile, and nails that Marshall & Fuzz tone I craved. Different Fuzzes for different folks, but this is a fuzz I actually use a lot. Check out various videos and see if the Velvet has the tone(s) you've been looking for.

  • from New York March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/Artist/Multi Instrumentalist/Recording Engineer/Singer/etc

    Fuzz you can count on

    My favorite Fuzz Pedal since 2001 has been the original London Fuzz by MJM. It has a very "Old School" tone to it, but it can, like all fuzz pedals get noisy and finicky depending on the application. I just got in early 2014, the Wampler Velvet Fuzz pedal, because I had researched it and felt it was time after many years to try a new fuzz. I was blown away when I plugged into my new Vintage Sound (Princeton style 20 watt with 12' speaker) and heard the sweet full rich sound of the Velvet! I could not believe how smooth and sustaining this fuzz pedal was and this was on the "Tight" setting which is thinner than the "Fat" setting, but has all the depth of a full range fuzz with less bass. Eric Johnson lead tones are in this box and I was thrilled to hear how easy it was to get familiar and comfortable with this Velvet Fuzz! This is my go to fuzz now. I seem to use the "Tight" setting more than the "Fat" , which surprised me. I found about everything I could want in a fuzz pedal in this Wampler Velvet! Simply an organic sounding and deep fuzz producing, awesome Fuzz Pedal! Highly recommended to the serious musician!

  • from West Lafayette, IN February 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pedal Connoisseur

    Instant Classic

    If Mr. Wampler has constructed it, you can bet that it's going to put a smile on your face. This pedal may be used for thick solos ("Big" mode) or for a fuzzy cloak for general riffing and noodling ("Tight" mode). This pedal sounds fantastic coupled with just about any other pedal, AND it is extremely responsive to the tone and volume controls on your guitar. Importantly, a turn of any of the three knobs yields a noticeable tonal difference. If you're looking to add something to your arsenal that represents versatility and rockability, you can't go wrong with this one. One "complaint" is the switch. It might be more user-friendly as a button. That's why you should buy two.

  • from Muncie IN. U.S.A. October 28, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Fuzz Nirvana

    This has to be one of the greatest fuzz pedals EVER MADE, transparent enough that you can tell if your running a LP or a Tele through it, but soooo musical. Killer harmonics, great honk, and that beautiful doubled, syrup sounding violin like lead tone, thats as close to Eric Johnson as any pedal I've ever heard. I've known of Brian Wampler, from way back when he did pedal mods, on other peoples pedals, he's always been a gear geek, just like the rest of us. Build quality and components are second to NONE, and this pedal, will inspire you, with the sounds you can pull from it. Try doing what I did and run this thing between two OD pedals, it sounds awesome being pushed, or pulled, you'll love it. I really am Blown Away by this pedal, I own 3 Wampler pedals, ALL are AWESOME.

  • from Painesville Ohio October 5, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Impressed

    Got the pedal directly from the Wampler website, but wanted to post review here. My first Wampler pedal; after getting the Velvet Fuzz I plan on getting more. This pedal is fantastic, smooth, thick and velvety. I love the tight setting, sounds like a mix of distortion and fuzz(thick).The big setting is nice, it can take the paint off the walls if needed. Definitely has the vintage sound about it. I would recommend to anyone.

  • from CT June 27, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    A Reliable and Smooth Fuzz!

    My favorite fuzz pedals thus far have been The JHS Pollinator, MJM London Germanium and an old Vintage Maestro FZ1 Fuzz. I love those pedals but as usual with most vintage spec fuzzes they get can very unreliable in delivering a consistent tone. The Wampler Velvet fuzz is almost perfect. It delivers consistent and thick fuzz the same way every time. I have used it through both the clean and dirty channels of my Friedman BE100 as well as Fender Super Champ. I love the BIG setting for huge and fat fuzz. This pedal sounds like a Big Muff with smoother highs and deeper bass. I feel it really shines in it's darker fuzz tones. You can get Eric Johnson and David Gilmour tones with this pedal easily. I prefer older fuzz boxes for brighter fuzz tones, but this pedal does the dark thick tones very well. My only complaints are that it can be a bit bass heavy and could use a bit more mids, it is a fairly scooped sounding fuzz. It is also a bit boring looking. It would be cooler if it were a different color, or more old school looking. Overall a great pedal for a reliable and darker fuzz tone but it wont completely replace my other more vintage flavored fuzzes.

  • from San Juan Bautista, CA February 20, 2015

    Very appealing fuzz tone...

    Very happy with this pedal...

  • from san diego ša January 8, 2014Music Background:
    pro tour studio etc..

    amazing

    i will explain why this is not a 5 star later. I have been playing guitar as a pro for over 30 yrs, had alot of pedals and , aloft of fuzzes. I could never find a fuzz that was truly thick and creamy tone wise, they all had to much edge .Enter the velvet fuzz. Just outstanding from a great od to massive gain thick but musical fuzz .The only reason this is not a 5 star is there is no way to foot switch between the tight and massive fuzz tones . If this was a two button pedal it would be a 10 !! truly an amazing pedal

  • from Tennessee August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and Gearhead

    Great Fuzz Pedal!

    I have many fuzz pedals but this one stands out in that it's sound does not change drastically from amp to amp. It even sounds great through transistor and modeling amps.

Questions about the Wampler Velvet Fuzz Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway