rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Peavey ValveKing 112 Combo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • Bruce Tomlinson
    from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 16046 September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Not a pro. But I have loved to play for the last 47 years.

    Peavey ValveKing 112 Combo

    and B. I have been playing through a Marshall 75 watt transister amp for 25 years or so and this amp completely blows it away with it's tone and volume. I would recomend this amp to anyone who needs a great amp at a fantastic price. I would like to buy an extension speaker cab for this amp in the future. Until then, I have all the amp I need!

  • Nathan Kawa
    from North Carolina March 30, 2011Music Background:
    28 years of playing guitar, writing and recording, active with a Worship Team.

    Great Amp for the Money!

    I am very familiar with Peavey amplification. Since the 1980's I have owned or used a Chorus 212, VTM 120, Ultra 60, Delta Blues 210, a Windsor Studio, Classic 30 and now this Valveking 112. Peavey has done it again! I am able to get great tones from both the clean and distortion sides of this amp. Like all amps, you gotta play with them a bit to dial in your tone. This one does it all. From smooth Jazz to Hard Rock especially 80's style rock sound. This is not a heavy metal amp but possibly could be with the right distortion pedal. This Valveking 112 is great. 2 channels with a lead boost function, 3 band eq for each channel, reverb, texture control dial, brightness and resonance switches, 3 12 ax7's and 2 6L6GC's need I say more? Oh yeah there is one more thing: YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER ALL AROUND AMP FOR THIS PRICE. And get it from Sweetwater for the best service! You have to hear it to believe it.

  • Steve
    from Upstate, NY September 26, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Amp!

    When I set out to buy a new amp recently, I tried allot of different makes and sizes. Being that I am not in a band at the moment, I decided a 50 watt combo would more than suit my needs. After trying them all just about, I settled on the Valveking 112. It was a great choice for many reasons. First off, the value. Where else can you find an all tube guitar amp for under 500 dollars. Secondly, the sound from this amp is just awesome. It has just the right amounts of gain for me, probably not for metal heads though. The clean channel is, dare I say, Fenderesque! I did change my speaker to an Eminence Texas Heat, largely because I like a little more low end thud in my tone. The amp was terrific with the stock speaker, but the Eminence elevated it to the next level. All I can say is, this is a wonderful amp. If I ever play in a band again, I will get the 212 or even the half stack. Peavey makes great gear, you do not have to break the bank for a great amp. Buy it, you will not regret it!

  • Tom Tackett
    from Tulsa, OK March 3, 2009Music Background:
    hobbyist for 20+ years

    awesome tone

    My daughter's boyfriend plays in the band at church, and we often jam together. He has this amp and I'm saving up for mine! If you are all about tone, but you can't afford a $3k stack, then this is your amp. Rock solid construction and no fluff. Sounds great for anything from crying blues all the way to harmonically saturated metal.

  • Bruce Tomlinson
    from Pittsburgh, PA 16046 September 25, 2012Music Background:
    47 years of hobbiest guitar playing.

    Peavey Valve King 112 Combo

    I really like my ValveKing 112 combo. It can get really loud. The clean channel sounds good with my strat, les paul, and G& L legend guitars. Channel two gets some good chunky tones and the boost switch is like having a third channel. It kicks a**!
    The drawbacks are the amp is kind of noisy, even without an instrument plugged in. And why would they put the effects loop on the front of the amp and the texture knob on the back? Kind of funky.
    All in all though I think it's a nice amp. It's definately not the best I've used. I've played through a Marshall 112 combo for the last 20 years and I like this amp better, if it wasn't for the noise.
    Maybe with a tube upgrade the amp would be quieter.

  • John Mayer
    from New York March 9, 2009Music Background:
    Pro-Musician

    Very Nice Amp!

    This amp has great tome a ample volume. I use it miked for recording, but it is loud enough for a small gig and any practice session. The clean side is bright and clean while the lead side has a gain knob and boost button to deliver nice distortion. I play mostly country and blues and the amp sounds just as good as any of my Fender tube amps. You can't beat the price either.

  • pastorkev
    from lapeer, mi October 13, 2008Music Background:
    mid level musicion , hobbyist, tone perfectionist

    A great value and good sounding amp

    Well the peavey valveking 112 is a great amp. I didn't purchase it from sweetwater. But I know well how nice and knoledgeable their staff is! But the amp is versitile and of good quality. The amp is guitar picky. This will not sound good with every guitar you own. But that is true for alot of other amps. But this item is recomended by me for a good sound that is easily impeovable. With sovtek 6l6wxt+'s and tungsol 12ax7's this is a screaming amp. The speaker should be switched out with a warehouse retro 30. This is a great improvement if desired. This is a higher gain more rocking tone! But this amp eq's weakly because of the preamp tubes. But this is on your opinion of your desired tone. This a is great amp that with a little inovations is a amazing amp. I know it is quality by sound, structure, and materials. This is a amp thaat will last a long time in the right hands. Ive had it a year and its given no problems. I play every genre except rap, country, and screamo. I use this amp as my hard rock/ metal amp it handles well but im looking forward to my upgrade. I use a les paul copy and a custom strat like guitar. No effects. Reverb sounds good. Buy this for versitility and value!

  • Frank
    from Maryland, USA July 11, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Good for the price

    I've had this amp for a few years now. It was a good investment. It has a great tone, works well for bedroom practice but is really LOUD when cranked and can hold its own in band rehearsal or gigs. The reverb sounds good.

    The only problems I've had are that the input jacks are made of plastic, and one broke off; so the hardware isn't top-notch. The other thing is that the A/B knob on the back is very nuanced, and I can't tell a heck of a lot of difference either way. But that's just me.

    So, I would recommend this amp. A lot of great tone for the price, just be careful with the input jacks.

  • Vladimir Richter
    from Port Coquitlam B.C. October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not bad for the money

    Little slow to warm up . Not bad sound and features. Price is right.Some problem with foot switch connector .

  • Chaz Davis
    from girard, oh usa July 19, 2011Music Background:
    musician

    peavey valveking 112

    i used this amp for about a year the and the clean channel works fine the distortion quit working on it got it checked out and its NOT a pre amp tube. the sound of the amp was good ill give them that but if your going to spend 400 on an amp i wouldent recomend this amp if this problem happens to you your going to spend 200 dollars getting it fixed or you can buy a pedal

Questions about the Peavey ValveKing 112 Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway