0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

TC-Helicon VoiceTone D1 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone D1?

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone D1?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Mark
    from Michiana January 17, 2017

    TC Helicon VoiceTone D-1

    TC makes some great products and this is another one. The vocal blending in the loose and tight settings are very good. The other settings are of good quality just very specific on the usage. The only down side of this effect pedal is the shout mode setting, will probably never use it.
    My Sweetwater sales engineer Matt, awesome as usual with a quick and accurate overview of the pedal functions.

  • Robert
    from Yucca Valley December 31, 2016

    It's amazing.

    It's really a must have pedal. Since the Beatles were recording, doublers have been making their way into our music. Almost all our favorite classic rock and pop tunes use some kind of doubling effect on the vocals.
    This pedal nails the last 50 years of vocal doubling we've been enjoying. The trick is to use it correctly, and it is a trick, because it's real real easy to go overboard with the effect. The Wet/Dry knob has a notch at 12 o'clock that makes most people think that this must be the normal spot to place the knob. Well, it isn't. That's WAY too wet, unless you are trying to sound weird. The idea is to use just a tiny bit. And it's amazing what a tiny bit of doubling will do to improve your vocals. It's why we bought five of these things. The trick is to not use too much effect.
    Seriously, keep the knob well under the nine o'clock position. You won't even notice you have the thing on, but your audience will be super impressed with your vocals, and they won't know why.
    Doubling is truly the secret to great vocals. And that includes using the doubling effect correctly. Like salt on your French Fries, you have to use just the right amount, but boy what a difference it makes if you get it right!

    I can't give this 5 stars because it is tricky to use properly and it's actually pretty fragile. We've had two break already.
    The octave settings are useless unless you want to sound weird, and I', sure some people do.
    We leave this pedal on all night and keep it by the mixing board, but you could also use it as a harmonizer for your choruses. It could be very handy in that regard if you lack backup singers.

  • Customer
    from June 7, 2016

    keysdoc

    A very good box. We bought 2, actually. We use it to add fullness to certain vocal parts, both back up and lead. Extremely easy to use. Haven't had it very long, so still experimenting with it. Interesting and fun.

  • Frank
    from New Jersey May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Lead guitar/vocals

    Tc helicon D1

    This unit does a great job with harmonies and voice doubling. It operates exactly as described . I would just caution anyone not familiar w this type of unit to stay light on the overall effect and not push the dry/wet setting . This unit really beefs up your vocals if used correctly! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • Jeff Kratochvil
    from Racine Wisconsin January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet !!!!!

    I bought this mainly for recording. Doubling effects on vocals really sound well when properly used in the recording studio. For this purpose this unit was excellent !!! But the I bought it to one of our band practices and everyone was blow away !! This unit filled out vocals great !!! We only have 2 singers and I used this primarily in the chorus part of the songs and it filled in superb !! I also use it in conjunction with the TC Harmony pedal when recording and again it is great Next I am going to try a guitar through it to see how it sounds. You can't go wrong with this product.

  • Billy Prewitt
    from Chicago January 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Blues Musician for 30 years.

    Nice Effect

    Very clean sound just like the $2000 rack mounts. I pretty much doubles the sound but makes it a little thicker. I use it with the Hslicon delay and that is all you need for a professional vocal effect.

  • Rob Spence
    from Idaho, USA July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Nicely thickens my vocals

    I have been a fan of TC-Helicon for about 5 years. The Voice Tone D1 does a nice job with thickening vocals, either subtly or dramatically, depending on your needs. I also have used the octave doubling feature occasionally when I played dance bars. I would use the octave up when performing "Save a Horse" and my drummer would mute his mic and lip-synch along with nobody ever realizing it! I use the thickening feature for Roger Waters lyrics in my Pink Floyd tribute band. Well worth the money.

  • clark
    from San Diego, CA February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician

    Decent

    It does as advertised, and you can DEFINITELY achieve some cool effects and doubling with this pedal. The problem for me, was that it really "robot"'ed out your voice, even when the knob was set almost competely to dry. I dont think the chips or alhorithims they used were top notch, however, for the price I think its barely worth it still. A cool tool to have around no doubt. I dont use it whatsoever on verses, but for a chorus, with just a tiny bit of wet thrown in the mix, this pedal can add some nice depth. You just have to play around and tweak it a ton.

    But with the octave features, I think it earns its pay, and will find a nice home in plenty of studios or live gigs out there. Watch out with the order you plug in chords and power cables into this bad boy, its kind of sensitive about that.

  • johnny
    from NH November 5, 2012

    Decent tool

    I wasn't expecting much when I ordered this but it does add a nice little bit of flavor to background vocals. I'd caution anyone using this to not turn up the wet mix too high but if you blend mostly dry and flavor it with wet this thing actually adds a nice quality to background vocals. I'm primarily using octave down for one tune, and group for about three others.

  • Bryan Sisson
    from Pueblo Co September 25, 2012Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Pretty cool effects

    I don't use it a lot but when I do it adds a nice effect. The double down adds some wicked tone to some of our songs.

  • Some Ska Guy
    from United States August 31, 2012Music Background:
    Tenor sax in Some Ska Band

    Great device for the price

    I use it with my tenor sax and really like the results. The Shout setting is a tad strange, but I guess it might have its uses. Best setting for me is the Double, but the Group is also good. Haven't used the USB patch yet--not sure why I would need to. The Wet/Dry knob is also a cool feature.
    Our lead singer prefers the more subtle control she gets from a Vocalist Live 3, but that's a lead singer for you.

  • LEVAR
    from PHILADELPHIA PA. August 11, 2012Music Background:
    RECORDING ENGINEER

    GREAT

    I NEVER KNEW I COULD SOUND SO GOOD AND THE GRROUP SETTING ON THE OVERDUBBS IS TERRIFIC

  • Dave
    from Detroit, MI June 22, 2012Music Background:
    Singer

    D1

    Excelllent pedal. Great sounding. Very easy to use and quiet as a mouse. No added hiss or buzz which was my biggest.concern. I use it in conjunction with an E1 and they work perfectly together. The manual could be improved a bit. Read carefully once and you'll be fine. Very good value overall.

  • todd h
    from central pa February 22, 2012Music Background:
    practising musician and vocalist for 51 years

    fulfills it's claims

    i'm very happy with this effects pedal. seems quality built and works just the way it says it works. i gladly recommend.

  • Mike
    from Raleigh, NC February 14, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Not bad at all

    This voice accentuator/doubler had definitely added more depth/character to my band's back-up vocals (there are only two of us singing back-up, and I am the only one using this device). I tend to use either the Group or Detune or Thick setting, trying to get the best "multiplied voice" sound. Haven't found the right opportunity/song to use its Octave settings. We don't rap or play hip hop, so have not used its Shout setting. It's small enough to sit on my keyboard (I applied velcro strip to keep it secure there), and is very simple to set and use. I feel that it's a worthwhile addition to our PA set-up.

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceTone D1?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway