rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Vox Valvetronix+ VT80+ 1x12" 120-Watt Modeling Combo w/FX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from san diego March 21, 2015Music Background:
    All

    I don't like

    Is very bad

  • from United States August 4, 2014Music Background:
    pro/am musician

    footswitch for the valvetronix amps

    I've had fender amps all my life and I loved them. Until one day on a lark I went into a music store and tried the Epiphone Les Paul Tribute guitar and just happen to go through a Vox vt 40. I couldn't believe the tube sound of the amp . All of a sudden I wasn't trying out a guitar but trying out an amp. Long story short, I bought them both. Also getting up in years, the amp's weight is almost as important as the sound and this amp is light for the punch. The price is the just the icing on the cake. I strongly advise anyone out there looking for am amp to try one on, you will not be disapointed.

  • from Hagaman August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    Great amp!

    This amp is really a all in one amp. I'm a working musician and need a lot of different sounds for cover songs and this does the trick. Great tone and very user friendly. Buy it you won't regret it!

  • from Morganton, NC USA January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist for over 30 years

    I love the tones of this amp combined with my GLP!

    Long Story Short: Over the course of a year-and-a-half I went from a Vox VT40+ to a Peavey Vypyr 75 to this VT80+. And I'm very glad I did!

    The VT80+ has a LOT more bottom end than the VT40+...enough to compete with any other amp I've ever played through. While the VT40+ has a higher high end, the VT80+ comes surprisingly close. The cleans are better than the Vypyr series, and the overdrive definitely feels more organic. In my opinion, the Vypyr series are geared more toward Metal / Death Metal bands while providing some other options, and the VT+ series is geared more for the Classic Rocker / Blues Players. That's not to say that the VT+ can't do Metal: it can, most definitely! And it doesn't sound near as raw as the Vypyrs.

    Peavey, though, and two advantages over this series: 1) the interface is easier to use (some features on the VT+ series are not so obvious); and 2) it allows you to store more of your own presets (12 versus the 8 on the Vox). You really want to sit down and go through the manual on this amp before you start playing...otherwise you might feel as if you're missing something. Also, make sure you understand the difference of when you're in Preset Mode and Manual Mode.

    And be sure to play around with the Power Attenuator...sometimes just moving it a fraction of an inch can drastically change your tone. One of the great advantages of this modeling amp having a tube in it!

  • from Congress Arizona October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Band member Highway 89 Blues band

    Love it

    Knox the sox off of my buddys Line 6 ,and hanges in the with my marsall. Charlie was a big help,and I will call any time.

  • from Sussex,Nj September 13, 2012Music Background:
    60 yr young country rocker

    great big little amp

    I'm a guitarist/pedal steel player. Have an original Vox AD120 valvetronix from 2001 another great amp. I have numerous Peavey amps that are voiced for steel and quite heavy but prefer the tone of the Vox 120...my old one. Many steelers are going for the Roland cube 80xl..not that I've heard one but my 120 ia great so I went for the VT 80 which is a tone king!
    The amp is brand new to me and set up differently from the other Vox so I'm trying to see if i can get chorus and delay simultaneously.

  • from South Florida August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician, recording hobbyist

    Great features for a great price

    I really like the 30 presets available that emulate the sounds used by some of my favorite groups. And the other features such as note doubling that takes a single note played and plays an octave below to simulate a 12-string guitar. Also the onboard tuning is a great feature. You can tune your guitar without having to use an external tuner. Excellent amp!

  • from Conway, MA August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician for 32 years

    Vox VT80

    I have the VT 30 and love it, but wanted something with a little more power for the larger rooms I sometimes play. The VT80 was just the ticket. Virtually the same sounds with a few more features and a deeper, richer sound! I basically use a clean sound and dirty sound for most of the tunes I play, and I programmed both within minutes and have them saved. If I do need other types of sounds, there are several different guitar sounds at the touch of a button! I do wish that the VT80 has the crome grill like my VT30 has, and it has no corner protectors, but I've purchased some on line for about $10. Other than the corners and the grill, I'm VERY pleased with this amp so far. [Note: The first amp I orderd from Sweetwater came with a big dent in the side of the amp. I called my Sweetwater Rep and he had a new amp out to me in 2 days, no questions asked. FedEx picked up the dented amp.....hassle free. Way to go Sweetwater!!].

  • from Flushing, MI May 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Impressed

    Great assistance from Charlie at Sweetwater. Went through another amp before landing this VOX model VT80+. Rather impressive in sonic quality and tonal flexibility. I'm counting on it to make me sound better than I really am. So far not bad for an old guy.

  • from Montreal, Quebec February 27, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician - 35 years experience

    Simply amazing...!

    If you're looking for a modeling amp with lots of tone, versatility and power, this is it!
    Sounds great with my Fender Strat & Tele, my Les Paul and even with my 6 and 12 strings acoustics.
    Great built-in presets you can edit and save in 2 user banks of 4 channels each. Get the VFS footswitch.
    Effects are editable as well.
    Can't go wrong. Rock on.

Questions about the Vox Valvetronix+ VT80+ 1x12" 120-Watt Modeling Combo w/FX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway