0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

DigiTech Vocalist Live 3 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
  • from November 12, 2015

    Vocalist 3

    I started using this VL 3 for almost 3 years now,it the best ,very best for 1 man guitar player & singer using harmony,fantastic ,I have 2 units & it served me well without any problems so far,I hope it is not discontinued.This the only harmoniser for guitarist harmonizing the singing playing the guitar chords!,,
    The only set back is the often use foot switch wears very fast,and replacement & service is only done by the agent.If available switches not easily available in retail stores.Can I order the foot. Switches directly from you?,,Other then that this VL3 is the what I will recommend for all guitarists solo.
    TQ balan

  • from Conway, South Carolina December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Rock and Roll turned Country Hobbiest Musician for 57 years

    Absolutely top notch unit.

    I have been using my DigiTech Vocalist Live 3 since 2005 and it has served me extremely well. It turned my music into exactly what I wanted. I have been playing and singing Country Music since I was 15 years old (I am now 72 soon to be 73). I have had my hay day and still enjoy playing and singing old traditional Country. When I bought the DigiTech Vocalist Live 3 it enhanced my singing ten-fold and still does. It is getting old (like me) and has a few issues, but if it fails I will absolutely buy another one. In fact I have been thinking about buying another one for a spare. It has made my life extremely enjoyable. I thank you for helping keep me young.

  • from Livingston,Tennessee. December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This is a Great Tool for any one that sings!

    I was really impressed with the sound and effects you can get with the Digitech Vocalist Live 3. The real-time pitch correction is very helpful when you let your voice travel off from where it should be.The harmonies are really good for someone that needs backup singers to make songs sound better. Just a Great product.

  • from Paris, IL March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Been making a living with music for over 45 years!

    Why Did I Wait Soooooooooo Long?

    I am now almost 57 years old, have been more than sustaining a very good living with music for about 43 of the 57 years. I have played in just about every venue from State Fairs to solo Holiday Inn gigs to Church, and in a wide variety of configurations. How I would have loved to have had this unit 15 years ago! VERY easy to set up and understand… plenty of “head room” for tweaking, and the sound quality is top notch. If you are doing solo work…this IS the unit at a great price… Do yourselves a favor and grab one.

  • from November 28, 2012

    Vocalist Live 3

    Of all the money I have spent on equipment buying the Vocalist was money well spent. You have to hear it to believe it.

  • from Alabama, USA May 5, 2012Music Background:
    Musician with a good day job

    Awesome

    I have used this for a couple months now and it really does a good job. You pretty much have to play a guitar through this so that it "knows" what key you are in. But it does a great job tracking the guitar. Very flexible harmonies, male-female, various harmony pitches (depending on key), up or down. When I play solo at an open mic, people almost fall out of their chairs in surprise - where are the backup singers? With my band, the audience thinks we have brilliant, full harmonies when actually it might just be me and the vocalist singing along with our lead singer. Unless people are wise to what you are doing, they really can't tell.

  • from Lakewood, OH July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A Great Tool

    It does everything I want it to and more. Well built, easy to use, and great sounding. The perfect way to do back-ups without personality conflicts.

  • from Mpls. , MN March 2, 2015Music Background:
    retired pro musician

    DigiTech Vocalist Live 3

    Being a "less is more" boomer, I had concerns that this thing was going to take hours of screwing around to be usable to me. Wrong! The instructions were a quick read and I could have gotten it done without them. The preamps and voicings are very clean. The key, use every effect and background vocal in moderation. Very happy with the unit!

  • from Telluride, CO December 25, 2014Music Background:
    Lifer

    I LOVE this thing

    I've had one of these for a few years now...it's one of those pieces of gear I'll probably never give up. There's a newer one already, but it's very complex; this one does JUST what I want, is brainless to use and very user-friendly. It sounds fantastic. Occasionally the harmonies aren't clean (if you aren't singing "cleanly" into it), but otherwise, it's flawless. I LOVE this thing.

  • from San Diego, CA October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Played rock throught the sixties and seventies and light jazz in the eighties

    Great Harmonyy

    I use to play a lot of CSN songs and a lot of harmony songs.
    Not being in a band anymore I sure miss it.

    Using the Digitech Vocalist 3 really sounds great. Especially when recording and I add keyborad, guitar and Bass to it.

  • from Supply, NC (east coast) September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/bassist/singer/songwriter/arranger/producer since 1966

    Sweet!

    So I can now leave the board at home - all I need is my 2 Yamaha DXR's, guitar, mic and stands, 15 -min set up, piece of cake. More than enough patches for my act and can program two for one song with the A/B switch. EFX and EQ are good. Can't imagine needing any more inputs or controls. Only thing I've had to compensate for is short time differential to switch from major to minor 3rd's but that can be avoided by creative phrasing. All in all a great unit and replaces gear I'd otherwise have to carry.

  • from Redding CA August 15, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    easy and durable

    I had the VL 3 for several months before it burned up in a house fire. The vl 5 replacement is far more complex and not as durable.

  • from Hamilton, New Jersey August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Guitasrist

    Great for the "pro", "non Pro" and "Closet Singer"

    Great also for the technically challenged. The more you tinker the better the desired result. Jeff Green, my contact at Sweetwater, was incredible matching the product to what I was looking for

  • from United States September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simple and User Friendly

    No problems getting this machine up and running, had some nice harmony going right out of the box. With more time I am sure to improve the settings for some songs, but very happy with it so far. Would highly recommend this product to singer/guitarists who want to add some flavor to their songs.

  • from methuen ma usa November 20, 2011Music Background:
    latin music / choir director

    wow i have been looking for this for years

    is great equit ment, the harmony part is most impresive pard because, it really make your idea come to live, it worst the money, you can choose what voice you want to hear,now you don't need to be expert in harmony, this machine can help you a lot, just may sure you read the manual,and learn how to use, you will love this pedal. one unit feature it work in any idiom.

  • from Kentucky, USA June 11, 2011Music Background:
    Budding Musician

    The Vocalist Live 3

    The Vocalist Live 3 really adds dimension to vocals. It is fun and easy to use.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 2, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Love the Vocalist Live 3

    I was pretty excited about picking up the Vocalist Live 3, especially after reading and watching various reviews online. I am a Worship Pastor, and run into times quite often when I need harmonies during our worship sets. I have several vocalists who excel in producing harmonies, but not all of them. The Vocalist Live 3 fills in all those extra holes.

    I've also been using this tool when playing out. It adds such an amazing dynamic, and help me sing much better.

    Highly recommend!

  • from Phoenix, AZ March 3, 2010Music Background:
    Mix sound, play guitar and sing in bands and do solo gigs

    Great product for the solo artist

    I owned a Vocalist Live 2. Did the upgrade for the possibility of not having to have another/separate pedal()s for reverb and chorus for my guitar. Turns out those effects are pretty funky and useless to me on this box. HOWEVER, I AM loving the fact that you can nuance the harmony from deep male to female--I like mine towards the middle, unless I want a purely female sounding harmony. The A/B presets also come in very handy--for instance, when I sing "I've Seen All Good People" I can easily go from 2 to 3-part harmony in different places. I LITTLE bit of "pitch correction" and "Humanize" tweaking goes a long way. I do wish it had the previous style foot switches. The big-fat footswitches seem to be quieter than the button types. It's a must-have for me and a nice compromise between the Live 2 and Live 4

  • from Amarillo December 2, 2014Music Background:
    7 years on the road, currently a DJ.

    Love Is A Many Splendid Thing

    Love is never having to tell your wife you spent $200 well earned dollars on a fantastic piece of gear that will transform my meager voice into something to behold. Seriously, I did tell my wife and she sneered until she heard my do Florida Georgia Lines "Cruise" with no other vocal. This thing works! I am sure there are better harmonizers around, but for live and this money you can't beat this relatively inexpensive gadget. I am really happy. Especially since it flavors up your guitar with chorus, reverb as well as vocals with reverb and delay. Just love it.

  • from Hamilton, OH September 23, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist.

    Quick and Easy

    Plug in. Strum a chord and sing. BAMM!! Instant Harmony. Easy to program and the momentary setting on the Harmony switch is great.

  • from Buenas Park California USA May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Has a lot of variable's.

    Have not had a chance to use live yet. But, in practice, it is real nice. Can't wait to use it live.

  • from West Palm Beach,Fl USA May 22, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician.recording and songwriter

    easy way to sweeten your vocals

    This floor based device was very easy to use and had a great sound. Even when just using it to fatten up a single voice line it is quite effective. Only compliant is that you can't program regular chromatic or key based harmonies without an instrument plugged in.(and there are only 2 harmonies to program,not 3) Other than that,a solid addition to my floor toys.

  • from Las Cruces, New Mexico September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician / Electrical Engineer NMSU retired

    Afordable, and works great

    From an electrical engineers standpoint I bench tested this unit using an ocilloscope, frequency counter, and frequency generator to check the harmonic tones of the harmony features. I was impressed with fact that the results were very close to the correct phase and frequency. The effects like the reverb worked great. Then I took it to practice and the entire unit worked to specs. Vocalist Live 3 is easy to use, quick to set up, and worth the money. I bought this one to use with the lead vocalist, and already thinking of buying a second unit to use with the saxohone. It has really good usable features such as the pitch control, preset programs capability, effects such as the reverb, and a few other useful ones. Trust me you'll like it, and outperforms a large majority of Harmonizer units.

  • from Albany N.Y. August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Very impressed

    I would like to see an off/on switch added to this unit, and a aux. foot-switch for harmony and A/B functions. This is too nice of a unit to lay on the ground outdoors. Even installing a carpet under it, your shoes tend to get it dirty
    Otherwise, this is a fantastic piece of equip. Your service is great too. Thanks, Dan.

  • from palm coast, florida June 20, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    vocalist live 3

    the vocalist live 3 has turned out to be quite the tool for live solo performances. i don't know a better way to make things more interesting,or bigger and better sounding. it is also excellent for demo recording purposes.

  • from Hesperia Ca usa March 5, 2013Music Background:
    pro lead guitar player singer

    The Vocalist Live 3

    Great tool really adds to your live sound. Easy to understand starts to work right out of the box. I would not play with out one now that Ive used it.

  • from June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Problems

    I own 2 of these and I have had problems with both , after about 3 years both units have developed problems one is in the shop right now it totally lost output which has been slowly deteriorating over the last year . the other one losses its harmonies after being on for a short while since they only came with a 2 year warranty its going to cost much more to keep these units operational.An on/off switch would be a good addition to these also.

Questions about the DigiTech Vocalist Live 3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway