0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

TC-Helicon VoiceTone E1 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone E1?

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone E1?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New York December 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's a great piece of equipment , it would be great if it would also have a direct auxiliary output to match a direct auxiliary input of an amp besides the mic input only.

    I enjoy it very much thanks.

  • from Austin, TX December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Way Cool!

    This vocal pedal rules, perfect analog delay! I just need to figure out how to avoid feedback from the PA when using it. It's very easy to use & sounds perfecto!

  • from Chicago November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician 25 years

    Great Pedal

    So simple.....I was going to get a big rack digital to only use 2 or 3 echos....this pedal does it all and very clean...

  • from Louisiana October 16, 2012Music Background:
    keyboardist/vocalist

    Just What I wanted

    This unit is just what I wanted to bring great dynamics to my vocal performances. It is a great deal for the money and it is user friendly too. If you are looking for a way to make your vocals more dynamic this is just what you want. Great price and great value for the price. As always, thanks Steven Chamoun for recommending a great product.

  • from Idaho, USA July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Just what I needed for simple vocal delay

    The TC-Helicon E1 is a very handy unit. I use it along with the D1. The repeats are not excessively colored and the stock settings are useful for general use but the tap is a fantastic feature to have when different delay settings are required for specific songs. I use this in live shows with my Pink Floyd tribute.

  • from Indiana May 16, 2013Music Background:
    46 years of rock and roll.

    TC-Helicon VoiceTone E1

    Great pedal for vocalists. Now I have control over the echo I want and when I want it.

  • from The Earth February 2, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer/Songwriter/Pro musician

    TC- Helicon E1

    I have my E1 vts chained to my R1 vts....Awesome Quality for the price of the units. My review is supposed to be about the E1, but if your going to get the E1 for stage or studio do yourself a favor and get the R1 too. (they excell together)They have made a definate difference in my vocals (like instant gradification in sound) These units are high quality and they sound awesome if you've been engineering for a while and know how to "get right to the matter" but wait...there's more!! They're simple to operate and sound great right out of the box too! I plan to add the C1 and the D1 to my rig soon. Tyler Moore........you're the best!

  • from OR December 24, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician; recording and live sound engineer

    Maybe mine is just a lemon...

    I've had good experiences with TC Helicon gear in the past, so I jumped on this little unit when I wanted a simple vocal delay that would help settle my vocals into a live mix and give them a little more flash. It seemed like a great idea, because I didn't need anything else like harmonies, pitch correction, reverb, compression, etc. that you are paying for with a more expensive unit.
    This thing appears to be of decently rugged construction, and it sounds fine (the "Analog" button, which applies a HF roll-off to the delay signal, is a really nice touch). But mine doesn't function consistently.

    Problem #1: The delay time usually doesn't match what is selected on the first knob. For example, tapping the tempo is supposed to set the quarter-note time, but selecting quarter notes on the knob produces a delay at twice the tempo I tapped-- an eighth-note delay, in other words. I move the knob to the eighth-note setting, and nothing changes. This problem is inconsistent; twisting the knob back and forth a couple of times and then turning it counter-clockwise back to the quarter-note setting will correct the problem about 20% of the time. I usually don't bother. I just tap my tempo in half-notes instead.

    Problem #2: The unit will occasionally "lock up" and I'll lose the ability to tap tempos at all-- holding the button down simply toggles the bypass on and off as though I had stepped on it normally. It stays like this until I unplug the unit for several seconds and plug it pack in. Since doing so produces a loud pop in the signal line, this is not an option onstage. I just have to turn the unit off or deal with a delay set to the wrong tempo.

    Problem #3: The Feedback and Mix knobs have virtually no resistance and spin freely with almost no effort. I move around on stage a lot with my mic in hand, and simply being accidentally brushed by my cable is enough to severely tweak these knobs. More than once in rehearsal and on stage, I have suddenly found myself with either no delay at all, or (much worse) no direct signal and near-infinite delay feedback. Because the input jack is on the back of the unit and I'm in front of it, the cable is constantly at risk of being pulled across the knobs. If I flip the unit the other way so that the input jack is facing me, I can't tap tempos without stomping on the knobs. This problem would be nonexistent if the knobs were stiffer.

    I really wanted to like this unit, but I feel that I didn't get my money's worth. It feels more like a toy than a serious tool at this point. I'd rather overpay for my delay by buying something with a bunch of features I don't need if it means that the thing will actually work the way it's supposed to.

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone E1?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway