0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Seymour Duncan Vapor Trail Analog Delay Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan Vapor Trail Analog Delay Pedal?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan Vapor Trail Analog Delay Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ypsilanti, Mi December 11, 2016

    Far ecceeds expectations

    I told my sales associate what I was looking for and he suggested I concider the Vapor Trail. It was very good advice. I tried the MXR and a couple others prebiously, but the Seymour Duncan is quiet and smooth in comparison. It has feature I've not explored yet but I'm looking forward to experimenting.

  • from California May 25, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist (occasional gigging)

    One of the best pedals ever

    This pedal is fantastic. I love everything about it, the design is very attractive, the build feels superb, and the sound is nothing short of heavenly. This is the second Seymour Duncan product that I have purchased (the first was a JB Jr.) and both have lived up to SD's reputation for great products with just flawless attention to detail.

    While it really doesn't make any difference in tone, let's be honest, looks matter; and this pedal looks SHARP. The combination of the blue lights' color matching perfectly with the very well-done graphics and the very cool aluminum looking outer casing make for a pedal that will definitely add some style to your board.

    The delays are warm, harmonically rich, with a very pleasant decay as they repeat and combined with the modulation circuit they produce a wonderful blooming, full sound that can even make a tiny 1x8 Fender mustang sound like an amp two or three times the power and size. The warmth provided by this pedal really helps when dealing with solid state amps that tend to be very brittle sounding and really helps modeling amps to sound much much closer to tubes. I have not really liked delay pedals before (particularly digital ones) because to me they sounded just like a stuck record with a very sterile and flat tone to them. The Vapor Trail sounds much less like a broken record and more like a real echo as if your amp was in a cave. This sounds (at least to me) much more pleasing to the ear and really puts new life into any kind of tone you may be working with.

    The controls are intuitive, feel great and strike the perfect balance between range of effect and sensitivity. If I had one wish for this pedal I wish there were a dedicated on/off switch for the modulation, but turning down the rate and depth gets pretty much the same thing so it's not a very big complaint.

    To low-budget pedal buyers like me this may seem like a lot of money, but by analog delay standards this is actually very reasonably priced (especially for ones made in the US) and considering what you are getting it is a very good deal.

    Seriously, this pedal is definitely worth a try no matter what kind of music you play. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed.

  • from January 4, 2016

    seymour duncan delay pedal

    Great service and a fantastic delay pedal, very lush and musical.

  • from Chicago Area August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter, Working Musician, recording artist, small studio owner, producer.

    Silky Smooth

    Very silky, & sexy. Sound is deep but clean.

    Lots of bells and whistles but when it comes down to it this is great for a set it and forget it performance delay as well.

    I especially like that it lights up and strobes the timing of the delay. Great for dark stages.

    TWO THUMBS UP SEYMOUR DUNCAN!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 6, 2014

    Vapor Trail Delay Pedal

    This is soooooo smooth. The analog Bucket Brigade decays with such a smooth natural roll off it blows any digital imitation I have heard. Sometimes backwards is good like tube amps. If you like the sound of analog this is the unit to get. The built in modulation can add a touch of richness t the delay if used discreetly. I am a fan of True Bypass as I worked hard to get the sound out of my guitar that I was looking and when I don't want the delay on I don't want any of its' circuitry influencing my guitar. This avoids the loss of those nice high harmonic bell tones I took so much effort to bring out in my guitar. This unit is definitely a home run boys. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • from Albuquerque July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome!

    Great pedal does exactly what I wanted , very happy !

  • from Spring Hill, TN June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Consistent Quality Service with Superb Tools Equals Awesome!

    Never purchased any item there that I was pressured into buying. Always been advised of the pros and cons of the item and if I were to ask I would be informed of another item that would better fit my needs. Once I bought a Avid Rack Eleven and found it was a piece of equipment that was far beyond my experience level and I was refunded the purchase price with no problem what-so-ever! That's awesome. Fast shipping, quality service with knowledgeable staff, can't beat it in my book.

  • from United States June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro musician with 20 years of experience

    EXACTLY what I've been looking for for YEARS

    Seymour Duncan got this pedal right. REALLY RIGHT!

    Let me start by saying that I am a massive tone snob who has been through countless analog delays in search of the perfect combination of tone and features. I've tried (and used for many years) the biggest names in analog delay. I had the EHX flagship Deluxe Memory Man on my board for quite some time. I have also played through the diminutive (and widely panned, but really not that bad at all) Memory Toy. I've gone through the seriously overrated (but still quite good) MXR Carbon Copy, Malekko Ekko 616, Maxon/Ibanez AD9, Way Huge Supa Puss, Way Huge Echo Puss, and I even dabbled in digital delay with a Flashback X4 (which is a good multi-purpose delay, but the analog mode does NOT sound like a true analog delay). To make a long story short - I had some kind of issue with ALL of the above that caused me to keep searching for the RIGHT delay for ME. The DMM sounded great, but when use in an effects loop, it's always a battle between the "gain" knob and the "blend" knob to get the level right. The Supa Puss also sounded good, but it had a horrible volume drop when used in an effects loop. The Carbon Copy's repeats sounded good, but it changed my dry sound too much when engaged. The Malekko was pretty close to what I wanted, but the repeats were a bit too gritty when played over a clean tone (sounded great for leads, though).

    The SD Vapor Trail has NONE of those issues. Zero volume drop. Zero impact on dry signal. Sounds awesome on both clean and overdriven tones. Repeats don't get overly Lo-Fi at the maximum delay setting (like they do on a DMM) - they just get a bit darker. The tone of the repeats is very warm and clean. It's definitely darker than my Deluxe Memory Man - but much cleaner than my Deluxe Memory Boy. No fuzziness on the repeats (but you can make them that way if you use the built-in effects loop feature). The "mix" knob functions EXACTLY like it should. You can easily dial in just a subtle amount of delay, all the way up to repeats that are louder than the dry signal. I cannot overstate just how important the mix knob is to the usability of a pedal...and SO MANY manufacturers get it terribly wrong. On this pedal (as it should on ALL pedals, IMHO) the mix knob controls the volume of the repeats ONLY with ZERO impact on the volume or tone of your dry signal (unlike EHX delays). Thank you, Seymour Duncan! FINALLY somebody got that right! Having the modulation controls on top of the unit is also great, and the modulation in this unit sounds quite good, indeed. The "delay" knob houses a blinking LED that pulses to the tempo of the delay. This is handy in a live situation so you can see the tempo before engaging the effect.

    All of that adds up to one hell of an analog delay pedal. It's quite obvious that Seymour Duncan really did their homework when they designed this thing. The Vapor Trail is hands-down the best compact (and for my purposes, the best overall) analog delay on the market today. It's absolutely fantastic.

  • from Laguna Niguel, CA May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Serious guitar player though far from famous!

    Seymour Duncan Analog Vapor Trail Delay

    Very responsive and easy to adjust. I can make it sound exactly as good as the demo video! The bucket brigade sounds are spectacular .

  • from April 7, 2014Music Background:
    15 Years being hobbiest musician

    AMAZING

    I've always loved SD pickups, so I decide to trust them and purchase this pedal. It is one of the best sounding delay pedals I've ever hear. Not so expensive, pure analog, nice features and SD quality.

    What do you expect, it is a SD!!!

  • from NY November 26, 2016

    I'm Pleased

    Excels at doing everything I want an analog delay to do and then some. Being able to see the delay time via blinking LED is incredibly useful. the only reason I'm not giving the full 5 is after playing with the two modulation controls a while I realized they don't really do all that much. I passed on a Malekko 616 because the modulation controls did too much. I'll happily settle for subtlety, though. The stereo/fx loop jack seems cool but I haven't really gotten to play with it that much. My only other wish is that the in/out jacks weren't on the top.

  • from Austin August 15, 2016Music Background:
    Church Lead Guitar

    Recommend 18v Power Supply

    Really love the sound of this pedal. If it had a tap, would be perfect. However, with a digital brain controlling analog chips, it think something happens with a normal 9v power supply that starves the process and allows a lot of clipping - where you end up with very dirty repeats - especially with hotter pickups or playing with a boost like the Tone Job or RYRA Klone.

    Anyway. Got a Dunlap 18v power supply yesterday, rushed home, plugged it in: problem fixed. Beautiful lush tones without the clipping/dirty repeats.

  • from Durham NC December 4, 2015

    Vapor TrailPal

    This pedal allows me really add some great elays to my sound.

  • from Rhode Island November 21, 2015Music Background:
    Music and Visual Artist

    Vapor Trail Analog Delay Pedal

    If you're looking for a good Delay Pedal, then you'll be happy with this one. However, I do use a Roland EV5 Pedal to create the wet mix. The two pedals compliment each other very well. Disengage the EV5 Pedal (toe up) and you have a very dry mix that doesn't have the "intensity" of the wet mix. But, placing the two pedals together will give you that "Vapor Trail" effect.

  • from Petersburg, IL May 18, 2015Music Background:
    30+ years weekend warrior

    Great Sounding Delay

    I have used many delay pedals in my 30+ years of gigging. I'm a pedal minimalist, so when I purchase a pedal I look for great sound, ease of use, and stage friendliness. The Vapor Trail seemed to fit that bill and the reviews convinced me to buy it.

    Physical Features:
    I love the small size and easy to use controls. I don't need to have settings for BPM, milliseconds or quarter/eighth notes. I appreciate tap tempo (which the Vapor Trail doesn't have), BUT...the flashing LED is awesome. It's so easy to visually set it to the drummer's tempo if I'm really concerned about being perfect. I also love that the input/output and power supply jacks are on the front. For me it makes it easier to fit on my pedal board. I will probably never use the insert jack on the side.

    Sound Quality
    I'm not one of those experimental guitarists that go for freaky sound effects; I want a simple delay that fattens up my solos and can be used for a few other things. I don't care much for the rate or depth controls, but I can see how some guitarists will utilize them. When I plugged this pedal into my rig for the first time I was taken aback at how natural the delays sound on my clean channel. The delays just "fit" and didn't pull my ear. In fact, when I bypassed the delay the amp sounded dull and lifeless.

    I'm currently running the delay between my guitar and amp as the last effect in my chain. I'm doing this because my amp effects loop has some noise issues that I need to get repaired. I did try the pedal in my effects loop as well as before the amp and it sounded exactly the same. One thing I'm not crazy about is that with distortion engaged, the distorted delays don't sound as natural. They have a bit of a phase tone to them. This happened whether I was running the pedal before my amp or in the loop. However, during my live performance it wasn't bothersome. Heck, this is one of the only delay pedals I've ever used that I could leave it on and it didn't cause a bunch of delay mayhem with the song. Like I said earlier...the sound of this pedal "just fits".

    I love it.

  • from Frisco, TX November 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great sounding delay at great price

    Bought this to replace my Boss DD3 delay. I like it better because the Vapor Trail does not affect the guitar tone like the Boss does when off (true bypass), and the delay sounds is more natural. The modulation effect is subtle but I like it that way. Overall very satisfied.

  • from Milledgeville, Ga April 14, 2014Music Background:
    musician, producer, sound engineer

    does its job well

    Does job. Great and depth with all controls.
    Love the extra exterior knobs adjustments. Sounds great. Makes me happy.

  • from Ny March 20, 2016Music Background:
    Local bands

    Old school delay

    A great analog delay pedal.
    Easy to set your desired sound.
    No digital processing noise.
    Plays well w/ others.
    Sweet metallic w/clear coat finish.
    Warm fluid clear repeats.
    Sounds very good.
    My style: blues rock....hard rock....rockabilly.... Jazzy cleans....funk.
    Priced a lttle more but boutique tone's.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan Vapor Trail Analog Delay Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway