0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Orange VT1000 Valve Tester Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Orange VT1000 Valve Tester?

Questions about the Orange VT1000 Valve Tester?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nate Edwards

    We all want more than what we paid for. One of the easiest ways to get exactly that is to upgrade the stock tubes in a modern (or used) tube amplifier with high-end new tubes, or new-old-stock tubes. The only issue is that it's difficult to know exactly what you're dealing with when it comes to tubes.

    Is the lightly-used GE tube that you bought online really performing to spec? Is it a real issue with your current tubes that's causing weird behavior from your amp? You either have to have a tech check them out, or spend a lot of time learning the ins and outs of vacuum tubes in order to get those answers...

    ...unless you buy the Orange VT1000 Valve Tester. Rather than delivering results in arcane combinations of letters and numbers, it basically tells you "your EL84 is bad." Now you can take the funky vintage amp you own and mod as much as you want, or upgrade your entry-level tube amp, or get the very most out of your high-dollar boutique rig. Very cool and a must have for connoisseurs of tone.

  • Chuck Whitlock
    from Myrtle Beach South Carolina April 25, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Orange VT1000 Valve Tester

    This Tube Tester works great. I have had excellent results from the Tube Tester. I test Hammond B3 and Guitar Tubes and it has never failed me yet. Thanks Phil Pots for helping me with this product. Any one that repairs their own Tube Amps and Tube organs should have one of these.

  • Customer
    from September 1, 2016

    Accurate Tube Tester

    I tested tubes that had been graded and functionally tested and the VT1000 gave me the same reading. I also tested tubes that I had filed and the VT1000 identify them correctly. This is a most have gear for the Tube Amp enthuse.

  • Customer
    from Plano,Texas September 29, 2015Music Background:
    at home,therapy

    vt1000

    It works.I have nothing to check it .It is easy to use.

  • Steve
    from October 26, 2014

    Must have for Tube Junkies

    If you are a tube junkie and own a few hundred tubes and NOS tubes, matched quads/pairs or stray singles of power tubes, do yourself a favor and get this unit. Don't ever test tubes in your amp again. Probably one of the coolest investments you can make, unless you have an old analog or high end digital tester. For the money, its a no-brainer.

  • Jerry G
    from Milford, PA June 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    So far very happy.

    I have only tested a few dozen tubes but so far very impressed. It is easy to use understand. Seems very well built. A very handy item. Sweetwater is always great to deal with.

  • Thano Vouloukos
    from Montreal, Quebec, Canada December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Live Player and Guitar Enthusiast

    Orange VT1000 Tube Tester

    This tube tester is a must have. Very easy to use, no tube knowledge required here and it most importantly, it does the job nicely and pretty fast too.

    Highly recommended for tube amp players who are serious about tone and reliability when gigging.

  • Paul Zapperoli
    from United States June 2, 2013Music Background:
    I just love music.

    Nothing like it

    I just opened up my new Orange VT1000 Valve Tester. Grabbed my box of used tubes, and tested every one. The VT1000 operated perfect. Only takes 1min. to test each tube. Has its own power supply very nicely made, the VT1000 is built to last. Easy to operate, takes the guess work out of your tubes. I use a felt tip marker to write the number or tester value on the glass for easy ID later. Speaking of value, it's a bargain for what you get. Yes I recommend
    the VT1000 to any one who services tube amps. Nothing Like It !

  • Whipman
    from NY 914 August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Long Time Guitar & Amp Guy!

    Handy But Pricey!

    Definitely a nice to have item that does what it claims. I've tested close to a hundred tubes and it's performed flawlessly. I even tried to trick it a few times with known failed tubes and it did it's job.
    My only complaints are it's a little pricey for the everyday player with a couple of amps. If you're like me and have a ton of tube amps, do repairs and like tube rolling it's a no brainer. Also, it doesn't do rectifier tubes and for the price it really should! Maybe Orange will come up with an adapter. ( You listening Orange?) All in all a well built, handy item though.

  • sweeney
    from Chester, CT USA May 19, 2014Music Background:
    terrible guitar player

    Orange VT1000 valve tester

    The Orange VT1000 is a terrific piece of technology. I was using (trying to use) an old suit case type tube tester, and it was not exactly user friendly. The VT1000 is totally user friendly - easy and straightforward. It's actually rea fun to test tubes with it, and I've already used it quite a lot. The relative matching feature for power tubes, and the individual testing of each side of a dual triode are both great.

    The reason for the 4.5 instead of a 5.0 is that it does not test all the tubes I assumed it would, such as a 6EU7, 7199, 6SL7, 7591, 6u8, and EL37 (off the top of my head.) It also doesn't test rectifier tubes. Thank you.

  • M. Prentice
    from Kalamazoo, MI September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Gear Geek

    Suits my needs very well.

    I purchased the VT1000 from Sweetwater and received it promptly. The VT1000 has allowed me to take a box of preamp and power tubes I've accumulated over the last 30 years and categorize them. I had a couple hundred tubes of which I had no idea what kind of shape they were in etc. I've been able to rate them for gain based on the VT1000's 1-15 scale, I'm also able to separate out those with matched triodes. I'm able to match power tubes etc. This all makes it much more easy to make an educated decision when rolling tubes through amps. The only negative I can give it is not having the ability to test 5751's and 12ay7 tubes....otherwise it was a worthwhile investment for me.

  • Mark Baker
    from January 11, 2014Music Background:
    Rock n Hacker

    vt1000

    So far all good, except I cannot seem to test Ampeg V4 7025's ...

    MB

  • Rey More
    from United States October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and solo artist

    Useful piece of gear

    I recently purchased this tube tester. I have a collection of vintage and boutique amplifiers that I have not retubed in decades, and was curious as to how the tubes were. It was relatively easy and quick to go through the amplifiers and I found four tubes that were labeled as "weak". Once I replaced them all of the amps sound great. This device may not be for everyone, but if you are a collector like I am I found it useful. Also you can lend it to all of your friends to use as well. Be aware that you can test most preamp tubes (there is no setting for an EF86) and most power amp tubes, but you cannot test rectifier tubes. That being said I am happy with my purchase.

  • Wes Hobbs
    from Milwaukee, wi October 18, 2013Music Background:
    All kinds guitar bass recording

    VT1000 valve tester

    It works great, only thing I wish it did older tubes. With the good video done by Sweetwater.
    Later
    Wes

  • Rich
    from chicago September 28, 2013Music Background:
    guitar and keys

    couldn't detect a shorted tube?

    very disappointed, I tested a nos Mullard 6v6, the VT1000 tested it as
    "good" put it in my amp and it blew a fuse. retested the tube with my B&K
    calibrated tube tester and it showed the tube had a short. Sweetwater graciously sent me a new unit. The same tube tested as "good" . So in other words the VT1000 tester could not pick up a faulty tube that could potentially damage an amp. Tried to contact Orange through their web site but they never returned my email? Thankfully sweetwater has great support.

  • Gerald Mackelburg
    from San Diego, CA USA September 14, 2014Music Background:
    Electronics Engineer

    It appears to work, but contrary to claims:

    There are no “Amplification factor, Voltage gain, Power gain, or Mutual conductance tests”
    There is no “series of unique tests under varying load conditions”
    For additional details on how it rates power tubes see the VT1000 posts on the orangeamps forum
    Prior to testing & establishing those ratings, it performs “Inter electrode leakage and Heater filament tests” but:
    Leakages in the k© range don’t cause “Fail” and can improve ratings
    1 – 30 © heater resistance don’t cause “Fail” (EL34’s is ~ 4.2 ©)

Questions about the Orange VT1000 Valve Tester?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway