0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Slate Digital VTM Virtual Tape Machines Plug-in (boxed - includes iLok2) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Slate Digital VTM Virtual Tape Machines Plug-in (boxed - includes iLok2)?

Questions about the Slate Digital VTM Virtual Tape Machines Plug-in (boxed - includes iLok2)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Longview, TX November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Engineer, Producer, Songwriter, Band Member

    Absoltely Incredible!

    I first want to say that the Steven Slate Virtual Tape Machine is AWESOME!
    When I first asserted the plugin to a project I had already started, the mucic sounded very thick with no eq color because the prior eq settings I was using were set before the VTM was applied. AS I began to raise the eq levels the the tape saturation came to life! And the music just kicked butt!
    Usually in the digital realm alone, eq adjustments don't do much to enhance the music, But with the VTM the eq's all sound natural and breath even more life into your mixes!
    I bought the boxed version because it included the iLok2. And it was a breeze installing it. Trust me,.....get this software, as it will not only bring life into your music, it will bring new life into "you" as an artist.
    My music is now FAT, Thick, and no matter what you do to EQ it it sounds excellent. You'll never be the same without it.
    That being said,...the specs say that the VTM is only compatible with Windows 7, (WRONG),.....I use Windows XP 32 bit with Pro Tools 7 LE and it runs as smooth as butter! NO ISSUES!
    If you want your mixes to sound somewhat good, then don't use the Steven Slate VTM, but if you want them to sound GREAT, then buy it! You "will not" regret it. Just remember to adjust your existing eq settings from what they were to bring out the punch, and excellence in the VTM! It is awesome! Finally,.......I am enjoying recording again, and have the ultimate confidence that it will kick A** in the end!
    The $199 price tag on this VTM is worth thousands of dollars in my opinion. Reel to Reel recorders now belongs either in the dumpster or a museum, for sure.

  • from boston,ma usa April 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    just amazing

    this product is awesome , use it in all my mixes , i'm getting that big warm sound at home studio now thank you Slate Digital

  • from Nashville November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Produce Music for TV/Film.

    Virtual Tape Machines is the 'Reel' Deal!

    If you want to add tape compression and coloration to your tracks this is definitely the way to go. Way to go Slate Digital!

  • from Texas August 23, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Arranger, Producer

    End of the Hunt

    In 1975 I was trained on a 16 track MCI recorder and desk. Ampex 465 tape was introduced, too. After the onset of the digital revolution (and my participation in it) I missed that sound we got from tape...I always found myself "chasing" it, but with little success.

    The Slate VTM has ended that hunt for me. You can really 'hear' it. Thanks, so much guys!

  • from NH August 7, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio Guru, (just like you...)

    subtle magic...

    Ok, here's my two pennies worth. If you are looking for a plugin that will turn a lousy sounding track into a good one, forget it. If you want a plugin that will turn a mix from mush to plush, stop wasting your time. Plugins that promise the sun and moon only deliver a lighter wallet. This plugin, however, does deliver but it is very subtle. Simply put, it takes the "edge" off of digitally recorded sounds.
    When you record a sound source into the digital domain, (i.e., your computer), all the the frequencies are recorded. Then, when you compress, eq, and amplify those signals, all of the freqs are effected. Many of these freqs are "harsh", especially the high mids and the highs. Others are lacking the "warm" or "natural" sound of the original, like the low midrange freqs. So, here's what this plugin gives you, the subtle "warmth" on the lower frees, and a gentle smoothing of the higher ones. You really have to crank this this up to hear what it is doing, and if do that you have cranked it too high. It is not supposed to make your mixes sound more polished, it is supposed to make them sound more "real".
    I can't explain it any better than that. I will only add that this plugin helps to give your mix the sound that everyone, (rightly), says is missing from digital recordings. This plugin does not quite match the sound you would get if you recorded on tape, but it comes very, very, very close. The reasonable cost of this plugin makes it an excellent value, and if you are recording anything with vocals or acoustic instruments this plugin is basically a must have tool. I hope this short story helped, happy mixing..!

  • from United States July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording engineer

    Slate VTM is amazing!

    Well, I was already using the Waves Kramer tape on my tracks and it really works great, however, I wanted something a little different. So, instead of going with Universal Audio tape plugins, I decided on this Slate VTM. Wow ! Definitely good and different (in an awesome way)! compared to Kramer tape, It has a much SMOOTHER feel to it. Kramer is not better or worse, just different. They both sound amazing, but the Slate is much smoother and not so drastic. Sounds very authentic! Thanks Sweetwater and Slate! A+++

  • from CT, USA. July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Live / recording

    Great addition!

    Gives a great warmth to the overall sound or just individual tracks. Easy to use and adds depth to the bass end.

  • from Plumas Lake, CA USA December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Beat Maker

    This Rocks!!!!!

    The sound this vst produces really is on point. A must have for the money.

  • from Nashville, TN November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer / Producer / Audio Instructor

    Huge!

    I've been working professionally in Nashville for nearly a decade, so I've worked on some beautiful analog gear. But like everyone else, I need the ability to mix a "big" sounding record in my house as well. This made all the difference on a live project I just mixed. I slapped it across all my sub-mixes (2"), and then on my Master as well (1/2"), and mixed faster with it up. When closing the mix, I A/B'd with and without it, and the mix didn't fall apart without it, which told me it's not changing or overhyping what goes in. But the mix went from 2-dimensional to extremely life-like when engaged. I got to meet Steven at a demonstration here in Nashville, and I love that this plug-in has such a passionate driving force behind it. Couldn't be happier with this purchase!

    My only complaint so far is that the most recent update added a TON of tape hiss. To the point that I uninstalled and went back to the previous version, but I have complete faith that they'll make it right.

Questions about the Slate Digital VTM Virtual Tape Machines Plug-in (boxed - includes iLok2)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway