0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

DigiTech Vocalist Live 4 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from fargo nd February 23, 2010Music Background:
    musician

    digitech vocalist live

    sounds way to fake and digital...if you have a flat singing style it might help it not be so boring...but kinda blah overall

  • from MA, US December 20, 2008Music Background:
    singer, songwriter, guitarist

    I rarely do reviews...

    ...and I don't think I've ever given any device a perfect score, but this box deserves one. I'm a weekend warrior - solo, just me and my acoustic. The VL4 is not only a flawless backup vocal group, it adds subtle effects to my guitar and my vocal, it pitch corrects my vocal when I get sloppy, it's got a built in tuner and it's my stage mixer as well. I use it with a pair of powered JBL EONs - no more dragging around a mixer and power amp. It's a rare night when somebody doesn't do a double take when I first kick in the harmonies. Surprisingly, with all it can do, it's a piece of cake to operate. I'm not one of those guys who can remember lyrics, sing on pitch, play a tricky guitar part and dance on a stage full of pedals, all at the same time. If you can step on a footswitch, you can run the VL4.

  • from Tokyo, Japan November 11, 2008Music Background:
    Amature musician

    It's magic!

    I used on my live stage. Audiences were very suprised the VL4 harmony, They said 'It's a magic.' I think so;-)

    I didn't read instruction closely but I could operate it very easy!
    One of the things, pre-amp is very nice.

    This item is very good deal:-)

  • from McHenry, IL October 30, 2008Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    A useful performance partner

    I was somewhat skeptical when I first learned of the Vocalist Live, but it turns out that this harmony and effects processor can be a very useful tool for performing. I am a singer/songwriter and I frequently do open mics and other small venue performances.

    What I don't like:
    *The out-of-the box presets are a little over the top. I have found that I need to dial them down a little to be useful.
    *Somewhat unforgiving (see what I like below): You have to be very tight with your for the harmonies to be convincing. Otherwise, the Live will create slightly off harmonies to your slightly off singing.


    What I like:
    *Great for vocal training. Forces you to stay on pitch and sing solidly in order to create convincing harmonies.
    *Great for adding subtle backup vocals. Audiences get confused if you bring the harmonies too far forward.
    *Lots of parameter controls.
    *Good general effects even if you don't use the harmonizer, such as pitch correction, reverb, etc.
    *Just plain fun
    *Good songwriting tool. I often write for a small vocal ensemble and using the harmonizer allows me to try out different melodies and see how the harmonies might stack up.
    *Easy to use. Other harmony generators seem too difficult (though I've never owned any others).

  • from UT July 2, 2008Music Background:
    50+ years Musician, Sound and Recording.

    VL4 Making it happen

    This unit so far is the best thing in it's class. I used their old unit and this put it into retirement. It's not exact but then, what is? It does a very good job at what it's supposed to do and it has decent vocal effects.
    I own 2 of the units one for myself (lead singer) and one for the bassist (backup and harmonies). This fattens up the sound. Almost makes a singer out of a yeller.
    The only reason it didn't get a top rating is that this unit seems to inject noise to the output for the guitar. Played a concert the other night and it just sounded terrible. I did find a fix for the problem but it was expensive. I use wireless guitar units so I had to buy another identical unit so I have one input to the VL4 and one isolated input to my amp.
    I do not use any guitar effect from the VL4 it's used only for vocals.
    Do I recommend it? Sure, just take your time to set up your channels to where you're happy and it'll change your whole sound and save you from paying a backup section.

  • from Brownsville, TN April 8, 2008Music Background:
    Professional Singer/Songwriter

    VL4 is Amazing

    I just recieved the Vocalist Live 4 last week. Amazing does not describe this addition to my show. I perform solo and have always wanted to add the full sound that I can achieve in the studio on stage. The product states that the guitar must be plugged up in order for the machine to stay on key. I have noticed that even without the guitar, the unit keeps perfect harmony. I don't know how it works. I don't care. It is nothing short of magical.

  • from NYC Metro Area December 4, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Vocalist

    A Great Box!

    I own the VL2 and preordered the VL4. I was not sorry! I added a second XLR cable to go stereo with the VL4 and get all of the "colors" and guitar effects. Heads do turn when I kick in the harmonies! Even the vocal effects such as compression, reverb, etc. are good. I don't want to perform without it now. It makes me sound amazing and the harmonies just multiply that. Yes, you do need to tweak it but I'll tell you, right out of the box, the factory presets were smokin'!!! You should definitely get this box if you are serious about quality vocals and harmonies.

  • from Plymouth, MA October 23, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Really has made my single act shine!

    At first I thought I could use this directly into my powered JBL but you do need the mixer! That being said this is one fun machine..on stage or off. You can go from dry voice, to reverbed, to two parts, to three parts, to flanged guitar, all at the touch of your foot. You do have to set up your preset. This makes live shows shine!!!Heads turn to see where all the sound is coming from. Great!

  • from Highland,Arkansas October 20, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist-For years!!!!

    Digitech 4 Live

    I am impressed with this unit.It's simple to use and the harmonizers are great.Plug your guitar in it and your mic and your ready to go.Gives you all kinds of different combos to use and pick the one you like.I own several different types of harmonizers and this one beats them hands down.I also own the Live 2 and liked it so much I purchased the Live 4 for recording.These units are set up great for easy use and use the footpedals to change your settings.I do recommend getting the Live 4 if you can afford it.More options on the Live 4 but the Live2 works great as well.I give it a 9.5.

Questions about the DigiTech Vocalist Live 4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway