0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Roland VT-3 Voice Transformer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland VT-3 Voice Transformer?

Questions about the Roland VT-3 Voice Transformer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    I've had the VT1 and was just hoping that Roland went to another planet for the VT3 (since they rocketed right past the VT2) - and indeed they did! I just got the VT2 and wow! I do crazy spoken word improvisation and the VT3 is killer for transforming my verbiage into something from another world (where it might actually make some sense!). Really great, but who, besides me, really wants to sound like a psychotropic robot from Jupiter? If you do, first, bless you (contact me for a good shrink, if appropriate), and secondly, get a VT3!!!!

  • Brad Jahn

    I've traditionally shied away from vocal effects in live gigs since most modules or software lack "on-a-whim" capabilities. But the VT3 gives me the ability to do something right NOW, without having to plan it meticulously in advance. It allows me to do something as simple as having quick control over reverb adjustment, all the way to the bizarre and other-dimensional.

  • from May 4, 2016

    MR

    Great Gear I like it

  • from Fort Worth, Texas February 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    The VT-1 reincarnated!

    I got this unit for easy gender bending and to add harmonies to tracked vocals. It has zero latency, a great gate and really precise pitch and formenant control. I have multiple TC Helicon products and for what I need, the vt-3 is just plain easier to use! (Also, as long as your voice is steady, artifact free!)

    The other features on this unit, robot, voice synth, vocoder are OK but I'm not a DJ so don't really have an opinion on usefulness or quality.

    The onboard reverb is very good and the mix feature allows for saturation levels from just a touch to full effect.

    Don't forget to turn the switch in back to stereo if you want stereo out!

    Over all, really, really happy with the VT-3 and ecstatic that they managed to put it out at a friendly competitive price point! (The VT-1 goes for 500 used!)

  • from Los Angeles January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Loads Of Fun

    I am the lead singer in a blues band, and I have a mixer that does not have any vocal effects. I was looking for something that could just add some reverb to my vocals, when I came across the VT-3. It is really cool! Sure it's overkill, but it's nice to have the extra effects to play with when I'm not singing.

  • from November 7, 2014

    Wow

    it's just amazing

  • from Pittsburg PA October 28, 2014Music Background:
    Singer

    I sound like Mariah

    my voice normally sounds like James Earl Jones but once I started using this I sound like Mariah Carey.... I always wanted to be a diva even though I am a man but once I shave may face and legs put on the wig hook up this peace of magic bamn I am Mariah

  • from Woodbridge, VA September 6, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Great Service, Good Product

    Had to do a little change-up on some of the effects on my projects, so I call my dude Mike at Sweetwater. I figured the wait would be a few days, but Mike cut my pacing back and forth completely out the picture! I got it the next day! Don't know how he did it but he did! The VT-3 gives me quality without a preamp. That scatter effect can be cut up a few ways for the electronic and hip hop heads out there! I use them all. Good pick just from watching the video and making a phone call for the price.

  • from chicagoland July 5, 2014Music Background:
    singer songwriter

    big fun and great sound

    Great price great sound. Buy one for fun

  • from Crete, IL June 9, 2014Music Background:
    30 years of guitar bass and vocals

    Best results with a good Mic

    The VT3 has a lot of sounds and uses. The killer Robot and Vocoder modes are classic techno. The auto pitch can be used by vocal trainers to teach chromatic scales and correct sliding into notes. The radio and announcer patches do a nice job for background vocals, and the scatter function works great with human beatbox applications. I love it! Note: The better the Mic, the better the results! I use a Shure 58.

  • from May 30, 2014Music Background:
    30 plus years in making my own music.

    The Roland VT-3 Transformer is AWESOME !!!

    Great overall voice synth transformer. This machine helps my vocals arrangements perfectly. For my new wave music to alternative music...AWESOME !

  • from Elkton, Maryland November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Club DJ

    An Awesome Machine

    This machine is what I have been looking for and the price made it worth it!! The sounds it produces are mind blowing!! I wilud have given it 5 stars, but it still lacks the syn-sound I was looking in the old school. Roland SVC-350 Vocoder. Overall it still ROCKS!!

  • from San Antonio, TX USA May 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound Designer

    Vocal Me Up

    At first this vocal processing unit might not be wow factor but I must say it does grow on you. It does take a bit of playing around and see what it do. And even with not so many modes you can still get creative if you choose. I've grown to really experiment in the box as well as out. Solid build you may peak from time to time but don't let it bother you. Just experiment!

  • from flagstaff April 30, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    The tit

    This is the tit! Must have for live performances.

  • from MN March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar, production, funk

    Fun thing, interesting possibilities

    Overall, I give this a 4.5 because it's only $200. I'd give it five stars if it had maybe a few more editing features. But, it's cheap for what you get and the routing options are pretty unlimited with the Bypass-Mono switch turned on in the back (R out is a mono bypassed signal and L out is a wet signal). Don't expect the editing options of a more expensive, comparable unit, or else you'll be disappointed. But, bang for your buck, the VT-3 is well worth it for my uses. The sounds of the patches are pretty good, but as mentioned earlier the lack of editing may leave something to be desired for the true sound editing aficionado.

    The unit feels sturdy enough, it's cheap, sounds pretty good, has good routing options. I'm sure I'll find plenty of applications and use for it within my various endeavors.

  • from Napa, CA March 10, 2016Music Background:
    Avant-guard, improvisational Jazz

    Fun in a Box

    After watching the product demonstration I knew I had to have this gizmo. It delivered as advertised. I am sure other more elaborate devises may give one more dynamics, alternative variations, and finesse, but for my price point, and my applications this product is perfect. It is easy to use, but one should not be fooled by its simplicity. I have used it on several of my recordings, but have only scratched the surface of its capacities. And if one is a goof like myself its is unadulterated fun in a box. I would have given it a five star rating, but the vocorder is a little weak. Thank you Roland and thank you Sweetwater!

  • from July 2, 2014Music Background:
    independent musician

    vt3

    This is a solid effects unit for vocals. The interface is smooth and friendly; having pitch and reverb control is really convenient, and the effects can get pretty psychedelic. But.. I do wish that this thing had delay and a legit envelope filter (although it would probably have to be much bigger..). But for what it's worth it is a good purchase. I have heard that the auto tune is not so good, but that's not really what i got it for anywah, just to consider..

  • from Brooklyn, NY June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Cooooooool

    Nice features. Good pitch shifting. Synth and bass voice needs work. Limited. Still, very cool and creative tool.

  • from March 5, 2017Music Background:
    dj,turtableist,electronic producer-performer

    roland vt3 voice transformer

    I happen to have a question ,atroubleshooting question about this unit:
    no matter what the reverb is always on and at the highest setting even with the reverb slider or fader turned all the way off and pushed all the way down. I opened it up and meticulously cleaned the reverb section fader-slider with approved electronic cleaner and lubricant,bujt this problem still persists.IS there a way I can solder the reverb's fader-slider completely out of the unit's circuitry board and disarm the reverb effect completely?..i am happy with the other effects and can use a simple reverb effect from other sources..example: the logic pro audio x...and a mixing board,bla bla to the bore! anyway troubleshooting advice greatly appreciated!! bowdowns!

  • from Chicago Burbs April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Teacher

    Roland VT3

    I'll keep this review short and to the point.

    Pros:
    -Build quality seems decent for its price range
    -Vocoder and Bass settings are great.
    -Megaphone and radio settings are okay

    Cons:
    -The rest of the settings are very gimmicky and borderline useless for any practical application.
    -No balanced/XLR output.
    -output level dynamics seem funky. Make sure you run some sort of processor (compressor/limiter) after this in order to avoid overload.
    -The selector lights all light up around the dial and it's very difficult to see which effect you have selected because it only lights up slightly brighter than the rest of the lights when selected.
    -Price: at it's current price of $199 it's overpriced. At half of this price it would be considered a good deal.

Questions about the Roland VT-3 Voice Transformer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway