0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Vox Valvetronix VT40+ - 60W 1x10" Modeling Combo w/FX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Myrtle Beach, SC August 10, 2015Music Background:
    I have played for over 47 years in a variety of bands and numerous recordings.

    A great Amp for the buck.

    The Vox VT40 is really an incredible amp, especially for its size. It is great in small clubs and blows other amps twice its size away in tone and volume. The VT40 has basically every sound that an artist could ever want. I have a mesa boogie, a fender twin, a V4 ampeg, and a multitude of other amps and this is the amp I utilize most with my band. It is so light and easy to use. Three volume controls let you dial in clean to grungy while the treble, mid, and bass let you dial in any tone you desire. You just can't go wrong with this amp.
    Jerry Shooter The Carolina Breakers Band

  • from Crockett, CA USA February 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, former Joe Satriani student

    Vox VT40+ is pretty awsome

    This amp is everything is was hoping for. I wanted a small inexpensive amp after my old Peavey died. I don't have a lot of room in my house for an amp (my wife doesn't consider it a good look), and I walk down the block to a friend's house where a bunch of us jam. The VT40 is perfect. The effects are great and this small amp is very powerful - I'll probably never turn it all the way up. I think it weighs something like 17 LBs so walking a block or two with it is no big deal.
    If you're in the market for something like this you can't go wrong with the VT40+.

  • from cedar grove new jersey November 8, 2014Music Background:
    rock and blues hobbyist

    what a great amp

    this amp is really smooth.

  • from Denton, TX April 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wonderful AMP!

    I had a Peavy Vypyr and was never happy with it. Got the VT40+ what a difference. I love this amp!! Easier to learn, use and operate than the vypyr. I did not try Fender or other modeling amps before I got the VOX but I am so happy with the VOX I have NO REGREATS.

  • from Wayzata, MN USA March 12, 2012Music Background:
    student

    Awesome!!

    this amp is one thing: AMAZING I got it for christmas and it sound great, like a real tube amp, I loveitpick one up today, you won't be dissapointed (too bad I haven't been able to play mine in a couple of months)

  • from Reno, Nevada December 14, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Amazing Tone

    Upgraded from Line 6 Spider III and never looking back. This amp does it all: Metal, Hair Rock, Blues, ECT. Any type of distortion you can think of and nice clean tones. Really versatile with the foot controller added. Fun to play around with considering it has so many effects also.

  • from August 4, 2015

    Vox Vt40+

    So a little chain of events recently left me stranded with a ridiculously low quality Fender 10 watt SP-10, and for a little while I've had to deal with it while saving and searching for a new amp. Having had a great Marshall and owned some decent Fenders, I opted for a change in sound, something a bit more vintage, and settled on a Vox. I ordered this model and got it just today actually. Writing this review is the one time I've stopped playing it; it's a phenomenal amp, ESPECIALLY for the price, like you really cannot beat the price of this amp for the unbelievable quality of it. I'll readily admit, at first I was a bit taken aback by all of the options for tone and sound and what not, having never owned a Vox or an amp quite like this. I've still got a long way to go figuring this thing out, but everything I've gotten from it so far I've loved very much. In fact, even as compared to that Marshall I loved a lot, I think this beats it. As for the good folks over at Sweetwater, this is my first time ever ordering gear (typically I prefer trying these things out personally and seeing for myself hands on) and they made it a quick, helpful, and enjoyable experience. I'll without a doubt be giving them my business again. In fact, probably very soon considering I need a new case. Either way, if you're looking for a great, vintage sounding amp with extraordinary versatility, seriously settle for this, you can't go wrong. My original budget for an amp was 600, and with this I went far, far beneath that amount; and I really couldn't be happier!

  • from Nashville, TN July 15, 2015

    VT40+ -- A+

    This was an amp to replace my 1st gen Fender Mustang amp which sounded good but had sonic issues that were a deal breaker after discovering them. Plus Fender released the V.2 which led to no more support for the V.1. So I had to get rid of it. And since I'm no amp snob, I wanted to get another modelling amp because I believe in technology and look forward for my guitar needs, and not backwards. So the Vox was a natural choice. I tested one out at a local brick and mortar music store, I won't mention it by name, but it rhymes with Shmitar Shmenter and I heard the VT20+ (which obviously sounds the same, but smaller) and while I couldn't get a quiet environment to really hear all the tonal nuances of the amp, the features seemed to be what I was looking for and I went online and ordered the amp from the best place on the internet. Once I get to hear the amp in a quiet place I was really impressed with the features and the tone of the amp. They are way better than the Mustang amp. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because when you use the chorus/flanger/pitch shifter, there is a teenie tiny bit of audible lag in the sound which seems ridiculous in today's tech world with the ample amount of CPU horsepower out there. AND the onboard tune ONLY tunes to E. I play in Eb. So I wish it were a chromatic tuner instead of a "guitar" tuner. Presets change immediately with no audible lag and the yeah I'm very very happy. I am going to change the tube though, because I'm sure it isn't the best 12AX7 in there. So I'll put in a better one. And after I get some extra dough I might change the speaker too to a better Celestion one.

    Overall: Buy this amp. And the footswitch.

  • from San Francisco, California June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Solid Amp for the Money

    I love this VT40+ I owned the VT20+, but found it was a little too small for gigging. The 60 watt VT40+ cures that problem for all except the biggest clubs and festivals (would probably work there too if mic'd).

    Very quiet amp. I'm not finding any buzz or hiss or ambient noise problems discussed by some reviewers.

    Some of the effects are cheesy, but honestly most of the effects and amp settings are pretty good, and some are just excellent for live performance or recording. You do have to experiment, dial things in, but if you know what you're doing and the sound you're after, you can definitely find it in this amp's palette.

    Fairly light, compact & easy to carry. Much lighter than my Mesa Nomad 55, which was another reason to add this amp into my gigging gear. I still use the Mesa for recording or big venue/festival shows, but I've been using this smaller VT40+ for just about everything else. Makes loading in & out pretty convenient. The delays are limited, as are some of the other effects, so you may want to use outboard effects, but I've been able to dial in the sounds/effects I need for my live alt rock/psychedelic shows. Some nice blues sounds in this amp with all the built in Hendrix clone amp models & a univibe effect.

    Nice amp, works well for most gigs, light, easy to carry & set up, with some really nice built in sounds if you spend the time to experiment, find them, and dial them in or save them to the foot pedal banks. Great buy for the money.

  • from Twin Cities, MN November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Casual Player, Tone Hobbyist

    Outstanding Power and Versatility

    Let's get the one major blemish of this amp out of the way first - the excess noise. On many of the modeling channels, there is a noise issue referred to as a "snare hiss" - the noise cancelling cuts out all noise, but then you hear this "snare" type hissing sound as soon as you touch a note. However, by using the amp on Manual Mode and tweaking the settings, you can mitigate the problem.

    Aside from that issue, this amp is an AMAZING value. $250 for a 10" speaker (fueled by real tubes in the power amp) and faithful models of 33 different amplifiers. While it has that signature bright voicing of a Vox, this thing is capable of TONS of bass. Add your own effects pedals, or use the wide variety of different effects included in the on-board electronics.

    This amp can do tube-style overdrive, or it can be modded for heavier rock and metal. While the pre-amp is digital (not tube), it's really very responsive and versatile. And at up to 60W of power, it's all the power you'd ever need for a house, and even for small gigs!

  • from Detroit Lakes, MN May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging musician, 20+ years experience.

    Don't be afraid to gig with it.

    I actually have the VT15, but the guts are the same, I guess. For just over 2 bills (add the pedal!!) you get an amp that can give you pretty much any sound you want (or a darn close facsimile), 8 presets, and now a tuner!
    I have had "hiss" issues with mine. I have also recorded with it, direct into the board (no mic) and had it be the quietest signal in the mix. It's been docked by reviewers so many times for the "hiss", I just wanted to say, yeah, it's there. But not on all settings. Besides, listen to Eddie Van Halen's "Eruption" sometime, and tell me you don't hear hiss there. When you're onstage, and the crowd is yelling and the rest of the band is rocking, I'm betting you won't hear the hiss.

    Took it to a jam session a while back, with some guys who play high-end gear. Got the "look" when I hauled out the VOX, but by the time we were done, I got the "nod" if you know what I mean. Not that I care that much what people think of my gear. Good sound is good sound, and I've heard plenty of bad sound coming out of Twin Reverbs and Mesa Boogies.
    "Great practice amp". "Great practice amp". I've read that until my eyes are sore. And it is! It's an awesome practice amp. But try a gig with it. Throw a mic on it, if you think it isn't loud enough. I've seen guys with the plexiglass case around their 100 watt Marshall with a mic on it so they don't blast the crowd away. What's the difference? Besides a thousand dollars, I mean. Sure, I'd love to have a Marshall, and an AC15 and a Twin Reverb, etc. etc. But I've got something that can make sounds that make me smile, and I can tuck it under my arm and carry it in to a gig. That's just me. If you read this, you probably figured out I like it.

  • from Cali December 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recreational guitar player

    Versatile amp

    Bottom line, if you want a lot of sound choices and options in a single amp, this is a great amp. And for the money, there is nothing better. I'm a recreational guitar player (play a Gibson LP, Fender acoustic, Squire Strat) and you can sound like any song with it. The only con is that there's no USB to connect to Internet. So, no online sharing of custom presets. But VOX does have an old school amp dial settings online community forum on their site, which works alright as a substitute. Www

  • from charlottesville, VA October 29, 2013Music Background:
    hobbiest, have played several instruments

    Nice idea but a little funky on execution

    Being old enough to remember the amps of the sixties I am really amazed at the wealth of features and effects you can get in a modestly powered amp that can play fairly loud and appears to be well-made. If anything the Vox tries to do TOO much. Despite all the models and settings I have had trouble getting a good Fendery tone out of my Strat or a good Marshall stack tone or even a good Vox chime. Maybe it needs to be cranked - I live in an apartment. I do get some nice cleans out of it and some nice effects. The bass is limited as with all budget amps. Just turn on 'brown sound' which takes the pitch down an octave and listen to the woofer splatter on the E string. Also, I found the controls difficult to conceptualize.. You can control volume at the guitar, at the gain, at the volume, the master volume, and the output limiter. If you know how to coordinate all this stuff, go for it. All things considered, it offers tons of value and is worth test-driving if you're in the market for a practice or recording amp.

Questions about the Vox Valvetronix VT40+ - 60W 1x10" Modeling Combo w/FX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close